WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Idris Elba Joins "Alien" Prequel

Posted: February 25th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Idris Elba Joins "Alien" PrequelSubmit Comment
The Daily Mail had the chance to speak to Ridley Scott, who revealed that the cast of "Prometheus" has expanded to include Idris Elba (The Losers), Sean Harris (Harry Brown) and Kate Dickie, in addition to the already-announced Michael Fassbender, Charlize Theron and Noomi Rapace.

"It's the story of creation, the gods and the man who stood against them. It's not a small film," said Scott. "I'm using the giant James Bond 007 stage at Pinewood and six other sound stages to film it."

Scott also mentioned that filming begins in three weeks and that the movie is NOT a prequel to "Alien." But no matter how often Scott says that, sources are constantly stating that there will be more than just "Alien DNA" in the film.

According to BleedingCool, "Prometheus" will have the same creatures as in "Alien," but we may not recognize them. In "Alien," they took on human qualities because they were grown inside of a human. In "Prometheus," the creatures have yet to embed themselves into humans and will thus have the DNA of another alien species, making them look very different from what we have seen before.

Everything that we've heard points to that "Prometheus" is an "Alien" prequel. Scott has revealed that he has gone to great lengths to keep the story a secret. Maybe pretending that this has nothing to do with "Alien" is just part of that strategy. Stay tuned.

Source: Daily Mail, BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 3:52:01 PM

Considering his color-blind casting in Thor I'm assuming Elba plays Ripley's biological father in this film.
Rambo writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 4:23:04 PM

prequel or not-until we don't have a trailer there's not much we can do...
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 5:10:40 PM

Haven't seen so many brits in an Alien movie since Errrrrr Ummmmm Alien 3 ....
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 5:21:32 PM

Why does Ridley feels he has to play these mind games with the press about whether it is or isn't an Alien prequel.

Surely makes more sense to set the record straight and let the Hype then take care of it's self.

But I would Love to see Scott pull this off and come out with a great Science Fiction film like he did with Alien and Bladerunner, he must have one more great film left in him.
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 5:26:57 PM

I hope Idris will come back to good old Blighty and make a second season of Luther, That was the best show the BBC have made in years and Elba was excellent as the cop on the edge.
technoreaper writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 7:16:41 PM

I still say this sounds terrible.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 11:51:55 PM

trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 5:10:40 PM

Haven't seen so many brits in an Alien movie since Errrrrr Ummmmm Alien 3 ....


@tt or a Harry Potter film...lol


I'm cool with this, Idris Elba is a good actor, the one of three things good about "The Losers" and without him "Obsessed" would have been an even bigger piece of sh*t.
OneTime writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 12:31:55 AM

nice..i cant wait for this
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 12:37:09 AM

Wish we could get Michael Bien back in it somehow.
billofill writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 12:58:25 AM

Well considering it's like 100 years before Aliens i dont see that happening with Beihn.
rocketman writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 3:02:14 AM

Very excited about this,one of my favorite Directors and the master of Sci-fi IMO.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 7:25:34 AM

After Robin Hood I don't have the same confidence in Ridley, as I used to. But with every bone in my body, I want this to be greater than great. The cast is awesome so far, but some more details about the story would be welcome.
rocketman writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 7:42:34 AM

What Scott needs is more creative control and to switch studios,too much interference.

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved