WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Orphan" Director to Helm New "Dracula" Movie

Posted: February 8th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Orphan" Director to Helm New "Dracula" MovieSubmit Comment
Warner Bros is close to signing a deal to acquire "Harker," a script by Lee Shipman and Brian McGreevy that's described as a re-imagining of Bram Stoker's "Dracula." The film will be directed by Jaume Collet-Serra (Orphan, House of Wax) and produced by Leonardo DiCaprio's production company.

The story focuses on Jonathan Harker as the Scotland Yard detective who is tracking Dracula, and the script sets up the sleuth as a potential new franchise character.

The writing team is not new to monster stories. McGreevy just recently sold his book "Hemlock Grove," which teams an aristocratic vampire, a werewolf and Frankenstein's monster, and places them in a Pennsylvania high school.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 6:36:48 AM

"potential new franchise character"

Of course. God forbid to just a good original movie and leave it there. Everything must have franchise-potential.
boogiel writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 6:43:14 AM

"The writing team is not new to monster stories. McGreevy just recently sold his book "Hemlock Grove," which teams an aristocratic vampire, a werewolf and Frankenstein's monster, and places them in a Pennsylvania high school."


So basically, we have a mix of Twilight and Van Helsing?
Cleric writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 7:37:44 AM

Yay.. Another Vampire movie... Sooooo booooored with VAMPIRES! Can we not come up with a new creature!? Hollywood is boring the crap out of me.
bspence writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 9:04:28 AM

tired of vampires definitley! but i have to admit ive been wanting to see a remake of the original dracula, wolfman, and frankenstein movies for awhile. wolfman sucked, cant judge this based on anything yet, and frankenstein idk either. but i think these 2 are in better hands then wolfman was for sure
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 9:59:12 AM

In stead of Van Helsing failing to be a franchise, we know have to Jonathon Harker Franchise??
rocketman writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 11:20:37 AM

Facepalm.
Whats wrong with doing a true version of Drac? I'm reading it at the moment and i can say i have never seen a true representation of the Count,that Koppolla crap was nothing like the book(romance?) Nosferatu comes closest in appearance....c'mon Hollywood make a prople Drac flick...directed by Nolan or Jackson.
Inception writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 11:25:48 AM

"Orphan" Director to Helm New "Dracula" Movie"

I thought there for a second it said Oprah instead of Orphan.

No vampire movie will get close to Coppola's version, John Carpenter's "Vampires", "The lost boys" and "Monster squad". Not a fan of F. W. Murnau's "Nosferatu". Everything else sucks, but at least "Blacula" is better than Twilight, hell, I even dare to say that "Blacula" is a masterpiece when you compare it to Twilight and all the vampire garbages we see now days.
rocketman writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 12:07:58 PM

Coppolas 'Bram Stoker' version was anything but,load of bollocks.Darc looks like Nosfaratu,tall thin and old,a beard when hes young...and all that romance subplot sh*te with Mina was just hollywood twilight sh*t.Dracs a cold hard f*cker.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 12:20:18 PM

If you REALLY want to scare the kiddies, just do a Vlad Tepes biopic. Now that would make for some *ahem* interesting visuals.
Inception writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 12:48:14 PM

Literally the best vampire is Alucard from the manga/anime series called Hellsing. Now that's a bad-ass cold hard f*cker.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4WCkowFnxJo
rocketman writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 12:48:52 PM

It would go down well in the west too,what with all the impaling of muslims n such.Back to Turkey Land bitches.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 12:58:11 PM

Hellsing was very, very f*cked up. And bloody. And f*cked up.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 12:59:25 PM

Too bad they already did a very bad version of Blood The Last Vampire just a few years ago.
rocketman writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 1:03:43 PM

quote
The atrocities committed by Vlad in the German stories include impaling, torturing, burning, skinning, roasting, and boiling people, feeding people the flesh of their friends or relatives, cutting off limbs, and drowning. All of these punishments mainly came from things people did that displeased Vlad the most; stealing, lying, and adulterous relations. Other methods of punishment included skinning the feet of thieves, then putting salt on them and letting goats lick off the salt. This was a way that Vlad kept his people in order and taught them that stealing would not be tolerated in his lands. No exceptions were made: he punished anyone who broke his laws, whether men or women, no matter the age, religion or social class.
Waterboarding is for pussies
rocketman writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 1:06:18 PM

Not seen either,will look out for them ;)
But yeah,a Vlad film SHOULD be made.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 1:20:20 PM

I should say, rocketman, anime is an acquired taste for a lot of people. It was for me. I hated it at first. Told my gf that they were just stupid cartoons, but Cowboy Bebop sold me on the medium. And from there, well, I haven't strayed into Sailermoon territory, but I try to keep an open mind.

And yes, Vlad was a very, very bad man. He makes the Nazis look like the Care Bears.
rocketman writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 1:49:43 PM

Only seen a few,Akira and Ghost in the Shell...all the weird devil porn stuff puts me off tbh.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 3:47:14 PM

Akira and GITS are good, I would say, but youo have to see Cowboy Bebop and Neon Genesis Evangelion. No devil porn there, rocket, I promise. Although...NGE will have you questioning your sanity...
trailertrash writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 5:06:12 PM

Remember reading this last year about who was related to Vlad Impaler !!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1289301/Twilight-star-Robert-Pattinson-related-Vlad-Impaler.html

LOL !!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2011 at 5:43:23 PM

That makes sense. They both enjoy rectal penetration.
trailertrash writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 3:41:29 AM

lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved