WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Javier Bardem Confirms "James Bond 23" Villain Role

Posted: February 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Javier Bardem Confirms "James Bond 23" Villain RoleSubmit Comment
It was recently reported that Javier Bardem was offered a role in the upcoming 23rd installment of "James Bond." Since the actor has been offered villain roles ever since "No Country For Old Men," it was assumed that Bardem's "James Bond" offer would once again be to play a villain.

Now in an interview with Bardem, LA Times asked what the role is all about. "I'd be playing Bond's nemesis, yes," he confirmed. "But it's not that obvious. Everything is more nuanced. It's very intriguing. They're changing the whole thing, the whole dynamic."

The actor is clearly a big fan of the franchise and has already met with director Sam Mendes (Road to Perdition, American Beauty), but will not make a decision whether to take the role until he has the chance to read the entire script.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 12:34:50 AM

It will probably suck so he might be better passing on this...
rabid writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 12:55:34 AM

I'd rather see him as a rival spy than as some cliche villain with a facial scar.
boogiel writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 1:24:55 AM

Bond vs Chigurh...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 2:53:18 AM

Not really that keen on this.
Rambo writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:06:45 AM

it all depends on the script...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:13:47 AM

could be sweet, as long as they make it hard core action like casino royale and not slow motion art festival Quantam
lebowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 7:17:23 AM

Maybe im the only guy here that liked quantum of solace more than casino royale.as for bardem i think he will be a great villain.the only thing that i dont like is his comments about changing the dynamic and not being a typical bond villain,well thats exactly what i want him to be,i think that this series needs a good old fashioned bond villain who wants to destroy the worldsine its james bond and not jason bourne
trailertrash writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 8:29:20 AM

lebowski -

They should bring back S.P.E.C.T.R.E

And i thought QoS was ok, But after the brilliant Casino Royale it was a little bit of a let down.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 8:32:33 AM

Good for Javier and good for Sam Mendes. 50% of what makes a Bond movie awesome is the villain. The last 2 bad guys were TERRIBLE which really put a damper on Craig's films. Javier is an atomic leap in quality from those pussies, so this Bond film may be a nice comeback for the franchise. Lets just hope he can live up to the performances of other Bond villains that became stars like Benecio Del Toro (who was f*cking awesome in License to Kill), Sean Bean, and Christopher Walken.
trailertrash writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 8:37:24 AM

Del Toro was good in that movie as was Robert Davi too.

Thought Licence to kill was a pretty good Bond film as well,It just got lost in the summer of sequels back in '89.
lebowski writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 9:34:46 AM

trailertrash

S.P.E.C.T.R.E should be brought back i agree.when i watched the last two bond films and bond was after this shadow organization i thought that they were setting it up to be spectre.
Bunny X writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 10:24:16 AM

Javier will be a great villain as long as they let him play the arrogant smug s.o.b. who truly thinks he's untouchable because of how smart and connected he is as well as how much freakin money he has. And he MUST be from Spain. Bond in Spain would be so stellar!!
And don't kill him off either.
I'm rambling but Javier is one of my favorite actors and I would love to see him represent in a Bond film.

And compared to the other villains of late, Javier could walk on screen, take a crap, kick it, and it would still be a better performance than the last two stiffs they had. Really?? your eye bleeds........
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 11:27:45 AM

For laughs, they oughta have it in his contract that he has to wear that get-up and bowl haircut from "Country For Old Men" ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 11:33:18 AM

trailertrash writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 8:37:24 AM
Del Toro was good in that movie as was Robert Davi too.

Thought Licence to kill was a pretty good Bond film as well,It just got lost in the summer of sequels back in '89.

@trailertrash

Action-wise, your right. Bond films rarely disappoint, when it comes to action.
The problem was that License to Kill and The Living Daylights had no ... charisma on screen between Dalton's Bond and the main Bond bird he was shagging during the story.
As much as I liked Casino Royale's reboot of a Bourne~ish Bond (as opposed to the first Bond spoof Casino Royale, which had Peter Sellers just mucking about around bad psychadelic atmosphere and attrocious The Stranglers~style music) Craig doesn't have much of the charisma/body heat he brought across during L4yer Cake (which he showed in spades with Sienna Miller's blonde).
That's the only part of the Dalton Era that kind of put the kibosh on it for me.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 11:57:27 AM

Cinemaisdead writes: on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:13:47 AM
could be sweet, as long as they make it hard core action like casino royale and not slow motion art festival Quantam

@Cinemaisdead

Yeah, they should've renamed Quantum of Solace as Quandry of Stupidity ... or Quantity of Senility
j-man writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 12:46:03 PM

'until he reads the entire script'

just do the f*cking film javier and stop doing the same sh*ty movies you continously star in!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 2:37:20 PM

@Max: Hey Dalton sure didn't have much to work with in those films. The actress in the Living Daylights may have been one of the most annoying and least attractive Bond girls ever. I barely even remember the girl from Licence to Kill. Think it was the shorthaired American. They didn't even bother to give these bitches sexy names. Lol Roger Moore had Octop*ssy and Connery got p*ssy Galore, Dalton didn't stand a chance :-)
rabid writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 2:49:31 PM

i recall how the Living Daylights was meant to be a fresh realistic take on the character. I wonder if we'll be talking about Casino Royale and QofS the same way in 20 years.
trailertrash writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 4:15:02 PM

Max-

Good call on Craigs performance in Layer Cake, It was much cooler than his 2 Bond outings.

But i do like him as Bond and maybe the 3rd time will be a charismatic charm for him.

Living Daylights is my least favorite Bond film felt like a TV movie to me and the music was terrible think they used a casio keyboard for that.

I liked Dalton's hard edge Bond in LtoK, think he came out of his shell a little more and if he had made a 3rd i'm sure people would have gotten used to him as Bond.

Like Dalton said one half of the world likes Connery the half like Moore, so where do i fit in.
trailertrash writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 4:16:16 PM

lebowski -

I think they were, maybe this were this Bond movie will be heading.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 9:43:59 PM

Why does he remind me of Yaphet Kotto from Dr. No ?
trailertrash writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 2:42:16 AM

Live and Let Die you mean and when he's the white Mr Big i take it , LOL
gszendzielarz writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 8:05:10 AM

I can't believe nobody sees this, but I know who he is going to be... Look at him! He's the next Jaws!!! :))

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved