WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Awesome "Captain America" Poster is Here!

Posted: February 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Awesome "Captain America" Poster is Here!Submit Comment
While we're only days away from seeing the first footage from "Captain America: The First Avenger," which will play during the Super Bowl, Marvel has unveiled the official poster for the film. Check it out below.

The story will focus on the early days of the Marvel Universe when Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) volunteers to participate in an experimental program that turns him into the Super Soldier known as Captain America.

The new movie is directed by Joe Johnston (The Wolfman) and in addition to Evans, the new movie stars Hugo Weaving (The Matrix), Sebastian Stan (Bucky) and Hayley Atwell (Peggy Carter). It is scheduled to hit theaters on July 22nd.

Poster: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Captain America: The First Avenger."

Source: Marvel


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 68 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:33:37 PM

Not bad and It's better than the Thor one.
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:41:08 PM

Hey, look, it's the international hero with the international team clothed in the American flag.

I'm surprised we're not seeing Caps with the UN building coming out of his ass.

But yeah, the poster's clean and simple.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:46:46 PM

Nice poster Captain Commie
VDODSON writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:46:57 PM

Cap is the greatest super herO ever depicted in literature. To f*ck this movie up would be unforgivable.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:47:32 PM

If they got rid of the gay Star Trek letters and "Avenge" it would be pretty cool
lostwarrior writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:55:30 PM

@THORD.. if they got rid of Chris f*ck wad evans and joe johnston, this might be really kool....
trailertrash writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:57:22 PM

Forget all these previews during the Super Bowl sunday night, Talk here is there won't be any Cheerleaders at The Cowboys stadium sunday WTF is that all about !!!
markoz writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:58:11 PM

Love it
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:03:12 PM

Trailer

Just curious do you like American Football?
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:08:30 PM

Therw won't be a Super Bowl at all if it keeps f*cking snowing.
trailertrash writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:10:02 PM

Not really Crazy but i like the Cheerleaders lol.

Friend of mine lives there (and is going sunday) and he was saying there will be no cheerleaders there this year.

That doesn't seem quite right to me.
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:17:59 PM

Neither the Packers nor the Steelers have professional cheerleading squads, Trailer. Sorry.

minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:19:08 PM

But the Dallas Cowboy Cheersluts will be outside, I hear.
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:20:08 PM

No cheerleaders for sports is like having a captain America movie titled

First avenger

Poster is clean though
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:20:38 PM

http://www.denverpost.com/lunchspecial/ci_17283168
trailertrash writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:22:05 PM

mink - lol, That's Some good news then.
rocketman writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:27:12 PM

Your President and government are a bunch of c*ntS. f*ck YOU!
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/wikileaks/8304654/WikiLeaks-cables-US-agrees-to-tell-Russia-Britains-nuclear-secrets.html
trailertrash writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:27:29 PM

Cheers for the link mink (lol), Just won't be the same without them.
rocketman writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:28:40 PM

And you can shove Captain f*ckwit up your arse!
trailertrash writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:29:55 PM

Rocket-

We have Nuclear Secrets ???!!!!

What's that we don't have any, lol
rocketman writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:30:15 PM

I'm f*cking furious,thought we were your mates,how many Brits have died giving you guys a hand? And i thought Bush was a tit.f*cking Russia? f*ck?
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:30:41 PM

No it won't Trailer and you're welsome.

Rocket:

Obama will barter with the devil, apparently, just to look good.

"Your President and government are a bunch of c*ntS."

*Shrug* So, what else is new?
rocketman writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:35:29 PM

Not slagging you Yanks but f*ck,Obama is a f*cking twat end of story... sorry but we can't trust your Gov ever again. EU here we come.
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:36:51 PM

Oh now, we might sell your soul to the devil, but the French and Germans will f*ck your dog to death. Which one is worse?
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:37:44 PM

"Obama is a f*cking twat"

If only that was the worst bit, chap.
trailertrash writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:47:36 PM

EU Here we come, Rocket please never say that in anger or jest !!

That will be a sad day indeed
rocketman writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:50:36 PM

Don't want it TT,but i can see it going that way,strength in numbers...can;t have Washingc*nts and China pissing us about.
rocketman writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:52:13 PM

i was in a f*cking great mood until i read the article....im off to play some COD
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 7:04:38 PM

@rocket

COD ... see you out there in first strike

Anyone else play COD ? Need to get some gamer tags so we can play a few rounds
rocketman writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 7:07:41 PM

I'm on PS3 as HOBBIT-COMMANDO ,no headset yet though ,must get one.got sick of all the kids on 360....do miss COD4
rocketman writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 7:07:42 PM

I'm on PS3 as HOBBIT-COMMANDO ,no headset yet though ,must get one.got sick of all the kids on 360....do miss COD4
gunner writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 7:31:49 PM

Looks much better than that gay ass Spider-Man reboot.
thegambit72 writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 7:42:44 PM

i wanna make sweet love to this poster
Sinestro writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 8:44:00 PM

Put his f*cking helmet on. What's-his-face is not a big enough star to bring in the crowds by simply showing his clueless mug. And if you can't make him look cool enough with it on, then maybe you're not the right people to be making this damn movie!
boogiel writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:18:34 PM

This movie better be as good as the poster...
velocityknown writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:35:14 PM

@Rocketman

Yeah, our country rushed itself into a few wars before thinking it through, that's ours to deal with, but don't blame the US for Britain getting involved.
France didn't get involved because their President chose not to, your leader had the same decision to make, he made the wrong one. Just because your PM was dumb enough to trust George Bush doesn't give you cause to put the blame on the US.
Just sayin'.
velocityknown writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:38:49 PM

And sh*t if you're surprised by underhanded stuff going on in politics you better never read the political section of any newspaper again.
That stuff happens as frequently as people saying we're *this* close to change.
velocityknown writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:41:05 PM

@Sinestro

Greg Ellwood over at Hitfix gave a pretty good breakdown of the poster, including thoughts on why they went without the cap.

http://www.hitfix.com/articles/first-look-war-is-hell-in-first-captain-america-the-first-avenger-poster

Pretty interesting. Should give it a read.


sc_kg writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:44:16 PM

Agree. It is awesome.
Sinestro writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 10:13:51 PM

I understand what the article is talking about--the same thing was done with Judge Dredd, in a way. But Evans isn't exactly a Hollywood A-lister. I mean, what's the last really successful movie he was in? Not exactly Sly Stallone here. And Cap--while not as popular as Wolverine--it's definitely not as obscure as Dredd. I'll argue (although I shouldn't) that by showing this guy's face they run a greater risk of confusing the audience, who probably only remember him from his role as the Human Torch, than pulling them with this guy's magnetic super-stardom (sarcasm.) But whatever. I just hope the movie isn't as bad as everything else I've seen Evans in.

*Except Sunshine and that Pilgrim movie everyone says is good, but I have never seen.*
ShizPaf writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 11:17:24 PM

I like the look of the shield in this one. I wonder if they will go into its components. Tying it roundabout to both Wolverine and Black Panther.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 11:26:03 PM

looking good but i need to see a trailer!! bring on the super bowl but i live in australia.... so im not sure if we will be able to see the commercials But thats why we got youtube :)
rabid writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 11:35:49 PM

and worst previews.
rabid writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 11:41:21 PM

I bet they do make some reference to vibranium, but not to Wakanda. In Iron Man 2 Tony Stark reinvents the element his father had conceived of. I think it's highly possible his father builds Cap's shield from his mystery metal.
fenderdude64 writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 1:11:58 AM

f*ck you all,

this poster i like :D
girl_watches_movies writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:24:29 AM

Ohhhh hells yes!!!! Now this is what Capt. America should look like. Tall, 6 pack, piercing sky blue eyes, and a gorgeous face. I've loved Chris Evans since Fantastic Four. Those movies really sucked d*ck but this eye candy was enough to make watching them worth my time. That shield Chris is holding right around his fun stick is so tentalizing. What a hu-hu-hu-hottie and what a tease, huh?!

@boogiel: I love Katy Perry! She was hilarious on SNL in that Elmo skit. It was like she was flipping off the haters who were making such a big deal about her outfit on Sesame Street (which to me didn't seem that bad). Good for her.
kmccarney88 writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 4:21:16 AM

Yeah, the wolfman poster was awesome too......and we all know how that turned out.
ismokerocks writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 4:43:57 AM

looks good
Rambo writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 6:05:35 AM

why is he so depressed in the poster?oh,right,just realized he's in a joe johnston movie.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 6:12:21 AM

As I have said on other "CA" posts, most of what is coming out from this movie seems to be and look good includong above poster...just hope the trailer lives up to it and the movie then lives upto the trailer.
Aingx writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 10:34:01 AM

You already know what I'm going to say...
sc_kg writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 11:09:31 AM

The f*ck with those Wolfman comments. Direction in this movie was pretty good, especialy in the action scenes (except the final battle) as well as acting. The thing that sucked was the script. Besides, the directors cut is much better than theatrical realese.
rabid writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 11:22:40 AM

I liked Wolfman. Anyone that thought it was sh*t should go watch the original with Lon Cheney, then you'll see a terrible 9but classic!) werewolf film.
arkflash writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 11:25:02 AM

What is CA "Avenging" bc he's looking really solemn in this first poster?
Blank x25 writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 1:01:35 PM

Did it hurt anyone else to watch Anthony Hopkins in The Wolfman? That was a horrendous performance.
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 2:31:19 PM

Why are all the mutants confined to the 20th century? I know the Celestials are responsible, but basically mutants didn't arrive on the scene until after 1952 or so, coinciding with the highly erroneous idea that nuclear waste and radiation can positively mutate a creature into something quite fantastical. Lots of B films approached this scenario with reckless abandon.

So, if mutants were manipulated into being millions of years ago, why did they show up only after 1952 or so?

And I think this is why characters like Batman and Superman are far more enduring. Batman is a mere mortal, flawed and complex, Superman is an average alien made powerful by our yellow sun. He's made tragic and complex by his lack of vulnerabilities and his loneliness. And that consequently makes the more enduring, timeless and less contrived. both of these DC characterisations are also more organic.

Which brings me back to Captain America. He's just not very complex. He's less contrived than the mutants, but he's so well-rooted in WW2 that he harkens back to much older and nearly forgotten era. You have to cryogenically freeze him, or clone him, or replace him with another costume-wearer, to maintain even his presence, much less his viability and believability in this age. He's a relic, a ancient character rooted in an time long lost.

And because of this you have to get very contrived with the story to make him acceptable to the modern masses, nevermind that he's not nearly as well developed as Batman or Superman, or ven his Marvel contemporaries who have had more time to evolve, no pun intended.

I expect this film to fail at least critically, but it will make some money, of course. Sorry.
rocketman writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 2:46:28 PM

I'm not seeing this on principle that the US is a two faced self serving government that stabs its 'allies' in the back.
Roll on Captain surrender monkey.
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 2:54:17 PM

That may be, but don't blame all of us Yanks for the misdeeds of our Comrade In Chief. Thanks.
rocketman writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:03:36 PM

I'm not blaming all you yanks but i you think im ploughing my money into this you are mistaken.
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:15:37 PM

Hey, then don't. I'm not paying to see this trash either, but not because Obama f*cked you Brits.

I mean, did you guys REALLY think that some half black Kenyan, raised by two vociferous anti-colonialists, would stand by Great Britain/UK??? Bawhahahahaha!
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:22:16 PM

Sorry. But come on, you had to see that one coming.
rocketman writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:24:59 PM

Stand by ..no but stab in the back by giving SECRETS to the Ruskies without out permission is something else.
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:36:08 PM

Expect worse, my across-the-pond brother.

Now back to "The Adventures of Captain Ukraine"!
rocketman writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:48:32 PM

Bracing myself.
Shame though because i was looking forward to it..ho hum.
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:58:45 PM

I just think Obama saw Superman IV waaay too many times.

He should have watched Rocky IV instead.
rocketman writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 4:19:20 PM

lol yeah,or Red Dawn
rabid writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 10:15:14 PM

@ minkowski

the reason the mutants only showed up in recent events is because they are manmade, not a natural occurance of evolution. Apocalypse was the first mutant, an ancient Egyptian who was empowered by a crashed Celestial ship. Over the milennia he had many offspring and his gene spread onward, though very rarely would it manifest in powers.
In the 1700s, the witches of Salem drew descendants of the ancient dna to New England, and a family that escaped to London to form the Hellfire Club. In the mid 1800s, a doctor named Nathaniel Essex came to London study some of the bizarre deformities that were being born. He discovered Apocalypse in a sarcophagus in a deep coma. He awoke him and began transplanting his blood into homeless people he found. Eventually he perfected the science of giving people powers. It rarely turned out well, but their offspring also carried Apocalypse's genes.
Essex called his discovery the Essex-factor, later the X-factor, and he eventually was transformed by Apocalypse into the being called Mr. Sinister. As Essex he toured the world stealing victims from various wars and internment camps, eventually leading to the boom of mutant offspring of the 20th century.

So most of Marvel's mutants trace their abilities to Sinister and Apocalypse, though a few are the offspring of possessed Salem witches.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2011 at 3:48:33 PM

Thanks for the explanation Rabid. That makes a lot more sense.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved