WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Viggo Mortensen is General Zod in "Superman" Reboot?

Posted: February 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Viggo Mortensen is General Zod in "Superman" Reboot?Submit Comment
When the "Superman" reboot was first announced, we learned that General Zod will be the main villain in the film. Director Zack Snyder immediately denied the rumor.

Then came word that Alice Eve, Diane Kruger and Rosamund Pike were being considered for the role of Kryptonian villainess Ursa, who is a part of a group of three members, lead by General Zod.

THR is now reporting that Viggo Mortensen (The Road) is at the top of the list to play General Zod. Snyder has yet to meet with Mortensen, but the actor is seriously being considered, just like Kevin Costner is for the role of Jonathan Kent.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 4:45:46 AM

If Viggo Mortensen is added to the cast of Superman that can only be a good thing..
Rambo writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 4:46:38 AM

kneel before zod!
gunner writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 4:59:25 AM

HELL f*ckIN' YEAH!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 5:27:55 AM

Seem's the casting for this is getting better and better.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 5:54:20 AM

yep sounds great to me
j-man writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 6:00:57 AM

so bryan singer more a less remade the first superman film with returns, now snyders remaking the 2nd, get some new enemies!
rocketman writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 6:01:55 AM

f*cking Zod again?
boogiel writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 6:59:58 AM

I like Viggo, but why Zod again? I want Brainiac or Darkseid.
supaflywill writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 8:32:10 AM

the son of gerell !!!! if this is true ...this film is gonna kick ass !!!! it sounding better and better !!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 9:38:17 AM

Love to see Viggo play Zod but at the same I defiantly agree, new villans please!!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 10:42:56 AM

Viggo's the man, but I don't see him making a good Zod. Viggo has made a living playing the quiet type. Zod would be a complete departure from his comfort zone and deserves someone with a much bigger personality. If Snyder doesn't portray him that way he will never live up to Terence Stamps performance in Superman 2. If Liam Neeson hadn't been in Batman Begins I'd vote for him to play Zod.
Electro Rock writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 10:47:08 AM

Yeah this is good news. I hope they'll keep the kneel line and ditch the flying clingwrap S logo attack.
ShizPaf writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 12:47:18 PM

Wow, I dig Mortenson, he would certainly be intense and physical. I would like to see someone (a character)not used before though. Get away from trying to tie it to the Donner films.
rabid writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 12:48:51 PM

I see him more as Jor-El, since he kind of resembles Cavill in a way.
Seen Zod in a film before, but a lot has changed with that character over 30 years. I wouldn't mind seeing the latest take on the Zod, Ursa, Non, and Jor origin story.
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 2:10:06 PM

Um, no? Viggo isn't what I think of when it comes to balls out bad guy bent on domination of earth and the ruination of kal-el. Even in violent roles theres a quiet nature to his acting. The closest he comes to Zod would be in GI Jane. Military, harsh, commanding, etc. I have a lot of trust built up in Nolan and Snyder so I won't trash this if they go forward but Viggo, while a great actor, seems not right for the part.
Electro Rock writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 2:23:10 PM

He does play a good creep in Twxas Chainsaw 3.
BobMcBob writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 2:50:12 PM

if only they replaced the director, this film would be great
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 3:10:16 PM

So, the S on Supes chest stands for 'sucks', I guess.

...and Costner for the role of Johnaton Kent. lol.

And Viggo, my man, decent actor that you are, what did you ever do to truly earn the everlasting acclaim of men everywhere, besides your underwhelming and grossly over-rated role in 'History of Violence'? Oh, yeah. Lord of the Rings. Well, that's enough for some.
Farradin writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 3:15:43 PM

Both sound like awesome casting! For the love of Zod hire them!
trailertrash writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 3:26:04 PM

Mink -

The Road and Eastern Promises, were pretty good film also.
swoooop writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 4:34:17 PM

He has played a pretty nasty character before, Lucifer inn The Prophecy, so he could deff handle Zod.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 4:37:48 PM

Gotta say that would be a great part for viggo, this is one "?" piece of news that i hope isnt bullsh*t.

@ Mink - Viggo is a strange one but been a big fan of his for well over a decade before lord of the rings, even going back to the Indian Runner and Carlitos way, hes always on top form and the Road was a hell of a movie, but there is something a little creepy about him, think that makes him perfect for Zod
AYT BALL writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 4:40:45 PM

Also Mink, not digging the new hair do! lol jokes bud
ismokerocks writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 4:57:31 PM

hopefully aragorn gets the part
ismokerocks writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 4:57:37 PM

hopefully aragorn gets the part
Read diz writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 5:10:26 PM

Well Im gaY
Read diz writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 5:11:21 PM

Well Im gaY
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 5:30:46 PM

I have to rate an actor beyond the film in which he appears. In other words, just because an actor stars in a likable film does not mean the actor in question is enormously gifted.

People like to give Michael Cera props because he does a lot of stupid stoner films, and the people that watch his films are, in general, chronic stoners, so they sit there and say, damn, great film, even though it really sucked.

And then people get the idea that Cera is some kind of 'great' actor, just because they like a movie that appeals to them, and that's subjective and selfish.

I look at at an performer, and say, how well did he do on the role in question, and how demanding was the role? What's his range? What's his ability to make me believe in the complexitiy of his character?

And when I appraise Viggo Mortenson, regardless of the films in which he has appeared, I'm just not that impressed, and I'm not one to hang on some dudes d*ck because I suck self-esteem somehow via the success of famous people, so there's that.

Looking that the guy, yeah, he's good, but he's nothing spectacular. He's no Cruise, he's no Bale. He's slightly less-underwhelming and capable than, say, Aaron Eckhart. He's just generally sits there, hardly emotes and hardly ever drives himself to take on a persona significantly divergent from his base state, and that's not the kind of performance that gets me excited.

Talk about Bale all day, because he goes out of his way to make himself into someone else, or even Ledger who went well beyond expectations for his Joker-ish performance, but Viggo? Please. He gets by on his looks, not his superlative talent.

"If Viggo Mortensen is added to the cast of Superman that can only be a good thing.."

I would agree, in the sense that this new Stuperman film has slowly slid down the hill of despair ever sense they announced it.

Casting Viggo might the only saving grace, not because he's such an orgasmically fantastic actor, but because compared to all the other boneheaded decisions, this one looks far better in comparison.
LEONCIO writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 5:47:01 PM

Zod was in the first Donner's Superman film but just in a flashback with Jor-El in Krypton, he wasn't the main villain until the second one, so they could be looking for actors to play Zod and Ursa that would appear in Krypton before it exploded and use another villain like Brainiac or Metallo or Darkseid for the first movie, and then bring Mortensen/Zod back as the main villain for the second or third movie if this is a trilogy.

We had The Joker in 89 and he was back for TDK after less than 20 years, if Zod is the main villain for the second or third movie he would appear after 35 years since the second Donner film (if the second one was released around 2015/16/17), I don't see the problem to be honest, nobody complained about The Joker, a villain used every time there is a new Batman tv show, game or movie, of course they are going to have Lex Luthor or Zod for the new movies along Lois, Jimmy or Perry, but this doesn't mean Zod will be the main villain for the first movie, maybe that's why Snyder denied it, Zod (and Luthor) would be in the movie but not as the main villain, they just would be introduced and maybe used as main villains for the next installments.
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 6:04:41 PM

No one complained about The Joker because he's the Batman's natural nemesis, the one villain that gives Batman real difficulties. whereas Zod DOES NOT, because Superman is a nearly indestructible alien, and whereas Batman is a mere mortal.

It's called asymmetrical warfare, and when a being like Supermangoes up against a loser like Zod, the asymmetry is plain to see, and per the rule that good film must have a strong protagonist/antogonist dichotomy, unless they rewrite Zod altogther, I see issues with the film's conflictual elements.

In other words, Superman needs a f*cking badass villain to make him shine, to make the story soar, and so far, all we have is the Whore from the Phantom Zone and some Kryptonian pretender.
justinius writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 8:33:33 PM

With the assumption that Snyder and Nolan are planning for a trilogy, I actually don't mind if Zod is the main villain for the first film.

In the same way Ra's al Ghul paved the way for Joker in Batman Begins, I think Zod makes for a great gateway to other characters like Braniac, Doomsday, Dark Seid or anyone else for that matter.
turnage76 writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 11:29:10 PM

can we do something original.. come on...
LEONCIO writes:
on February 27th, 2011 at 1:53:00 AM

"No one complained about The Joker because he's the Batman's natural nemesis, the one villain that gives Batman real difficulties. whereas Zod DOES NOT, because Superman is a nearly indestructible alien, and whereas Batman is a mere mortal."

Well, Zod is supposed to be one of Superman's main villains along Luthor, Brainiac, Doomsday or Darkseid, and he is "a nearly indestructible alien" too that also is supposed to be an experienced warrior with the best kryptonian military training, if he was correctly written he should be able to easily kick Superman's ass since he is a kryptonian general while Superman is just a farmer's son who has lived his whole life on Earth, and that made him "weak" in Zod's eyes (he gained superpowers, but that's not what I mean).

If you have watched DBZ, Goku's story has some similarities with Superman's, and I've always imagined Zod as the equivalent to Vegeta, Vegeta was a warrior that was part of the military elite in his native planet, and when he arrived to Earth he saw Goku as a weak loser, "weakened" by humanity, and if Zod was correctly written he should see Superman as a lower class kryptonian who just had luck to survive because of his father but now has become a weak loser while Zod belongs to Krypton's military elite and with the superpowers he has in Earth and his much better fighting skills he should be able to easily beat the sh*t out of Superman.

You are judging Zod for the old movies or comics, but they could completely reinvent the character for these new movies and make of him a really great badass villain. He was cool in the old movies, but he should be much stronger and powerful in the new ones to be a really good opponent to Superman.


Mudders writes:
on February 28th, 2011 at 1:26:16 AM

met him here when he was filming lotr trilogy awesome dude...so not hollywood if ya get what i mean....no ego...just a top bloke....good choice too....kevin costner? hmmm...yeah why not

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved