WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise is Top Choice for Guillermo Del Toro's "At the Mountains of Madness"

Posted: February 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise is Top Choice for Guillermo Del ToroSubmit Comment
Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy) has teamed with his friend James Cameron (Avatar) to direct his passion project "At the Mountains of Madness," based on a book by HP Lovecraft.

Back in September, Universal Pictures wanted James McAvoy (Wanted) or Chris Pine (Star Trek) to play the lead, but Del Toro wanted Tom Cruise. Now in an interview with MTV, Cameron revealed that everyone is working to get a deal with Cruise.

"Tom does want to do the picture," said Cameron, who is producing the 3D film. "I don't think we have a deal with him yet, but we're hoping to get that closed soon. Guillermo is madly working on a new draft of the script. Hopefully we'll be shooting by June or July."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 7:31:28 AM

No matter how crazy Tom Cruise gets, I still watch Magnolia and Jerry and see that he's got charisma seeping out of all orifices, he's got somethign that a lot of actors haven't. I like Del Toro's darker work any way as i watched Pans Labrynth on Ketamine which was a surreal and unforgetable experience. I dont see how 3d can add to a horror film in any way shape or form though and i dont see how James Camerons imput can help the situation but i'll keep my hopes up for this one
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 8:01:59 AM

Cruise might be a douchebag of gargantuian size, but he's still a good actor and with Del Toro at the steering-wheel, I hope of great things to come.
Taco writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 8:09:36 AM

At the mountains of Madness starring Tom Cruise! Yeah, that fits.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:11:27 AM

I've said it before and I'll say it again, Cruise is the man!

Its nice to see Tom trying the horror genre for once. If this truly is Del Toro's "passion project" then Cruise should be in good hands.
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:17:09 AM

I like Crazy Cruise. DO IT!
sc_kg writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:52:18 AM

He's one of the greatest actors, overshadowed by his personal life. He deserves the role! He can pull a great performence judging by the source material.
Valerie writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:59:51 AM

Couldnt give a f*ck how crazy this guy is, when he has a good project he is a fantastic actor, and has way more charisma and dedication for his movies than anyone else!

This could be really great, i hope Tom signs the deal!
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 12:52:17 PM

Well said folks. I'm a TC fan as well. Plus he poked Nicole Kidman and Penelope Cruz... and that makes him aces in my book.

'Tom does want to do the picture.' --- sure, after Paramount tanked his career... Tom will do most anything (although this sounds like a good project).

"At the Mountains of Madness" followed with a sequel: 'THE CLIFFS OF INSANITY!' (thx. Rob Reiner).
Damon242 writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 1:23:05 PM

how ironic.
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 2:38:58 PM

"how ironic."

LMAO! Best comment all day.

But no, Cruis a great director, and who else cold direct a little Lovecraftian horror but del Toro? I mean, Hellboy has it's roots n Lovecraft, especially the second film, so I can see him doing this with his eyes closed and his hands tied behind his back.
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 2:40:05 PM

Cruise, actor...could, and...that's what heppens when you post in three seconds...
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 2:40:29 PM

..happens...
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 2:48:25 PM

At the Mountains of Madness is a novells BTW, not a novel or book. Just saying. And I will really wish Cameron would get his hooks out of every one's cinematic ass. This guy's a bigger problem than AIDS in San Francisco. Not everyone wants their film turned into 3D.

And I wonder, what's Cameron going to do with the novelty of 3D wears off? When people get tired of tired gimmick layered on top of otherwise sh*tty films? STORY matters most, Cameron, not 3D.

And, I love me some Lovecraft. This guy is shades better than for deep horror than King. And compared to Koontz, Lovecraft is a modern Shakespeare, although HP could've worked on the wooden dialogue just a hair...

Cthulhu!
trailertrash writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:30:40 PM

Same as pretty much all on here i like Cruise as well.

Since Far and Away back in '92, I Don't think he's made a bad film (not seen Lions for Lambs though), Collateral, The Firm and Minority Report in particular were outstanding IMO.

Del Toro and Cruise is an interseting pairing, Maybe they will tell Jim to take his 3D and stick it where the sun doesnt shine.
Farradin writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:57:34 PM

Looking forward to this. Cameron must have threatened to take his name off the project Universal didn't let the director have his choice of actor.
maddasahatter writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 8:39:11 PM

@ Mink couldn't agree with you more!
I love me some Lovecraft. This guy is shades better for deep horror than King. And compared to Koontz, Lovecraft is a modern Shakespeare, although HP could've worked on the wooden dialogue just a hair...

At the mountains of madness was the first Lovecraft story I read and it scared the hell out of me, still does.
Besides my hatred of Scientology I do enjoy TC's acting but I prefer funny TC (not funny crazy). I really cannot see him in this film.

I wonder if TC thinks this is another "real" story from Scientology?
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 2:09:23 PM

"I really cannot see him in this film."

I can't either, but the guy has some range for sure. He goes from films like Mganolia to Knight and Day, and that takes passion, dedication and raw undistilled talent.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved