WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guy Ritchie to Remake "Cannonball Run" with George Clooney?

Posted: February 11th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guy Ritchie to Remake "Cannonball Run" with George Clooney?Submit Comment
BadassDigest has learned that Guy Ritchie (Sherlock Holmes, Snatch) is in talks to direct a remake of "Cannonball Run," which will begin shooting this fall. And he wants George Clooney to play the role Burt Reynolds played in the original.

The site mentions that the news came from a talent agency source close to Ritchie. LatinoReview backed up the story, claiming that their source is telling them the same exact thing. Stay tuned.

In the 1981 film, Reynolds plays JJ McClure who decides to participate in an illegal cross-country car race, which consists of an all-star cast of racers (Jackie Chan, Farrah Fawcett, Sammy Davis Jr) that will do anything to overcome obstacles and outrun the police to win the competition.

Source: BadassDigest, LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 6:47:55 PM

Guy ritchie, yes, George Clooney = fail, but then again, Ritchie has a gold touch for the most part, so maybe he can turn even sh*t like clooney into something that shines.
zyban03 writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 6:58:20 PM

An actual reboot that I support with Ritchie at the helm.
trailertrash writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 7:15:56 PM

Love Cannonball Run it's an 80's classic IMO

I Don't think they can recreate the original that was a group of top stars who were all good friends having fun making a movie, which was a lot of the movies charm i thought.

Roger Moore was great sending himself up and Dean Martin and Sammy Davis steal the show in their red ferrari dressed as priests.

But with Ritchie Directing he should maybe focus more on the race itself which does get lost a little in the original.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 7:53:58 PM

Mink

Its a Fail

I have yet to see a movie Clooney has done that I was able to watch in its entirety

Im still scratching my head at what the big deal is about him
trailertrash writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 7:57:57 PM

They could have some good cameos in this remake also.

As long as they are quick the original cast are dropping like flies around a naked Lindsay Lohan laying in the hot sun.
trailertrash writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 8:00:37 PM

I Liked George in The 1st Ocean movie, From Dusk Till Dawn and Out of Sight were all pretty good.

shanesleeping writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 8:10:09 PM

as long as dean martins still in it i am there.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 8:43:44 PM

I dont see the point of clooney either he swears he's the f*cking sinatra of this generation and is like the c*ckiest prick ever.WHo the f*ck are his fans that keep supporting this bastard thats what i wanna know?

He got lucky in from dusk till dawn because he was the replacement for Michael Madsen(whcich he turned down) to play Seth Gecko.If it wasnt for that he wouldnt have been as popular as he is today and wouldt be annoying and arrogant as well CLOONEY FAAIIL.

guy ritchie doyourself a favor and do a rocknrolla sequel or a Turkish spinoff(jason stathams character in SNATCH) that would be great.Your no longer married to Madonna anymore so theres no excuse
minkowski writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 10:40:30 PM

The American sucked, BTW. But Oceans 11 was a grean epic film, even if Clooney blights the film with his smug countenance.

And I agree with ya, Crazyhorse, I just wanted to be positive for a change.
minkowski writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 10:41:51 PM

grean=great.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 11:54:03 PM

Hey Guy Ritchie!!! Swept Away remember?

STAY AWAY FORM REMAKES!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 6:33:10 AM

I would rather see a continuation of Nathan Fillion's series Drive.
rabid writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 12:18:28 PM

This doesn't sound too bad. But who's going to play Dom Deloise? All our great fat actors are dead.
ShizPaf writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 5:49:46 PM

Those movies were pretty much a vehicle for the cast to get together. A classic cast, not waaay back but not contemporary with the latest generation of actors at the time. Who fits that bill?

I cast my vote for Chris Walken , but who his cronies are to round out a largish cast I dunno.
ShizPaf writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 5:50:34 PM

Maybe Carrott Topp.
ShizPaf writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 5:50:40 PM

Maybe Carrott Topp.
SA_Rhyno writes:
on February 12th, 2011 at 11:51:02 PM

Let Burt come back and play the Dean Martin role, he deserves it.

You need a new Jackie Chan too!
Snootch writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 12:07:28 AM

I am so torn with this one....Cannonball was my first love as a little kid and is still just that movie for me, as good as or bad as it could be. To see a remake is tough just because of the high regard I hold the original and just feel I will be too critical......YET!!! Guy Ritchie....I think I can understand.....George Clooney...I won't even go near a Theater while it is in theaters.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 7:15:21 AM

Cannonball Run will stand up as a great movie forever, and does not need to be remade in any way. That being said, I'll still watch it.
rocketman writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 7:59:04 AM

Has promise,Clooney has always been cool after i saw him in 3 Kings and the underrated Peacemaker.Ritche has enough flair and works better with an ensemble cast IMO.Better still have the hot chicks in the sports car and the little kung fu guys.
rocketman writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 8:03:35 AM

And Clooney would have been better in the Dean Martin roll,they will probably give that to Russell 'Get a wash and die you aids ridden c*nt' Brand.
trailertrash writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 2:50:10 AM

lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved