WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Which Film Should Have Been Nominated for an Oscar?

Posted: February 3rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Which Film Should Have Been Nominated for an Oscar?Submit Comment
My favorite two movies of 2009 were "Inglourious Basterds" and "The Road." While "Basterds" received some recognition by the Academy Awards, "The Road" was completely forgotten, despite an amazing performance by Viggo Mortensen.

This year is no different. My favorite film of 2010 is definitely Mark Romanek's "Never Let Me Go," yet it is nowhere to be seen on the list of Oscar nominees. The film was released on DVD/Blu-ray this week, and while I recommend it for everyone to check out, it will likely disappear along with many other great movies. At least "127 Hours" has a chance.

I'm sure I'm not the only one who has wondered why some films make the cut and others don't. Till this day I'm puzzled about how "Crash" won the Best Picture Oscar.

Question: In recent years, has there been a film you were sure would get an Oscar nomination, but it didn't?

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 70 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 7:48:06 PM

"Till this day I'm puzzled about how "Crash" won the Best Picture Oscar."

You're puzzled? Really? You've never considered the possibility that it won on politically-correct feelgood claptrap?
gunner writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 7:49:17 PM

Let Me In
secondbest writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 7:56:25 PM

Whenever I think of movies that don't get nominated but should, it's usually for Best Original Song or Best Original Score. I still think it's a crime that Eddie Vedder didn't get nominated for best song for his work on the Into The Wild soundtrack (though he did win a Golden Globe). I also enjoyed some of the songs off of Scott Pilgrim, though I knew they probably wouldn't get nominated. I feel like the Academy tends to overlook rock musicians for nominations, at least in recent years, which is a shame.
charmed23 writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 8:07:15 PM

this year for me the biggest snub was "The Ghost Writer." yea yea Roman Polanski may be condemned in hell but that film is a masterpiece. Ewan may not have delivered a excellent performance (he's never a good actor anw) but everything else is top-notch.

"Crash" is just retarded. Ever since I have stopped caring for Oscar.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 8:10:03 PM

No one nominated Ghost Writer, Charmed, because everyone fell asleep.

*spolier* He dies at the end.
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 8:11:56 PM

Machete or Piranha 3D.
vaodsi writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 8:34:09 PM

I was suprised when the orphanage was not nominated for best foreign film
Aznwonda writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 8:47:59 PM

The Town definitely should have gotten one over Winters Bone.I'd even say that 500 Days of Summer should have gotten one over the Blind Side
mrstretch writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 8:53:01 PM

The book of eli and shutter island.
TheStig writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 8:53:32 PM

TRON for visual effects. Despite how you felt about the other aspects of the film, no one can deny how impressive the fx were.
Pig Newtons writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 8:59:25 PM

How are you girly men forgetting the single worst Oscar travesty in history?

1998- Best Picture: SHAKESPEARE IN LOVE

Yes. A bullsh*t, contrived, foul smelling fart about Shakespeare (Joesph Fiennes) being inspired by a transvestite Gwyneth Paltrow, co starring Ben Assf*ck and Judy Dench. I think that's the sole reason this piece of sh*t won. Judy "Everything I touch except Ridd*ck and Bond movies goes straight to Oscars" Dench was in it, and it placated the artsy, peter-puffing fags in the Academy.

This was the same year SAVING PRIVATE RYAN was nominated. Yes, the Academy chose to sh*t on a film that brought honor and showed the true emotion and experience of WWII for a horsesh*t movie about Shakespeare that absolutely NOBODY remembers.

I'll never forgive the Academy for that one. NEVER.
RandomK1NG writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 9:02:24 PM

The Fountain for Visual Effects.

The Assassination of Jesse James for Best Pic.

Zodiac for Best Pic.

TRON: Legacy for Best Original Score & Best Visual Effects.

and MANY more...
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 9:04:30 PM

The Book of Eli WAS a damned good film...but a movie based on the Bible is a no-no to the Lenin-worshiping sh*theads in Hollywood.

The Town was also great, but Shutter Island needed a rewrite. Too much slack and too little intensity for a film that was supposed to provide some riveting entertainment.
TheStig writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 9:05:44 PM

@pig

Although I don't disagree with your arguments, that is not the worst oscar mistake. the year before in 1997 titanic cleans up...awful movie. simply terrible. Good Will Hunting should have won...but even this is not as bad as 1977


Annie Hall wins best picture. Over Star Wars. pathetic. I know not everyone is a SW fan on this site, but that film was so far advanced and ground-breaking for tis time that it was hands down the best movie that year. fun fact: AFI rated SW higher on their top 100 list than annie hall. SW=13th. AH=20th. there are times when the academy is simply a bunch of dumbasses.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 9:07:34 PM

Saving Private Ryan couldn't win because it depicted US service men as heroic and noble. Unless you depict them as baby killers, your film doesn't stand a chance.
Inception writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 9:08:41 PM

- The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen
- Home Alone 3
- Gigli
- Jaws 3
- Ed
- Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li
- The Bounty Hunter
- BloodRayne
- The Adventures of Pluto Nash
- Batman and Robin
- Alexander
- Kazaam
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 9:18:49 PM

As much as I hate Titanic, wastly more went into that film than GWH, which was understood, rightly so, as every bit as fantastical as any film ever made by James Cameron.

I meanm, come on, the f*cking janitor is the smartest mathematician in the entire school? LMAO! Beautifully preposterous!
velocityknown writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 9:27:02 PM

Oh man, where to begin

This year: The Town got snubbed for Best Picture.

Sam Rockwell should have been nominated for Moon last year.

The Dark Knight should have gotten a Best Picture nod.

Stranger than Fiction for Best Original Screenplay

I wish "Howl" had gotten more attention this year.

The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford. Great performances, great cinematography, great picture.

I think (500) Days of Summer deserved a Best Pic nod last year, but it 100% got snubbed for Best Original Screenplay.

@TheStig

I am compelled to respectfully disagree with you about Star Wars and Annie Hall. That would have been like Avatar beating the The Hurt Locker. Special effects over story. I love Star Wars as much as the next guy, but I think I enjoy Annie Hall a bit more for its story, acting, and overlooked innovations in filmmaking (sound, shot composition and length, etc).
velocityknown writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 9:29:41 PM

And AFI has the ability to be just as wrong as the Academy

Citizen Kane is NOT better than The Godfather.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 9:33:26 PM

Well thank god Rocky took the 1976 Oscar for best picture over Network, even though the latter swept through many of the other categories.
TheStig writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 9:55:48 PM

@velocity

I will also respectfully disagree with you. To compare AVATAR to SW is kind of ridiculous. The story in SW is much more complex and simply better (even if the writing does not always live up to it in I-III). Although Woody Allen did have a large influence on the film industry, it was not nearly as much as SW did. One could argue that no movie has had more of an influence than SW. I do not want to belittle AH as a movie, but SW is a great story with iconic characters and timeless influence, and undeniable talent from Lucas. I'm guessing we are just going to have to agree to disagree on this since it is largely a matter of opinion haha

i agree that the AFI can be wrong just as easily as the academy, i just thought it was an interesting observation. as for the godfather, casablanca, and citizen kane, they are all untouchable timeless classics that are pretty much flawless films that have all contributed greatly to the film industry and are better than anything coming out now. personally i like casablanca better than GF and CK. at this point though its simply splitting hairs. they are all phenomenal.
Inception writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:04:03 PM

@ Mink:

Funny thing is that "Rocky" won Best Director, Picture and Film Editing. Why not Screenplay? Because they never wanted Sly to have one. Also

BTW "Network" IMO is a great film, but seriously, Sly deserved best actor, I know that Peter Finch did an awesome job, but over an iconic character perfectly portrayed by Sly?

The academy knows sh*t when it comes to films. Proven for over more than 4 decades. They gave the great Paul Newman an award in the 80's when he did better roles in the 60's with such films as "Hud" and "Cool Hand Luke".
Inception writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:07:49 PM

Edit:
Funny thing is that "Rocky" won Best Director, Picture and Film Editing. Why not Screenplay? Because they never wanted Sly to have one. Also not even the score won. One of the greatest film scores and songs by Bill Conti got thrown away by the Academy in the dumpsters.
velocityknown writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:09:10 PM

@TheStig

Agree to disagree. Thank you for doing so without resorting to hate speech or insults haha. I love Annie Hall, like I stated before, Star Wars is up there, but I have a weird affinity for the Woody Allen masterpiece.

And let me clarify, I wasn't trying to compare Avatar and Star Wars, just the idea of an effects driven film beating a story/character driven one. If we're comparing the original Star Wars saga and Annie Hall, I would take the saga, but if we're taking what the voters back then had, the one Star Wars film, with no idea of the story and character development it would spawn, I'd have to take Annie Hall.
TheStig writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:10:40 PM

fair enough velocity.
disturbed01 writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:13:08 PM

THE DARK KNIGHT OF COURSE
Electro Rock writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:16:32 PM

James Mason for best supporting actor in Salems Lot.

TV film or not. He was badass.
rabid writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:16:37 PM

James Franco deserves some sort of consideration for carrying the entire film of 127 Hours. But then Sam Rockwell pulled off a similar feat with MOON last year and got no recognition.
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:23:15 PM

@Electro - yes... James was (I have this on DVD).

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=rommel+%2B+james+mason&aq=f
velocityknown writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:28:04 PM

@Rabid

Franco was nominated for 127 Hours.

I think he could've just as easily been nominated for "Howl", just sayin'.
velocityknown writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:28:05 PM

@Rabid

Franco was nominated for 127 Hours.

I think he could've just as easily been nominated for "Howl", just sayin'.
masht7 writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:35:09 PM

'The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo' for Best Forgein film. I'm ashamed to say, but 'Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen' for Best Visual Effects, they were a whole lot better then the first one.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:47:23 PM

The Academy HATES one man shows I.e. Tom Hanks (Cast Away) Sam Rockwell (Moon) and James Franco (127 Hours). There is no way that Franco will win and I definitely think Rockwell should have been nominated and Hanks should've won the Oscar.
JoeCanton22 writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:48:50 PM

Out of everything nominated this year, some things come off as odd and some come off as perfect. The odd one out for particularly no reason at all was Rodrigo Cortes' "Buried" which was in my opinion very high on the top 10 list of best films of 2010. Reynolds showed me with that movie that he can actually act when he wants to. And for a director to make a movie about the inside of a coffin entertaining, gripping, and so suspenseful, it's nothing short of a genius. The supriser to me was Bardem's nomination, because Biutiful got no love at the Globes, and I for one cannot wait to see the film when it plays in my area. True Grit got its d*ck sucked because of the people involved, with Bridges, Damon, Brolin, and the Cohen's. Despite that, Grit was actually a damn great movie. The biggest oscar snubs this year without a doubt are Christopher Nolan, Leonardo DiCaprio, and Marty Scorcese. Shutter Island was fantastic, and DiCaprio acted incredibly well in both Island and Inception. Nolan is criminally snubbed for the best director award, something I still don't understand. As for the nominees themselves, they are all pretty rock solid. Eisenberg stands a hells chance of winning, fair to say it's between Bardem and Firth for the oscar. As for supporting role, you might as well ship it to Christian Bale already; it's a surefire thing. Lead actress is most certainly Portman for Black Swan, seeing as that film was just one of the best character pieces in recent memory, right alongside it's spiritual predesessor The Wrestler. Best supporting actress will possibly be Hailee Steinfeld for Grit, she was phenomenal. As for best picture, it's fair to say that The Social Network will have a 89% chance, with King's Speech and 127 Hours following. I've had the chance to sit through nearly every film nominated this year, with the exception of The Kids Are Alright, and while King's Speech is certainly a great acting movie, Social Network to me is just an all around phenomenal movie. 127 Hours is a masterpiece, but it's safe to say that the Academy probably won't think about it too hard. Andrew Garfield's snub is one I forgot to mention, but oh well, the man is so talented I'm absolutley positive he will get another oscar worthy performance after Spider-Man. As for music, which is a great watch this year in my eyes, will be Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross for Social Network, as they have dominated the awards season, with Hans Zimmer trailing not to far behind. Nothing is set in stone, and everything can change. I don't claim to know this all to be true, but these are my opinions.

By the way, Crash was a great movie, friggin dumbass.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:52:34 PM

I guess that is one way of looking at the 1976 oscars...Another way is f*** Rocky for taking the best picture award from Taxi Driver. I got another "f*** you" for Robert Redford and Ordinary People. And of course, I would never forget the movie that went on to inspire such classics as Avatar, The Last Samurai, and the Last N***er on Earth (starring Tom Hanks):Dance with Wolves. Did the voters think that Pesci was funny, like a clown or something? I know they thought it was very funny when Scorsese lost again to another boxing movie and finally won for remaking a movie that came out four years earlier. Classic Scorsese!

I of course wasn't born until the late 80's so I am not mad at all. Scorsese is probably pissed, though.

The point where I stopped caring about who won what was when Gladiator beat Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. I didn't know anything about films at that age, but seeing that movie (Crouching Tiger) in theaters changed my life. As "gay" as it sounds, I really felt like I had witnessed poetry and art after walking out of that movie and it changed my overall perspective on films.

I am going off topic though because the thread is which films should have been nominated. I haven't seen the other foreign nominations, but I very much enjoyed Animal Kingdom and recommend it. Never Let Me Go was pretty good in how much it did with so little but I feel like that is how it was perceived by critics (too small of a scale). I am glad it didn't go swinging for the rafters because it made the movie much more heartbreaking and maybe perfect...
Iam_Jack_smirking_revenge writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 11:00:22 PM

The Town.
velocityknown writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 11:01:10 PM

@JoeCanton

You have some very solid opinions on films that came out this year, but, unfortunately, the Academy doesn't operate in the way the viewers would like.

Best Picture: The King's Speech. It'll probably come down to the wire, but it's the favorite right now because it won the top awards from Producer's Guild, Director's Guild, and Screen Actor's Guild.

***For the record I think The Social Network was the best film this year and will be more remembered a few years down the line (Citizen Kane didn't win Best Picture either).

Best Director: Probably Tom Hooper just because it'd be strange for them to give to someone besides the one who directed the Best Picture winner. And he won the DGA Award.

(@Blink)
Best Actor: Colin Firth. Franco was fantastic and deserves lots of recognition, but Firth was on a whole other level this year. Very deserving.

Best Actress: Natalie Portman, c'mon.

Best Supporting Actor: You were on the money with Bale, he's taking it home.

Best Supporting Actress: As much as the Academy seems to like nominating True Grit, it will win very little on Oscar night. This one goes to Melissa Leo who has won every supporting actress award in the country up this point. If not her then to Helena Bonham Carter if the Academy decides to give The King's Speech a clean sweep. Thought I do agree with you that Steinfeld was excellent and I thought she should've been nominated in the lead actress category.

Aside from that I wasn't wildly impressed with Grit, by far the Coen bros. least ambitious movie and dragged in a lot of places.

I have to disagree with you on the Leo Dicaprio front. While he did give good performances in Shutter Island and Inception I didn't think they were anything special when compared to the people who got nominated. I think the biggest snub was Ryan Gosling for Blue Valentine. If Julia Roberts hadn't opened her fat mouth and campaigned for Bardem he'd be in with Michelle Williams.

And yes, Garfield got snubbed as well.
JoeCanton22 writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 11:01:30 PM

Where's the nomination for Cop Out?
Ridiculous academy.....not even a Jonah Hex nom.
(sarcasm to the max)
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 11:02:00 PM

@JoeCanton
I thought that Shutter Island was great (I am obviously biased as a huge Scorsese fan) and it at least deserved a nomination for DiCaprio.

SPOILER

As soon as I saw the scene where he finds his children dead, I thought he was surely going to win or at least get nominated.

END

Also, I thought that Ben Stiller might get nominated for his work on Greenberg. I could see a lot of people hating that film but it was probably one of my top five favorite films of last year. It is one of those great dramatic turns by a comedian. His coke scenes and the one with Rhys Ifan at the end are brilliant.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 11:02:42 PM

This year the supporting players in Black Swan deserved recognition (Barbara Hershey was incredible), Mark Wahlberg over Javier Bardem, and Christopher Nolan for Best Director

A Clockwork Orange should have beat the French Connection

Mickey Rourke over Sean Penn

The Wrestler, Best Picture Best Director

Ocean's 11: Best Adapted Screenplay

500 Days of Summer: Best Original Screenplay

Memento: Best Picture, Best Original Screenplay

Assassination of Jesse James: f*cking everything

Michael Stuhlbarg: Best Actor "A Serious Man"

Jim Carrey: Best Actor "Truman Show" and "Man on the Moon"

Frank Darabont, anything he's ever directed

Russel Crowe, Best Actor "Cinderella Man"

In Bruges, should have been nominated for everything

Ray Liotta, Best Actor "Goodfellas"

Heat, somehow not nominated for a single oscar

Al Pacino, Best Actor "Insomnia"

The Dark Knight, Best Picture Best Director

Sin City, Best Visual Effects

Star Trek, Best Director

Brazil, Best Picture Best Director

The fact that Stanley Kubrick never won an Oscar is a travesty in and of itself.

There are so many more, these are what I could think of now, I'll probably post again later
JoeCanton22 writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 11:03:58 PM

@velocityknown
Your opinions are solid as well, and yeah, it's never the viewer's counting. Save that for when Twilight wins everything on MTV Movie Award night -___-.
Man in Black writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 11:10:19 PM

In jest : Human Centipede

In all seriousness : Saving Private Ryan / Gangs of New York . ( a f*cking musical won-chicago )
rabid writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 11:12:42 PM

Howl was definitely the better film. 127 Hours kind of falls apart for a while in the middle (sort of the point, i guess), but still it's no easy feat to put on a one-man show. You could tell all the way around that Franco worked hard on that role.

Did The Town get any nominations?
Electro Rock writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 11:23:49 PM

@Ranger - Hell yeah. Everyone should own it. It might be low budget and a bit off the path but its sweet as f*ck. Anyone who hasn't seen it....do yourself a favor.
Pig Newtons writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 11:30:57 PM

Ahhh! I totally forgot how Daniel Day Lewis got f*cked for his portrayal of Butcher Bill Cutting (a f*cking GENIUS performance!) in Gangs of New York.

The Artsy fags did it again by choosing Chicago. And like my previous post, NOBODY remembers it!
Damon242 writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 11:41:42 PM

The Dark Knight. Was sure about that one, even with it being a niche film, it didn't exactly have a niche audience.

I wonder if there wasn't such a threat of riot from the audience, if they would have actually given Ledger the gold? Or even the nomination?
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 12:16:58 AM

@Electro - agreed. It's a must see!
mrstretch writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 12:23:24 AM

Let us not forget A Serbian Film. And Daniel Day Lewis for Gangs of New York.
coldplayesence writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 12:32:08 AM

Every year I have to repeat the same thing but here we go again: PULP FICTION!
derezzed writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 1:08:53 AM

Daft Punk's snubbing at this years Oscars. 'Nuff said.
Rambo writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 1:30:54 AM

'Unthinkable' from this year deserved some acting nominations imo.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 1:52:27 AM

Tron Legacy for visual effects, and The Town for Best Picture. And I know I'm a freak but I thought Crash deserved the Oscar in 2004. In it's defense, it managed to balance a huge array of actors and stories in one film whereas Brokeback Mountain was very narrow from what I saw of it. Yeah it was politically correct, but at the same time I don't get what was so great about it. I'm sure the performances were top-notch, but the story seemed too simple. Two guys fall in love and they deal with discrimination and being married to women. I could name about 5 other movies that have covered that. And Crash is no different, but it probably won also because of the multiple stories aspect and how they interweave. Tarantino got nominated TWICE for movies like that. Plus, I think we can all agree, Brokeback Mountain was a little more far-fetched of a story than Crash. But hey, everyone likes what they likes. I personally just didn't think it was anything special.
Johnnyb writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 1:58:07 AM

I lost a lot of respect to the Oscars after The Dark Knight was snubbed it. As far Heath Ledger took the Oscar to his grave, the rest of TDK was completely omitted... For god sake Nolan made justice to comic books with this master piece and they even couldnīt consider him for his screenplay or as a director... And now again, in this 2011 Nolan again omitted as director on Inception...I wonder where the judges of the academy seats today on crap sh*t or smoking crap!!!!
elstevo777 writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 3:32:40 AM

ok this year alone, i thought the following got snubbed:

Nolan for director (goes without saying)
Tron for FX and Soundtrack
Chloe Moretz for supporting actress (i lean towards Hitgirl but her portrayal in Let Me In was also really good but than again that would make the best supporting actress category a day school)
Andrew Garfield for sup. actor (the only thing i liked in the WAY TOO OVERRATED Social Network)
and Leo for Shutter Island (my girlfriend who can't stand him even admitted he did a really good job)
oh yeah and in recent history i thought WALLE should've been nominated (but it seems they have been making up for it ever since by nominating every Pixar movie) and i forget if Hero was nominated for Best Foreign Film if not than that is a travesty. oh yah and Dark Knight (even though i don't think it should've won) and i was pissed that Sandra Bullock won for Blind Side a movie i thought was also overrated and her performance even more so
trailertrash writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 3:37:32 AM

Who knows what influences the Academy minds (cash most likely) when they make their selections for Best Picture.

Hell in one year alone Babe got a Nomination for Best Picture over Se7en, Toy story and Casino.

How the f*ck did that happen.
solidgoldweedwacker writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 3:38:49 AM


Book of Eli was garbage.


Exit the Gift Shop
I love You Philip Morris
Until the Academy recognizes comedic performances I still wont care about the Oscars.
elstevo777 writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 3:41:07 AM

oh yeah and scott pilgrim for fx and song (any of them it beats cher or that idol chick)

and maybe Affleck for director

and Tangled over the Illusionist (but we have to cater to the artsy french crowd...even though we all know TS3 is going to win...)

trailertrash writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 4:01:15 AM

murphyslaw93-

Have to disagree with you on The French Connection over Clockwork Orange i think Stanley kubrick was a genius but that movie is so overrated IMO I'm amazed the academy even gave it a nomination that was very risky for them.

That same year Spielberg Directed Duel and Eastwood Directed Play Misty For Me both could have had a nominations with their directorial debuts IMO
trailertrash writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 4:11:10 AM

Electro/Ranger -

Agree Salems Lot was very good (not so much the 90 minute film version) and the Great James Mason is always watchable no matter what he's in.
Kill-the-director writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 5:28:41 AM

the dark knight- should have got nominated for best film and won over that pile of poo they call slumdog millionarie
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 6:02:48 AM

Hell in one year alone Babe got a Nomination for Best Picture over Se7en, Toy story and Casino.

WHAT THE ACTUAL f*ck!
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 8:03:40 AM

SEASON OF THE WITCH!
ilovemovies82 writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 8:39:09 AM

This year my favorite film was The American. Never Let Me Go and Fair Game are also in my top 5. It's a shame that Clooney didn't get a nomination since I think it's his best performance. It's just as good as his oscar winning turn in Syriana and oscar nominated turns in Up in the Air (his second best performance IMO) and Michael Clayton. Naomi Watts and Sean Penn were amazing in Fair Game. They should have been nominated as well as Carey Mulligan in Never Let Me Go.

2009 - Some of my favorite movies of that year were My Sister's Keeper, It's Complicated and Nine. The Road was amazing too and it's a damn crime that Viggo Mortensen wasn't nominated. Robert Duvall too. Sure it was just a cameo, but if Judi Dench can get nominated AND win for such unexceptional role, surely Duvall can nominated for his AMAZING five minute scene. Daniel Day Lewis and Marion Cotilard were outstanding in Nine as well and I thought Cameron Diaz did the best work of her entire career in My Sister's Keeper.

2008 - Snow Angels was incredible. It deserved to get several nominations. A near masterpiece in fact. Kate Beckinsale actually gave 2 great performances, the other being in Nothing But the Truth. And Ed Zwick's Defiance was incredible. I also Bazz Lurhman's Australia, though I know not too many people did.

2007 - In the Valley of Elah definitely deserved more nominations than it got. Not just for Tommy Lee Jones's incredible performance but for best picture too. Zodiac was amazing too. Things We Lost in the Fire should have garnered oscar nominations for Halle Berry and Benicio Del Toro who were both incredible in the movie. Chris Cooper deserved a best actor nod for his work in Breach.

2006 - My favorite movie of 2006 was V for Vendetta. It's such a great movie and Hugo Weaving is AMAZING in it. World Trade Center is a masterpiece too. I liked even more than United 93 and found the movie to be profoundly and deeply moving. An incredible story of survival and the human spirit. The Good Shepherd was fantastic too. Robert De Niro's direction was masterful. And Matt Damon deserved a best actor nod.

2005 - My favorite movie of 2005 was Cinderella Man. Russell Crowe deserved a best actor nod. Nicolas Cage was incredible in Lord of War. And Kingdom of Heaven was a near masterpiece. Also Gwyneth Paltrow deserved a best actor nod as well as nods for Anthony Hopkins and Hope Davis.

My favorite movie of 2004 was The Girl Next Door. A gem of a film. And I still can't believe that Paul Giamatti was snubbed for his work in Sideways.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 8:56:54 AM

I don't know about Oscar snub, but for what its worth Book of Eli (next to Inception) was my favorite film of 2010. The cinematography was brilliant. Denzel and Oldman deliver their usual excellence. The soundtrack is so well done and important to the plot that it essentially becomes a character in the film (by far the best use of sound I've ever seen in a film). I think people who criticized it for being a preachy religious missed its point completely. It never asks the audience to champion the Bible or Christianity. It did, on the other hand, force you to appreciate the power of words and faith and how they could be used in the right (or wrong) people's hands. Most of all, I liked BOE for the same reason I liked films like Inception, The Matrix (part 1), Gladiator, Saving Private Ryan, and Braveheart. They're all action films that found ways to connect with their audience emotionally and challenge them mentally but still delivered the blood and guts everyone came to see. That's a perfect film in my book. Who gives a sh*t about the Academy if they couldn't see past its religious/post apocalyptic wrapper.
asylum writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:01:43 AM

Crash won because it was a great movie. Don't know what is so puzzling about it.
asylum writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:05:53 AM

minkowsk- You're puzzled? Really? You've never considered the possibility that it won on politically-correct feelgood claptrap?

If this were true, Brokeback Mountain would have won. And god I'm glad it didnt win!
ilovemovies82 writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 11:33:57 AM

^^^ I agree actually that Crash was a great movie. I was happy that it beat Brokeback Mountain although I was rooting for Munich to win. Out of the 5 films nominated for best picture, Munich was by far the best.
bill the butcher writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 10:21:57 AM

ghost writer
solitary man
city island
shutter island
get low
greenberg
girl dragon tattoo
brighton rock
conviction
barneys version
ondine
a prophet
lebanon
soul kitchen
le concert
jack goes boating
the company men
44 inch chest
fish tank
i love you, phillip morris
white material
bill the butcher writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 10:23:59 AM


matchstick men

Alison Lohman best supporting actress
bill the butcher writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 10:25:42 AM

Ben Mendelsohn
best supporting actor

animal kingdom

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved