WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Shane Black in Talks to Direct "Iron Man 3"

Posted: February 10th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Shane Black in Talks to Direct "Iron Man 3"Submit Comment
Jon Favreau recently revealed that he will not return to direct the third "Iron Man" movie. Now comes word that Shane Black is in talks with Marvel Studios to replace him.

Black is not the only director being considered for the job, but if hired, he will also write the script. Up until 2005, he was known for writing "Lethal Weapon," "The Last Boy Scout" and "The Long Kiss Goodnight." Then Black made his helming debut with "Kiss Kiss Bang Bang," which coincidentally starred Robert Downey Jr.

Since then, Black has been in talks to direct a number of high-profile projects, including "Lethal Weapon 5," "Doc Savage" and "Death Note." Marvel will likely announce the director of "Iron Man 3" within the next four months in order to make the already announced May 3rd, 2013 release date.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 4:35:33 AM

Shane Black is talent! Wrote one of my fave movies ever, The Last Boy Scout, that movie is 90s action GOLD. Not to mention Kiss Kiss Bang Bang is all class.
trailertrash writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 4:44:16 AM

If they could ever get Mel and the gang back on board for Lethal weapon 5 , rather see Shane take that franchise over from Donner.

Ari - Agree on Last Boy Scout, that was a very good buddy action pic with Willis on fire with some great one liners.
Rambo writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 4:54:42 AM

I just hope he writes a good script.Iron Man 2 had a terrible one.
Ranger writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 5:24:50 AM

I fell asleep during Iron Man 2.

As for a director... why not get Kevin Smith. I hear he'll work for food (a LOT of it!).
bandolero999 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:28:46 AM

Sounds interesting.maybe the can hire damon wayans to play war machine
RickPeters writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:33:52 AM

As bummed as I am that Jon Favreau won't be directing the third one, getting Shane Black is a very cool replacement.

It's definitely better than passing it off to someone like, say, Brett Ratner. Because despite how disappointing Iron Man 2 was, it wasn't a complete trainwreck like, say, X-men 3.
boogiel writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:52:51 AM

I think he would be a good choice. So I guess there will be no Happy Hogan in IM3.
SeWerin writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:53:54 AM

Shane Black is DA man! Really awesome guy. Loved every his script and KKBB is fantastic!
ShizPaf writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:26:14 AM

The guy who did Leathal Weapon and Monster Squad? Sounds like a damn good choice.
sc_kg writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:48:22 AM

Marvel has a policy to hire directors who are concidered talented, but also cheap.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:49:32 AM

It was Black who made Downey the star he is today. Without Kiss Kiss Bang Bang Robert wouldn't have had the opportunity to show that he was a force to reckon with. So give Shane Iron Man but, please, let him write the script to.
Kurskij writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:15:41 AM

@Ari

- What did you do last night?

- I think I f*cked a squirrel to death and then I don't remember
trailertrash writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:39:28 AM

Kurskij - Nice Avatar my friend And then some
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 10:24:47 AM

Amen The Last Boy Scout is one of my all time faves. "I swear to Christ if it make it through this f*cking case, I sweat to Christ Junior, I'm gonna dance a f*cking jig!" Danielle Harris was so cute in that movie.
This could be good.
LEONCIO writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 11:07:21 AM

"It was Black who made Downey the star he is today. Without Kiss Kiss Bang Bang Robert wouldn't have had the opportunity to show that he was a force to reckon with."

Nah, he was better in Ally McBeal. XD
Kurskij writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 11:14:57 AM

@tt

Thanks

I figured I'll skip through some and then return to cocaine chicken.



lebowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:09:14 PM

just hire the guy and dont think about it.
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:31:39 PM

This is an awesome choice. Iron Man 3 will be a tough sell, with the Mandarin and all. He's one of the lamest characters Marvel ever invented, so I hope he has some experience with scifi... and miracles.
rocketman writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:34:20 PM

Now were talking,can write wise ass in his sleep...pumped.

seen this WP crew?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S3TKCeGc2Ao&feature=player_embedded
Whitta writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:42:17 PM

with all do respect to Jon Favreau, Shane Black would do a far better job.
Fingers crossed we don't get a headline in 2 weeks saying...
"Writer Of The 'Twilight' Series, Stephenie Meyer, Set To Write Iron Man 3 Script."

Alot of you may think this could never happen... but after yesterdays article titled..
"Will Smith Helping Justin Beiber Become A Movie Star"...
Joe Gallow writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:06:30 PM

How about Michael Bay? Or Paul Anderson? Bahahaha
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:17:04 PM

Shane Black in Talks to Direct "Iron Man 3"

Sure! I could see this ...
Ranger writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:20:02 PM

I think we're all so looking forward after IM2... we haven't question why Jon isn't doing #3.

I think the studio is grateful for the $'s 1 & 2 made, but clearly #2 showed everybody that Jon doesn't have the legs to carry this to the next level.

Again... HUGE IM fan here... and #2 put me to sleep (literally)... I mean... LITERALLY!
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:20:18 PM

Shane Black writes action like no one else, and he's a decent director, but the best bet IMO would be to let him write the script and have a more experienced helmer do the directing.

I just don't see Black getting his blockbuster break on this film, given that it's such a huge tentpole flick. Shane simply may not have what the producers demand in terms of demonstrated ability to be exercised in a given timeframe, as KKBB is an entirely different type of flick from Iron Man 3.

(KKBB made what? 4. something mil in the US? Ironman 3 will hope to make that an hour opening day. Different race, different horses, different jockies)

But whatever. Judging by the bandwagoneering comments, I'm talking to the deaf and dumb.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:22:19 PM

"I think the studio is grateful for the $'s 1 & 2 made, but clearly #2 showed everybody that Jon doesn't have the legs to carry this to the next level. "

The direction in IM2 was excellent, it was Theroux's leaden script and Marvel's instence on character bloat that fried the film.

Let's be fair here and lay the blame accordingly.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:26:07 PM

And one other thing to consider: IM3 isn't an action film niche market, as was most of Black's screenplays. IM3 is a film with a much more broad appeal. Can Black competently write such a film? His writing filmography says "maybe".
Ranger writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:33:54 PM

@Mink - fair enough. IM2 still put me to sleep. But you're right.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:56:18 PM

Just thought we should reserve the hate for the guy that wrote the screenplay, though I really don't blame him, I blame Marvel, who will also be hamfisting Black if he gets the writer-director roles.
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:28:32 PM

I liked Iron Man 2. It replicated the feel of the comic, where things like character bloat and corny dialogue thrive.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:35:47 PM

Yeah, true, true, but watching an action film is like getting thrown down a hill side. Too many trees hurt the trip, while reading a comic is like a walk in the forest. There's time to meander and explore.
BobMcBob writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:36:37 PM

i vote yes for the wife-beater...i mean girlfriend-beater
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 11th, 2011 at 1:57:44 AM

I will definetly go along with this if it happens.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved