WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Franco in Talks to Play Tetsuo in "Akira"

Posted: February 12th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Franco in Talks to Play Tetsuo in "Akira"Submit Comment
About four month ago, we learned that the Hughes brothers (The Book of Eli) have offered the role of Shotaro Kaneda (the gang leader) in "Akira" to Zac Efron. Now several sources, including JustJared, are reporting that James Franco is in talks to grab the role. Stay tuned.

Plot: Neo-Tokyo has risen from the ashes of World War III to become a dark and dangerous megalopolis infested with gangs and terrorists. The government seethes with corruption and only maintains a token control over the powerful military that prevents total chaos and hides the secrets of the past.

Childhood friends Tetsuo and Kaneda plunge into Neo-Tokyo's darkest secret when their motorcycle gang encounters a military operation to retrieve an escaped experimental subject. Tetsuo, captured by the military, is subjected to experiments that make him a powerful psychic, but, unfortunately for Neo-Tokyo, Tetsuo's powers rage out of control and he lashes out at the world that has oppressed him! Nothing can stop the destructive forces that Tetsuo wields except possibly the last boy to destroy Tokyo.

Source: JustJared


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 3:15:31 AM

Thought Akira was a Japaneser....oh sh*t,am i a racist now,sorry pc brigade,it's not like hes playing a viking god or anything.
f*ck wits.
rocketman writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 3:22:42 AM

I meant Akira set in Japan....it early not woke up yet...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 4:08:30 AM

I think you were right the first time rocketman.
rocketman writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 4:12:44 AM

Nice one DAVE ;)
jdl107 writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 4:50:15 AM

So who the f*ck is he playing, Tetsuo or Kaneda? Which is it?
jdl107 writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 4:53:56 AM

Wasn't Zac offered the role of Tetsuo?

Man... You suck at this.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 6:43:08 AM

I think you need to correct the headline, Alex.

I would be happy if they went with Franco instead of Efron. But I'm still not sure how I feel about this project as a whole.
rocketman writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 6:54:18 AM

I can think of plenty of east Asian actors who could star in this as opposed to whatever MTV/Disney channel f*cknut Hollywood insists on farting out.
boogiel writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 7:19:09 AM

Akira it's an awesome manga. However, Hollywood gonna severely ruin this manga and it would just take a dump on the fans.
jdl107 writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 7:27:35 AM

But anyway, this movie is not at all gonna be like the original, so whatever.

I mean, New Manhattan? Go f*ck yourself, and f*ck this movie.

Shouldn't even be touching it.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 8:48:47 AM

If they're going with a white cast, at least they should change the names of the main characters (Tetsuo, Kaneda...how much more Japanese can you get!). Oooop I guess they would have to change the name of the film then too, right? Damn this is an stupid problem to have! The Hughes Bros are smarter than this.
Contagion writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 10:09:07 AM

You might as well get Denzel Washington for the role since they aren't sticking to getting Japanese actors......wait Hollywood are colour blind.
secondbest writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 12:00:06 PM

It's hard for me to see how Akira will work as a live-action film.
Farradin writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 12:43:36 PM

He's too old!
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 12:59:36 PM

Ugh. James Franco has a creepy child molester smile you see on serial killers who travel cross country with a kid's head as a hat. James Franco is only fit to play a creepy child molester. I'm not saying that he is a child molester. Only that he looks like one. Seriously, go watch Pineapple Express. You know he's got a dead 8 yr old stuffed in his freezer.
rocketman writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 2:05:25 PM

Comment of the week ^
Inception writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 2:24:22 PM

I don't trust the H. brothers and even less with this project. As a fan of anime and manga, clearly this is too much for Hollywood to handle, best example the Dragon Ball movie. We all know how that one ended up, clearly it wasn't evolution what we all saw. I also hope the adaptation of Cowboy Bebop stays dead, no need to bring that up to the big screen, too much money will be wasted to make in the end a piece of sh*t, that will taint the original, better watch the anime. The same goes to this ridiculous news of Akira.
minkowski writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 6:16:02 PM

The idea that the Hughes Brothers, or anyone in Hollywood for that matter, can render onto screen a faithful live-acton adaptation of Akira is like asking Michael J. Fox to imitate the painting style of Michaelangelo, or to ask Bay to properly re-film an Akira Kurosawa film.

In other words, you're asking an industry that has the subtlety of a train wreck to remake an intricate, classic, time-honored anime masterpiece. You'd have better luck getting Ray Charles to perform a proper root canal.
jdl107 writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 8:30:23 PM

^^^


Nice. Cleared it up for me.
minkowski writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 8:35:12 PM

^^Thanks.

I'm so glad they dropped the Cowboy Bebop live-action film. And the Neon Genesis one. I mean, with some serious CGI they could turn an anime film into something decent, but the old hands at the helm won't provide the cash to make serious films. especially when it comes to toys and anime.

These 'niche' markets are considered the domains of nerdy sexless young men, not the province of steady, good fillmaking, and I say piss on them for that. because a lack of imagination is what they suffer IMO, and they're passing on what could be the next generation of influential films. In the right hands, of course.
minkowski writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 8:38:45 PM

"Thought Akira was a Japaneser'

He is, was, whatever. having some white guy, serial killerFranco or not, is just as wrong and stupid as having Will Smith's goofy daughter play Annie.

The fact is, Akira is HEAVILY rooted in Japanese soci-cultural pschology, given the after effects of WWII, so to throw this project to some white boy is an disrespectful to the original film and it's well-rooted Japanese context.

f*ck them for doing this, as someone else said.
minkowski writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 9:15:33 PM

But the Book of Eli was a good film, even if it was written around one of the silliest pieces of literature every put to paper (the Koran would be first, second and third, and the Haddith fourth and fifth..like anyone gives a sh*t).
technoreaper writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 10:23:55 PM

OH NO!!!!
SA_Rhyno writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 11:47:05 PM

So we've got Brits and Aussies playing Americans and Americans playing Orientals... perfect.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 12:36:00 AM

What's next, a live action Afro Samurai film directed by Sophia Coppola starring Tom Cruise?
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 12:20:45 PM

It's kind of ironic that black filmakers (the Hughes brothers) are casting white actors in what should be Japanese roles, lol!
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 4:58:55 PM

So, how many times did they cast a robot to play a human? Dunno? Well, just count Keanu Reeves' films.

"What's next, a live action Afro Samurai film directed by Sophia Coppola starring Tom Cruise?"

Do you want them to hear you??? Stop with the suggestions, man!
struck21 writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 1:47:29 AM

Is Leonardo Dicrapo still talking about being in this? Cause I want to see but I can't bring myself to watch him ruin movies.
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 9:16:34 AM

Its a film about Japanese teenagers (as a cultural response to Hirosima etc...) the dude is neither A) Japanese or B) a teenager!!
zyban03 writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 10:24:08 AM

Typical! Lets take another classic film. Put it through the hollywood movie machine and churn out a nice steamy pile of sh!t!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 1:58:19 PM

This project smells of a Hollywood Bomb in the making that will be used as an example of why pop-culture sh*t doesn't work when the fact is Hollywood's lack of common sense and respect for intellectual properties will be the real culprit.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved