WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"30 Days of Night" Director Takes on Dracula in "Last Voyage of the Demeter"

Posted: February 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"30 Days of Night" Director Takes on Dracula in "Last Voyage of the Demeter"Submit Comment
David Slade (30 Days of Night, Twilight Saga: Eclipse) is in talks to direct "The Last Voyage of the Demeter," which is still looking for the lead actor, but has Ben Kingsley and Noomi Rapace attached to supporting roles.

Demeter was the name of the ship that transported Dracula from Transylvania to London in Bram Stoker's classic tale. In that novel, it washes up on the shores of England, tattered and broken, with one raving mad survivor.

The script has been written a decade ago by Bragi Schut, who set up the crew of the ship to be slaughtered one-by-one by a mysterious passengers, similar to "Alien."

"The Last Voyage" had trouble getting off the ground over the years. At different points, it had Robert Schwentke (Red) and Marcus Nispel (Friday the 13th) attached to direct. Stefan Ruzowitzky (The Counterfeiters) was on board as early as last month, but decided to leave for another movie.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 4:18:25 AM

Film sounds good
Farradin writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 7:36:18 AM

This is gonna bomb. Only read up to Ben Kingley before I knew. Sounds good but if it has him in it I'm not sure it'll make it's money back. If he's not playing the bad guy it at least has a chance!
AYT BALL writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 7:54:07 AM

Farradin - Ben Kingsley is your reason this wont work? go watch sexy beast.
rocketman writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 8:32:42 AM

Look forward to this if the get Dracula right.And go check Sexy Beast out ,f*cking amazing performance...spunk bubble still makes me laugh...
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 8:58:32 AM

I'm sick of all these vampire films, but at the same time, lets get vampires back to the way they should be.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 11:02:28 AM

I remember reading about this a few years back. The script was actually supposed to be pretty good, and the "Dracula" character was definitely more of a monster-type character, instead of the faggy, glittery Euro-trash variety vampire that's become popular thanks to Anne Rice and the Twilight series.

If it ever happens, I'd definitely check it out.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 11:14:37 AM

30 days of night was one of the worst vampire movies ever f*cking made
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 11:28:03 AM

AYT/Rocket-

I hated Sexy Beast, Totally Gutted when i watched that movie.

A british gangster movie with a killer cast, can't fail.

If it hadn't been for Ben Kingsley performance i would have turned the film off he was simply awesome as Logan.


"Shut up, c*nt. You louse. You got some f*ckin' neck ain't you. Retired? f*ck off, you're revolting. Look at your suntan, it's leather, it's like leather man, your skin. We could make a f*cking suitcase out of you. Like a crocodile, fat crocodile, fat bastard. You look like f*cking Idi Amin, you know what I mean? Stay here? You should be ashamed of yourself. Who do you think you are? King of the castle? c*ck of the walk? "


hahah this from the guy that played Gandhi
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 12:28:47 PM

Haven't seen Sexy Beast but Sir Ben Kingsley is usually good. I'm guessing he would play Dracula in this?

Yes, yes, yes, yes!
rocketman writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 12:58:11 PM

Well Drac looks like an old tall bald man with a hooked nose so give Kingsley some Cuban heels and you've cracked it.
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 1:19:32 PM

Speaking of Dracula, Good to see Christopher Lee getting the BAFTA Fellowship award tonight.

It's a fitting tribute to a great actor, who is one of the best (us brit's) have ever had IMO.
rocketman writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 1:36:37 PM

Lee is a star.ex Special forces in WW2,Flemmings choice for Bond..Dracula,Saruman Scaramanga so many iconic rolls...Legend
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 1:47:38 PM

Sure is mate, Loved all those old Horror movies with Him and Peter Cushing, They made so many good films together.

And Lee is Flemings Step Cousin and he did want him to play bond in Dr No.

Sort of glad that never happened but he was the best thing in the man with the golden gun.
SeWerin writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 3:21:27 PM

David Slade is very good director, i don't know why he needed Twilight in his biography, but his "Hard Candy" movie is awesome!
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 4:22:34 PM

Interesting twist on the mythos, for sure. Not really fond of more vampire sh*t, but perhaps this film will do something interesting. and I also thought 30 Days of night wasn't bad, like it was set in the Blade universe, so I felt somewhat at home watching it.
JohnZee writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 6:21:45 PM

Honestly all the years ago when I first watched the initial "Alien" movie I was somewhat surprised that the movie had so many parallels to the story of the Demeter and her crew that was firmly set in Bram Stoker's Dracula.

A ship carrying a mysterious and very murderous cargo, crew members are quickly killed off one by one by the creature, and at the end the last survivor, the captain records information in their log detailing what happened in the hopes of warning others.

Perhaps not a perfect fit, but enough similarities to give you the idea that one story was derived from the other. And I think if they can tap into that same core that was so popular with that initial Alien movie, then it will probably be a successful movie.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 7:07:30 PM

@ Trailer - I know what your saying, other than a few parts Sexy Beast was pretty average without Kingsley, but after 30 days of night and hard candy id say Slade is a good choice to bring one of those great performances out of kingsley
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 8:45:20 PM

"Honestly all the years ago when I first watched the initial "Alien" movie I was somewhat surprised that the movie had so many parallels to the story of the Demeter and her crew that was firmly set in Bram Stoker's Dracula."

Even more interesting is the fact that the Nostromo was named after a Joseph Conrad novel of the same name, featuring a man named Nostromo involved in mining the seaboard of the port town of Sulaco.

Nostromo is Italian for "sea merchant", basically.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 9:23:16 PM

and of course Sulaco being the name of the marines ship in Aliens. Didnt know where those names came from, cheers mink.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 9:49:43 PM

Cheers to you too, mate.
Zeroguy writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 10:09:28 PM

Decent director. Just wish he would lay off the vampire sh*t. Rather see him try his hand at something else.
Ben's rad. Awesome in Sexy Beast and stole the show in The Wackness.
HISNAMEISROBERTPAULSON writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 3:42:40 AM

There were no survivors on the Demeter, they could at least read the book before writing a synopsis
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 5:04:18 AM

Ben Kingsley's a great actor, i could see him as ye olde nosferatu
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 6:15:02 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved