WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Roland Emmerich on "Independence Day 2" and Isaac Asimov's "Foundation"

Posted: February 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Roland Emmerich on "Independence Day 2" and Isaac AsimovSubmit Comment
Director Roland Emmerich has been planning two more "Independence Day" sequels, but has now revealed to Empire magazine that the sequels won't happen any time soon.

"'Independence Day 2' is nowhere," he said. "It's back and forth, back and forth. There's no script because I don't want to write anything before anything starts. One day it will happen."

Emmerich is instead focusing on bringing Isaac Asimov's "Foundation" to the big screen. "We've hired a production designer and it's mainly now to find out what the movie will cost," he explained. "It'll take us until the end of March, then we'll decide. The studio is happy with the script (by 'The Patriot' writer Robert Rodat), but now's the time that the numbers count. I want to make a movie that's very different from other science-fiction movies and I don't want to have the burden of too big a budget."

"Foundation" is a complex saga about humans who are scattered on planets throughout the galaxy, living under the rule of the Galactic Empire. A psycho-historian who can scientifically read the future sees an imminent empire collapse, and sets to work preparing to save the knowledge of mankind.

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 5:56:39 PM

ID4 was a one-shot films, so I can see why the script has gone nowhere.

As for foundation, this is the wrong guy to make the film. Not a lot of explosions and monsters and what not in those books, so to have this hack direct, well, what can one say but 'f*ck'?

I mean, this guy is the antithesis of intellectual sci-fi.
tolgaboy writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:00:14 PM

id 4 WAS AND STILL IS THE BEST
Dre-EL writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:01:32 PM

Forget the ID sequel lets move on. Will Smith did.
minkowski writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:03:46 PM

"id 4 WAS AND STILL IS THE BEST"

...at being a very bad film.
trailertrash writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:46:32 PM

No Need for an Independence Day sequel 1 was enough.

If they do make it i bet Bieber and Smith jr will be brought in for the young audience.
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 7:01:23 PM

Independence Day is my favourite Jeff Goldblum film!
Rodan writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 7:04:11 PM

Anybody here read the Foundation series? It's on my list of books to read. What did you guys think?
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 7:04:58 PM

Sorry it's on my list of books not to read
trailertrash writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 7:08:27 PM

Big list i bet
minkowski writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 7:16:09 PM

"Big list i bet"

LMAO!

"Anybody here read the Foundation series? It's on my list of books to read. What did you guys think?"

Hard to say. Well written, interesting concept, it really depends on your tastes. I have fond memories of reading them, but in retrospect, they're not as epic as I would expect from fiction now, and they don't involve any big concepts, especially if you're familiar with Star Wars at all.

They occasionally lapse into boring seques on the Galactic Encyclopedia and Harry Seldon's recollections, there's some robots and whatnot and Trantor is shown throughout as the hub of a galactic civilization and then as a backwater planet IIRC, but it's more meditative sci-fi rather than the Buck Rogers type of stuff most people prefer.

I will say this, it's an expansive view of the universe, and it will stimulate your imagination.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 7:56:18 PM

2112 would be more interesting to make into a movie than Foundation.
technoreaper writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 8:01:52 PM

No way to an Independence Day sequel. Battle LA has already kind of accomplished that.
rabid writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 10:17:30 PM

I don't want this fool anywhere near the Foundation. Emerich has his place in the world, and that is mindless destruction.

Why can't he go make a film about destroying the entire universe? Try to escape that sh*t on an ark.
Lloyd Christmas writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 1:38:32 AM

Dear Bambi Blu-Ray ad that keeps popping up on every article I look at,

f*ck OFF!

I didn't buy a f*cking blu-ray player because I was interested in watching an HD version of a 70 year old cartoon. Stuff it back in the vault, Disney.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 2:10:53 AM

roland emmerich: they gayest director in hollywood
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 3:33:05 AM

oh hell no, you did not shoot that green sh*t at me
Rambo writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 4:38:32 AM

Good morning. In less than an hour, aircraft from here will join others from around the world. And you will be launching the largest aerial battle in the history of mankind. "Mankind." That word should have new meaning for all of us today. We can't be consumed by our petty differences anymore. We will be united in our common interests. Perhaps it's fate that today is the Fourth of July, and you will once again be fighting for our freedom... Not from tyranny, oppression, or persecution... but from annihilation. We are fighting for our right to live. To exist. And should we win the day, the Fourth of July will no longer be known as an American holiday, but as the day the world declared in one voice: "We will not go quietly into the night!" We will not vanish without a fight! We're going to live on! We're going to survive! Today we celebrate our Independence Day!
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:37:26 AM

Bill f*cking Pullman. Epic and a half. Naysayers aside, I love Goldblum in that f*ckin movie.
Megawhip writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:44:07 AM

Ma ya gotta get outta the city ya just gotta! (In harvey fierstein c*m gargling voice)
sdpepper writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 2:16:59 PM

I have read the "Foundation" novels about 4 times.

Prelude to Foundation
Forward the Foundation
Foundation
Foundation and Empire
Second Foundation
Foundation's Edge
Foundation and Earth

I am an avid reader of both sci-fi and horror. The "Foundation" series is the best books that I have ever read.

It feels like you are reading about future history.

I would love to see it brought to the big screen.
Pig Newtons writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 5:48:10 PM

Good! Please DON'T make another ID4. There's been how many clone films coming out in the last 6 years alone?

Skyline
Battle for LA

Seriously. STOP with the Alien Invasion themes. Enough already!
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:39:04 PM

Battle Los Angeles might actually be good, and you forgot one district 9 which is the best clone so far
Rodan writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:59:19 PM

"I will say this, it's an expansive view of the universe, and it will stimulate your imagination."

I like the sound of that.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved