WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joe Dante to Direct "Monster Love," a Werewolf/Vampire Love Story

Posted: February 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joe Dante to Direct "Monster Love," a Werewolf/Vampire Love StorySubmit Comment
Director Joe Dante, the man behind "Gremlins," "Piranha" and "The Howling," has signed on to helm a werewolf/vampire love story called "Monster Love," which is written by Greg Pak (Planet Hulk). Below is a description of the horror comedy.

Plot: A werewolf and a vampire fall in love, igniting a war between their respective communities. It's "Romeo and Juliet" with fangs.

After PETE, a young dogwalker, gets dumped by his girlfriend, his slacker buddies convince him to run naked through the city park. As the moon rises, the boys laugh, howl, and transform... Later, a distraught young woman named Maggie is contemplating suicide when she's surprised by an enormous wolf. She snarls, baring her vampire fangs. The wolf grins and barks: Let's play!

After a fierce, exhilarating chase through the park, Maggie falls asleep with the wolf - and awakens in a naked young man's arms. It's Pete. And love at first sight.

Pete's werewolf pals and Maggie's upper-crust vampire clan are furious. And when some mangled bodies are discovered in the woods, Pete and Maggie must fight for their lives while grappling with the awful consequences of loving a monster.

Source: STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 5:53:42 PM

Werewolf/Vampires = Cool i guess

Love Story = Fail

Sounds a little like Underworld
minkowski writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:01:54 PM

Joe Dante? Thought this guy died back in the nineties.

"Plot: A werewolf and a vampire fall in love, igniting a war between their respective communities. It's "Romeo and Juliet" with fangs."

Right, because Twilight and all the sequels were something else?

God DAMN YOU, Stephanie Meyer!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:06:05 PM

romeo and Juliet with fangs? really? have you stopped trying before filming has even began?
encoreyourface writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:06:28 PM

trailer-except underworld was actually good.
Lowryder writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:07:39 PM

Is this gonna be a spin off of Twilight, where Lautner and Pattinson fall in love and 69 eachother for an hour and a half until the "climax" ending, where jacob c*ms in Edwards mouth?
trailertrash writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:15:23 PM

encore-

I Liked the 1st Underworld, part 2 was pretty crap i thought only saved by Kate and that wonderful outfit and last one was ok.

But all three of those movies will be better than this that's for sure.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:18:09 PM

Damn it... I was gong to make a Twilight homosexual joke... I guess everyone thought of that when they read the title of the article.
trailertrash writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:18:38 PM

Mink -

Thought he died back in 1989 just after the Burbs came out.

But the Howling is one of my favorite Werewolf films, Classic..

Lowryder-

That sounds like a true Horror story
trailertrash writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:20:48 PM

qwertyuiop- Yep it was natural instinct
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 6:48:03 PM

I would love nothing more but for Joe to get back on track. I know that the synopsis sounds boring and corny, but with the right amount of black humour, this could work.
minkowski writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 7:00:19 PM

As I see it, the times have left Dante. He's a filmmaker of the past, rooted in the 80s. All his films were good camp for the times, and we accepted them for what ethey were.

Now he's trying to come back by adapting his old material to a new audience.

I predict failure. Sorry. I just don't see it happening.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 7:51:53 PM

Lame. Flop. Out on DVD in 30 days
rabid writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 7:54:21 PM

It doesn't have to be as frightening as The Howling. Joe Dante still has the touch. I recently watched the entire Masters of Horror series, and he made a couple of really good ones.
"Homecoming" had soldiers killed in the Iraq War returning to life just to vote an end to the war.
"The Screwfly Solution" was the other. It dealt with a virus that brings out the primacy in the male population.
Dante has a knack for metaphor on film. He's probably got a few more good feature films in him. The script would be made regardless, so they might as well give it to someone that knows classic film techniques and not all this Twilight-era music-video-styled colored-filter artsy direction.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 8:04:59 PM

As long as Dante doesn't go the Sparkly Emo Werewolf/Vampire route, he will probably get a reasonably sized audience.

I am just played out on monsters though ...
minkowski writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 8:19:52 PM

"Out on DVD in 30 days"

RedBox in five.
rabid writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 9:51:41 PM

straight to dvd is fine by me. f*ck a theater. My home system is better and my popcorn cheaper.
rocketman writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 1:31:56 AM

Beat me to the Underworld comparison.
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 3:16:15 AM

I did wonder what Tony Slattery was up to lately
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 3:33:55 AM

we already have underworld and gaylight but its hollywood so whatever
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 3:35:46 AM

underworld = sexy badass
twilight = not worth a comment

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved