WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ben Affleck in Talks to Direct Tehran Hostage Crisis Film

Posted: February 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ben Affleck in Talks to Direct Tehran Hostage Crisis FilmSubmit Comment
Ben Affleck (The Town) is in early negotiations to direct "Argo," an adaptation of a Wired magazine article revolving around the Tehran hostage crisis, that currently has George Clooney on board to produce and possibly star.

The article titled: "How the CIA Used a Fake Sci-Fi Flick to Rescue Americans from Tehran," was written by Joshuah Berman and published in almost four years ago. The story centers on how, during the occupation of the American embassy by Iranians in 1979, a rescue effort was mounted by the CIA and the Canadian government to extract six US diplomats.

The CIA used a disguise expert and concocted a scenario that involved the six being a Hollywood crew scouting a movie titled "Argo." Under those disguises, they were able to flee the country. Legendary comics creator Jack Kirby's movie designs and drawings were used by the CIA to sell the existence of the movie.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:49:16 PM

Im sure some anti-American slant will be put into this film
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:58:15 PM

"The title, titled"

Your software has a Michael J Fox problem, Alex.

"Im sure some anti-American slant will be put into this film"

Clooney stars. What more proof does anyone need?

I'm quite sure, somehow, they'll make the CIA into the bad guys, even though they're rescuing American hostages.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:15:23 PM

"The title, titled"

It's "The 30 million dollar film has a budget of 30 million dollar"-tantrum all over again.
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:27:02 PM

"The title, titled"


Your software has a Michael J Fox problem, Alex.

Damn that's funny sh*t
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 7:16:48 PM

Ben Affleck in Talks to Direct Tehran Hostage Crisis Film ...


Seeing his awesome directing skills right now, stick him in Egypt to work out an agreement. He would be the baddest motherf*cker on the planet since the Egypt/Isreali talks at Camp David with former President Jimmy Carter if he could.


By the way ... Ben ?

Lose the toupee, dude.

We can tell by the hairline. It looks worse than Shatners.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 7:19:55 PM

minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:58:15 PM
"The title, titled"

Your software has a Michael J Fox problem, Alex.

"Im sure some anti-American slant will be put into this film"

Clooney stars. What more proof does anyone need?

I'm quite sure, somehow, they'll make the CIA into the bad guys, even though they're rescuing American hostages.

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=20551#ixzz1D2TrTWUO

@minkowski

"Your software has a Michael J Fox problem, Alex."

I guess it's shaking uncontrolably, like it's roped to a mechanical bull, set on "Turbo" and jostled while a seizmic shock at level 5 jostled the bar (so to speak).

And it begs to join the Worst Previews Foundation to find a cure for uncontrollable shaking and muscle spasms, while you're watching Hulu.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 7:20:34 PM

Michael J Fox : Great acting. Lousy muscle control.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 7:21:57 PM

Every time I see an episode of Michael J Fox in "Rescue Me", I have to check IMDb to see if Paul Greengrass was asked to guest direct the episode.


Then I realize he wasn't.


Then I just feel so wrong.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 10:21:12 PM

Affleck was alright as an actor. I won't say bad because there are so far worse. He at least has a little respect for his art. As a director he seems to really know how to create a picture for you. I say let's see what he can do with this.
girl_watches_movies writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 3:31:31 AM

Ben Affleck has one of the most BORING faces in America. Looking at him is like watching paint dry. He's not bad look but he is just so God awfully PLAIN!

This is the reason why the man can't ever carry a movie on his own successfully. He either needs his BFF Matt Damon or other strong actors such as Jeremy Renner & Jon Hamm in 'The Town'.

Good thing he's going into directing. He tried to make it as a Hollywood star but failed to reach the success & popularity of the wifey. Jennifer Garner has been the star of several films and the TV show Alias.

I really hope Ben succeeds as a director because he seems like a nice guy.
ismokerocks writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 4:46:44 AM

ben's a better director than actor
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 5:45:06 AM

If done right this film sounds really good..and yes..I noticed the mistake too.
atn5022 writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 9:33:31 AM

i've always like ben as an actor. but he is an even better director
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 1:49:27 PM

@girl_watches_movies

Go away. This is a film site, not f*cking Myspace. no one cares about your superficial opinions on the looks of lead actors.

thank you.

(this is why men prefer women to stand in the kitchen with their mouths closed, and why they refuse to allow them onto the golf course...)
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on February 6th, 2011 at 9:57:16 PM

I can see the handheld camera work already. Anytime there is action/drama Middle East film, there is always handheld scenes.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved