WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Idris Elba Joins "Alien" Prequel

Posted: February 25th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Idris Elba Joins "Alien" PrequelSubmit Comment
The Daily Mail had the chance to speak to Ridley Scott, who revealed that the cast of "Prometheus" has expanded to include Idris Elba (The Losers), Sean Harris (Harry Brown) and Kate Dickie, in addition to the already-announced Michael Fassbender, Charlize Theron and Noomi Rapace.

"It's the story of creation, the gods and the man who stood against them. It's not a small film," said Scott. "I'm using the giant James Bond 007 stage at Pinewood and six other sound stages to film it."

Scott also mentioned that filming begins in three weeks and that the movie is NOT a prequel to "Alien." But no matter how often Scott says that, sources are constantly stating that there will be more than just "Alien DNA" in the film.

According to BleedingCool, "Prometheus" will have the same creatures as in "Alien," but we may not recognize them. In "Alien," they took on human qualities because they were grown inside of a human. In "Prometheus," the creatures have yet to embed themselves into humans and will thus have the DNA of another alien species, making them look very different from what we have seen before.

Everything that we've heard points to that "Prometheus" is an "Alien" prequel. Scott has revealed that he has gone to great lengths to keep the story a secret. Maybe pretending that this has nothing to do with "Alien" is just part of that strategy. Stay tuned.

Source: Daily Mail, BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 3:52:01 PM

Considering his color-blind casting in Thor I'm assuming Elba plays Ripley's biological father in this film.
Rambo writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 4:23:04 PM

prequel or not-until we don't have a trailer there's not much we can do...
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 5:10:40 PM

Haven't seen so many brits in an Alien movie since Errrrrr Ummmmm Alien 3 ....
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 5:21:32 PM

Why does Ridley feels he has to play these mind games with the press about whether it is or isn't an Alien prequel.

Surely makes more sense to set the record straight and let the Hype then take care of it's self.

But I would Love to see Scott pull this off and come out with a great Science Fiction film like he did with Alien and Bladerunner, he must have one more great film left in him.
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 5:26:57 PM

I hope Idris will come back to good old Blighty and make a second season of Luther, That was the best show the BBC have made in years and Elba was excellent as the cop on the edge.
technoreaper writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 7:16:41 PM

I still say this sounds terrible.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 11:51:55 PM

trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 5:10:40 PM

Haven't seen so many brits in an Alien movie since Errrrrr Ummmmm Alien 3 ....


@tt or a Harry Potter film...lol


I'm cool with this, Idris Elba is a good actor, the one of three things good about "The Losers" and without him "Obsessed" would have been an even bigger piece of sh*t.
OneTime writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 12:31:55 AM

nice..i cant wait for this
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 12:37:09 AM

Wish we could get Michael Bien back in it somehow.
billofill writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 12:58:25 AM

Well considering it's like 100 years before Aliens i dont see that happening with Beihn.
rocketman writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 3:02:14 AM

Very excited about this,one of my favorite Directors and the master of Sci-fi IMO.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 7:25:34 AM

After Robin Hood I don't have the same confidence in Ridley, as I used to. But with every bone in my body, I want this to be greater than great. The cast is awesome so far, but some more details about the story would be welcome.
rocketman writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 7:42:34 AM

What Scott needs is more creative control and to switch studios,too much interference.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved