WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The King's Speech" to Bleep F-Words Rather Than Edit Film?

Posted: January 31st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The KingSubmit Comment
A few days ago, the Weinstein Company announced that it is considering editing "The King's Speech" to make the film PG-13 or even PG. Many people were shocked by this idea, considering that "Speech" has grossed over $100 million at the box office on a $15 million budget, has a 95% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and is up for a whopping twelve Oscar nominations.

Entertainment Weekly now caught up with director Tom Hooper to find out what's going on. "I wouldn't support cutting the film in any way," he said. "I think we looked at whether it's possible to bleep out the ['F' words] and stuff, but I'm not going to actually cut that part."

Helena Bonham Carter, who is nominated for a Best Supporting Oscar for the film, added: "I don't think it needs to be cut down. I think every 13-year-old knows [the words], I think every 8-year-old [does]. It's the whole point of it. It's not to be offensive. I think they said they were going to put the bleeps. [The film] is not violent. It's full of humanity and wit."

Click here to read more about "The King's Speech."

Source: Entertainment Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 8:20:04 PM

*bleep* this sh*t.

Great film, but I'm *bleep* tired of hearing about it.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 8:28:08 PM

Can't stand censoring words.

I was watching Lethal Weapon 4 a few nights ago in tv, they bleeped out f*ck, but this was at 10:30 at night!
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 9:10:47 PM

Who f-ing cares???
photobuckets4 writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 9:35:34 PM

teeth sucking british bastards
TGDirector writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 9:59:54 PM

Can someone please explain to me WHY the f*ck Nolan/Inception hasn't won something big? Honestly?

We get a huge new original story that we haven't had in Hollywood in a long time. And yet we're giving the awards to a historical story? Can somebody explain this horror?
Lederhosen writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 10:03:08 PM

This is the most stupidest thing I've heard of. This was a very good film, not wonderful, but very good. There was minimal use of the F word. Is Hollywood really that stupid? I guess so.
Rambo writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 1:10:06 AM

they can use the battlestar galactica similar curse
rocketman writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 1:26:29 AM

The F word,you mean f*ck?
rocketman writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 1:30:51 AM

And it's not a word it's an acronym.
For Unlawful Carnal Knowlegde.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 1:52:03 AM

bleeping cuss words? is this the ****ing maury show?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 2:58:29 AM

Check out the brain on Brad!!
trailertrash writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 3:19:33 AM

photobuckets4 - Again, f*ck off you c*nt !!
NowhereGuy writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 3:58:17 AM

haha is there that many people with sensitive ears?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 5:03:10 AM

photobuckets4 writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 9:35:34 PM

teeth sucking british bastards


@photobucket4

?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 5:13:27 AM

photobucket i hope your mum gets hit by a truck and breaks every bone in her body then you'll wish you was in britian because we've got the NHS mother f*ckerr!! Also how can you suck teeth?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 5:59:46 AM

So, the only reason The King's Speech is rated R is because they say "f*ck" sometimes? Good God! The MPAA really need to get their head out if their ass and Weinstein can put his head up his ass.
killercow218 writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 6:21:31 AM

I hate it when people feel the need to censor worlds. Is like "lets show half naked chicks on TV but bleep out the cussing, lame.
P.S. I have no problem with half naked chicks <_< >_> o_0

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved