WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bill Murray Says He Hasn't Read "Ghostbusters 3" Script

Posted: February 22nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bill Murray Says He HasnSubmit Comment
Everyone wants to make "Ghostbusters 3," but Bill Murray is not sure that he wants to be involved, since he's still regretting agreeing to make the second installment. Now during an appearance on Howard Stern's show, the actor touched on why he's holding up the production.

Stern: Is it true that there is a 'Ghostbusters 3' and that you're the problem and you will not sign off on this? Do you know about this?
Murray: Yeah, I guess I'm the problem. Before I was an asset, [but] now I'm a problem. There's a script somewhere [on my desk], but I haven't read it yet.

Stern: Why haven't you read it? Is it because you think it's a bullsh*t idea? In other words, 'Ghostbusters' has had its time and you did a remarkable job with that and you've moved on?
Murray: There's a little bit of that. I only made one sequel and it was 'Ghostbusters 2' and it didn't end up the way it was presented.

About five years after we did the first one, the clever agents got us all together in a room and we really are funny together, I mean they are funny people Harold [Ramis] and Danny [Aykroyd] and myself, with Ivan [Reitman] and maybe one or two other people. We were just blindingly funny for about an hour or so and the agents, there was just foam coming off of them.

They had this pitch and Danny and Harold had concocted some story ideas and it was a story, it was good story. I think I had even read one or two [scripts for 'Ghostbusters 2'] that Danny had rolled out beforehand, but this one was a good one. I said, 'Ok, we can do that one.'

It was just kind of fun to have all of us together. I mean [Rick] Moranis, Annie [Potts] these people are just sterling people to begin with.

Stern: So how do you go back and really make another? Does Ivan want to make ['Ghostbusters 3']?
Murray: Yeah, Ivan wants to make it and I owe him, you know. He's puzzled that I haven't gotten to this one.

Stern: How long has it been sitting on your desk, this script for 'Ghostbusters'?
Murray: Well, it may not be on the desk it's over there somewhere. How long? I don't know.

Robin Quivers: So you have no interest?
Murray: Well, I'll get to it. I gotta get to it I feel bad. I got a message and I think people I don't want to hurt anyone's feelings it's not the foremost thing in my mind, so I don't think about it.

You know, the studio gets excited every 10 years or so. What they'd really like to do is recreate the franchise. I remember when the new 'Ghostbusters' was going to be Chris Rock, Chris Farley and Chris Crane that had it together.

Stern: Is that a threat to you? In other words, did they try to threaten you by saying we're going to put together a new 'Ghostbusters' and therefore you guys will have to go do it?
Murray: It's not a threat, it's sort of businesslike they'd like to keep it going. There are still kids today that watch this movie and love it, it's still very popular. They still sell a lot of toys and everything.

Source: Howard Stern, ScreenRant


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 9:21:19 PM

sh*t... I am not even born when Ghostbusters 2 released
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 9:30:12 PM

I'd love to see a 3rd. But that woulda been 1993.
Electro Rock writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 9:59:43 PM

There's no way Chris Rock couldve not dropped F bombs all over a Ghostbusters film.
Gates writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 10:11:20 PM

Well this sucks...either two things are going to come from this...

A. They don't make a Ghostbusters 3

or

B. They make a Ghostbusters 3 and Murray has no heart in the movie.
xtlhogciao writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 10:49:06 PM

Who is Chris Crane?
xtlhogciao writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 10:50:49 PM

If it does get made, what do you think the over/under will be for how many times they mention how fat they've gotten? Aykroyd and Ramis in particular.
Schrute Farms writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 11:25:14 PM

I am a huge Ghostbusters Fan but honestly this movie could be great with or without Murray.
ShizPaf writes:
on February 23rd, 2011 at 12:06:18 AM

I have liked Murray in the past. As an actor and for his kooky sly acerbic wit, but honeslty the acting well is lookin dryish here. I think he has other interests.
Whitta writes:
on February 23rd, 2011 at 1:40:21 AM

err... Bill... you also made a sequel to that hunk of sh*t 'Garfield'.
C'mon man... surely this can't be worse than... well... Garfield!?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 23rd, 2011 at 4:48:52 AM

I would rather not see a sequel, too much time has passed. They can not remake the magic from the first two.
Dre-EL writes:
on February 23rd, 2011 at 10:56:40 AM

Bill Murray wants producers to toss his salad, then he'll do GB3.
Oldest f*ckin story in Hollywood.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 23rd, 2011 at 2:30:36 PM

Ghostbusters 2 was the very first film I saw at the cinema. Magic sh*t to me right there.

I think I was 8.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 23rd, 2011 at 5:22:47 PM

He might want to hurry up and decide unless he wants to film it at the nursing home
jetdog writes:
on February 23rd, 2011 at 11:38:08 PM

bill is an *sshole

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved