WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Where Your Eyes Look When Watching a Movie

Posted: February 18th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Where Your Eyes Look When Watching a MovieSubmit Comment
In an experiment to see how audiences watch movies, eleven people had their eye movements recorded using an Eyelink 1000 camera while watching "There Will Be Blood." Each circle represents one person's eyes. The size of the circle represents how long the person has been starring at that point. Watch the video below to see the results.

What's interesting is how not everyone focuses on the same part of the screen and most people's eyes will run through the entire frame to learn as much about it as possible. And when new information is introduced, like when Ciaran Hinds is shown after being blocked by Paul Dano, all eyes jump all over it.

I'm glad the experiment chose "There Will Be Blood" and not "Transformers." Otherwise it may be embarrassing when enormous circles end up being glued on Megan Fox's chest.

Video:


Source: Gizmodo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:19:53 AM

My eyes were all over the place when i watched Piranha 3D
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:30:27 AM

Come to think off it i've never seen scarlett johansson face...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:04:43 AM

They should have used Japanese porn for the study.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:54:01 AM

Oh alex you joker you! To be honest in transformers i was lookin at Megan Foxes leg because i swear i saw ballbag fall out of her cut offs?? Controvercial!!
boogiel writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:10:22 AM

Always aiming for a woman's boobs and legs. Period!
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:40:26 AM

"I'm glad the experiment chose "There Will Be Blood" and not "Transformers." Otherwise it may be embarrassing when enormous circles end up being glued on Megan Fox's chest."

Really ? I thought they'd be looking for her toe thumbs ?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:41:51 AM

^ Of course, (Dou)Che and Jack_OffUpSomeMan'sAss would be trying to ogle Shia LaDouchebag's nutsacks the entire time.
ShizPaf writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 8:14:08 AM

^^Heh, toe thumbs.
ShizPaf writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 8:17:09 AM

Toe thumb sucker?

http://www.videobloggingtips.com/2009/06/megan-fox-toe-thumb.html
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 9:09:12 AM

I always feel like... somebody's watching MEEEEEE!
arkflash writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 10:03:53 AM

Could have at least shown the "I drink your milkshake" scene. And no that's not a deleted Transformer Megan Fox scene.
jdl107 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 10:57:55 AM

@Trailer: Lol on your first post my man. My friend was telling me that that movie definately works that kind of magic.

I'm just curious, but did Kelly Brook show off any skin?
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 11:12:30 AM

jdl107- hahaha

It sure does work that booty magic and kelly does show some skin my good man and there is even a little underwater girl on girl action too.

The Film is worth watching but with kelly in it, It's a must see (over and over again) lol
Kurskij writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 11:55:42 AM

@tt
"My eyes were all over the place when i watched Piranha 3D"

And Deep Purple's "Smoke on the water" cover version entitled "Tits in the water" playing in your head.

Kurskij writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 11:56:08 AM

Speaking about Kelly Brook

A little holiday gift


http://egotastic.com/entertainment/celebrities/kelly-brook/kelly-brook-nude-pictures-provide-red-hot-heat-for-exhibition-magazine-007174
rocketman writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 1:04:56 PM

Yum,her tits are on the flop though,shame at such a young age.
triggax writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 2:22:17 PM

Rangers eyes were on DDL's crotch the entire movie. Thats a guarantee
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 3:13:37 PM

It really depends on the film, and how each scene is composed. In traditional artistic composition, you aim the eyes in a sequence of pre-determined elements, or you showcase a sigle central element. It's called composition.

If you treat a film as if it's moving visual art and poetry, then the eyes should follow each scene as if they're viewing properly constructed stationary art.

And that's why they chose Wes Anderson's 'There Will Be Blood', and not 'Not Another Teen Movie' or 'Bad Boys 2' or other contemporary works of vicual noise and disconcerting cinematic schlock.

I would like to see though how well the eye tracks in scenes chot by older Cameron films versus established artistic directors, just to observe how well Cameron hews to proper cinematic composition.

I'd like to think he fares better than the average director in that respect, as he has often excelled in so many other areas (color composition and scene framing, for just two easy example).
BobMcBob writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:39:49 PM

my eyes were glued to Daniel Day-Lewis' chest while watching There Will Be Blood
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:47:38 PM

It was a beautifully sh*t film for sure. Anderson's mastery of color, mood, lighting and framing were on display here. And the story was absolutely solid.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:12:11 PM

shot...shot..shot

You know, an edit button...ah f*ck it. nevermind.
Kurskij writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:41:41 PM

^It's a rare thing I agree with you, Mink

But you sure are right.

Outstanding movie. Rock solid.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:48:51 PM

^^You agree with me only when I say something positive about something you like, not because I'm either right or wrong, so don't bother patronizing me.
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:56:11 PM

Kurskij- Happy Holidays indeed !!

Also on your link was Rachel Stevens she is VERY HAWT !!!

Even with her webbed feet !

http://egotastic.com/image?path=1012/fhm-2011-calendar-01.jpg&info=FHM 2011 Calendar

You can guess where my eyes were whilst looking at her pic, lol
Kurskij writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:05:06 PM

@Mink

No, Mink, I don't.

I agree with something when I agree with it.

I don't when I don't.

As for patronizing you:

1. I don't give a f*ck about it.

2. I do know you're a smart guy - regardless of the fact if I agree with your point or not - and I'm a foreigner. So I just don't bother. I know that my vocabulary won't be enough.

3. Check 1

Kurskij writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:07:58 PM

@tt

Holy sh*t, I didn't see that!

Wow! Rachel Stevens you say?! =8
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:13:24 PM

"I agree with something when I agree with it."

In other words, you don't know why you agree with something, you just do, so you resort to a tautology instead, which leaves the mechanism of why agree unexplained and unexplored, which means I'm quite probably still correct?

Agreement should be based on intellectual common ground, not on 'feelings', which are almost always entirely erroneous.

"I know that my vocabulary won't be enough"

That's an very odd excuse, don't you 'agree', considering that you're doing fine expressing yourself here?
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:30:01 PM

Kurskij:

One last thing and I'll let it be, because I have people to kill and places to build.

In the future, if you agree with me, just let it be. No need to tell me, because I don't give a sh*t. No offense. And that goes for everyone. Either tell me why I'm wrong and bring some balls and brains to do so, or just let the f*cker be. Because I can't f*cking stand patronization. It makes me sick. Do you see what I'm saying? Telling me you agree with me, but avoiding me when you don't just stinks, so play it all the way and just let it slide. Ok? Thanks.

Have a nice night.
Kurskij writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:59:29 PM

"Telling me you agree with me, but avoiding me when you don't just stinks, so play it all the way and just let it slide."

Mink, I've read your previous post, but let us stick to this, OK?

Have a nice night as well.

triggax writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:07:03 PM

Ive never really liked Chinese people.
Syman404 writes:
on February 21st, 2011 at 12:01:07 AM

"I'm glad the experiment chose "There Will Be Blood" and not "Transformers." Otherwise it may be embarrassing when enormous circles end up being glued on Megan Fox's chest."

she has no chest

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved