WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

2011 Sets Record for Most Sequels

Posted: February 15th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
2011 Sets Record for Most SequelsSubmit Comment
While there are always a good amount of sequels in theaters every year, 2011 set a record with a total of 27 sequels, which is 20% of all wide releases for the year. The record was previously held in 2003 with 24 sequels.

"Hollywood is dipping into the well of past glory more than ever," said BoxOfficeMojo. "It's truly unfortunate that story is held in such little regard, when that's what sells the picture more than any other element."

The reason for this is quite simple. Over the last decade, eight of the top 10 highest-grossing films were sequels. Last year there were 19 sequels, four of which landed in the top five highest-grossing films (Harry Potter, Twilight, Iron Man, Toy Story). And all that doesn't even include spin-offs, TV adaptations, and films based on board games, video games, books, etc...

And 2011 will not only have the most sequels, it will also have the most part fours and and part fives. A total of five each.

Source: USA Today, BoxOfficeMojo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:20:43 PM

sh*t that nuts, but some will suck or wont see
like harry potter or paranormal borefest
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:31:30 PM

Sequels Equals easy $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

2011: It's Hollywood in lazy mode
Champ1432 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:34:41 PM

This wouldn't be bad if the sequels they're making were sequeling (?) from good movies most of the time.

"Hollywood is dipping into the well of past glory more than ever,"

Not sure I would call it "glory" in most cases........
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:48:43 PM

Future headline

2012 to have the most movies about Alien invasions, Mayans and end of times
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:57:42 PM

2011 to have the most movies before 2012
j-man writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:18:58 PM

^ 2011 will have the sequel to 2012
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:22:09 PM

Welcome to America, where cash trumps art every time.
Man in Black writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:35:56 PM

Hollywood , where money talks and bullsh*t is put in IMAX 3D .
Man in Black writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:38:48 PM

Any word if " The Hot Chick " is getting a sequel ? Rob needs work .
encoreyourface writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:43:34 PM

trailer-when is Hollywood NOT in lazy mode?
Kesben writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:53:06 PM

"The reason for this is quite simple. Over the last decade, eight of the top 10 highest-grossing films were sequels. Last year there were 19 sequels, four of which landed in the top five highest-grossing films (Harry Potter, Twilight, Iron Man, Toy Story). "

First of all, personal opinion here, I don't consider Harry Potter and Twilight movies to be sequels. They are continuing storyline more than sequels, but that's just my opinion...

"And all that doesn't even include spin-offs, TV adaptations, and films based on board games, video games, books, etc..."

First of all, it does include books, as Harry Potter, Twilight, and Iron Man are all based off of books (comic or otherwise). Secondly, why would a movie based off a video or board game be considered a sequel?
Kesben writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:53:55 PM

I realize I said 'first of all' there twice...Redundantly redundant.
Amanda_Young writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:55:46 PM

I would like to see the numbers for the most remakes per year :) I bet some years double the numbers for sequels and imo a remake is even lazier! at least with (some) sequels they have to use their imaginations a little bit to push the overall story further.
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:59:13 PM

Man, here we go.

"I don't consider Harry Potter and Twilight movies to be sequels."

From Wiki:

"A sequel is a narrative, doc*mental, or other work of literature, film, theatre, or music that continues the story of or expands upon issues presented in some previous work."

So how are films like Harry Potter 5 and Twilight: Eclipse NOT sequels?

Arguably, taken as a whole, a set of sequels is called a series, but they are still, when considered individually, sequels just the same.
Kesben writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 8:21:27 PM

It was an opinion, I'm aware of the technical definition of the term 'sequel'. My point being, Harry Potter is an ongoing storyline, not my idea of a typical Hollywood sequel, such as a Lethal Weapon 2, where the concept for the story is really nothing more than a reason to profit on the previous movie's success.

An opinion is a subjective statement or thought about an issue or topic, and is the result of emotion or interpretation of facts. *Wiki*
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 8:39:46 PM

People are so weak and insecure...

"where the concept for the story is really nothing more than a reason to profit on the previous movie's success."

And you think Twilight and Harry Potter were created only to benefit the collective intellect of mankind? Right?

"An opinion is a subjective statement or thought about an issue or topic, and is the result of emotion or interpretation of facts. *Wiki*"

Great, but doncha think it a bit foolish to have an 'opinion' on an already established fact? I mean, hell, I think the sun rises in the west. That's my opinion.
Rambo writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:02:32 PM

best sequel ever:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxNCGjW2JAg
Kesben writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:04:03 PM

I'm really weak and insecure about this. So much so I felt the need to quickly pounce on someone else's differing opinion as quickly as I could, nitpick a single word from the entire thought and focus on it relentlessly with an added flair of name calling and resentful arrogance. Are you really this worried about someone else's thoughts on this matter? Fine. You win. You out wiki'd me. Take a victory lap.
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:25:44 PM

You said they weren't sequels. That's factually incorrect, your opinion to the contrary notwithstanding. They are sequels and I threw in some Wiki rather than type up the sh*t myself.

Look, if you can't handle having someone taking issue with your very public comments, don't post them. Part of the reason the internet is full of lies, distortions, nonsense and utter garbage is that 1. there's a drowning overabundance of the sh*t and 2. people never step up to make corrections because 1. they're far too incapable themselves and 2. they're vastly too weakened by the notion that correcting fallacy is somehow 'rude' and 'inhuman'.

As for me being weak and insecure, that's clearly a non sequitur. You posted, I offered a slight correction, and you got an apparent atttude.

And yes, if I make a factually incorrect statement, please correct me. Unlike most of my American peers, I view 'education' as more than a means to a larger bank account.

"Fine. You win. You out wiki'd me. Take a victory lap."

I can assure you, there's no victory here. And none is required. I made my point and you made yours. End of story, I hope.

Have a nice night.

"Hollywood is dipping into the well of past glory more than ever,"

Uh huh. I'll try to remember that euphemism when I lay down compost and manure for my flowers.

See, I'm not recycling sh*t, I'm 'dipping into the well of past glory'.
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:31:20 PM

Mink what happened to you old glamor shot? too much forehead?
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:32:49 PM

Sequels are a good way to milk the green cow.
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:33:49 PM

My favourite sequel is Men in Black 2
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:39:00 PM

"Mink what happened to you old glamor shot? too much forehead?"

No, you c*m-laden cretin, it's a shout out for Christine McIntyre.

But don't worry, I'll have the old pic back soon, and then you can get back to beating off in the public library's restroom.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:42:19 PM

Imagine that, as TT said Hollywood in lazy mode!!
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:42:25 PM

Lloyd-Christmas says "My favourite sequel is 'Men in Black Men, Too'"

You mistyped. There, fixed. You're all good to go, you two-legged gloryhole.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:42:47 PM

2011 may set a record for the number of sequels that come out, but that's the same as saying that the best hooker on the block will set a number for the transmittable diseases in the surrounding community ... or what Che does on the weekends.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:43:58 PM

Hollywood has officially not only jumped the shark, but is planning a sequel AND prequel about jumping said shark.
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:47:06 PM

Jeez you're one of those guys eh... I was kidding about the Men in Black sequel although I did enjoy the ballchinians...
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:50:39 PM

^^Just having some verbal fun, dude.
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:50:46 PM

someone sounds a little weak and insecure...
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:54:14 PM

^^Start with yourself, failed hemostat.
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:58:10 PM

who else is excited for the beiber sequel?????
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:10:54 PM

Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:58:10 PM

who else is excited for the beiber sequel?????


@Lloyd XMas

You mean other than the other three pedopheliacs that live in your apartment building ?
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:22:15 PM

cheap shot!!!
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:22:21 PM

cheap shot!!!
WV-Films writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 12:02:15 AM

One reason for this too; which isn't commonly touched upon, is the fact that Holly Wood is finally catching up with the content gap the writers strike created 4 years ago. This is why 2009 and 2010 were especially bleak in blockbuster hits. Lot's of movies get pushed back and spread out over longer durations in an attempt to fill voids where there were major gaps in new releases. The pinnacle of which will be seen in 2012, which is likely to have even more sequels then 2011. This combined with the fact that the strike caused over 1.5 billion in lost revenue, and the state of the downsized economy lead studios to make a guaranteed profit the only way they can, and that's through sequels.
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 12:56:35 AM

Most pictures don't even need sequels. I can only think of a handful of films I've seen in my life that merit a sequel, such as "400 Blows," for example.

I would have loved to have seen a sequel of "Le Samourai" just because of how cool Alain Delon's character was. Of course, he died at the end, so it wouldn't make sense.

Thank God (I'm atheist) that the last film I saw was in the summer time and it was "Inception."
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 4:25:44 AM

Hollywood is holding on for dear life. What the f*ck are they gonna do in 10 years when all the board games, remakes of remakes and book adaptations are used up... go back to the silent movie i say, bring back black and white lets reinvent the wheel.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved