WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Top 20 Scariest Movie Monsters of All Time

Posted: February 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Top 20 Scariest Movie Monsters of All TimeSubmit Comment
To celebrate the next screening in the Jameson Cult Film Club series, the organization asked 4,000 film fans to vote for the scariest movie monster of all time.

First place went to the creature from Ridley Scott's classic "Alien" film, which was followed by the shark from Steven Spielberg's "Jaws" and the monster from the original "Predator" film. The top five was completed with the Creeper from "Jeepers Creepers" and Jeff Goldblum's half-man, half-fly from "The Fly."

"Four of the films that made the top five were made more than 24 years old," said a Jameson spokesperson. "They are classic movie monsters by anyone's definition but what's really surprising about these results is that the traditional and iconic monsters of the last hundred years like vampires, werewolves, Godzilla and King Kong were more likely to leave fans snoring than screaming."

Top 20 Scariest Movie Monsters:

1. Alien Alien

2. Jaws Jaws

3. Predator Predator

4. The Creeper Jeepers Creepers

5. The Fly The Fly

6. Crawlers The Descent

7. The Thing The Thing

8. Werewolves Dog Soldiers

9. T Rex- Jurassic Park

10. Count Orlok Nosferatu

11. T2000- Terminator

12. Gremlins Gremlins

13. King Kong King Kong

14. The Creature Cloverfield

15. Triffid Day of the Triffids

16. Godzilla Godzilla

17. Frankenstein Frankenstein

18. Bugs Starship Troopers

19. Creatures Monster

20. Worms Dune


Source: FilmOFilia, Jameson Cult Film Club


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Damon242 writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 5:04:51 PM

Alien, Jaws, and T-Rex.

My top three from those in that list.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 5:10:43 PM

the only "scary" one on the list are the creeper, the thing, and the creature.
mrstretch writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 5:18:54 PM

How about the refrigerator from Requiem for a Dream
mrstretch writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 5:20:26 PM

It's good to see some love for Dog Soldiers, that movie is great.
trailertrash writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 5:34:45 PM

^ Agree there Dog Soldiers is the Bollocks
SeWerin writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 5:35:50 PM

LOL, Creatures from monsters - while i'll applaud Cthulhu inspiring design, everything rest about them was silly

Also, Predator should be on number 2.
trailertrash writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 5:37:16 PM

Has to be Jaws for me, Still can't get in the water without thinking of John Williams Awesome piece of music !!
mally writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 5:43:38 PM

Great to see T-2000 considered a movie monster.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 5:57:43 PM

For what its worth, I think the Thing should be #1. Just to add a few more:

The monster from The Relic -- groundbreaking CGI at the time (imo) and a pretty intimidating SOB.

Dracula (and all his different forms)-- Bram Stoker's Dracula

The werewolf -- American Werewolf in London (still the best)

The Rancor -- Return of the Jedi



Demons -- The Gate

The Blob -- 80s version

trailertrash writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 6:10:54 PM

Love American Werewolf In London, but i always thought the The Howling was a scarier movie IMO

Those Zombie in the 1st Demons movie (Lamberto Bava and Dario Argento ) were pretty f*cked up.
trailertrash writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 6:13:34 PM

Cyclops in the 7th Voyage of Sinbad, some of ray harryhausen best work IMO
darkraven28 writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 6:39:15 PM

Love the '80s version of the Blob!!! And why didn't they add the Alien Queen from Aliens? Too close to the Alien from Alien? That's just being too picky. The Queen was different enough from the others to warrant a place. But then lists are like *ssholes. There are too goddamn many of them and you can light them on fire!
Electro Rock writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 7:00:09 PM

The Zuni doll from Trilogy of Terror outranks everything.
Electro Rock writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 7:06:19 PM

And Im sorry but Jaws? Seriously...Shaws story about delivering the bomb was the scariest part of that film. Not to mention the best part.
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 7:16:02 PM

Was Shannon Price ever in a movie?

http://static.thehollywoodgossip.com/images/gallery/shannon-price-mug-shot.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 7:23:15 PM

Wasn't she The star of the already mentioned film The Blob ...
UnNameable_One writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 7:27:48 PM

Personally i think Stephen King's "IT" shoulda been on there somewhere.
HangingRock writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 7:51:13 PM

Oh come on. Frankenstein is not a monster, he is the scientist - that's why he is called Dr. Frankenstein - and he creates the monster. so what you mean is Frankenstein's monster. is that so difficult to understand. i'm wondering if those 4000 film fans actually voted for Frankenstein (which would mean that they don't know sh*t about movies) or if worstpreviews made a mistake. either way - very sad. and what the f*ck is a T2000. i know a T800 and i know a T1000. so please tell me what that is. (excuse my ignorance) well, lame list anyway.
trailertrash writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 7:51:37 PM

Electro -

Your right that is a great scene, But just one of many in one of the best Summer Blockbusters of All Time IMO

And you don't really even see the shark until about the last 25 minutes of the film but it's presence is felt from the opening scene (again another classic scene) and terrorise the audience until the final (roy scheider) shot.
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 8:08:17 PM

Damn I thought only brits knew about Dog Soldiers and there was no love for that little piece of awesomness.

Sergeant Wells: My guts are out Coop!
Cooper: We'll just put 'em back in then!
Sergeant Harry Wells: They're not gonna f*cking fit!
Cooper: Of course they'll fit, man!
happileperkon writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 8:19:33 PM

i hated clover field. it wasnt scary at all.
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 8:25:21 PM

@Rock

Good point.

@SACDaddy

Tom Sizemore was one intimidating SOB at the time, yeah!

Heh. But seriously - the scene where this MF-ing creature is running covered in fire was pretty impressive at the time.
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 8:25:46 PM

I'll give credit to #4... The Creeper.

That was some disturbing sh*t. And coming from me... that's saying something.

@tt - lol.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 8:34:04 PM

Predator #1

Arnolds, The First Terminator #2
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 8:34:22 PM

Predator #1

Arnolds, The First Terminator #2
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 8:46:04 PM

Also I must mention Sam Neill's darker self in Event Horizont.

That was one disturbing movie. And Neill was creepy as f*ck.

Triffid? Come on now...

Where's Tim Curry's "It" as Unnameable mentioned for that matter - even the cover of VHS was creepy.

Also I'd mention Christian Duguay's "Screamers"
pikeman1 writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 9:29:09 PM

Hey, what about ET?
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 9:29:51 PM

He went home.
Mister Pickles writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 9:31:13 PM

WTF is a T2000?
mrstretch writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 9:33:05 PM

The Host was badass as well
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 9:53:14 PM

@Mister Pickles... really?!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 9:57:17 PM

Not a bad list. Lohan's vag would top the lsit if the filmakers would survive the shoot. Never did see Dog Soldiers though.
Man in Black writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 9:58:40 PM

Damn the Sarlacc pit ( lohans vag ) and Rancor got hosed .
Mister Pickles writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 10:55:59 PM

@Ranger
Yeah, really. Arnold was the 800, Patrick was the 1000, that dumb bitch was the X. Who the f*ck is the 2000? Is it from that Ratner crap-fest Salvation?
generalmac writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 11:30:55 PM

Micheal Moore-any of his films
Mister Pickles writes:
on February 24th, 2011 at 11:46:41 PM

@generalmac
I agree, Michael Moore is one scary ass monster!
SaulSilver writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 12:35:04 AM

gremlins?!?!?!?! GREMLINS?!?!?! f*ckING GREMLINS?
totally devalidates entire list.
The Xenomorph's don't belong at #1 here, either. There were some truly dumb moves by the characters in those movies to make them seem more scary. I'll take Predator, The Creeper, The creature or T-Rex any day.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 2:00:45 AM

#6, #7 and #8 for the win.
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 4:12:29 AM

@Mister Pickles... lol.

Apparently the T2000 or the T-2000 is a Kenworth truck.

Ewwwww... scary. No wonder it made this list.

And if I care to look, and Gremlins is really on this list anywhere, someone else is right and this list if for sh*t.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 4:54:15 AM

T2000- Terminator? Really?

The Fly i agree with, should be higher really Goldbloom is one scary mother f*cker an dthe maggot scene is enough to put you off rice crispies for life.

What about the blue whale in Pinnochio, thats one scary mother dude or Ichi the Killer, if Terminator has a place so does he. Or the anorexic women in the loft in REC.
Ivor_the_Engine writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 6:17:46 AM

Jaws - Jaws
Weird how no one called the Shark that once in the film, the title wasn't meant to be the nam of the villain like the title 'C.H.U.D' did and yet everyone knows him as that.
Then again i did spend a few years of my life calling Ewen Mcgregor 'Trainspotter'
ShizPaf writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 8:27:10 AM

Most definatley pleased about the thing being in there. I question,that the concept of the triffid as a wholemight frighten some, most folks dont worry much about big ass flowers. Knock that off and replace it with Gremlins. Also fit Xtro in there.
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 8:48:50 AM

Ivor -

Pretty sure everyone understands that Jaws = The Shark

Frankenstein was the creator not the monster but we all know what they mean.

I Didn't feel the need to correct WP or anyone else on here with such a minor details.
Ivor_the_Engine writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 11:08:43 AM

Trailer-
Calm yourself down, am I even correcting anyone though? did I even mildly read like I had the ump about it? I've just always found it funny how people, that includes me, will name the star of a film after the title
Ivor_the_Engine writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 11:08:47 AM

Trailer-
Calm yourself down, am I even correcting anyone though? did I even mildly read like I had the ump about it? I've just always found it funny how people, that includes me, will name the star of a film after the title
bill the butcher writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 11:16:18 AM

i saw CLOVERFIELD in the cinema
on a sunday night just blew me away
amazing film
the cam footage approach was perfect
the parasites in the tunnel scene were one of the scariest things i have ever seen
couldn't sleep that night
after watching the film
lizzy caplin was sexy as hell
saw her lately in hot tub time machine
kind of a relief to see her
having fun in a comedy
felt numb after.. spoiler alert
what happened to her character in cloverfield
Lulupendragon writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 1:10:57 PM

What about the Firefly family from House of 1000 Corpses? Or Dr. Satan? hehe Also I agree with the Frankenstein thing. It should be Frankenstein's Monster. What about the spirit from The Grudge? I think that gave people nightmares. hehe
rocketman writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 1:50:05 PM

1 Jaws.
2 Salemens Lot Vampire.
3 Arachnophobia spiders.
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 3:59:31 PM

Ivor-

Sorry Bro my bad, Was Having a bad day and took you post the wrong way.

I'm clam now, lol
elrei writes:
on February 25th, 2011 at 6:57:15 PM

King Kong? Really?... I think that the giant leech thing from the last movie was even scarier
Ivor_the_Engine writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 5:58:00 AM

Trailer-

Thats cool dude. thats the sh*t part about writing comments, it could be taken any way
Charlie9 writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 6:23:05 AM

The Dog.Wolf in Never Ending Tory, scared the crap out of me when I was younger
nope.com writes:
on February 28th, 2011 at 12:01:29 AM

Where's Kirsten Dunst? Those teeth are the stuff of nightmares
Vlahka writes:
on February 28th, 2011 at 8:14:11 AM

This list cant be right. I dont see any mention of Edward Cullen.
Chewbacca writes:
on February 28th, 2011 at 2:52:28 PM

hmmm where's the rancor?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved