WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Were You Happy With Last Two "X-Men" Installments?

Posted: February 15th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Were You Happy With Last Two "X-Men" Installments?Submit Comment
In an interview with Metro, Michael Fassbender (Inglourious Basterds) talked about "X-Men: First Class," including Magneto's past and pleasing the fans of the franchise.

Regarding Magneto's past: "You will see a little bit of that at the beginning but I thought what was interesting was what happened to him after the war he gets that young gypsy girl out of the concentration camp that he falls in love with. They take off together and have a baby and the mob ends up going crazy and burning down the house and the child dies in the blaze. Magneto goes ape shit and kills everybody. She's freaked out and leaves him. So by the time we get to him in the movie, he's a bit of a loner, really."

Regarding how Magneto will be different: "It's kind of like Martin Luther King Jr. and Malcolm X Charles [Professor X] being Martin Luther and Erik [Magneto] being Malcolm X these two ideals, two intelligent guys but with different methods of achieving what they want. Erik doesn't trust humans and thinks they need to be wiped away and I can kind of see his point. It's like Homo Sapiens, Neanderthals ... it's like it's the next stage of evolution."

Regarding the "X-Men" franchise: "There are so many 'X-Men' fans out there. Hopefully, they're going to be happy. They didn't seem to be happy with the last two installments so hopefully this will please them again."

Click here to read more about "X-Men: First Class."

Source: Metro


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
crimsonshaft writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:22:25 PM

Is he talking about X2 and X3 or X3 and Wolverine as the last two installments? I thought X2 was the best of the series so I assume the latter. X3 was a huge pile of sh*t, Wolverine was a serviceable but not bragable $40 hooker.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:24:05 PM

Wolverine could have been so much better

But i honestly didn't have a problem with X3, although Brett Ratner is a douche, it was entertaining.

X2 was even better than the first.


Also, the way Fassbender describes Charles and Erik as Luther King and Malcom X, that really nails it. This guy did his home work for this film!
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:29:11 PM

they were good ill admit i liked the 3rd a bit but other than that X2 was the best. loved wolverine but sure it had flaws every movie does.
Wolverine would have kick ass if it was R but movies these days need a wide audience
secondbest writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:30:28 PM

The second one was great. The third one, not so much. I haven't seen all of Wolverine, only the first few minutes, and even those made me go, "What the f*** am I watching?"
Kurskij writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:37:54 PM

^true

MLK and Malcolm X is probably the best comparison.

As for X2-X3-Wolverine

X2 was really good. Not perfect or brillian, but very very good.

X3 was a step down - but, as I've before - Ratner had 9 months to make a movie and it was a follow up to X2 it was no easy task. The result was messy but nicely shot and entertaining.

And one must remember that Fox was on his ass f*cking him ferociously to finish the movie. Ratner being a douche that he is did a solid job.

Wolverine on the other hand looked like a pile of been there-done it action scenes. Actors were underused, the story was a mess and there wasn't really much to look at. Schreiber was the only standout.

Let's hope that Vaughn (who was first set to direct X3 but bailed out if I remember correctly) and Aronofsky will breathe life into franchise(s).
Champ1432 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:40:29 PM

X2 was definitely very good, and I guess I'm one of the few that like X3. Not that it didn't have some issues, but I don't think it was quite as bad as everyone makes it out to be. I think I need to watch Wolverine again to fully make up my mind on that one. Only saw it once so far, don't remember a lot of it. Of course, maybe that's my answer.
thomas deadison writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:44:14 PM

X3 was garbage and Wolverine was even worse.
Man in Black writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:45:54 PM

X2 was a great follow up to X1 . Wolvie needs a renegade directors cut done to it and to re-shoot the final scene altogether leave Barkara OUT ! X3 was a giant face palm with writing like " Im the Juggernaut bitch !" FAIL
markoz writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:47:24 PM

Hate is too strong word,but let's say I disliked X-men 3 for killing some major characters and I liked Wolverine just a little better because of Deadpool(all 5 lines that he had) and because of Gambit.I also enjoyed Liev Schreiber's performance as Sabretooth
Damon242 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:53:41 PM

X-Men 1; nice outing, nothing fancy. It was a good foundation.

X-Men 2; Great fun. Good film. Director really got into the grove. Makes one wonder how X-Men 3 would have been had he had control.

X-Men 3; some good scenes here and there, but ultimately not very good. Took away from the seriousness and reality of it, also made a few comical characters and storylines (Juggernaut? Seriously? What the heck did they do to him?)

X-Men Origins: Wolverine; it started off alright, but the further it went on the worse it got.

Was very disappointed with the last two installments.

The latest looks interesting, but I'll reserve judgment until I've seen it.
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:54:02 PM

X1 was the grittiest? IMO had that this is new and fresh feeling..

X2 was campy and X3 was a total mess. But that is typical in most trilogy's

AND OF COURSE THAT COMMENT EXCLUDES STARWARS
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:01:13 PM

WHAT A STUPID QUESTION, I'm happy when I have sex not with a f*cking crap like the xgay movies that movies where sooo bad that they still suck balls today, poor scripts, poor dialogue, poor action scenes none of them respect the source material pure an absolute sh*t!! f*ck hollywood and the f*cking remakes reboots and recrap!!
Bob82 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:03:47 PM

X1: Great.
X2: Awesome.
X3: Disappoint.
Wolverine: Garbage.
First Class Trailer: Promising.
Willy_Idle writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:08:43 PM

x1 doesnt hold up that well x2 is good if your drunk or high x3 was almost as bad as ghost rider and all parties invlved with wolverine should be staked through the heart
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:19:03 PM

"Were You Happy With Last Two "X-Men" Installments?"

Is this a trick question?
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:20:28 PM

The problem with the best X-Men films is simple: Singer does not know how to do action.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:46:48 PM

the only one i actually that was disappointing was X3, Wolverine did its job but that it, not a whole lot special going on there ...
Kill-the-director writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:49:44 PM

ive enjoyed all the x-men films. but they could have been a lot better.
telur writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 8:50:59 PM

i have no problem with X3. look at the BO

http://www.boxofficemojo.com/franchises/chart/?id=xmen.htm

X3 is very good, so i don't get it most people hate it but why its has best box office in the series
Rambo writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 8:57:26 PM

I liked the first x men out of them all,the 2nd was ok,3rd was turd and wolverine had a very weak story despite some good action scenes.
simplytyson writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:05:25 PM

x3 was just horrible but wolverine i liked alot
Ari Gold writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:07:27 PM

@Telur

Get the f*ck out..
simplytyson writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:08:36 PM

X1: Good
X2: Amazing
X3: Horrible
Wolverine: very good but not great

Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:11:14 PM

The X-Men movies are kinda lame....especially the last one which was horrible
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:12:39 PM

"X3 is very good, so i don't get it most people hate it but why its has best box office in the series"

Technically, the first two are crafted with superior skill, but X3 was more fun to watch.

IMO, out of all three, X3 gives the viewer more action. The first two spend far more time chin wagging, pontificating and deliberating, rather than just doing something to make the time quickly pass.
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:14:39 PM

And people complain that X3 didn't develop the characters, even though Storm, and especially Cyclop,s hardly even exist in the first two films. Cyclops was killed off in X2 without even giving the guyt the dignity of a spectacular finale.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:36:18 PM

X1: Good
X2: Better
X3: Pile of sh*t
Wolverine: Fine, but not great.
First Class Trailer: Awesome
coldplayesence writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:39:38 PM

minkowsky: cyclops was killed in X3, but since I pretend that thing didn't even existed... well I guess you're right, he did died in X2.
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:45:09 PM

Are you sure?? Recall him getting killed by Jean Grey at the lake or whatever. Been a while since I've seen them.
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:46:48 PM

Oh, ok, that was X3....well f*ck me, I guess there's a good reason to hate X3. Nevermind.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:57:00 PM

If you're talking about Wolverine : Origins and X Men United : Last Stand (or whatever the f*ck they called it) ...

f*ck to the Hell to the No.

Brett Ratner needs to hang by his nads from a tree (since he's a spidermonkey anyway), till the blood rushes from his walnut size brain, out his eyeballs and down on the ground.

Trust me, it won't be any loss.


And Wolverine : Origin ? f*ck everyone associated with that floating turd in the porcelain.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:01:03 PM

yup 3 sucked mre balls than Che at the Blue Oyster Mens Club
Sinestro writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:02:00 PM

X2 was the only good one of the bunch.
Jergyn writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:03:58 PM

I actually really enojoyed Wolverine
Jergyn writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:04:27 PM

enjoyed
Mudders writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 12:35:28 AM

X1: liked it alot...good platform for the series...i waited so long for it and for me it delivered and promised more for X2

X2: set the characters in stone and bryan singer in my opinion should have done the 3rd to complete the start middle and end trifecta that a trilogy should have

X3: without singer i thought it would be disastrous but didnt end up being that bad of a film....mink says it well in regards to cyclops being basically discarded without any dignity really....and the remaining cast just sorta floated around aimlessly,good to watch but no real story

wolverine: story was lame but some good things there...my main beefs were bad editing and some bad castings which in turne deliverd bad acting.kinda "wrote cheques its body couldnt cash"...."all show,no go"
rocketman writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 1:34:25 AM

Not been happy with any of them.
masht7 writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 3:00:44 AM

X-Men 3 was a mess. I actually didn't mind Wolverine, it's kind or a guilty pleasure for me. I'm sure this will be a great film.
supaflywill writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 3:43:13 AM

i enjoyed them all - but the wolverine film was horrendous !!!!
codeman_1216 writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 4:33:39 AM

I'm sorry guys, but I didn't think X3 was the horrible piece of sh*t everyone is saying it was. yeah, not as good as the last two before it, but a hell of a lot better than Origins: Wolverine, which I thought was a horrible piece of sh*t. ok, juggernaut sucked, no nightcrawler sucked, psylocke SUCKED, angel sucked, and pheonix's only shining moment was killing prof. x. but, for some reason, I can get past all of that. I rather enjoyed the death of cyclops. I found him to be... a necessary loss. And the action sequences were pretty damn awesome. don't get me wrong, i'm not all about cgi craziness, i love a good story, and a great movie. i'm simply trying to make my case with X3.
darkraven28 writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 7:47:42 AM

Didn't read all the responses but my answer is (clears throat): f*ck NO!!!!!!!!
Dre-EL writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 9:18:41 AM

X2 was pretty good X3 was not. Wolverine at least watchable.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 9:56:28 AM

Wolverine was TERRIBLE!!! X3....watchable but pales in comparison to its predecessor. They've got some good directors behind the next installments so there might be a little hope left in the series.
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 11:40:00 AM

X-Men 1- was okay nothing great
X-Men 2- didn't like
X-Men 3- was okay, my favorite one in the series (the reason he killed some of the main mutants was cause it was suppose to be the last one)
X-Men: Wolverine- was terrible what was the point of this if X-men 2 is pretty much about Wolverine and his back story.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 11:47:03 AM

i have no problem with X3. look at the BO

http://www.boxofficemojo.com/franchises/chart/?id=xmen.htm

X3 is very good, so i don't get it most people hate it but why its has best box office in the series


RIGHT TELUR NOW I KNOW YOU'RE A c*nt! YOU'VE BEEN ON THIS SITE FOR HOW LONG AND YOU'RE TELLING ME BOX OFFICE FIGURES IS A GOOD COMPARISON TO HOW GOOD A FILM IS! f*ck YOU TELUR f*ck YOU!
Bunny X writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 12:09:26 PM

I am also one of the few that liked X3. Not as much as X1 / X2 but I definitely did like it.
Wolverine was a mess and the timeline completely irks the hell outta me. As if timeline in comics mean a damn. But at least given 4 movies, they could of at least held more true to it.

The only thing I enjoy about Wolverine is watching it and then watching X1 to see how Sabertooth completely ignores Wolverine for the most part. (not to mention the fact that he obvioulsy looks completely different).

I think that's what annoyed me the most about the entire franchise. Those little quirks that make X-Men a great read. Like the relationship between Wolverine / Sabertooth with Sabertooth hunting Wolverine on his birthday. The relationship of Xavier and Juggernaut that was completely overlooked in X3 and pissed me off.
Iceman being de-aged...I could go on but what fanboy hasn't already?

Trip Maverick writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 1:08:41 PM

X3 wasnt that bad. Just didnt really have the emotional investment with the characters as you did with the first 2. Thats cos Brett Ratner is no where near as good as singer.

As For Wolverine that just licked balls.
jikae writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 5:29:57 PM

I don't know if you guys remember but they killed off Cyclops because Fox was bitter that Bryan Singer left to do Superman Returns and took James Marsden (Cyclops) with him. It's still a HORRIBLE excuse to kill him off, but Fox wanted to push out a X-Men film while they still had the buzz of X2 and didn't want to wait till after Superman to film it.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 9:10:15 PM

telur-you're f*cking stupid, good box office means jack sh*t, it just means people liked the last one which was actually good and thought the new one would also be good.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved