WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garcia's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Trailer for Lee Daniels' "Empire" Hip-Hop TV Series, with Terrence Howard
Oct 26th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

Posted: February 9th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?Submit Comment
IGN is mostly known for video games, which is why it's strange that director David O Russell (The Fighter) would do an interview with the website and pretend that he knows anything about "Uncharted," the game he's adapting for the big screen with Mark Wahlberg, Robert De Niro and Joe Pesci.

"I think if we take that family dynamic that we have in 'The Fighter,' and put that in terms of a grander stage, with a crime family that metes out justice in the world of art and antiquities," he said about "Uncharted." "If you're the head of a museum, or head of state, you've got to deal with them, and they're badass. They're like the Sopranos in some ways, but they have great taste, and they have a sense of justice."

When asked why he picked "Uncharted" to turn into a film, Russell replied: "Because it's centered around a family, and I like the combination of criminals and truth. These guys they're tough but they're working on this crazy case, and they can't do it without truth. I think that's cool."

Having played "Uncharted," I don't have a clue what he's talking about. But Russell claims that he knows about the game from experience. "My kid loves playing it, I love playing it," he said.

Source: IGN, ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:03:28 PM

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

I don't think that's the question you should be asking.

It should be either :

A. Has David O Russell seen Max Payne ?

Super Mario Brothers ?

Streetfighter ?

Mortal Kombat and Mortal Kombat :
Annihilation ?

Resident Evil, the Series ?

Final Fantasy, Walk with Me ?

Wing Commander ?

Alone in the Dark ?

B. What's that crystal meth he's been smokin'?
-Chewy- writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:03:51 PM

Well, at least the director played the game. That's good.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:26:27 PM

wow...so put this movie in the crapper
velocityknown writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:37:35 PM

Don't know what the f*ck he's talking about. Love the games, seems like I'm going to hate this movie even thought it would make a PERFECT movie in the right hands. The games themselves are so cinematic. Give Indy a run for his money.
Rookie One writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:42:11 PM

Off Topic... Someday somebody is goign to make a good Mortal Kombat film. On Topic... If anybody could pull off a decent video game film it would be David O' Russell, or another director on his talent level.
boogiel writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:22:42 PM

Why do we even need a movie for Uncharted!?
I think the game itself IS the movie. This is a classic symptom of "How to f*ck up a movie so you can reboot it within 2 years"
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:35:53 PM

With the flow of the game and the cut scenes uncharted is already a movie, a movie/game that's way to epic to be turned into a live action film.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:38:08 PM

Boogiel, I think we're on the same page.
otis writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:12:55 AM

Well he could be superceding the game entirely and "loosely basing" it after Uncharted, so it's not as predictable.

Ok, of course he hasn't played it. It even sounds like he had to backtrack when he mentioned his kids play it...I mean, I play it."

Just playing devil's advocate.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:41:34 AM

He hasn't played it.

He's just playing the Hollywood card that says " Why yes! I am a fan of *fill in the blank*! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:43:51 AM

Uncharted is apt to this project. If we are lucky, they will wind up like a real life Gilligan's Island and they all will be isolated for years on a three hour tour ... especially Wahlberg.

Hey Wahlberg,

Tell your Mom's Vagina my penis says "Hi".
WV-Films writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:06:43 AM

Play the f*cking thing! It'll take 5 god damn hours!
vwkombi writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:14:16 AM

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

When asked why he picked "Uncharted" to turn into a film, Russell replied: "Because it's centered around a family, and I like the combination of criminals and truth. These guys they're tough but they're working on this crazy case, and they can't do it without truth. I think that's cool."

There's your answer. f*ck this guy.
Kill-the-director writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:28:28 AM

i think david o.russell is playing a different game. i'd love to see a movie version of uncharted but this sounds horrible. the dynamic of the game already works. why completely change it.
Fixxer35 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:47:22 AM

That must be the Wii version of this game.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:40:12 AM

No way he's played Uncharted.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 11:59:43 AM

i dont know what he played but it wasn't Uncharted.
if you want to see a funny review of the game know more and you have a sense of humor then check this out.

http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/view/zero-punctuation/27-Uncharted-Drakes-Fortune
Pig Newtons writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:18:19 PM

It's okay, Russell. Paul WS Anderson never played Mortal Kombat nor Resident Evil before he fouled up those movies either.
Moose756 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:00:59 PM

Crime family, sopranos. Sounds to me like he played the Godfather game instead of uncharted.
Farradin writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:08:13 PM

I played it for 15 minutes. I tell you I never say it going there!

Maybe he got it mixed up with the Godfather game.
Farradin writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:10:58 PM

I could just imagine him playing the Godfather game that someone accidentally returned to the rental shop in the Uncharted sleeve, saying "This would make an amazing movie".

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved