WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Corrupt Senator Chris Dodd in Talks to Head MPAA

Posted: February 10th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Corrupt Senator Chris Dodd in Talks to Head MPAASubmit Comment
If you thought that the MPAA was corrupt before, get ready for even more documentaries getting 'R' ratings while every future Steven Spielberg porn film gets a 'G' rating.

Politico has learned that former Connecticut Senator Chris Dodd is the front-runner to lead the MPAA, a job that comes with a $1.2 million annual salary. "It's not a done deal, but he's the only one in negotiations," said a top industry official.

Before deciding not to run for re-election, Dodd was in the middle of several major controversies, including being responsible for the sub-prime mortgage crisis and making statements that Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac were "in good shape," despite the fact that both companies were reporting huge loses. Coincidentally, he was the number one recipient in Congress of campaign funds from Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.

To read more about Dodd and his long list of corruption charges, click here.

Source: THR, Politico


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 5:22:57 AM

Isn't 'Corrupt' and 'Senator' in the same sentence redundant?
trailertrash writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 5:37:27 AM

Ranger - lol

"It's not a done deal"

Final bribes for the job have yet to be submitted ...
RickPeters writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:28:27 AM

"If you thought that the MPAA was corrupt before, get ready for even more doc*mentaries getting 'R' ratings while every future Steven Spielberg porn film gets a 'G' rating."

Wait, what? You lost me at the end there...
boogiel writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 7:11:30 AM

Well, the criminal merry-go-round sure is a small circle.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:35:47 AM

So he has made a couple of mistakes. Surely he have learned from them and he will do MPAA:s reputation nothing but justice.
happileperkon writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:22:09 AM

lol speilbergs getting into porn?
rocketman writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:25:33 PM

So thats one of the c*ntS thats responsible for the financial shape of the west.c*nty needs to get a job advising China,but they are not as greedy/gullible as the west's money masters.
Man in Black writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:28:13 PM

That is all we need is a self righteous politician - crook telling me whats appropriate, how about we go away from rating movies and leave that freedom up to the viewer.
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:39:37 PM

the MPAA are a dinosaur and the internet is the asteroid that will make them irrelevant.
Go ahead. Fight that massive asteroid with your tiny t-rex arms, dipsh*t.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:39:53 PM

WP why didnt you make it known he is a DEMOCRAT

Im sure if he was a Republican we would have read Republican 3 times in this article

Im mean Bush and the republicans get all the blame for the economy going bad under the current administration yet its known that the Democrats were involved in the Fannie May and housing crap

Democrat Barney Frank too
rocketman writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:13:16 PM

@rabid nice lol
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:25:54 PM

democrat=republican

one is just as corruptable as the other. Republicans are just funnier to pick on because their foibles usually involve teenage rentboys.
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:30:10 PM

Great, more bullsh*t.

P.s. Ranger, that's gold.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:54:03 PM

Corrupt Senator Chris Dodd in Talks to Head MPAA ... and this changes the MPAA HOW exactly ?


minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:54:49 PM

Crazyhorse:

I don't believe Alex really takes too many sides in these matters, and has been somewhat antagonistic of Obama's antics. IO would say though, that he's a one of those liberal Jews with a more moderate spread on issues. Having said that:

"Im sure if he was a Republican we would have read Republican 3 times in this article"

Let's face it, Democrats, for whatever reason, are, in general, slightly more amnenable to internet users than Republicans, as the latter often heavily sides with business per this country's majority existential motivation.

Democrats, tending to be more 'progressive', at least in self-deposition, in genreal side with the people and organzations such as EFF and whatnot on these matters.

Having said that, the real question is the matter of piracy and what, if any, damages does it incur on business around the world. Remember, regardless of what people like myself say, we still have no riht access software we have not purchased. Period. And while personal piracy is often quite different from theft, both involve access to materials to which we have not earned access and use.

"Fight that massive asteroid with your tiny t-rex arms, dipsh*t."

I'm sure, rabid, you have no interest in entertaining an argument but I just have to comment:

With this comment, tongue-in-sheek as it was, are you saying that the internet is going to render extinct all politicians and organizations seeking to look to thwart 'file-sharers'?

If so, have you not reviewed the historical trend by which, in America and abroad, power has accrued and bloated and grown across the decades rathert than disperse and dissipate?

From Wilson to FDR to Johnson to Carter to Obama? From the 16th 'amendment' through which the US government siezed wages for it's own use, to CAFE to the bloated and unconstitutional Obamacare in which a citizen is financially penalized for not purchasing insurance?

You do realize that in the space of 100 years we've gone from a hard republic to a state of soft, but ever growing, facism (no jokes Ranger :))?

Look here:

MPAA threetens to disconnect Google:

http://www.ibtimes.com/articles/110956/20110210/google-mpaa-copyright-infringement-hotfile-bittorrent-file-sharing-peer-to-peer-torrent-movie-studio.htm

This is NOT demoocracy, and the asteroid, my fellow WPer, is not the internet but government, which kills everything it touches.

And here's COICA, whereby the government can simply disconnect offenders form the internet if they infringe:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Combating_Online_Infringement_and_Counterfeits_Act

Much like in part of Australia where the government is planning and testing ways to disconnect air conditioners during peak usage hours. Looks like the MPAA is going ahead without congressional approval.

No, Rabid, you are SO wrong: the asteroid, like I said, is GOVERNMENT.

Thomas Painse said

“Government, even in its best state, is but a necessary evil; in its worst state, an intolerable one.”

And Ayn Rand, crazy bitch that she was, said:

"There's no way to rule innocent men. The only power government has is the power to crack down on criminals. Well, when there aren't enough criminals, one makes them. One declares so many things to be a crime that it becomes impossible for men to live without breaking laws."

And Thomas Jefferson:

"When governments fear the people, there is liberty. When the people fear the government, there is tyranny."

So, where are we right now, Rabid?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:55:15 PM

MPAA = Massive Patronizing of American Audiences
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:56:15 PM

Corrupt Senator Chris Dodd in Talks to Head MPAA ...

" This Sc*mbag is not yet indicted. "
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:59:08 PM

Freudian_Nightmare writes: on February 10th, 2011 at 8:35:47 AM
So he has made a couple of mistakes. Surely he have learned from them and he will do MPAA:s reputation nothing but justice.

@Freudian

Wow! And I thought I was good at satire!
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:00:45 PM

happileperkon writes: on February 10th, 2011 at 9:22:09 AM
lol speilbergs getting into porn?

@happileperkon

Well, I've always wondered about E T and Elliot.

That night in the woods, you can better dollars to donuts it always wasn't about phoning home.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:07:26 PM

Johnny Neat:

Are you aware that people were using that line well before even the Romans? I would suggest that it was one of the first sentences to have ever been uttered from civilized man, in one form or another, and it also likely fell from the lips of the world's first prostitute (after her mouth was otherwise emptied).

Just saying.
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:12:51 PM

The government is doing everything they can to keep the entertainment industry thriving because its such a huge part of the American economy. It employees millions and moves around the money of billions. But the internet has introduced a new model of business that Hollywood can't wrap their brains around. They steadily lose the amount of control they have over rating, distribution, creative license. They waste their time chasing after bootleggers on their turf and forcing the industry under their protective umbrella. It's like the mob circa 1920's.
The internet offers alternatives to licensing and distribution. It doesn't require ratings. It allows for open trading of films and new forms of advertisement beyond television spots. There's so much for the MPAA to adapt to. I predict they can't without running in circles.
The future of theaters and television is unregulated on your home computer screen and the motion picture industry is going to bleed until they figure that much out. They also have to figure out how to make people pay to watch in a world where everything is free.

I guess in that respect, Chris Dodd is the right man for the job. It's basically the same gig he had before.
Ranger writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:20:52 PM

@Johnny - thx. Bro.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:40:43 PM

I get all that rabid, and I agree, but the point I think you're missing is that whatever people like you and I do has, and will have, little to no consequence because at the end of the day, week year and decade, they, the bureaucrats have the power to do what they want when and how, and that power is NOT diminishing but increasing geometrically, if not exponentially.

That's the issue at hand, not how businesses adapt to feeding new consumers in a new business model aimed at curtailing piracy.

And when the enforcement here proves insufficient, the US government will further bind and twist the hands of foreign nations into restricting THEIR citizens.

The issue is what to do with the ever growing accrual of power here at home over the lives of the people the government is supposed to protect, not rule over as a lord unto to his abject and dispossessed subjects.

Fifty years hence, the issue will have come to a head, and I have to wonder if people will look back and say, gee, what could I have done differently? Instead, they should be looking forward, saying what can I do NOW to prevent things from coming to a head in the future.
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:23:58 PM

same as it ever was.
Try telling a woman or a black man that the American government has more power over them than it did a hundred years ago.
But you have a point. The government is like the MPAA. They use regulations and bully tactics when they are unsure how to improve a situation. They've taken severe economic liberties lately that are nothing more than a quick fix to a sinking situation. Another case of a failing business model refusing to adapt... so they use strongarm tactics to buy time.
That's why I'm pro-globalisation. Bring on the New World Order. We're eventually going to find a way to steer this insane global economy, and I want my country on the tiptop of this Amway pyramid.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 4:07:42 PM

mink

Your 2:40 post is a good one

I will give you my example of your "what could I have done scenario"

When Obama and Mccain were running for office

I sat at home and did not vote. Call me lame thats fine

My reason, I knew Mccain was nothing more than a product of a watered down politician that we over the years as voters created by voting for our checkbooks instead of looking down the road and seeing what will benefit us as a nation in the long run

We now vote as if a party is our favorite team and they can do no wrong

Example

Democrat voters many of them are pro-union, yet the union stirs up these voters to strike at their jobs for higher wages. What happens higher wages cause companies to make a choice; go out of business, or move overseas for lower wages to keep the doors open. Democrat voters love more government so we can have the government take care of us. But what happens higher taxes

Republicans

Slowly have catered toward the rich over the years, moved more toward leftist ideals, and have been part of the problem in lack of fiscal restraint on spending. They also do not offer solutions to things like the healthcare problem, which I can tell you one way to bring cost of healthcare down, Stop Healthcare Fraud, it can be done with the current technology but they just sit there and point fingers which Im tired of

I could care less if your Democrat or Republican

What I get tired of is Hollywood and the current media are pro-democrat and your a right wing nut job if you say anything against them

Just ask Angelina Jolie's father, John Voight

Anyway hopefully people will do like you say and come to their senses and vote for people who believe in the ideals of what the country was founded on and not on the current ideals that we are seeing
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 4:34:30 PM

I like what you two had to say, because it means I'm not entirely nuts, but:

"Anyway hopefully people will do like you say and come to their senses and vote for people who believe in the ideals of what the country was founded on and not on the current ideals that we are seeing"

We'd need a party to throw our votes into first, and right now, all we have is bad cop, worse cop. And they love alternating the roles.

"Try telling a woman or a black man that the American government has more power over them than it did a hundred years ago."

It's not that simple. Women can vote yes, and they can wash fetuses down the toilet at will, but they're still slaves to a system that's ever growing and ever expanding.

Blacks were freed by decree, but they are still slaves to a system that patronizes them at their expense. They're still slaves to the white man's condescension, and they f*cking resent it. That is not freedom, that's social bondage.

But the relevant fact is that the United States has simply vastly exceeded the boundaries thrown down by the compromise between the Federalists and anti-Federalists, and we, the citizens, are suffering under the weight of ever encroaching tyranny that's robbing us of our freedom to be free, a tyranny that's also obliterating and eliminating the right of the states to decide what's best for them and the citizenry therein.

They're turning a nation built on limited government, enlightened principles and freedom for all into a monolithic fascist entity with no respect for individualism, self-determination and personal responsibility.

Something must be done before it's too f*cking late, if it's not already.

"They also do not offer solutions to things like the healthcare problem, which I can tell you one way to bring cost of healthcare down"

The Republicans actually had an alternative plan based on Singapore's model of private health accounts, but it went nowhere. It died in committee, as they say in Star Wars.

Sadly, the comparisons to the Empire do not end there.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 5:19:58 PM

Mink

I will add to your comment

"We'd need a party to throw our votes into first, and right now, all we have is bad cop, worse cop. And they love alternating the roles".

Yes both parties stink but again its our own fault for continuing to vote for years for these people instead of using our votes to hold these politicians accountable for their actions

You recently saw the republicans taking back control of the house why most people dont wont government control, the democrats wanted to spin it of course but this a start

If the newly voted Republicans dont do their job hopefully they will be voted out and so on and so on,

Maybe in 50 years we can get back to normal

But if we continue to vote for people with no morals and communist/(big government) ideas, we will end up like Russia

China is finally getting it, slowly but surely that capitalism works not communism
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:21:24 PM

f*ck the Democrats and Republicans, you need an American equivalent of the BNP!

http://www.bnp.org.uk/policies/democracy

http://www.bnp.org.uk/policies/economics
Rookie One writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:27:34 PM

The MPAA is a house of cards, a puppet organization and I couldn't care less.

P.S. I hate you Mink and say the word and we can go toe-to-toe.
Rookie One writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:34:50 PM

^ being one of "those liberal Jews" I'd love to ruin you. My suggestion is to back off and not get into this.
trailertrash writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 8:21:59 AM

That's some tough talking from a liberal Jew !!

Very cutting edge of modern of you...
trailertrash writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 8:22:49 AM

*And
minkowski writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 6:22:46 PM

"The MPAA is a house of cards, a puppet organization and I couldn't care less"

That's why you posted? To show us you don't care? You know, silent apathy would've sufficed, brain trust.

"being one of "those liberal Jews"

Go vote Democrat the rest of your life, you circ*mcised simpleton.

"I'd love to ruin you"

Ruin me, or run in me? Because, let's face it, you won't do either, faggot.

"P.S. I hate you Mink"

Send me a Hallmark card or save your breath, angry net-stalker.

"and say the word and we can go toe-to-toe."

You hate me, you love me, now you wanna dance! Make up your little mind, psycho.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 7:43:27 AM

sh*t too bad I missed this band wagon. Mink and Crazyhorse, I agree with you 100%. Year after year we turn over more and more freedom in exchange for "safety" and convenience. And I put quote marks around safety because I don't really feel we are any safer than we would be without surrendering our liberties. I believe it was Either Thomas Jefferson or Ben Franklin that said, "Anyone who would sacrifice liberty for safety deserves neither liberty or safety."

Unfortunately, the American public is either too stupid, too greedy, or too apathetic to effect any sort of change with their right to vote. The candidates who run that might actually make a difference, like the McCain of the 2000 election cycle or Ron Paul, don't get the votes of the party masses that have basically been brainwashed by rhetoric. So you get a good guy like McCain and have to watch him water himself down and become the same kind of bullsh*t artist as the rest of them to get his partie's nomination, and by that time he is no longer worth voting for. The same thing happened when that General ran in the 2004 election. He watered himself down and tried to make himself into a "good little democrat" and everyone saw right through the facade. If he ha run as himself and relied on the truth he would have been worth voting for.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved