WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

Posted: February 9th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?Submit Comment
IGN is mostly known for video games, which is why it's strange that director David O Russell (The Fighter) would do an interview with the website and pretend that he knows anything about "Uncharted," the game he's adapting for the big screen with Mark Wahlberg, Robert De Niro and Joe Pesci.

"I think if we take that family dynamic that we have in 'The Fighter,' and put that in terms of a grander stage, with a crime family that metes out justice in the world of art and antiquities," he said about "Uncharted." "If you're the head of a museum, or head of state, you've got to deal with them, and they're badass. They're like the Sopranos in some ways, but they have great taste, and they have a sense of justice."

When asked why he picked "Uncharted" to turn into a film, Russell replied: "Because it's centered around a family, and I like the combination of criminals and truth. These guys they're tough but they're working on this crazy case, and they can't do it without truth. I think that's cool."

Having played "Uncharted," I don't have a clue what he's talking about. But Russell claims that he knows about the game from experience. "My kid loves playing it, I love playing it," he said.

Source: IGN, ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:03:28 PM

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

I don't think that's the question you should be asking.

It should be either :

A. Has David O Russell seen Max Payne ?

Super Mario Brothers ?

Streetfighter ?

Mortal Kombat and Mortal Kombat :
Annihilation ?

Resident Evil, the Series ?

Final Fantasy, Walk with Me ?

Wing Commander ?

Alone in the Dark ?

B. What's that crystal meth he's been smokin'?
-Chewy- writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:03:51 PM

Well, at least the director played the game. That's good.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:26:27 PM

wow...so put this movie in the crapper
velocityknown writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:37:35 PM

Don't know what the f*ck he's talking about. Love the games, seems like I'm going to hate this movie even thought it would make a PERFECT movie in the right hands. The games themselves are so cinematic. Give Indy a run for his money.
Rookie One writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 10:42:11 PM

Off Topic... Someday somebody is goign to make a good Mortal Kombat film. On Topic... If anybody could pull off a decent video game film it would be David O' Russell, or another director on his talent level.
boogiel writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:22:42 PM

Why do we even need a movie for Uncharted!?
I think the game itself IS the movie. This is a classic symptom of "How to f*ck up a movie so you can reboot it within 2 years"
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:35:53 PM

With the flow of the game and the cut scenes uncharted is already a movie, a movie/game that's way to epic to be turned into a live action film.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:38:08 PM

Boogiel, I think we're on the same page.
otis writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:12:55 AM

Well he could be superceding the game entirely and "loosely basing" it after Uncharted, so it's not as predictable.

Ok, of course he hasn't played it. It even sounds like he had to backtrack when he mentioned his kids play it...I mean, I play it."

Just playing devil's advocate.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:41:34 AM

He hasn't played it.

He's just playing the Hollywood card that says " Why yes! I am a fan of *fill in the blank*! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:43:51 AM

Uncharted is apt to this project. If we are lucky, they will wind up like a real life Gilligan's Island and they all will be isolated for years on a three hour tour ... especially Wahlberg.

Hey Wahlberg,

Tell your Mom's Vagina my penis says "Hi".
WV-Films writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:06:43 AM

Play the f*cking thing! It'll take 5 god damn hours!
vwkombi writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 2:14:16 AM

Has David O. Russell Ever Played "Uncharted"?

When asked why he picked "Uncharted" to turn into a film, Russell replied: "Because it's centered around a family, and I like the combination of criminals and truth. These guys they're tough but they're working on this crazy case, and they can't do it without truth. I think that's cool."

There's your answer. f*ck this guy.
Kill-the-director writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 6:28:28 AM

i think david o.russell is playing a different game. i'd love to see a movie version of uncharted but this sounds horrible. the dynamic of the game already works. why completely change it.
Fixxer35 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 8:47:22 AM

That must be the Wii version of this game.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 9:40:12 AM

No way he's played Uncharted.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 11:59:43 AM

i dont know what he played but it wasn't Uncharted.
if you want to see a funny review of the game know more and you have a sense of humor then check this out.

http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/view/zero-punctuation/27-Uncharted-Drakes-Fortune
Pig Newtons writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:18:19 PM

It's okay, Russell. Paul WS Anderson never played Mortal Kombat nor Resident Evil before he fouled up those movies either.
Moose756 writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 1:00:59 PM

Crime family, sopranos. Sounds to me like he played the Godfather game instead of uncharted.
Farradin writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:08:13 PM

I played it for 15 minutes. I tell you I never say it going there!

Maybe he got it mixed up with the Godfather game.
Farradin writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 3:10:58 PM

I could just imagine him playing the Godfather game that someone accidentally returned to the rental shop in the Uncharted sleeve, saying "This would make an amazing movie".

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details

Samuel L. Jackson Doesn't Know Much About SHIELD or Nick Fury, Will Return for "Agents of SHIELD"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved