WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Twilight" Writer Hired for "Highlander" Remake

Posted: February 10th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Twilight" Writer Hired for "Highlander" RemakeSubmit Comment
THR is reporting that "Twilight" writer Melissa Rosenberg is in negotiations with Summit Entertainment to pen the script for the studio's upcoming "Highlander" remake, which will be directed by Justin Lin (Fast and Furious, Annapolis).

The original story centered on a Scottish swordsman, who discovers he is part of a secret race of near-immortal beings and faces off against an unstoppable barbarian who covets the power gained from there being only one of their kind left.

Rosenberg may seem like an odd choice for "Highlander," but she has written all five "Twilight" films by herself for Summit and has done work on "Dexter," which she also executive produces.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 4:39:40 AM

((((Shaking my head here ))))

FAIL !!!
Rambo writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 4:48:26 AM

Robert Pattinson as Connor MacLeod

Jaden Smith as Kruger

Justin Bieber as Heather MacLeod
Ranger writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 5:19:18 AM

OH NO f*ckING WAY!!!!!!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 5:20:49 AM

Because the music alone in the first movie is already out of her league!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEJ8lpCQbyw
trailertrash writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 5:30:58 AM

Ranger - You know it my friend , nice link

Rambo- No No No .....

Justin Bieber and Jaden will be making the Soundtrack !!
AYT BALL writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 5:52:11 AM

Shaking head so much i have whiplash! f*ck off!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:01:22 AM

and has done work on "Dexter," which she also executive produces.

She definetly hasn't done work on dexter maybe one of the weaker epidodes in season 3.. Highlander is a mans film... for men... get your young teenage target audience away from this film! If your gonna remake it Hollywood its gotta be badass! Cinema is on life support but i don't think it's gonna make it...
Trip Maverick writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:11:19 AM

When I heard Hollywood were making movies out of board games I knew they had no ideas so all the remakes dont surprise me.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:16:39 AM

Great another EMO influenced script now mccleod will be a queer.One of my 80s guilty pleasure movies will be ruined.

Lederhosen writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:46:25 AM

Queen made the first movie with their music. The movie was so-so.
boogiel writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:57:23 AM

That sucks. Enough with the remake/reboot. Can't they come up with original ideas?
SeWerin writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 7:08:51 AM

Even Freddie Mercury would think that this is too gay...
sc_kg writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:14:25 AM

No. Rosenberg was the lead screenwriter on Dexter, so I'll have to defend her.
zyban03 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:26:17 AM

Leave it the hell alone!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:46:30 AM

How is that she can be responsible for both Dexter and Twilight? Maybe she's one of those writers who improve when they have a good source material?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:56:10 AM

sc_kg- lead screenwriter? Just looked it up she wrote four episodes including Love American Style from season 1 which i remember beign an emotional episode exploring dexters love for... sounds about right.
trailertrash writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:01:11 AM

Never seen Dexter !!!

Is it any good ????
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:04:17 AM

@Trailer: Dexter is one of the greatest show right now.
SeWerin writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:19:03 AM

But Fringe is better! :)
Kurskij writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:36:19 AM

Rosenberg may seem like an odd choice for "Highlander," BUT she has written all five "Twilight" films by herself

^I don't get it. Does "but she" here stands for "because she has f*cking written"?

Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 10:04:14 AM

Trailer- Dexter is easily the best show on TV and of all time, Fringe? pfft.. no chance. I would recommend any one who hasn't seen dexter to buy all five seasons as i've never met a person who hasn't become addicted to it. Best actors, writing, perfect mix of dark comedy and drama. Season 1 and 4 were the stand outs but it never lowers its standards.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 10:54:03 AM

I'm speechless here!
Rush_66 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 10:58:19 AM

FUUUU
Pig Newtons writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 11:44:40 AM

So let me guess:

Shirtless, hearthrob hunks from Gossip Girl and "Tiger Beat" magazine star in a remake containing absolutely NO links to the original series, am I right?

Lots of lip pouting, gel haired, shaven chested twink boys clashing swords. That's all this tween girl masturbatory aid remake is going to be.

Methinks somebody like Ridley Scott should take over this reboot series. Clive Owen would be a great Highlander, even though everyone is going to want Gerard Butler.

As for the role of Ramirez..... idk? Who's an actor, in their 50's or '60's who would be a great Ramirez? I would vote for Liam Neeson, however, Ramirez was supposed to be sorta "flamboyant" and even provide a little comedic relief. Neeson's great, but can he do the humor?
lebowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 11:56:09 AM

do you know how many years im waiting for hollywood to remake highlander?do you?because apart from the first movie everything else was sh*t.this news are killing me,please dont let anyone who worked on the twilight movies get involve with highlander.dont make this movie about 400 year old man who is still mopping about his wife death,highlander needs great swordfights,a really cool and scary villain,not to mention a lot of rolling heads.so i guess its true i am never going to watch another good highlander movie.thanks hollywood thanks a lot
lebowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:06:36 PM

i always thought that eric bana would make a great highlander as for ramirez javier bardem comes in mind
nicholas56 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:12:05 PM

this reboot will be f*cking gay if they get a writer from the twilight series. we need to protect this sh*t so bad right now
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:20:22 PM

I'm loving the idea of a Highlander remake. The original series of films skipped every opportunity to delve into the coolest parts of the story. What is the origin of the mysterious game? What is the real prize? What exactly is the quickening?
Love the original stuff (mostly), but they never really fleshed it out the way they could have... and should.
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:25:13 PM

Ramirez was always so much cooler than McClod!

and who cares if its the Twilight script writer? Twilight was a really crap novel, so if some lady is good enough with a pen to turn a sh*t book into a hit film, then she might know her way around the page. It doesn't mean everything she writes is for teenage girls. She also writes and produces for the tv show DEXTER.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:26:33 PM

this sucks!
Man in Black writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:37:26 PM

Just dont do it , you wont do it justice so walk away you hacks the only Highlander movies worth anything are 1-3 . When they brought in Adrian Paul it f*cked up the order/ balance . I guess when you cant come up with an original thought you just say "HEY WE'LL REBOOT IT ! "
Grumblestyle writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:40:54 PM

There can be only one.
Rambo writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:22:23 PM

@Alex

can't this long reply(in this case of rush_66)be fixed in this site?
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:23:12 PM

sure. There can be only one. And then there can be 4 sequels, 2 tv series, 10 books, 2 comics, a cartoon, an anime, and a line of action figures.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:09:59 PM

Never, ever send a woman to do a man's job. EOC.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:15:14 PM

"Twilight" Writer Hired for "Highlander" Remake ... expect Highlander II : The Sparkling

So those Twatlit f*ckers want to desecrate and disembowel a movie that survived even Highland III with Mario Van Peebles, Highlander IV with Adrien whatshisname and the Wrestler formerly known as Edge and even that lame-o TV series ?


f*ck. No.


" There can be only one, motherf*cker. "
Ranger writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:30:07 PM

@Lederhosen - you're right. Queen did make Highlander what it was. The movie was so-so. It was the 'concept' that carried it to other (pathetic) incarnations... sequels sucked. The original TV show was ok, 'til they milked the hell out of that.

Someone posted... 'This is even too gay for Freddie Mercury' - lol.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:31:42 PM

Bouncing heads and quickenings are just so Queen.
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:53:31 PM

I agree about Queen's soundtrack doing much of the film's work. I wish modern films would drop all the generic scores and sad violins and hire real musicians to write something creative.
The 80s were great for soundtracks. Vangelis on Bladerunner, Queen on Flash Gordon, Tangerine Dream on Legend, Peter Gabriel on Last Temptation. Purple Rain?
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:57:52 PM

I hear Danny Elfman is doing the score.
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:30:37 PM

Danny Elfman is an amazing musician, but he hasn't done anything inspiring since Batman. They need to bring back the Mystic Knights of Oingo Boingo and remake The Forbidden Zone, just to put him back on the right track.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:45:06 PM

He's an amazing musician when he's suited to the right project, I think, but often times the guy takes work that just doesn't fit his mindset, like say Tim Burton doing Schindler's List.

And yes, Queen made the film. In fact, Queen and Connery were the film's crutches, because if you remove both or either, the film would have stunk worse than low tide in Lady Gaga's vagina.
trailertrash writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 4:53:43 PM

Thanks Freud and Cinema , Maybe i will buy season 1 and give Dexter ago then...
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:04:26 PM

THere's been so many HIghlander movies that stunk....this is going to be a huge waste of time and money. Whatever happend to "There can be only ONE!" ??
Rookie One writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:24:30 PM

She was probably the only one foolish enough to take this on. The whole situation has "Flop" written all over it.
sc_kg writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 10:17:20 PM

@Cinemaisdead. Lead scrinwriter is a person who doesn't write pertucular episode, but a person who comes up with a story and turns them into treatments for the writers.

Just check the intro with credits.
Ranger writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 10:52:24 PM

Queen was called in to see parts of the movie. They were asked to (only) write a rock, theme to the movie. They liked the movie so much... they came back saying they would write (8, I think it was... then even more) additional tracks. Which they turned into their 'Kind of Magic' Tour, which saw every ticket for every concert sell out in ONE day.

Yeah... Queen and Connery brought the charisma to what would have been a very ordinary film, but with a great storyline.

I always had a copy of the movie. Yet only a few years ago a version was released with extra scenes... it filled in the required blanks. As to why Connor was so affectionate/protective of his older/cougar secretary, etc. It's a version that SHOULD had been released in the theaters (time restraints my ass!).
vwkombi writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 12:12:49 AM

Dear Hollywood,

I have recently kidnapped 23 children and are holding them hostage in an undisclosed location. If the writer for the 'Highlander' remake so much as sneaks glitter onto the project, i will feed all these kids to starving rats.

Yours sincerely,
vwkombi
Ranger writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 1:20:54 AM

I'LL BRING THE RATS!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AsITgqGQgj4
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 1:53:50 AM

She can just f*ck right off!!
Megawhip writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 1:47:41 PM

Freddie Mercury will be spinning in his grave!
spike24949movies writes:
on February 13th, 2011 at 6:31:27 PM

uuuuuh hows a no do for ya, dont think thats the best writer for the job, but definately gotta get tom jane in as connor mcleod cus he can do the job and he looks like a young christopher lambert lol woop woop on highlander reboot tho
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:53:52 PM

so thats why dexter started to get all sparkly

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved