WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Chevy Chase's "Fletch" Reboot Back on Track

Posted: February 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Chevy ChaseSubmit Comment
We have been talking about another "Fletch" movie since 2006, but talks ended in 2009 when The Weinstein Company lost the rights to the franchise. At different stages, actors like Ben Affleck, Jason Lee, Zach Braff and Joshua Jackson were considered for the lead, while Kevin Smith, Bill Lawrence and Steve Pink were in talks to direct.

THR is now reporting that Warner Bros has picked up the movie rights to Gregory McDonald mystery novels that "Fletch" films have been based on. A writer or director have yet to be hired, but the studio has already decided that their version will be a re-imagining, not a remake. The plan is to create a smart action comedy that will be much bigger than the previous movies.

The books center on a reporter named IM Fletcher who juggles writing exposes while avoiding headaches caused by his two ex-wives. They were then adapted into a Chevy Chase comedies in 1985 and 1989.

Click here to read more about "Fletch Won."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 12:47:43 PM

I'm Chevy Chase and you're not.

No Chevy,

You're an overrated hack of a comic and a dried up prune of an actor, at best. And I'm not.

This is not going to be a solid article. Just like the sh*t that has been coming out of Kevin Smith's *sshole for the last couple of years.

f*ck Fletch.
ShizPaf writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 1:20:44 PM

No worries Max- Kevin is far away from this project. Relax its not a remake its a reimagining...
Blank x25 writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 2:23:10 PM

Clark W. Griswold is the man.
trailertrash writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 2:34:30 PM

max- lol

Must say though i liked the 1st Fletch movie thought it was very funny.

That and the Vacation films are Chevy Chase best films IMO.
rabid writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 2:41:32 PM

re-imagining/remake... same thing.

Fletch was a great film. Do we even have any modern comedians that can play the role of a young Chevy Chase?
And please don't say Joel McHale.
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 2:41:41 PM

And we thought Randy Quaid was the crazy one?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afbLb8A6oSE
trailertrash writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 2:45:32 PM

great clip
trailertrash writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 3:07:23 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=taPTqd8g7yg
Captain Bennett writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 4:11:51 PM

Actually I believe this is based on Fletch Won, which in the books is a prequel/origin story.
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 4:47:51 PM

@tt - Nice. Colbert is way too sharp for the regular roast crowd of 'comedians.' Not one profanity in the classic Dean Martin tradition.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 4:53:21 PM

Trailer

I agree, I enjoyed the first one

Hope they give Chase another shot at it I cannot see Ben Affleck in this
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 5:16:33 PM

So this isn't about that new film 'Felch', starring Che?
trailertrash writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 5:19:41 PM

Ranger-

Yep no need for loads of F's and C's just a Classy funny roasting (Dean Martin comparison that is spot on)

Glad you appreciated it.
trailertrash writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 5:23:40 PM

Crazy- Part 2 was ok as well i thought ...

Mink- lol
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 5:39:57 PM

@Mink - lol.
jdl107 writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:01:39 PM

"re-imagining/remake... same thing"




Wrong sir, I'm sure old True Grit and modern True Grit are really not identical.

Seeing as how the modern is about the novel, and the old is just a vehicle for Wayne to flex nuts. (Well... from what I've heard.)
Mister Leary writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:09:34 PM

This type of comedy won't work these days. Sad, but true.
Inception writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:24:34 PM

@TT:
lol, great video post. Did you see the one where Giraldo is roasting Chase? Also hilarious.

@Ranger:
If you haven't, you got to see when he hosted the Grammys 2010. Something similar to what happen in the Golden Globes, but very smart and light.

"He's Chevy Chase and your'e not, and if that doesn't cheer you up... I don't now what will."- Stephen Colbert
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:37:52 PM

@Inception - I'll bet. Colbert is a fav. performer of mine. The man has created such a strong character that plays well from award shows, to his show to roasts. He does it all... and cleanly.
trailertrash writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:39:42 PM

Inception-

I have not seen that, but i will be checking it out for sure.

Some of those roasting clips on Youtube are nearly as good as the ones on Youporn ,lol
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:44:15 PM

Currently watching the Roast of William Shatner on DVD.

Excellent!
Inception writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:51:17 PM

@Ranger: Agree with you 100%

To make you laugh with out using profanity, I mean the guy is clearly a genius. Funny thing is that even news' anchors are afraid of him, hell, every single news channel is afraid of him, seriously.

Colbert is the god of the trolling art.

@TT: lol
SaulSilver writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:54:15 PM

The new Fletch should have Pierce Hawthorne as a sidekick.
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 7:10:24 PM

@Mink - Shatner's best line is to George Takei.

@Inception, tt & Mink - here's comedy!

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=dean+martin+roast&aq=0


Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 9:28:17 PM

They oughta rename it "Fetch", star Zach Galifinakis and have him play a straight report stuck on an island resort with a lot of big, sweaty, Bear Mobsters who love the smell of his sweaty beard and crusty vagina.
minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 9:46:16 PM

"the smell of his sweaty beard and crusty vagina"

I'm going to blow chunks because of that one!
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 10:08:27 PM

minkowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 9:46:16 PM

"the smell of his sweaty beard and crusty vagina"

I'm going to blow chunks because of that one!


@minkowski

Good comedy is never pretty.
Inception writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 10:23:18 PM

"we’re always sad when you finish your act. that means you’re on your way home and i gotta cheese it. which reminds me..you’re out of velveeta."

LMAO, pure comedy at it's finest.

Thanks Ranger
trailertrash writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 4:29:41 AM

Ranger - Gold Sir Pure Gold ....
Pig Newtons writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 12:28:14 PM

Chevy Chase has NEVER been funny.

EVER.

He's like the "James Caan" of the Comedy world: Went wayyyyy too far on his participation in one popular thing: The Original SNL.

*if you didn't understand that, I meant that James Caan is a shmuck actor (like Chevy Chase) and only ever had a career because he was in Godfather I and II*
trailertrash writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 3:23:42 PM

I like James Caan.

But he never really had a better role than Sonny Corleone until maybe Paul Sheldon in Misery.

But Sonny was a great part for him and was the most interesting character out of all the Godfathers movies IMO ,It's a shame they killed him off so quickly.

That role earned him the respect in Hollywood from then on but he never capitalized on that success the way Pacino or even Duvall did.
trailertrash writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 3:25:05 PM

And he was only in Godfather 2 at the end for about 3 minutes in a flash back scene.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved