WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Costner in Talks for "Superman" Reboot

Posted: February 22nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Costner in Talks for "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
Now that Henry Cavill has been cast as the lead in the upcoming "Superman" reboot, director Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) is casting all the supporting roles.

Deadline has learned that Kevin Costner is currently in talks to join the picture. LatinoReview claims that the actor is being considered to play Jonathan Kent, the adoptive father of Clark.

The new movie is produced by Christopher Nolan and is written by David Goyer. It is tentative set to hit theaters in December of 2012.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: Deadline, LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
supaflywill writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 3:05:02 AM

anything with nolan on board will be a win win, his vision in recent pictures are great - costner however will bring a strong seriouness to superman which is needed - as gary oldman gave in the dark night .. should be good stuff
Rambo writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 3:06:32 AM

Loved Costner in 'Mr.Brooks'.should be good in Superman
supaflywill writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 3:12:06 AM

should be good stuff...nolan has his finger on the button ..a childhood hero brought to life by a proper film maker . cant wait - costner will good for it .
telur writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 3:50:31 AM

good... bring Whitney Houston as Mama Kent... wait a second... that The Bodyguard...
markoz writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 4:18:39 AM

@Rambo

Damn right he was awesome in Mr.Brooks

This movie sounds like it will be awesome.The only thing bothering me is why is Lindsay Lohan listed on IMDb as rumored to play Ursa?I hope that it's an unbased rumor
bandolero999 writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 5:27:17 AM

So far so good
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 5:33:09 AM

Costner is underrated, has had some major flops. Still think his best was 'The Untouchables', everytime i see that film i hum the theme for the next two weeks!
trailertrash writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 6:14:52 AM

Just going to say the same thing about the Untouchables, great film and who can forget Connerys oscar winning Scottish/Irish Jim Malone.

Not seen Mr Brooks but will check that one out.

JFK forgetting if all the facts were Correct in the movie, That last 25 minutes in the courtroom is still one of my favorite endings to any film i have seen.

Costner unravels the events to that fateful day like Hercule Poirot on speed, Brilliant.
moefromspringfield writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 7:42:42 AM

Just watched Costner in the new daughter and he was good in that.

Bunny X writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 7:55:49 AM

I actually like this call. Costner is a fav and looks to fit the Pa Kent role nicely.
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 8:28:01 AM

Good call with Costner. Like everyone else here I think he is a hugely underrated actor. Hell I even like some of his flops

Waterworld- great movie
The Postman- Great movie
For the love of the game- Awesome

Hell I was even pleasantly surprised to see him in the Company Men which was a great film.

zyban03 writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 8:31:46 AM

I hope this is accurate! What a great addition.
ShizPaf writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 8:41:06 AM

He can come off as wooden and at times seems to be reading his scripts. That was perfect for Dances with Wolves, but isn't always ok. Some directors though have gotten fantastic performances out of him, A Perfect World is one such example. Who wouldnt act for Eastwood though....

I too love Waterworld and The Postman, but it could be Robin Hood we are getting...
Dre-EL writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 8:46:59 AM

Kevin Costner as Jonathan Kent? I like that idea, sounds really ggod to me.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 8:47:29 AM

Nice to see all the Mr. Brooks love on hear. I saw it randomly a couple of years ago and was blown away by Costner's performance. What a highly underrated film!

I like seeing Costner out of the staight-to-dvd bargain bend and back on the big screen. He's a decent actor who's head temporarily got too big for Hwood after winning every praise and honor the industry had to offer. Now I hear he's a very laid back and humble guy who just likes to smoke ganga and play golf. Good to have old Cup back.
YoungChris writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 9:14:10 AM

Oh yeah ..can't wait to see KC in superman...he's is one of my fav actor.
dbreuning writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 9:22:39 AM

I mean, hell yeah! Nolan/Goyer made Batman the baddest superhero on the block, in a believable-ish world. Can't wait to see what they will do to/with Superman (no Brokeback Mountain!).
bill the butcher writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 9:40:06 AM

after his performance in MR BROOKS
i would love to see him as lex luthor
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 9:43:21 AM

Always been a fan of Kevin Costner. This is gonna be great.
trailertrash writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 10:11:58 AM

Bill-

let's hope they leave Lex out this time, It must be time for Superman to fight someone else now...
Kurskij writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 11:41:15 AM

Costner is long due to make a comeback.

"Postman" was awful, "Robin Hood" was cheesy, but

JFK, The Untouchables, No way out, Dances with Wolves, A perfect world, Wyatt Earp, The War, Thirteen Days and Open Range are all either good or great IMHO.

Thirteen Days is one of the most underrated political thrillers ever in my opinion, same with Open Range in western genre - the final shootout was gritty and wonderfully staged.
WV-Films writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 1:09:38 PM

f*ckING BAMBI ROLLOVER! STOP!!
Champ1432 writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 4:03:05 PM

Sounds like good news to me, count me as a Costner fan as well. I think he'll do a great job as Supes' adopted dad. All the movies mentioned by others are good or great, especially Open Range, Wyatt Earp, Untouchables, and personal favorite is actually Tin Cup. Might not be his best, but I always loved it.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 4:55:33 PM

Wat the hell no ones mentioned 3000 miles to graceland with kurt russel,or even the bodyguard
trailertrash writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 5:04:10 PM

3000 Miles was such a bad movie, Not even Kurt Russell could save it..
ShizPaf writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 6:25:20 PM

I put 3000 Miles in the same movie category as Very Bad Things. Ok to watch if they happen to be on, probably found in the $5 bin at WalMart.
Ranger writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 6:56:45 PM

@Shiz - nail on the head as usual my friend.

And I like Costner in anything. So good call if they get his for Jonathan Kent.
Ranger writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 9:05:07 PM

3000 Miles I (obviously) liked more than most on here. It had a 'look' that Ryan Reynolds 'Smokin Aces' used. Not to tear 3000 Miles apart... it was ok for what it was. Courteney Cox was at her height of boniness... but that's ok. I'd still bang the sh*t outta her.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 23rd, 2011 at 12:53:11 AM

What everyone above me said.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on February 23rd, 2011 at 1:00:18 AM

I realize I'll probably get some heat for this, but my dad and I firmly believe that Kevin Costner is one of the worst actors out there. He has done nothing for us regarding his acting or direction efforts. However, strangely enough, this kind of role seems perfect for Costner. If I could picture him as anything specific it would be a farmhand turned Superman's father. This movie sounds like its going to be awesome. Nolan provides above average stuff constantly and Snyder is really good director, his visuals are always spectacular, even if they out do the film itself.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on February 23rd, 2011 at 2:16:27 AM

Kevin Costner is actually playing the villain - The Postman! "He'll send you to your grave... special delivery!"

In that photo he's either farting or doing an impression of Tony Blair doing an impression of Spock.
JohnZee writes:
on February 23rd, 2011 at 5:05:45 AM

Kevin Costner isn't a great actor, but in the right role he can do a decent job. And I certainly don't think that the role of Jonathan Kent is out of his league, as it is a secondary role anyway, and Costner has enough experience acting to know how to say his lines, keep from bumping into the furniture, and don't get in the way of the main character's performances.

Again the movie isn't about Jonathan Kent, so he'll be fine.

And btw Mr. Brooks is a good film, if not the best Costner movie of the last decade. Also I'd have to say that this particular scene did move up my opinion of Costner a notch or two:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGgJ4p1drp4

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved