WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Donnie Darko" Helmer to Direct "Corpus Christi" Thriller

Posted: February 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Donnie Darko" Helmer to Direct "Corpus Christi" ThrillerSubmit Comment
Richard Kelly, the director behind "Donnie Darko," "Southland Tales" and "The Box," has signed on to write and direct "Corpus Christi" thriller. Eli Roth will produce.

The Texas-set story concerns a mentally unstable Iraq war veteran named Paciencia "Patience" De La Rosa, who forges a strange friendship with his boss Ralph Salverson, the wealthy and politically ambitious owner of a supermarket chain.

The project is currently talking to investors while casting is under way. An official announcement will likely be made in March with the plan to start production in July.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
kudanrt writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 2:46:29 AM

I'm about an hour and a half away. From that town... if they film there I just might take a cruise ova there... so whatch for me in the background! Lol I'll be one of the cars in one of the scenes.. you'll know who I am. :-)
trailertrash writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 2:57:29 AM

Thought Donnie Darko was ok , The Box on the other hand was one of the worst films i have ever seen and this has Eli Roth's name on it, so i may just skip by this one.
Rambo writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 4:05:41 AM

Kelly seems a like one movie director and that being donnie darko of course..
trailertrash writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 4:32:24 AM

Bombay- And- Roll,

Thats all i have to say about your new Avatar Rambo
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 4:46:57 AM

Donnie Darko is one of my favourite films, has such high expectations for Southland Tales and he let me down. I dont get how he can go from a mini masterpiece to a load of sh*t. Its the Kevin Smith effect... never believe youre own hype.
trailertrash writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 5:09:18 AM

Cinema

Not seen Southland Tales, Heard it wasn't all that hence i didn't bother with it.

Did you see the Box ?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 5:18:42 AM

Trailer- Don't even bother with Southland i don't know what he was thinking. It makes me think Donnie Darko wasn't as clever as i thought i think it was just a fluke i know it's not supposed to make much sense but i thought Kelly had made it that way on purpose. I haven't seen the box but i've heard bad things. What did you think of it mate?
Trip Maverick writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 5:19:22 AM

I liked Southland tales. A Little weird not as bad as people made out. Also Box was pretty good considering it was quite a low budget. At least his films try unlike half the sh*te in Hollywood these days.
trailertrash writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 5:41:54 AM

Cinema-

Hated it mate (sorry trip). We ended up skipping the last 45 minutes and went straight to the end just to see what happened.

Thought it was going to be about them pressing the button then trying to solve who would die and what was behind it all in a race against time thriller !! ERRR NO ....

Cameron Diaz was getting on my nerves as well, Avoid mate.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 5:51:09 AM

Can take it or leave it for me.
RickPeters writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 6:18:54 AM

Richard Kelly is a fluke. Donnie Darko was decent but Southland Tales and The Box were unwatchable. Eli Roth has never made a good movie.

Two wrongs don't make a right, right? This can't possibly be good.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 6:24:13 AM

Trip- Fair point he is trying to be different, i might give Southland another go it is a very subjective film i just had such high hopes because of Donnie Darko.

I'm not a fan of Cameron Diaz let alone playing a serious part she should just stick to her MTV doc*mentarys and get her tits out. I'll probably get the Box when it goes into the below 5 pound section on play.com
SeWerin writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 8:03:50 AM

The Box - holly crap what a crap
Schwasted writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 10:04:39 AM

Richard Kelly is a very talented director and hasn't made a BAD movie yet. There were problems with The Box and Southland Tales, but the same genius from Donnie Darko is still present. All of his movies are definitely worth seeing if you can appreciate off beat and deep science fiction themes. Also, his inspirations always come from things I love like The Twilight Zone. This new Corpus Christi movie seems like the right direction for Kelly. Still need to hear more about it, guess I need to wait until March.
trailertrash writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 10:48:23 AM

Off beat and deep science fiction themes are fine but when it's delivered in the most uninteresting and boring way known to man and you sit there hopping when they push that red button it will be you that dies, You know the film has missed the mark.

Well thats my opinion on it, like i said i liked Donnie Darko though.
Man in Black writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 11:37:55 AM

I do believe a better title for this article would had been " Who wants to see a train wreck ? "
Darko was good the other 2 were utter sh*t and to top it off Roth is a hack .
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 2:44:16 PM

There's barely an once of 'science fiction' in any of the moron's films. Sorry, but it's true.

Donnie Darko involved time travel, or something like it, and that was it. Everything else was just a contrivance to showcase 80s culture, which in itself isn't a bad thing, but when your 'masterpiece' film is nothing more than a nostalgic trip into the land of Incoherence, you had better be ready to bring something more later on.

Southland Tales was an atrocity, well-stocked with failed actors, recycled plot concepts from DD and a host of politically correct nonsense that tried to push boundaries while appearing chic and hip, but instead, again, the film failed to find a sliver of coherence or cohesion, and by the time the film ended, the viewer was too far down into a well of apathy to muster even a tepid "WTF?".

The Box was Kelly's attempt at more mainstream fare, adopting a short story of Matheson's into a full length film. Think of 1408, but vastly more boring, more outrageous and non-sensical and a lot less tense and taut, with Cameron Diaz's perpetually canned performance providing the cherry. Finally, subtract from the film any semblance of a scare.

Kelly is done. DD was his magnum opus, his retrospective life story told through the eyes of a mentally retarded Timothy Leary hopped up on Phillip K. d*ck short stories.
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 3:06:49 PM

Oh, and there's nothing ambitious about owning a chain of supermarkets. That's lowball for future business failures.
darkraven28 writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 3:18:20 AM

Loved Darko. Who didn't? Really?

I actually own copies of Southland Tales and The Box. Yes, neither of them made a lick of sense, but there are things to appreciate in both. Like Justin Timberlake lip-synching to the Killers in Tales and Frank Langella's performance in The Box. (Isn't Langella what GOD should sound like? YES!) But I seriously think Kelly is pretty much done. He even said at one point that he might have to direct someone else's script, which he might really want to try. The man's got talent, but his movies are f*cking nonsense.
Rookie One writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 4:38:38 AM

At the extreme risk of once again ending up with my foot in my mouth, I have to ask. Is there any film that has a widespread cult following, that you(Minkowski) don't disapprove of?

Do you at least like "Lebowski"?

Side note: I am in no way endorsing either of Kelly's follow up features.
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 5:44:22 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved