WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Update: "RoboCop" and "Poltergeist" Remakes Moving Forward

Posted: February 18th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Update: "RoboCop" and "Poltergeist" Remakes Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
Variety has learned that part of its first post-bankruptcy deal, MGM is moving forward with remakes of 1980s films "Mr Mom," "The Idolmaker," "Robocop" and "Poltergeist."

"Mr. Mom" was directed by Stan Dragoti and written by John Hughes about a stay-at-home dad (Michael Keaton). "The Idolmaker" was directed by Taylor Hackford and starred Ray Sharkey as a mercenary music promoter who takes on two boys with the intent of turning them into teen idols.

"RoboCop" was directed by Paul Verhoeven about a terminally wounded cop who returns to the force as a powerful cyborg with submerged memories haunting him. "Poltergeist" was written by Steven Spielberg and is about a family's home that is haunted by ghosts.

Update: We're begin told that the article is not true. The only movies is moving forward with are "The Hobbit" prequels, "James Bond 23" and "Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Valis writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:09:28 AM

Speaking of RoboCop, since it doesn't seem that the news has spread too widely outside of Detroit... Some people were able to raise $50,000 to fund the building of a RoboCop statue in Detroit, mostly from people outside the city. Lots of controversy, fun novelty though.
http://www.freep.com/article/20110216/NEWS01/110216015/Sci-fi-fans-rejoice-RoboCop-statue-coming-Detroit
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:12:11 AM

I understand the RoboCop-remake, I do not condone it, but I understand. Poltergeist, however, is more odd. They make poltergeist-movies by the dozen now. The only reason is to capitalize one the name. f*cking cowards.
johnny_boy writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:13:12 AM

Whenever will Hollywood learn that you can't remake a f*ckin movie and recapture the same magic it did when it was the original. Instead the remakes are just awful and star Will Smiths untalented children.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:09:23 AM

"Mr. Mom" was directed by Stan Dragoti and written by John Hughes about a stay-at-home dad (Michael Keaton). "The Idolmaker" was directed by Taylor Hackford and starred Ray Sharkey as a mercenary music promoter who takes on two boys with the intent of turning them into teen idols.


Ok well "Mr Mom" is a f*cking hilarious movie and they will no way top that, it will be some unfunny PC peice of sh*t!!

With "The Idolmaker" sounds like they need to change the title to "The Groomer"
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:16:01 AM

Agree dave , Michael Keaton did make some very funny movies back in the mid 80's.

Ron Howards's Night Shift with Henry Winkler and Michael Keaton is still one of my favorite comedies from the 80's
snoop writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:16:34 AM

Yeah, this RoboCop remake is pissing me off. I was happy when it was supposed to be cancled. I'll end up watching it, but I won't pay to see it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:26:42 AM

You're right there trailer, "Nightshift" is one funny movie.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:56:54 AM

Let me guess the robocop remake will be gritty and violent, but a PG13. The robotic suit will be an upgraded version with enough nostalgia for old viewers. Justin Bieber will play Robocop.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:50:52 AM

Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 5:56:54 AM

Let me guess the robocop remake will be gritty and violent, but a PG13. The robotic suit will be an upgraded version with enough nostalgia for old viewers. Justin Bieber will play Robocop.


@CinemaIsDead

... and written by ... Frank 'I killed Will Eisner' Miller
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 8:41:45 AM

MAKE SOME NEW f*ckING FILMS!
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 8:57:08 AM

Next up Smokey and the Bandit starring Taylor Lautner once he can grow a tash
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 9:04:29 AM

WP

Did we really need to know the plot details of these movies? I'm pretty sure those films are considered classics by most in this community and if the others don't know then they can go f*ck themselves.

@TT

f*cking Night shift! I love 80s movies!
Hudson Hawk, money pit, beetle juice, 3 o'clock high, A Christmas Story, Airplane , About last night .......Wait the list can go on and on and I am now realizing that I watched a lot of T.V. as a kid? Thanks for the good family values DAD
lilroll2010 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 10:51:03 AM

hell no! u cant remake robocop! it will fail. the og is perfect. leave tht sh*t alone. OCP 4 life
Monash writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 11:01:06 AM

The original was great, the sequels had room for improvement. I wouldn't mind one of those distant sequels like Die Hard 4 and Indiana Jones 4 (but obviously not LIKE Indiana Jones 4)
coldplayesence writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 12:12:17 PM

Badass pic.
rocketman writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 12:16:04 PM

Judge Dredd rip off,f*ck this sh*t and go see the new Dredd movie instead.
And leave Poltergeist alone it's a f*cking classic,like trying to remake ET or summat.
rocketman writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 12:18:35 PM

Concept maquette from Roboplop
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4024/4524587533_6bd0e0e393_z.jpg
Dredd
http://images.wikia.com/judgedredd/images/0/09/Dredd.gif
c*nts
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 12:19:03 PM

I like all 4 movies (I have 3 of them).
Mr. Mom I haven't seen in ages.

I'm not condoning remakes either. I'm a HUGE RoboCop fan. That's about the only one that would benefit to make a 'Matrix-like' updated version (not to overtake the original... that's impossible). Just to freshen it up to 21st. century movie-making standards.
secondbest writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 12:31:17 PM

I've seen all 4 and the only remake I can see as somewhat promising is RoboCop because of the presence of technology in the film's plot. They could really play around with that now. Then again, I thought a War of the Worlds remake would be AWESOME and look what happened with that. :/ All the other movies up there don't need to be remade though.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 1:57:05 PM

ugh...enough with the remakes. Hire someone who can write original stories instead of beating old horses to death. Maybe if they combine these movies it might be interesting ha ha ha
triggax writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 2:12:29 PM

Whats strange about the hatred of remakes is that, hollywood has been remaking films since the beginning of film.

This process on paper should be a generally accepted thing to do. The problem is, now, theyre taking classics and destroying them, IE Freddy Krueger, but if done properly, you get films like The Departed.. So is it really that bad to have remakes? If someone says hey, I can remake Star Wars and make it better than the original films, I would say go sh*t in your hat.

I said the same about Nolan "rebooting" Batman, and that nobody could capture Batman the way Tim Burton did in the early 90's... Boy was I f*cking wrong, made the series substantially better.

I said the same about horror classics as well. Amityville Horror is one of my all time favorite films. Love James Brolin and adore the original. When I caught news of the remake, (which I still believe this remake revolution we're experiencing literally rode off the success of the remake of that particular film) I was really hesitant and had assumed that one of my all time favorite horror films was about to have a horrible injustice suffered to its creators and original cast etc.. Then.. I was pleasantly surprised to say the least. Very good remake comparable with the original movie.

I think we should be aware of the fact that Hollywood has survived off of remakes for 100 years + ... Its reboots that we should be wary of and have a problem with, remakes if done right can be fantastic, and if done horribly make us appreciate the source material that much more, so I can't honestly say that I mind these films being remade. Poltergeist, yeah although there isn't a single human being on this planet capable of capturing the magic that Tobe Hooper was able to in the original. I would definitely say its worth a shot and worth our time to have a look. If at the very worst we all shut it off to watch the original, at least we remember how amazing these films were to begin with and it restores interest in classic actors and classic films which may have been lost over the years.

With that said, there are films that cannot be remade, not because of their stature or whether or not its a classic... There are some movies so flawless and perfect that remaking them would be a pointless waste of money.

So until the day I read a news header that reads "Heat remake moving forward" Ill be down with whatever they throw at me.. Just to open my eyes up to new possibilities and to be able to look at a beloved film from a different angle.

Its a reboot revolution. Not a remake revolution. Remakes are not the enemy. Some of the greatest films of all time are remakes.

Suck it.
triggax writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 2:18:02 PM

"so I can't honestly say that I mind these films being remade"


I DONT MIND.. DONT MIND...

f*cking proof read man..

Get an edit button alex, im sure you have a team of retards somewhere that could do that for you... Ill f*cking do it if its too difficult for you guys to handle..
triggax writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 2:19:03 PM

On second thought, just get a delete button.. So that I can delete my last post. Because there is no error there im just retarded..

I made no error..

Disregard my last post.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 3:05:10 PM

The first Robocop film is hardly a timeless masterpiece of modern filmmaking, if such a thing even exists. The acting is hit or miss and the effects are often more dodgy than ot, even considering the times during which the film was produced.

It's the novelty of the story, really, and the execution that ensured that the film was worth watching more than once. So I welcome a remake. Certainly, they can't do any worse than the five or so atrociously produced sequels.

And as Nolan seems to be the premier headf*ck when it comes to big-budget mindscrews, I'd like to see him at least do the story, because the first film was far more into the overblown action than the mysteries of a man's mind transformed into a machine's slave.

And I think that could be explored far more deeply and with interest to the namesake character than in the first film, where Robocop's entire character hinged solely on his flawed memory of his once and lost humanity.

Aronofsky would've been another good choice, but he hasn't displayed an innate ability to do action, which often requires a cerebral disconnect. Nolan can do both, but Darren does the cerebral far better.

Because Robocop requires a bit of of both (or more of one than the other ddepending on your tastes) for the appeal of fans of the first film, and to make money with the gross demographic, I think Nolan would be better suited than Darren overall.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:20:13 PM

Why not just combine the two and make PolterCop or RoboGeist ?

Wow ... sounds like Troma movies ....
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:25:16 PM

^^LOL! Now that was f*cking funny.

And in the Troma version, the PolterCop would be a giant mutant chicken. PoulterCop!
technoreaper writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:31:06 PM

Robocop is definitely moving forward. Do it without that hack Aronofsky. With all this recent publicity, it would be stupid for a studio not to be moving forward with this project.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:31:58 PM

But I think they made a RoboGeist anime...something along those quite demented lines. Ghost in the Shell? Something to do with a robot's ghost...oh well.
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:33:05 PM

Big- lol,

The 80's was a very good time for both film and TV.

I feel sorry for kids today no saturday night action show to watch (and love) like the The Ateam ,Chips, Fall Guy , Airwolf etc etc etc.

Kids films today are nowhere near as good the films we had back then either Goonies, Back to the future, Ghostbusters , Rocky's (3and4)so on and so forth.

I have brought all of those films for my kids and they love them just as much as i did/do (thank god).

I Just don't think i could ever brinh myself to watch Marmaduke, Fred the movie and the like.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:35:57 PM

Aronofsky could be labeled many things: pretentious, annoying, frustrating, clever, ingenious, demented, boring, but he's certainly not a hack, which is someone willing to do anything for a paycheck, and who evinces unoriginality through his labors.

Darren may be much, but unoriginal and for the buck he is not.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 6:39:16 PM

sh*t, I missed Triggax's lengthy and smart post. How the hell did that happen? Must be that my sh*t got in the way. Good post dude, but I just have to comment:

"So until the day I read a news header that reads "Heat remake moving forward" Ill be down with whatever they throw at me"

They already did, my friend, and it's titled Takers.

Sorry, mon ami.
triggax writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:12:57 PM

Hahaa... Takers.. did you watch that pile of sh*t?

I got through maybe 20 minutes of it and had to buy a new TV.

And her I thought The Town was a remake of Heat.

Done well. Very well. Kudos to you Mr. Affleck. You retard.
liverpool67 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:13:33 PM

So, when they finish doing all these remakes of every movie ever made... what then? will they do the remakes of these remakes?
Electro Rock writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:16:05 PM

Blob remake was awesome.

And Ranger, totally right. No way can they top the original. No chance in hell.
triggax writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 7:19:20 PM

I bet you would be surprised as to which movies are already "Remakes of Remakes"

Google it.
swoooop writes:
on February 19th, 2011 at 2:02:05 PM

Poltergeist Is one of my all time favoritt horror movie. The first one that is. The rest of them are rubbish. I realy cant imagine how they could improve the mood and felling of that movie. Leave the movie alone you retareds.
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2011 at 5:51:03 PM

I saw Takers, triggax, and my inpression was that it was better than I had hoped, but I do admit to going in with very, VERY low expectations.
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2011 at 5:53:16 PM

And yes, the 1980s The Blob remake was damned good IMO, but that was the 80s and this is NOW.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on February 20th, 2011 at 11:28:06 AM

i wonder what the first movie ever remade was? id like to go back in time and kick the cast and crew in there f*cking faces for starting this dumbass trend
technoreaper writes:
on February 21st, 2011 at 2:37:07 AM

minkowski, Darren is a hack, because all of his movies, at their core, are the same.
bill the butcher writes:
on February 21st, 2011 at 5:41:02 AM

if they want to remake a michael keaton film
they should remake a thriller he did
PACIFIC HEIGHTS
from the director of marathon man

daniel day lewis would be my casting choice
bill the butcher writes:
on February 21st, 2011 at 5:42:08 AM

and now that we are talking about remakes
what ever happened
to mickey rourke and eva green
remaking MONA LISA ?????

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved