WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christian Bale and "The Machinist" Director to Re-Team for "Concrete Island"

Posted: February 9th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christian Bale and "The Machinist" Director to Re-Team for "Concrete Island"Submit Comment
"The Machinist" director Brad Anderson is currently promoting his "Vanishing on 7th Street" thriller and has revealed that he's working on "Concrete Island," a big screen adaptation of JG Ballard's novel.

The script is being penned by "The Machinist" writer Scott Kosar and has "The Machinist" star Christian Bale attached as the lead. If a deal is made, Bale would once again be forced to lose weight for the role.

"The best way to describe it is it's like an urban Robinson Crusoe story," Anderson told STYD. "A guy crashes a car into a highway interchange and is marooned in this weedy lot, injured, and can't escape and he's basically trying to survive in the middle of the big urban Metropolis. It's sort of a crazy, cool Ballard-esque type story, but Christian's on board to do that when we can fit it into his schedule."

Source: STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 6:18:48 AM

I haven't seen The Machinist, isn't he like a pedophile in it?
OwenWilsonsNose writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 6:21:08 AM

No, he isn't
AYT BALL writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 7:38:10 AM

@ Ari Gold - dunno where you got that, really good movie though well worth a watch.

This sounds interesting, and got faith in the people behind it.
hoddi15 writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 7:58:05 AM

@ Ari Gold - That's Kevin Bacon in "The woodsman"
dbreuning writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 7:58:16 AM

LOL he is suffering from sleep loss in that movie. Thats as much as I wanna say or else I spoil it for you. Go see it, GREAT MOVIE!
trailertrash writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 8:14:16 AM

Not seen the The Machinist yet either. I do own it, just never got round to seeing it (yet).
ShizPaf writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 8:22:20 AM

Im obtuse. Is he playing the same character? Is this a sequel? Is that why he would have to lose weight?
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 8:33:15 AM

Interesting, never have seen the Machinist either.
Ari Gold writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 8:49:47 AM

This f*cking wanker at work told me he was a pedo.. I cant believe I listened to that semen swallowing sc*m d*ckhead without checking it out on IMDb.
Ari Gold writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 8:50:46 AM

Thanks for the heads up
blumpkin writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 11:06:30 AM

I just finished reading to book. Its pretty good. He rapes a kid in this one.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 1:21:06 PM

For those that haven't seen the Machinist, you're not missing much. Bale delivers a great performance, but the film is disjointed, jarring and more like a very boring David Lynch mindf*ck. Not a bad film, just don;t expect anything approaching traditional cinematic narrative, and that's precisely what you get with J.G. Ballard's Concrete Jungle.

I wonder if they'll ever adapt the similar 'A Woman in the Dunes' to film...
AYT BALL writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 2:05:27 PM

@ MInk - I really enjoyed the Machinist, thought everyone, especially Bale played a great part, the movie was a little different to the usual delivery and to be honest i put it more down to Bales physical transformation, really helps sell the story in my opinion, i put it up there with fat DeNiro in raging bull.

On a side note mink, left you a link on the Darren Aronofsky's Noah's Ark thread
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 2:32:33 PM

Thanks for the Gervais, ayt. I replied in kind on the same thread.

Regarding The Machinist, I just have to relate my exprience with the film. Like I said, it's not bad, but when I watched it, I was pretty much stuck in a traditional cinematic narrative mode.

I wasn't thinking along abstract disjointed lines, so I didn't really appreciate what I was seeing. Having had some time to expand my appreciation for more none-linear and abstract films, I'll have to rewatch it.

And what yout get with Ballard is similar. He has a number of books that work ot this sub-genre level, like High Rise and even The Drowning World, though I find his writing style very sparse, loose and dry. Other people will possibly appreciate him more.

But I just don't think Concrete Jungle will appeal to people who have no idea what they're getting, while expecting a more conventional narrative.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 2:38:30 PM

@ Mink - I get what your saying about the Machinist, i would say its worth a revisit, may have to myself actually, its been a few years. I do remember it getting a little trippy in parts which seemed to just be red herrings to sway you from guessing the ending, which i have to admit i didnt see coming, thats rare for me these days. Think thats another thing that gave me a good lasting impression.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 2:41:42 PM

@ Mink - Gervais nails it! lol worth hunting out his 4 stand up DVDs if you havent seen them. I saw his FAME tour live, best gig ive seen by i mile.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 3:12:48 PM

I'm gonna give the film another shot, ayt. It deserves that much and Bale always delivers.

As for Gervais, I'll do just that. I laughed my ass off on the Noah's ark one. But first I'll have to catch the others on YT. The guy's f*cking hilarious.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 3:49:17 PM

Good stuff, dunno how available Gervais' live stuff is over there but you cant go wrong with any of them, also reccomend the Ricky Gervais show, its some webcasts he did with his two side kicks thats been animated into a show, funny as hell, 12 half hour episodes kicking around if you can locate them.
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 3:52:28 PM

Lindsay Lohan is about to find out the hard way that not every store she walks into is her own personal gifting suite.

That's because the Los Angeles County District Attorney's Office just filed a criminal complaint in court formally charging the trouble-magnet actress with one count of felony grand theft for allegedly stealing a $2,500 necklace from a Venice jewelry store. The move comes just a few hours before she's due to turn herself in at an L.A. court.

Electro Rock writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 5:09:06 PM

Dont forget that Machinist has Mike Ironside (who also needs to be in the Expendables 2.)

"See you at the pahdee Richtuh!"
Zeroguy writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 5:36:34 PM

Awesome. Loved the Machinist. Brad Anderson is really good when it comes to suspense/thrillers. Plus i admire the dedication Bale takes to roles and messin' with his weight.
triggax writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 7:28:13 PM

Mink did you ever end up checking out Session 9?

Brad Anderson delivers.

Loved The Machinist.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 8:24:21 PM

I don't buy this story. Too many lazy road crews would see this guy lying in the grass and call the cops, saying that he's interfering with their lawn mowing work on the meridian.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 8:33:42 PM

@ Trigg - agreed, massively over looked that movie
Man in Black writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 8:47:42 PM

Way off topic here but Alex are you gonna have the trailer for X Men 1st Class tomorrow or do you plan to get scooped by CBM.com ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 10th, 2011 at 12:47:35 AM

Too bad Christian doesn't play a black guy, like Robert Downey Jr.

They would have the traffic copter catching him on camera and reporting that he's the robber who shot people at a bank robbery just hours ago.

Then after the cops pull a Rodney King, starvation is the LEAST of his problems.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved