WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Will Ferrell Bench Presses Kevin Hart in First "Get Hard" Photos
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for Ewan McGregor's "Son of a Gun" Crime Thriller
Nov 19th, 2014
Snoopy and Charlie Brown are Back in "The Peanuts Movie" Trailer
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for "Project Almanac" Time-Traveling Thriller
Nov 18th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Unveils New Photos, Trailer Coming Next Week
Nov 18th, 2014
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says "Running Man" Sequel is Happening
Nov 18th, 2014
New Images of Snoopy and Charlie Brown From "The Peanuts Movie"
Nov 18th, 2014
See "Interstellar" as Many Times as You Want for One Price
Nov 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Nov 18th, 2014
Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Nov 17th, 2014
"Captain America 2" Directors May Take Over "The Avengers" Franchise
Nov 17th, 2014
Oscar-Winning "The Hurt Locker" Writer Hired for "Uncharted" Video Game Film
Nov 17th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Takes First Place at Box Office with $38 Million
Nov 16th, 2014
"Battlestar Galactice" and "Knight Rider" Creator Glen A. Larson Dead at 77
Nov 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Nov 16th, 2014
Jude Law is the Villain in Guy Ritchie's "Knights of the Round Table" King Arthur Film
Nov 16th, 2014
Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"
Nov 15th, 2014
Three More "Fast and Furious" Films Being Planned
Nov 15th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Romance Between Mystique and Magneto
Nov 15th, 2014
"The Wolf Man" is Next Universal Pictures Monster to Get Rebooted
Nov 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

Posted: February 9th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?Submit Comment
IGN is mostly known for video games, which is why it's strange that director David O Russell (The Fighter) would do an interview with the website and pretend that he knows anything about "Uncharted," the game he's adapting for the big screen with Mark Wahlberg, Robert De Niro and Joe Pesci.

"I think if we take that family dynamic that we have in 'The Fighter,' and put that in terms of a grander stage, with a crime family that metes out justice in the world of art and antiquities," he said about "Uncharted." "If you're the head of a museum, or head of state, you've got to deal with them, and they're badass. They're like the Sopranos in some ways, but they have great taste, and they have a sense of justice."

When asked why he picked "Uncharted" to turn into a film, Russell replied: "Because it's centered around a family, and I like the combination of criminals and truth. These guys they're tough but they're working on this crazy case, and they can't do it without truth. I think that's cool."

Having played "Uncharted," I don't have a clue what he's talking about. But Russell claims that he knows about the game from experience. "My kid loves playing it, I love playing it," he said.

Source: IGN, ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:03:28 PM

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

I don't think that's the question you should be asking.

It should be either :

A. Has David O Russell seen Max Payne ?

Super Mario Brothers ?

Streetfighter ?

Mortal Kombat and Mortal Kombat :
Annihilation ?

Resident Evil, the Series ?

Final Fantasy, Walk with Me ?

Wing Commander ?

Alone in the Dark ?

B. What's that crystal meth he's been smokin'?
-Chewy- writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:03:51 PM

Well, at least the director played the game. That's good.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:26:27 PM

wow...so put this movie in the crapper
velocityknown writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:37:35 PM

Don't know what the f*ck he's talking about. Love the games, seems like I'm going to hate this movie even thought it would make a PERFECT movie in the right hands. The games themselves are so cinematic. Give Indy a run for his money.
Rookie One writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:42:11 PM

Off Topic... Someday somebody is goign to make a good Mortal Kombat film. On Topic... If anybody could pull off a decent video game film it would be David O' Russell, or another director on his talent level.
boogiel writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:22:42 PM

Why do we even need a movie for Uncharted!?
I think the game itself IS the movie. This is a classic symptom of "How to f*ck up a movie so you can reboot it within 2 years"
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:35:53 PM

With the flow of the game and the cut scenes uncharted is already a movie, a movie/game that's way to epic to be turned into a live action film.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:38:08 PM

Boogiel, I think we're on the same page.
otis writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:12:55 AM

Well he could be superceding the game entirely and "loosely basing" it after Uncharted, so it's not as predictable.

Ok, of course he hasn't played it. It even sounds like he had to backtrack when he mentioned his kids play it...I mean, I play it."

Just playing devil's advocate.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:41:34 AM

He hasn't played it.

He's just playing the Hollywood card that says " Why yes! I am a fan of *fill in the blank*! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:43:51 AM

Uncharted is apt to this project. If we are lucky, they will wind up like a real life Gilligan's Island and they all will be isolated for years on a three hour tour ... especially Wahlberg.

Hey Wahlberg,

Tell your Mom's Vagina my penis says "Hi".
WV-Films writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:06:43 AM

Play the f*cking thing! It'll take 5 god damn hours!
vwkombi writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:14:16 AM

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

When asked why he picked "Uncharted" to turn into a film, Russell replied: "Because it's centered around a family, and I like the combination of criminals and truth. These guys they're tough but they're working on this crazy case, and they can't do it without truth. I think that's cool."

There's your answer. f*ck this guy.
Kill-the-director writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:28:28 AM

i think david o.russell is playing a different game. i'd love to see a movie version of uncharted but this sounds horrible. the dynamic of the game already works. why completely change it.
Fixxer35 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:47:22 AM

That must be the Wii version of this game.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:40:12 AM

No way he's played Uncharted.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 11:59:43 AM

i dont know what he played but it wasn't Uncharted.
if you want to see a funny review of the game know more and you have a sense of humor then check this out.

http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/view/zero-punctuation/27-Uncharted-Drakes-Fortune
Pig Newtons writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:18:19 PM

It's okay, Russell. Paul WS Anderson never played Mortal Kombat nor Resident Evil before he fouled up those movies either.
Moose756 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:00:59 PM

Crime family, sopranos. Sounds to me like he played the Godfather game instead of uncharted.
Farradin writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:08:13 PM

I played it for 15 minutes. I tell you I never say it going there!

Maybe he got it mixed up with the Godfather game.
Farradin writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:10:58 PM

I could just imagine him playing the Godfather game that someone accidentally returned to the rental shop in the Uncharted sleeve, saying "This would make an amazing movie".

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed

Robert Downey Jr Comments on His Marvel Contract
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved