WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

Posted: February 9th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?Submit Comment
IGN is mostly known for video games, which is why it's strange that director David O Russell (The Fighter) would do an interview with the website and pretend that he knows anything about "Uncharted," the game he's adapting for the big screen with Mark Wahlberg, Robert De Niro and Joe Pesci.

"I think if we take that family dynamic that we have in 'The Fighter,' and put that in terms of a grander stage, with a crime family that metes out justice in the world of art and antiquities," he said about "Uncharted." "If you're the head of a museum, or head of state, you've got to deal with them, and they're badass. They're like the Sopranos in some ways, but they have great taste, and they have a sense of justice."

When asked why he picked "Uncharted" to turn into a film, Russell replied: "Because it's centered around a family, and I like the combination of criminals and truth. These guys they're tough but they're working on this crazy case, and they can't do it without truth. I think that's cool."

Having played "Uncharted," I don't have a clue what he's talking about. But Russell claims that he knows about the game from experience. "My kid loves playing it, I love playing it," he said.

Source: IGN, ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:03:28 PM

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

I don't think that's the question you should be asking.

It should be either :

A. Has David O Russell seen Max Payne ?

Super Mario Brothers ?

Streetfighter ?

Mortal Kombat and Mortal Kombat :
Annihilation ?

Resident Evil, the Series ?

Final Fantasy, Walk with Me ?

Wing Commander ?

Alone in the Dark ?

B. What's that crystal meth he's been smokin'?
-Chewy- writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:03:51 PM

Well, at least the director played the game. That's good.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:26:27 PM

wow...so put this movie in the crapper
velocityknown writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:37:35 PM

Don't know what the f*ck he's talking about. Love the games, seems like I'm going to hate this movie even thought it would make a PERFECT movie in the right hands. The games themselves are so cinematic. Give Indy a run for his money.
Rookie One writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:42:11 PM

Off Topic... Someday somebody is goign to make a good Mortal Kombat film. On Topic... If anybody could pull off a decent video game film it would be David O' Russell, or another director on his talent level.
boogiel writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:22:42 PM

Why do we even need a movie for Uncharted!?
I think the game itself IS the movie. This is a classic symptom of "How to f*ck up a movie so you can reboot it within 2 years"
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:35:53 PM

With the flow of the game and the cut scenes uncharted is already a movie, a movie/game that's way to epic to be turned into a live action film.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:38:08 PM

Boogiel, I think we're on the same page.
otis writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:12:55 AM

Well he could be superceding the game entirely and "loosely basing" it after Uncharted, so it's not as predictable.

Ok, of course he hasn't played it. It even sounds like he had to backtrack when he mentioned his kids play it...I mean, I play it."

Just playing devil's advocate.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:41:34 AM

He hasn't played it.

He's just playing the Hollywood card that says " Why yes! I am a fan of *fill in the blank*! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:43:51 AM

Uncharted is apt to this project. If we are lucky, they will wind up like a real life Gilligan's Island and they all will be isolated for years on a three hour tour ... especially Wahlberg.

Hey Wahlberg,

Tell your Mom's Vagina my penis says "Hi".
WV-Films writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:06:43 AM

Play the f*cking thing! It'll take 5 god damn hours!
vwkombi writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:14:16 AM

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

When asked why he picked "Uncharted" to turn into a film, Russell replied: "Because it's centered around a family, and I like the combination of criminals and truth. These guys they're tough but they're working on this crazy case, and they can't do it without truth. I think that's cool."

There's your answer. f*ck this guy.
Kill-the-director writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:28:28 AM

i think david o.russell is playing a different game. i'd love to see a movie version of uncharted but this sounds horrible. the dynamic of the game already works. why completely change it.
Fixxer35 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:47:22 AM

That must be the Wii version of this game.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:40:12 AM

No way he's played Uncharted.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 11:59:43 AM

i dont know what he played but it wasn't Uncharted.
if you want to see a funny review of the game know more and you have a sense of humor then check this out.

http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/view/zero-punctuation/27-Uncharted-Drakes-Fortune
Pig Newtons writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:18:19 PM

It's okay, Russell. Paul WS Anderson never played Mortal Kombat nor Resident Evil before he fouled up those movies either.
Moose756 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:00:59 PM

Crime family, sopranos. Sounds to me like he played the Godfather game instead of uncharted.
Farradin writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:08:13 PM

I played it for 15 minutes. I tell you I never say it going there!

Maybe he got it mixed up with the Godfather game.
Farradin writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:10:58 PM

I could just imagine him playing the Godfather game that someone accidentally returned to the rental shop in the Uncharted sleeve, saying "This would make an amazing movie".

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved