WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron to Enhance 3D in "Avatar 2"

Posted: February 1st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron to Enhance 3D in "Avatar 2"Submit Comment
James Cameron is out there promoting "Sanctum" and is being asked about his upcoming projects, including the two "Avatar" sequels that he's planning to shoot back-to-back. One thing Cameron mentioned he will do with the new installments, is enhance the 3D technology, which many agree already looked pretty good.

"For 'Avatar 2,' what I'm most interested in is getting theaters to up their light level," he said. "And we want to shoot the movie at 48 or maybe even 60 frames a second, and display it at that speed, which will eliminate a lot of the motion artifacts that I think are causing some people problems."

Cameron went on to explain that 3D has nothing to do with headaches that people experience when watching 3D movies and that he knows how to fix the problem. "People talk about feeling sick and I think it's because the image is strobing," he stated. "That's a function of the 24-frame frame rate, which has actually got nothing to do with 3D. It's just made more apparent because the 3D is otherwise such an enhanced, realistic image, that all of a sudden you're aware of this funky strobing which you weren't aware of."

Source: Speakeasy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 6:52:43 PM

f*ck off, Captain Borebag and take your 3D with you.
Damon242 writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 6:59:24 PM

It was more eye strain, really.

Never had any problems with shorter 3d films. It's only the tirelessly long ones that cause the issue.
TeemSelami writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 7:08:06 PM

it was the preachy natives are perfect crap that gave me a headache
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 7:08:50 PM

who f*cking cares? for me 3D is a bonus, I'm more focused on the actual movie .
markoz writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 7:14:35 PM

Guy thinkg he's a god in hollywood
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 7:21:04 PM

i know all of you hate him, but his pompous ego aside he DID revolutionize 3D and if he can make it better then that means less movies with crappy 3D will come out (not to say the movie wont suck, but the 3D can at least be up to par) and im on board with just that idea in mind
minkowski writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 7:42:16 PM

He evolutionized 3D. He didn't revolutionize it.

If he had, we wouldn't still need stupid glass and we'd have holographic projections.

He made a camera that films in 3D. Essentially the same sterescopic/parallax principles are going on in there.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 7:54:42 PM

GOD has Spoken!!! So let it be written, so let it be done!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 8:17:05 PM

Jimmy there looks more like a shaven Moses, coming down off the mount to deliver unto us a few new (digital) commandments.
Atemisk writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 8:29:18 PM

The sooner 3D dies the better. Massive waste of time and energy which doesn't offer any enhancement to the experience even in the slightest. So f*ck off Cameron, and take ur sh*tty gimmick with you.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 8:35:09 PM

I'd rather take ecstasy and go to a rave
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 8:39:48 PM

@mink

ok ill give you that...but he has been reported as trying to do exactly what you said with eliminating the glasses. anyway, I know you hate 3D but like I said, if he progresses it to the point that we dont have to deal with these stupid ass conversions and just poorly made 3D films I will be happier to have to deal with at minimum the better technology.
rabid writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 9:12:38 PM

If you want to eliminate the flicker that gives 3D watchers headaches, then isn't it high time that we abandoned projector technology for backlit screens? There's only so much one can expect from light projection.
rabid writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 9:15:48 PM

@ markoz

when your film tops billions of dollars in profits, you pretty much are a god in Hollywood. I get why people think he's douchey, but I'll wait for him to actually make a poor film before insulting his art.
minkowski writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 9:51:37 PM

"If you want to eliminate the flicker that gives 3D watchers headaches, then isn't it high time that we abandoned projector technology for backlit screens?"

Theater companies will have to spend billions in that investment. You're talking a new film theater paradigm.
rabid writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 10:27:08 PM

True. But I'm also talking about an inevitability. One still 10-20 years off, but inevitable all the same.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 2:19:07 AM

"For 'Avatar 2,' what I'm most interested in is getting theaters to up their light level," he said. "And we want to shoot the movie at 48 or maybe even 60 frames a second, and display it at that speed, which will eliminate a lot of the motion artifacts that I think are causing some people problems."


No it wasn't Cameron, it was the sh*tty story that made everyone sick, you wanker!!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 6:37:26 AM

3D for Avatar and Tron did enhance my experience, granted i was really stoned so therefore more amazed than the standard person but yeah it did add to the magic. That said the story was sh*t, having the glasses on means i can never fully get into the film as i've got black plastic in my peripherals the whole time and i know loads of people who got headaches from the 3D not the frame rate you d*ck cameron, i believe the statistic is 20 percent of people can't even see 3d properly.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 11:01:54 AM

i don't get sick beacuse of the 3d, i vomit becuse of the bad acting of the fuucking c*nt of Sam W. no more gayvatard you are killing my zen maaan!
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 11:02:50 AM

and Cameron can suck my balls with his 3d sh*t!
Cleric writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 2:45:13 PM

@rabid, well said. all I read on this website is how much all these people hate Avatar and James Cameron. It's so boring to know that all these guys do is come on here and put him down, not to mention the rest of the movies they all step on. I agree, until he makes a bad movie, there's nothing to put him down for, he made the biggest movie ever in Avatar. And before that, Titanic held that title. (If a movie makes that kind of money, it can't suck) Cameron abandoned the Terminator franchise because he knew there was no way to do better than the T-1000, and I agree, the next 2 sequels were not up to par at all. Aliens is another great example of his work being immortalized forever, and while a like all the Alien movies, his entry has never been challenged. So I say again, what's with all the spewing of garbage people, why can't there be a discussion about the movies you actually like? Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and freedom of speech, but doesn't it feel like maybe there's some envy in there somewhere...? There are plenty of movies coming out soon that I'm dreading, whether it be the director involved, or who's been cast, or even who's been chosen to score the film. As for 3D, I am a huge skeptic on the technology, but if anyone can turn me around on the idea, it's Cameron.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 3:54:36 PM

Cleric

how much Cameron pay you for defend his f*cking gayvatard movie? at least his paying you no? and read the name of the page WORST PREVIEWS, go to rotten tomatoes,if you want good f*cking boring critics, in here we tell the TRUE! this page is the real deal we are not fans lovers of Sam W., READ THE NAME WORST PREVEWS, this isn't the f*cking fan club of GAYVATARD! OR THE CAMERON'S c*ck SUCKER LOVERS!
Cleric writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 7:23:19 PM

..and I rest my case, thank you for proving just how boring you are goofball. Sorry, Trueman
Atemisk writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 9:58:54 PM

@Cleric

Relatively well thought out argument but flawed. First of all, the amount of money a movie makes doesn't give any indication of its quality. Lots of AWFUL movies make lots of money, and lots of truely exceptional movies don't make almost any money at all. Avatar itself was an alright movie, the plot was thin and overdone but what it got right was the formula and the timing. It has action but with a heavy emphasis on romance which makes it something both guys and girls can deal with. Word of mouth plus, the "new" gimmick tacked on along with advertising it as the "Best" example of this gimmick, creates even more income. (Approximately 1/3 of Avatar's total income was because of the extra charge for 3D) If you know how to work and audience then you can get them to do virtually anything you want and manipulating people is a simple process.

So he hasn't made a particularly bad movie but he's also never made a GREAT movie either. The main reason he gets called a douche isn't because of his movies it's his actions which anyone following this site has seen. He talks like an arrogant ass, and acts like he's god's gift to film. It's not an issue of envy but one of resentment: he makes a mediocre movie and then touts himself as one of the greatest film makers of all time.

Why do you think people hate that d*ck in U2 whose name I can't think of at the moment? He does do things to help people and raise awareness of certain issues but then he turns around and shouts from the highest mountain top "LOOK AT WHAT A GOOD PERSON I AM! IF YOU WERE A GOOD PERSON LIKE ME, THE WORLD WOULD BE A BETTER PLACE."

Sure people don't always express their views in the best of ways on this site but lets face it: It's FAR easier and less time consuming to just say "Suck a d*ck Cameron" than it is to type out what I just wrote. This is the comment section of an article, not a forum. I'll also say this even though it's slightly detrimental to my own arguement: it's "cool" to hate whats popular. Many people see what other people hate and jump right on the bandwagon. Others like minkowski for example know exactly why they hate something and can do more than just say "Cuz its gay!!!" But anyway if you want further proof of this this site is a great place for it:

Threads that start negative STAY negative.

Threads that start positive become about Lindsay Lohan's giant infected vagina...
Cleric writes:
on February 2nd, 2011 at 11:52:36 PM

@Atemisk

Sorry if you mistook me, I didn't mean to say that because it made that much money it was a good movie. I thought it was a great movie. And unfortunately nothing is original anymore, there are bits and pieces taken from everything, this is the reason for the reboots and all the sequels these days.. I don't care about him, I mean, I love his directing, and yes, his writing as well. But I only care about the movie, not him, not Sam Worthington, who wasn't bad in my opinion, not the 3D bullsh*t, just the movie. Same goes for any of the other movies I love. Christian Bale for example: that audio clip of him yelling at that crew member was pretty bad, but it doesn't stop me from loving Equilibrium. I wasn't trying to say that if you don't like something shut your mouth, but at least come up with something interesting or a little more intelligent than the crap that graces this cool site. You for example at least presented a good reason for replying to my post.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 8:03:06 AM

lol, i thinhk we have a Cameron fanboy (Cleric) this is a free country man, i write what i want this is TRUE oF TRUEMAn, im not going into a debate of ideology proportion we just speak our mind we are honest people and you know that 3d sh*t is only a crapfest to get more people to the theathers, the tickets sales are low because every one have their on home theater in theirs house so this douche come with the 3d sh*t and suddenly he belive he is a f*cking gayvatard god f*ck that sh*t!
Cleric writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 10:03:04 AM

..And again, this goofball just can't help himself. I already said my peace with you goofball. If you can read, I said that all I care about is the movie. And not the adolescent dribble that keeps coming out of you head, or where ever you're getting it from. It would be interesting to know just what constitutes a great movie in your opinion, that is of course if I cared about your opinion, maybe if you didn't come off as such giant *sshole, I would. As I said before, any of the boys on this site, minkowski, even Ranger all have some pretty decent arguments, yes sometimes they can be a little harsh, but they are amusing at least. All I did was post one comment and Bam! Some jerk off replies and insults me. I will however agree with him that 3D is ruining my whole movie theater experience. Yes I saw Avatar in 3D, but it's only because you HAD to. It was hard to find a theater that wasn't showing it in 3D, but at least the movie was filmed specifically using the technology, not just a crappy conversion like most of the newer films. I'm sitting in a dark theater, with dark glasses... Retarded. It's a detraction at best, and not good enough for the extra charge. But thanks to Blu-Ray I can sit in my place a watch what I want, without staining my eyes. This is also a huge reason, and another good point made by Atemisk
"how to get people out of their comfy homes, and back into the theater?" Even 4D is trying to surface now, but I don't need or want to smell the dark alley Batman is hiding in, I really don't.
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on February 3rd, 2011 at 12:57:29 PM

I'm still beating myself up for spending $15 to see this 3D c*ckatoo!
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 4th, 2011 at 9:38:56 PM

I'm not insult him cleric, I only tell the true if you want to be a Cameron fan boy so be it, I don't buy that 3d sh*t anymore and if you want an opinion, and see you keep writing ( I'm very happy fir that) a decent movie for me could be inception for example or seven that's a good sh*t no this crap of gayvatard
Cleric writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 10:33:30 AM

Okay Trueman. Inception & Seven, both great movies, but movies that cannot be compared to a movie like Avatar. Or any other epic fantasy for that matter. I don't mean the acting, or even the story. Why? Totally different movies, forget the effects, hell, forget 3D; two different kinds of movies, different worlds, real people in the real world, or what is meant to depict a REAL world to our eyes and ears. And then pure fantasy, like a cartoon, something we know before we go in, requires a stretch of the imagination. Fine, we get it, you don't like Avatar, I don't give a sh*t. And what's with the attitude? I like something, therefor I am a "fan boy". I refuse to believe that this is then end to your way of thinking.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 2:26:23 PM

Cleric This is all a conspiracy mann Hollywood wants to f*ck our minds with this 3d that's why Im piss of f*ck Cameron he works for the CIA that 3d sh*t is making the people more stupid
Cleric writes:
on February 5th, 2011 at 4:50:39 PM

Well how bout this, you, myself and a whole bunch of us want 3D to die like it did the first time, all we can hope for is the cost becomes to grand to constantly film with these cameras..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved