WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brad Pitt was Offered Lead in "Akira"

Posted: February 18th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brad Pitt was Offered Lead in "Akira"Submit Comment
NY Mag has learned that while putting together a big screen version of "Akira," the Hughes brothers (The Book of Eli) and Warner Bros have been in talks with some of Hollywood's biggest names to star in the big budget film.

Earlier in the week, Warners president Jeff Robinov called Brad Pitt and offered him the lead role of Kaneda, a character that's supposed to be at least 20 years younger than Pitt. The actor passed, but James Franco and Mila Kunis were still in talks to play Tetsuo and Kei.

It turns out that both Franco and Kunis just passed as well, both deciding to instead star in Sam Raimi's "The Wizard of Oz" prequel. This means that "Akira" is now on hold until a big-name actor is hired.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:07:13 AM

Aren't Kaneda and the others supposed to be kids? Like 15 years or something?
bandolero999 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:30:28 AM

I sense another street fighter and dragonball evolution.Once again y the f*ck are white ppl involved they're f*cking japanese for crying out loud.I hope this sh*t fails it ain't gonna be no Goemon or any live action manga that the japanese release.

Franco is a horrible choice always has been.if I wanted to see a movie about an amputee ill watch crippled avengers or any of the one armed swordsman movies
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:29:53 AM

Earlier in the week, Warners president Jeff Robinov called Brad Pitt and offered him the lead role of Kaneda, a character that's supposed to be at least 20 years younger than Pitt.

Wow, they would've had to CGI the f*ck out of making Pitt younger (like they did in Benjamin Button) for Akira.
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 8:43:05 AM

Brad Pitt WTF! Japanese School kids ?? how does that work, this is going to SUCK!!
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 9:14:12 AM

Brad Pitt WTF! Japanese School kids ?? how does that work, this is going to SUCK!!

SACdaddy writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 10:17:38 AM

I'm sorry, you have to use younger ASIAN actors to make this film work. It won't make sense with 45 yo white people. Just get Rain from Ninja Assassin and a couple of the stars from Tokyo Drift and you've got your cast. They don't have to be great actors seeing that the visual effects, CGI, and action sequences should drive the film. Come on, there have to be some Japanese/Korean popstars or flavors of the month that can speak English well enough to star in this and make it more authentic.
jdl107 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 10:34:59 AM

I will never buy James Franco playing a character named Tetsuo, for obvious reason.

That being said, these guys are being real lazy with this movie, at least make everything American since you're gonna go from Tokyo to New York. I don't know any white people (Hope that doesn't come off offensive in any way) that could be named named Tetsuo, or Kaneda.

I could see Jared Leto as Kaneda, well somewhat. But since we're all familiar with his story lately lol I don't think that would work.

jdl107 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 10:52:37 AM

People always underestimate actors, then some of the time they end up nuking those f*cking expectations. Heath for example.

Which is why I feel better saying that I think John Cho could be a good Kaneda.

But... other things have to factor into that. Directors are a huge part of the equation. I've never seen Menace II Society, but I have seen Dead Presidents and Book of Eli, and that just wasn't enough to convince me that these guys can handle a movie like this.

I might be underestimating when I shouldn't be though, because I actually found Mila Kunis in Book of Eli to be a pretty good badass. Not once did she give a groan-inducing moment, not in the last half anyway. Hmm, this movie poses me some problems. I guess it's mainly because I can't think of American actors that belong in this movie.
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 12:17:00 PM

Franco & Kunis sex tape... c*mming soon!
secondbest writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 12:24:26 PM

If they're offering people as old as Brad Pitt roles of characters in their late teens, then I don't know how much hope I can have for this.
rocketman writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 12:41:56 PM

Dead to me is this sh*t.
triggax writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 2:49:08 PM

Who the f*ck is putting this pile of sh*t together?

James franco? Brad Pitt?

Are you f*cking serious? So lets take the most amazing animated film ever f*cking made in the history of f*cking cinema and THROW IT INTO A GAME OF "WHO'S HOT RIGHT NOW"

Sounds f*cking epic.

Can't wait to cut myself a little when this one comes out. I thought DiCaprio's Appian Way bought the rights to this one. Had some faith at one point.

Maybe he is still a producer. This is stupid.

If the cast isn't made up of a group of young bad ass asian adults. I will never f*cking watch it.

Jaden Smith. Guaranteed. Literally, you heard it here first.. that little f*cker will be Kenada. Tetsuo will be played by Bieber and the film will be directed by the dynamic duo of the Paul and Chris Weitz.. cant f*cking wait...
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 3:51:44 PM

Ah, I see another massive f*ckup on the horizon.

Their first mistake, of course, is to try to translate niche Japanese psycho-cultural works into mainstream American action-gore fodder.

That rarely if ever works, and the best they could hope to do is steal some of the story elements and a little of the cel-shaded cinematography, integrating it into a film of such dissimilarity hardly anyone,mercifully, would notice the intellectual theft.

Their second mistake, and this follows from the first, is to cast white actors in a film meant exclusively, as the story requires for those that have seen the film, to be played by young Japanese high school students.

That simple and expected characteristic was, in fact, one of the film's pivotal and central elements.

Any attempt at casting a middle-aged white famous actor into one of the lead roles is, quite simply, one of the worst cinematic ideas I've ever encountered, and I suspect the Hollywood version of Akira would look nothing like the anime namesake, and with reassuringly good reason.

My hope is that this project not only fails but dies swiftly and with prejudice. I hope it simply disappears much like how the Cowboy Bebop and NGE live-action film concepts simply faded away without nary a dollar wasted on production, simply because the task of storming the castle walls of Japanese anime proved far too treacherous, and perhaps insurmountable, for the fat, lazy, stupid and greedy trolls running and ruining the industry back in California.

I'd like to think that anime is one cinematic avenue innoculated to the incestuously lascivious Hollywood bandits roaming the backwoods of film in search of easy prey.
Valerie writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:24:07 PM

Kudos to Pitt for passing on this, at least he is not one of those deluded movie stars who would jump at the project, when they are obviously to old for it!
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:28:04 PM

You mean Tom Cruise, right?
Valerie writes:
on February 19th, 2011 at 8:10:34 AM

Lmao, exactly! Although i like Tom, sometimes he makes ridiculous choices!
Morpheus writes:
on February 21st, 2011 at 7:05:41 PM

I don't know where all the racism and ageism is coming from (And I DON'T mean from where in the world are the idiot-users making such statements...) but, if they do decide to go with western actors I hope they do it right. Since racism is more evil than ageism, using racism to justify this actor over that one is just dumber and, ultimately, more disgusting! And since racism is ultimately more evil, changing the race of the character(s), in any given film, is ultimately better than changing their age. I don't particularly like Brad Pitt, as I find him to be a vastly overrated actor, so, I'm glad to see that he turned this role down.

James Franco is an excellent actor, who I personally think is underrated, so, seeing that he turned this role down, & perhaps the entire movie, for me, means that this movie, if it ever gets made, will possibly not be as good as it could be. If they go with western actors of the same age... then what about Jaden Smith?!? It will likely take a few years to get this film made, if it ever gets made, and Jaden is due to turn 13 this year. He may very well be, end up being at the very least, perfect for the role, of Kaneda or Tetsuo!

I can't think of any other western actors to realistically play any of the other roles in the film, at least based on age but, if they do decide to go with western actors of a similar age then they may, at least for the most part, end up being mostly unknowns. Which is fine with me but that still doesn't mean that the acting has to suck. For the acting to be worth a damn, at least, they need to have an accomplished director: James Cameron is my first choice!

James Cameron is perhaps the one director who is most adept at making big budget box office movies and, in that respect, he is probably the most talented director in the industry to be had.

All of you bigoted f*cking PIGS can kiss my ass!!
elrei writes:
on February 21st, 2011 at 9:11:27 PM

I don't want this to be made. PERIOD. Stay the hell away from anIme Hollywood! Specially Akira!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved