WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guy Ritchie in Talks to Direct "300" Sequel

Posted: February 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guy Ritchie in Talks to Direct "300" SequelSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has been planning a sequel to "300" ever since the film hit theaters back in 2006. Director Zack Snyder promised that if Frank Miller ever put together a sequel to his "300" graphic novel, he would write the script and make the film.

Miller completed the graphic novel, called "Xerxes," and Snyder has been working on the movie, but then he was hired to direct the upcoming "Superman" reboot. And to make things more difficult, NY Mag is reporting that the "Superman" script is having major issues with the third act.

On top of that, the magazine says that Snyder's "Sucker Punch" is testing poorly. An insider said: "It was bad; like, really bad." So what does all of this mean for "Xerxes"?

It turns out that Warners won't wait for Snyder to complete "Superman" and has decided to hand the franchise over to Guy Ritchie (Sherlock Holmes, Snatch). An offer has been made to Ritchie, who has yet to give his answer.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 4:27:16 AM

Persian: This is madness!!

Spartan: Madness? This is spartaa you shhlaaaaag!!!
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 4:37:43 AM

lol

Vinny Jones waiting by the phone
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 4:37:56 AM

But seriously? Guy ritchie's good and all but unless he's gonna completely copy Snyders slow motion, green screen auterism which I'm sure a director of his caliber with his own style of films (fast cuts, low res)wouldn't do, it just couldn't work. Leave the 300 sequel alone and get snyder on sin city 2 and 3.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 4:41:55 AM

Why do they call him Leonidas the arrow dodger?
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 4:44:17 AM

Can't imagine Ritchie ever wanting to take over some elses movie anyway thats not his style.

Sin City 2 and 3 get the feeling that they will never happen.
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 5:05:44 AM

If they ever do make Sin City 2, A Carla Gugino ass flashback is a must..
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 5:18:20 AM

Yeah i think Snyders moving away from these green screen films anyway which is a shame but if Superman is succesful, he'll get a lot more offers for more diverse films.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 5:21:22 AM

Sad to hear that Sucker Punch is testing poorly. Had high hopes for that one.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 5:22:39 AM

And to make things more difficult, NY Mag is reporting that the "Superman" script is having major issues with the third act.


"Superman kicks the villian in the balls so hard,they shoot out of his head"

The End

There you go Warners you can have that one for gratis.


On top of that, the magazine says that Snyder's "Sucker Punch" is testing poorly. An insider said: "It was bad; like, really bad." So what does all of this mean for "Xerxes"?


Why am I not suprised about this.


It turns out that Warners won't wait for Snyder to complete "Superman" and has decided to hand the franchise over to Guy Ritchie (Sherlock Holmes, Snatch). An offer has been made to Ritchie, who has yet to give his answer.


Yeah because Ratner did a great job with "X-Men: The Last Stand"

Ritchie stay away from this movie, you are a good director and you just about recoverd form "Swept Away".
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 6:04:48 AM

Agree Freud

But the Trailer i saw which was in front of The Mechanic the other week was terrible and dare i say it quite boring, Nothing like the one which was on here a few months ago.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 6:05:06 AM

Ahh that's sh*t i thought sucker punch was gonna be epic on all kinds of levels. These insiders can't know that much abotu movies though it they're working in Hollywood so i'll keep my hopes up.
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 6:11:58 AM

Yeah the insider was most likely the Tea boy and they told him to f*ck off out of it before the screening started.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 6:30:43 AM

^ haha yep, because people that actually worked on the film would never leak out bad reviews before the film is released they dont wanna affect their pay cheques.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 6:35:28 AM

shame but guy is good.
lol @ vinny jones.

the only sequels rodeigaz will do is spy kids.
so that means never a
predators 2
sin city 2-3
machete kills
machete kills again.

lol
boogiel writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 6:40:49 AM

"And to make things more difficult, NY Mag is reporting that the "Superman" script is having major issues with the third act."

In other words, the ending sucks. As for 300, if the meal is good, you don't wanna change the cook!

darkraven28 writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 7:32:53 AM

Terribly partial totheperrywinkleblue, boys.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 7:53:26 AM

So Avi, Handsome Bob and every character Jason Statham has ever played get cameos ?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 7:55:14 AM

Persian : This is madness!

Leonias : Shut up and sit down, you big bald f*ck!
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 7:56:05 AM

Correction : Leonidas
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 7:57:57 AM

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 5:21:22 AM

Sad to hear that Sucker Punch is testing poorly. Had high hopes for that one.


@Freudian Nightmare


Yeah, it's been a while since we've had a good tits and ass film ... if you count Piranha 3D.
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 8:10:53 AM

^^ Ahhhhhhhhhhh Kelly Brook !!!
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 8:11:20 AM

Cinema-

Unless your Edward Norton being forced to fulfill your contract with Paramount that is.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 8:35:49 AM

As for this "news" sod off! never gonna work

@ Trailer - google Kelly Brook by Ben Hassett

enjoy
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 8:41:10 AM

Good god AYT !!!

See You Guys Tomorrow !!
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 8:41:36 AM

Maybe friday ...
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 9:03:11 AM

Damn Snyder, didn't think you could suck ass that bad. So much for Sucker Punch.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 9:35:43 AM

It's way too early to jump ship on Sucker Punch and Zach Synder. To this day the man has never failed to make an entertaining, visually stimulating film. He's earned the benefit of the doubt. This "insider" has earned nothing but anonymity.
Bunny X writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 11:33:42 AM

Loving the Vinny Jones line Trailer!!

I also just can't imagine Guy taking this over.
Or anyone for that matter. Like what has been said, 300 has it's own unique style and to break away from it would be a diservice to the film. And if the other avenue is followed and Guy copies Snyder's style, it won't truly be his own.
It would be like that piss poor pseudo-sequel to Starship Troopers that looked NOTHING like the original.

As far as Suckerpunch. I really hope this "insider" is just one of a minority of views on this film. I am so looking forward to it and I really hope it delivers. I don't expect it to dominate at the box office but I would hate to have it disappoint even the most loyal of fans.
Bunny X writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 11:35:39 AM

Oh and I also hope Snyder doesn't stray too far away from his bread and butter.

although no real shot at all, I would love for him to do the live-action film for Akira or any other anime they plan to port over to live-action. Snyder's style would go hand-in-hand with anime.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 11:56:31 AM

@ Trailer - thought you might like that mate haha

@ Bunny - Would be great for something like Akira, i have faith in him as a director but gotta say im not surprised that its APPARENTLY testing poorly, its looks great from the trailers but everytime i see a little more it just feels like the story will be too week and too over the top, more about the action. I hate those movies where you just know the main characters are indestructibly cool, perfect hand on the floor landings, disposing of the bad guys and walking away in slow mo before they hit the ground.....just does nothing for me anymore.....hope im wrong, just a hunch, BUT if anyones gonna take on another 300 its gotta be Snyder
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 1:24:25 PM

Ain't it cool had reported on this yesterday. In case you were wondering.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 1:57:29 PM

@ guitar - we werent
Frank4969 writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 2:45:08 PM

Oh well there goes that idea!
Kill-the-director writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 3:07:52 PM

i would rather see uwe boll direct this than guy ritchie.
Rambo writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 3:13:21 PM

f*ck Guy Ritchie,he's a horrible director.wait for snider.
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 3:41:07 PM

What's with all the guy ritchie haters I haven't seen one of his movies that I didn't like... Although I can't really see him doing this kind of movie. I would also rather see Snyder return for it
MarshallErikson writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 5:17:35 PM

Lloyd, you obviously didn't see Revolver
rocketman writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 5:20:25 PM

RE Suckerpunch ...sh*t i was really looking forward to that,the trailers looks f*cking amazing.
triggax writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 5:20:38 PM

cant imagine sucker punch being a sh*tty movie.

If the movie sucks then im happy with just the trailer.. major erection.
rocketman writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 5:30:37 PM

I can see people not 'getting it' but to me it looked stunning and the girls...pitching a tent just thinking about them.
TemporalFlux writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 6:16:50 PM

I call 'Total Bullsh*t!' on this whole article. Firstly, Sucker Punch looks amazing, and I'll be first in line. Secondly, if Superman has issues during pre-production, so what! so do most movies, they'll work it out. And thirdly, '300' had a style that was quite simply was 'Zack Snyder', would be madness to do another one without him.
minkowski writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 6:21:03 PM

"And to make things more difficult, NY Mag is reporting that the "Superman" script is having major issues with the third act."

That's a clear indication the story is atrociously flawed.
minkowski writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 6:27:54 PM

"On top of that, the magazine says that Snyder's "Sucker Punch" is testing poorly. An insider said: "It was bad; like, really bad." "

Not surprised. That what happens when you make a film nothing more than a VFX showcase.
Pig Newtons writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 6:40:45 PM

GOD NO!!!

If it's a Guy Ritchie movie it will star Jason Statham and a bunch of other English guys that nobody (outside of the UK obviously) can understand.

He WILL f*ck this up. He WILL.
warriors187 writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 7:02:23 PM

300 hit theaters March, 2007.
minkowski writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 7:04:47 PM

Facts? We don't need no stinkin' facts!
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 9:33:23 PM

Wait a little bit more for the 300 sequel!
Why rush things up? Snyder is a great director, let him make the sequel! For f*ck's Sake
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 4:31:24 AM

Pig Newtons- The first 300 film was mostly english guys you retard.
CandyRunt writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 3:55:12 AM

My God, Tommy, you certainly got those minerals. Well, come on, then before "zee" Persianss get here.
CandyRunt writes:
on February 18th, 2011 at 3:55:18 AM

My God, Tommy, you certainly got those minerals. Well, come on, then before "zee" Persianss get here.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved