WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Shane Black Confirmed to Direct "Iron Man 3"

Posted: February 18th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Shane Black Confirmed to Direct "Iron Man 3"Submit Comment
About a week ago, it was reported that Shane Black was in talks with Marvel Studios to direct "Iron Man 3," replacing Jon Favreau, who has decided not to return.

Deadline is now reporting that Black has entered final negotiations to direct, but there's still no word whether the studio will want him to write the script. There's still time to make decision since the film won't hit theaters until May 3rd, 2013.

Up until 2005, Black was known for writing "Lethal Weapon," "The Last Boy Scout" and "The Long Kiss Goodnight." Then Black made his helming debut with "Kiss Kiss Bang Bang," which coincidentally starred Robert Downey Jr.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:08:41 AM

I'm in as long as he is a fan and familiar with the stories in the comics.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:08:45 AM

I hope they will let him write. He has a pretty good resumé. And since the last one sucked, they really haven't anything to loose.
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:44:04 AM

Hope this means we will see a little more action this time round.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:59:18 AM

Cool by me.
moefromspringfield writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:05:36 AM

Good Choice.

Kiss Kiss bang bang is a belter.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:19:51 AM

Speaking of Kiss Kiss Bang Bang- listen to this beautiful piece of music to brighten up your friday morning!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G8h_MfZng4o ENJOY
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:24:53 AM

Also that guy looks like the love child of Liev Schreiber and Eric Bana. BOSH!! Tell me im wrong?? Tell me im wrong?? Who's got that friday feeling??
boogiel writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:53:23 AM

I really dont care who directs as long as its better than IM2, that movie was just too awful.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:37:13 AM

johnny_boy writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:08:41 AM
I'm in as long as he is a fan and familiar with the stories in the comics.

@johnny boy

Personally, I would rather be satisfied that this guy can direct than whether he's a fan of Iron Man or a geek boy who collects comics.

Remember, Paul Weak sh*t Anderson claims to be a fan of Resident Evil, but has f*cked it up from day one.


And Shane has proven two things in the past :

1. Witty repoirte (in both Lethal Weapon and Kiss, Kiss, Bang, Bang) and good dialogue

2. Pretty good action (in the Lethal Weapon series and The Last Boy Scout)
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 8:59:17 AM

Sweet, I'm happy.
atn5022 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 9:47:13 AM

iron man 2 wasnt horrendous but not nearly as good as the first. the dialog between pepper and tony was just bitter and hard to sit through
atn5022 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 9:47:22 AM

iron man 2 wasnt horrendous but not nearly as good as the first. the dialog between pepper and tony was just bitter and hard to sit through
jdl107 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 10:30:48 AM

Kiss Kiss Bang Bang is criminally underrated. I'm glad I read this because now I'll remember to watch it soon, haven't seen it in ages.
jdl107 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 10:45:38 AM

I actually liked Iron Man 2, but what i didn't like was sometimes it felt like a cash product, did not have much of the humor or heart or wit that Iron Man 1 had.

Merchandising product, every superhero of course is, but to clarify I meant that Iron Man 1 was great. It was fresh, it had wit and humor. Number 2 did also, but... in a way of just going through the motions.
jdl107 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 10:53:23 AM

CASH-IN... thats the phrase I was looking for. Damn it.
jdl107 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 10:58:42 AM

OT: That Bambi ad is really starting to get on my nerves...
RickPeters writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 11:26:39 AM

It kinda sucks that Jon Favreau isn't coming back, but Shane Black is a great replacement. Even if he doesn't write it, I think he'll do a good job. But him and Justin Theroux could probably write a really great script together.
rocketman writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 12:40:50 PM

We like this.The guy should do a script polish on Spiderman,his wiseass style would suit it perfectly.
triggax writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 2:29:58 PM

After all this time...

Honestly.. Why wasn't Black attached from the beginning.. Iron Man is perfectly suited for Blacks witty dialogue and epic action scenes.

I dont even care if hes read a single Iron Man comic.. You get a guy like Shane Black behind a movie like Iron Man, this guy f*cking wrote the book on Buddy action comedies..

I would love to see a lethal weapon style Iron Man 3... Cheadle and Downey Jr wrecking sh*t all the while making due time for one liners and comic relief.. I have so much more faith in this series with Black behind it.. I cant even begin to tell you..

Favreau is a one trick pony.. that trick was Iron Man 1... Goodbye Fatreau.. Go back to making independent comedies with your lover.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 2:35:33 PM

Eh. They took the gamble. Must have been hard for them to not have an a-star director in the wings for one of their flagship film franchises. lol. Well, I can't wait to see if irony serves up a second helping by giving the writing job to someone else.

Just think, the man perfect at writing action, but inexperienced in directing, get's saddled with the latter while denied the former. Destiny denied!

All that aside, I hope it works out well, but I have a sneaking snark of a suspicion we're going to remember the first film, and the first film alone, as the best one, by far, of the series. I could be wrong, and I hope I am, but I don't see that happening, unless they have Black write the script.

I await Marvel's decision with accustomed alacrity.
triggax writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 2:42:10 PM

Did not read the article, just the header, did not realize Black wasn't the script writer, or confirmed at least.

Shane Black is too smart a writer to not be given both Jobs. You can't have a guy like Black direct and not have at least some say in what goes down as far as the writing..

I guess we will see in a couple years.
koul writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 3:00:12 PM

i'm okay with it for Shane Black to direct Iron Man 3
SeWerin writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 3:01:58 PM

Hopkins FTW! Awesome news!
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 3:58:51 PM

"Did not read the article, just the header, did not realize Black wasn't the script writer, or confirmed at least."

It doesn't matter how great the cook, for if he has to work with a terrible recipe, the entree is destined to fail among the guests.

Now, there are a few directors with the talent and enough preseverance to weave a potential disaster away from the loom of fate, but rarely has one made a masterpiece meal from a razed recipe.
Kurskij writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:59:15 PM

Hmmm... What's the word?

f*ck YEAH!

Just let him write the script or at least supervise.

He is brilliant.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:13:29 PM

He can't do any worse than Uwe " Alone In The Dark " Boll or Paul Weak sh*t " Let me f*ck up Resident Evil " Anderson.

And unlike Brett Ratner, he doesn't live up in a tree and fling his poop at the public.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:23:36 PM

That remains to be seen, Max.

Ratner, even though often unimaginatively and repetitiously labeled a 'hack', has had far more helming gigs than Black.

And the one film Ratner gets bashed about for he didn't even write. More to the point, I hardly see enormous fault with Ratner's direction in any number of his films.

Black is pretty much a cipher as far as directing goes, and considering that Bang Bang is no Iron Man, the latter a far more demanding film to direct than a laid back and rather slow 'action' film, you have to wonder what Black can do under such certain stress and a much heavier weight.

And let's also face the fact: Bang Bang was, out of all the film's Black touched, the least entertaining. He simply excels writing action films, but his direction of them leaves much to desire, judging by the one exemplar.

Well, regardless, we will have to wait and see if Marvel even cares anymore as to how far their film's reputations carry into the future, or if they're just making films for the money now.

And to all the readers that feel a need to piss and moan that I dared question the monumental quality of Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, don't bother with your hate. You'll waste both of our time.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:42:34 PM

"or if they're just making films for the money now."

Were they ever doing otherwise? Silly me! *groin kick*
JohnZee writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:26:13 PM

Mink doesn't care for Shane Black, doesn't value most of the man's contributions to cinema, and thinks he is at the very bottom of the rung as far as viable movie sirectors. Certainly not surprising in any way. And probalt after reading any more pro Shane Black comments on this thread he'll scour the internet for some anti-Shane Black article to copy and paste to "prove" his point.

The previous director was certainly not all that, and even he would most certainly approve Black being picked to helm Iron Man 3. Robert Downey Jr. Would definitely approve of the choice as well.

But not Mink, because he is far superior to either one of those men as far as determining whether Shane Black would be a good choice to direct this movie.

Black is better than Marc Webb, by merit of the two individual movies that the two men directed before getting assigned their Marvel projects.

And no doubt that a good portion of why Black was hired was Marvel trying to get as much bang for their buck as they possibly could as far as a director for IM2 , just as much as they did with Whedon or Branagh.

Yet Mink knows better. Or at least he thinks he does.

No Shane Black is not a great director, but than again neither was the original director of the Iron Man franchise, but Black has a reputation in Hollywood of repeatedly rising to the occasion. And I am sure that he recognizes fully well that although the pay may not be there, directing Iron Man 3 is a grand opportunity to prove "knowledable" critics like Mink completely wrong.

And whatever you think about Shane Black, it should be pretty obvious he likes a challenge.
bill the butcher writes:
on February 21st, 2011 at 5:36:29 AM

kiss kiss bang bang is and always will be
in my top 10 films ever
acting script music cinematography everything in that film was perfect :)

black is perfect for iron man 3

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved