WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gore Verbinski on Why "BioShock" Movie Failed

Posted: February 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gore Verbinski on Why "BioShock" Movie FailedSubmit Comment
Gore Verbinski (Pirates of the Caribbean) has been trying to set up a big screen adaptation of the "BioShock" video game, but has failed to raise money over and over again. It's still a passion project for him, but one that he knows will likely never happen.

"I couldn't really get past anybody that would spend the money that it would take to do it and keep an R-rating," he explained. "Alternately, I wasn't really interested in pursuing a PG-13 version. Because the R rating is inherent. Little Sisters and injections and the whole thing. I just wanted to really, really make it a movie where, four days later, you're still shivering and going, 'Jesus Christ!'... It's a movie that has to be really, really scary, but you also have to create a whole underwater world, so the pricetag is high. We just didn't have any takers on an R-rated movie with that pricetag."

Verbinski added that he's not too interested in 3D technology, but admits it would have been perfect for "BioShock." "I'd like to go into that world wearing a pair of glasses," he said.

"BioShock 2" Trailer:


Source: STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 3:50:31 AM

That's always the main issue, you get a good script, R rated, requires heaps of money. By then the production companies would want it to be PG13 so anyone can see the film.Thus increasing their audience and profit!
masht7 writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 4:20:02 AM

But it depends on what company picks the project up.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 4:21:13 AM

I can see why it will never happen, good on him to stick to his principles on it being "R" rated.
oklahomaer writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 5:42:46 AM

Uwe Boll can get funding for a Nazi gay porn? but, this dude cant secure funds for his movie? what the f*ck is up with that sh*t.
shayhiri writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 6:23:28 AM

Hey, hey! WHAT do you have against gays?

OR Nazis, for that matter.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 7:06:10 AM

Or porn!
Farradin writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 7:30:51 AM

Only way a studio would fund a movie like that is if his name was James Cameron!
Joe Gallow writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 9:19:54 AM

This is really disapointing, a Bioshock movie would be badass. I want a Halo movie NOW
rabid writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 10:17:25 AM

Bioshock should definitely be filmed in 3D, and he's right to wait for the right producers to come along. This film needs 2 things: a huge fx budget and the permission to get gory.
velocityknown writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 10:22:43 AM

I've never played the game, but I have respect for Verinski for not giving in to the PG-13 *ssholes. That kills so many movies nowadays.
WV-Films writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 12:22:48 PM

The guy made the Ring, and he couldn't get funding to make a horror movie? Meanwhile we have Step Up 4. And this is what's wrong with Holly Wood.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 12:34:17 PM

Kudos for Gore for wanting gore in this. Even though I'm saddened that I won't be seeing a BioShock-movie, I'm glad that I won't be treated with a PG13-version.
I'm sure 3-D would be the best fit for BioShock. Those of you that have played the game know that it's very colourful and by inserting 3-D, and therefore dimming the light, it would do the movie a great injustice.
mbh911 writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 2:54:58 PM

As much as I love both bioshock 1&2 games I'm kinda glad the movie is delayed cause I'm afraid Hollywood will turn it pg13 and add glitter on big daddy to attract the twilight tween fans
Kill-the-director writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 3:51:25 PM

with the way uncharted is being treated i'm glad no one is backing this.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 4:15:29 PM

Yuo're going to have to wait for a nother generation of producers to come along with a more open mind to making decent video game movies. They just won't throw lots of money at them, and with Verbinski holding out, rightly so, for an R-rated version, it's easy to see why the film isn't getting produced. Same for Halo.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 4:59:23 PM

well i'm glad he didn't become a sell-out for pg-13 (however as we know sometimes you can make that rating work)
Atemisk writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 6:05:49 PM

This is highly respectable in my book. PG13 ruins more than a couple movies. But beyond that if you can't do it right, then don't do it at all. No reason to drag a good game and his good name through the mud just because these jackasses want a PG13 tag.
darkraven28 writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 11:01:23 PM

He ought to take a page from Oliver Stone and try for overseas financing, like Stone did for Alexander. Alexander cost tons, and while it wasn't successful really at all, Stone still got his budget. Given that Verbinski has a better recent box office record than Stone, I think if he followed Stone's financing example he just might have a shot. Just sayin'.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 1:23:41 AM

dont give up looking for someone to fund this movie. the games were awesome and it could be a very good movie if done correctly.
struck21 writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 1:44:14 AM

Wish more writers/directors would stick their guns on R rating vs PG-13. Die Hard completely sold out in their last movie and I believe their attempt at a script for an R rated fifth movie was shot down.

Hollywood needs to understand that people want to see the true vision for the movie before the director cut Blu-Ray.

Good job. I'm never get excited for video game movies but kudos on sticking with it man.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 5:15:56 AM

Bioshock was a brilliant game. Geniunely scary especially if your smoking copius amounts of marijuana. I'd love to see this as a film as long as the director doesn't use P.O.V shots and make it look like that shoddy Doom film with the rock
zyban03 writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 9:55:15 AM

^ I agree, I really liked this game as well, but if your gonna make this a film don't hold back and make it right. R rating for sure.
MarshallErikson writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 11:05:57 PM

Yes, a PG-13 Bioshock movie is a movie I just don't want to see.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved