WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mysterious "Superman" Role is Kryptonian Villainess Ursa

Posted: February 5th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mysterious "Superman" Role is Kryptonian Villainess UrsaSubmit Comment
It was recently reported that Alice Eve, Diane Kruger and Rosamund Pike have auditioned for a role in the upcoming "Superman" reboot. It was confirmed that they were testing for a part that was not Lois Lane.

LatinoReview has now learned from a very reliable source that Lois Lane will still be in the film and that the character that the three actresses are vying for is Kryptonian villainess Ursa.

The character has already appeared in both "Superman: The Movie" and "Superman II," played by British actress Sarah Douglas. She was part of a group of three members, lead by General Zod.

This news may confirm earlier rumors that Zod will be the main villain in the film, despite the fact that about four months ago director Zack Snyder said that Zod will not appear in the reboot. But that was four month ago and things may have changed.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 2:58:58 PM

Boring! Get a REAL villain. Like anyone else. Brainiac maybe.

Bet she tries to seduce Superman in order to corrupt him away from his noble cause of saving mankind.
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:18:22 PM

For the love of Zod, just bring in Darkseid!
debonaire writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:25:36 PM

gimme some doomsday >:)
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:32:16 PM

"But that was four month ago and things may have changed."

Yeah, like the level of desperation they feel.

And why is this small, lithe woman (Ursa)named after the Latin word for bear?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:39:55 PM

@minkowski
Ironically I think that was what Bryan Singer was considering as a bad guy for the sequel he was considering doing. Notice the downside to all reboots of superhero storylines...you have to frikkin' start over and o through the motions. The only reason Nolan's worked was because he completely rethought the approach of the film. With this news it's like they are just going through the motions. Screw the new Spider-Man and screw this crap. Tired of them saying they are going to make a new reboot that will be amazing and then they screw it up.
PHURBY1984 writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:40:47 PM

I'm a real big Superman fan...I would rather see Doomsday and Braniac as the villans in the next movie...But if they bring in Zod and his side kicks they should call the reboot...SUPERMAN: HOW LONG UNTIL IT GETS REBOOTED AGAIN...
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:45:14 PM

^^I just want an epic Superman. Even the first two Donner films were epic, especially considering the cheesy limited effects they had on hand.

But now that we have the capability to do ANYTHING in full 3d with photorealism, we get backpacking in Africa, Zod (apparently) and his cute perky assistant.

Superman is the HEIGHT of epicness. He's the guy that does it all. He takes on f*cking cosmic gods, but we get him fighting Kryptonian criminals instead?

I expected more from Nolan and Snyder, and even though this news is entirely early, you would have expected something AWESOME to leak by now, like a badass main villain. Even the choice of cavill has me yawning.
billofill writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 4:00:50 PM

Well Zod and Ursa leave open for Brainiac of he current comics. Just saying.
lostwarrior writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 4:05:48 PM

Boring.... I was really hoping for something and someone new, darkseid, brainic, grundy, a villian that has yet to make a film appearance. I mean how f*cking hard is it to make a bad ass superman film. the cartoon films are entertaining, why not go off of one of those storylines, and wtf Lois is still in this.... have supes fly through planets, show us the bad ass he is... Dont give us the same bullsh*t story with new people. If they wanna reboot this franchise thats fine, but give us(the audience) something we have yet to see.... So far all we have witnessed is remakes of Donnors films... Because this honestly sounds like superman 2 all over again
jetdog writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 4:57:33 PM

I think they should just do Bizarro. It's a good villian to reboot with and we never saw him in a movie. After him then you can go with the other heavy hitters like brainiac, Darkside and Doomsday! You can also put Livewire's character in the movie to along with of course, Lex Luther. And I think Billy Zane would make the perfect Lex. That's just what I think..
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 6:07:57 PM

What, no Nuclear Woman??
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 6:34:55 PM

mink

honestly I think Donner should get an Oscar for his version of Superman

You talk about the cheesy limited effects.

I can tell you this, there are many current films today who dont even look as realistic as Donner's Superman film,

I thought the story was good too, your right his film was epic.

Its beginning to look like this will be a screw up
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 6:37:06 PM

Well,I mean compared to today where in the right hands you can make anything look totally plausible. For the times, Donner's effects were pretty f*cking good. Even today they hold up well.
markoz writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 7:13:15 PM

Zod because we haven't seen him before
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 7:40:20 PM

Really ? They're choosing the weakest link ?

Goodbye.
Charlie9 writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 7:41:29 PM

At least with Zod there is the potential for some epic scenes, not what you would get with Luthor
markoz writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 8:08:39 PM

And with Zod they should use another unused character like Lex Luthor.
rabid writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 9:56:14 PM

Don't buy into this crap. All those Latino Review and Deadline news articles from the past few days have been totally bogus, from Diane Kruger to Joseph Gordon Levitt.
Take it all with a grain of salt.
rabid writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 9:58:30 PM

I'd still be for it if it were true (which i doubt). They've completely rewritten the history of the exiled three in recent years. You get to see that Zod, Ursa, and Non are all misunderstood Kryptonian heroes. They have good reason to hate Jor-El and his offspring.
nriq writes:
on February 6th, 2011 at 2:57:45 AM

Brainiac, Parasite, Metallo... Hell! At this point, even the Toyman would be a decent villain for Superman to figh with in this reboot!!! Please, no evil kriptonians or Lex Luthor anymore!!! No more origins retold... Letīs get serious and give Superman some movie dignity
FBO writes:
on February 6th, 2011 at 5:47:30 AM

@Sleuth - This was Singer's plan:

http://iesb.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=10633:what-almost-was-bryan-singers-the-man-of-steel-storyline&catid=41:news&Itemid=71

rabid writes:
on February 6th, 2011 at 10:55:19 AM

They ended up using much of that sequel plot in the comics. Clark's son aged rapidly after coming into contact with technology on the New Krypton moon.
Except in the comics, the child wasn't Lois', it was Zod's son from the negative zone.

With the Singer films, the only way to undo his damage was to say that Lois was raped by Zod when he kidnapped her Superman 2. I'm glad they scrapped the kid and Singer's involvement, but the New Krypton story is pretty damn good.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2011 at 12:31:14 PM

Always been a Zod fan but there's no way anyone now could match Terence's masterful performance from Superman 2. I get the feeling Hwood want a villain with more charisma to put opposite Superman. Supes is not exactly the most dynamic personality in the superhero world. He can't carry a film on his own with his stoic demeanor, so they always have to surround him with larger than life personalities like Lois and Lex. Villains like Brainiac, Doomsday, and Darkseid might be a little too one dimensional to put opposite another one dimesional character like Superman. That's why Hackman's Lex worked so well in the past. What Lex lacked in strength and superpowers he made up for charisma, drive, and intelligence which in turn made for a more entertaining film. There's nothing worse than a boring one dimensional villain, so unless they decide to add some personality to Braniac (the emotionless super computer) or those others mentioned I doubt you'll ever see them on film.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2011 at 3:37:52 PM

Lex Luthor never really works when he stands alone. He has to operate through a proxy, like Metallo or Captain Atom, unless he bons the Kryptonite suit but that's not really plausible for an orgin story, I think.

But I think Lex should be there, somewhere, perhaps as Supes' friend who then turns on him ala Norm/Harry Osbourne. Perhaps round out the trilogy by giving Lex his humanity back, ala Darth Vader in RoTJ.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved