WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The King's Speech" Wins DGA Award

Posted: January 30th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The KingSubmit Comment
The Directors Guild of America (DGA) has revealed that the winner of the 2011 award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film is Tom Hooper for "The King's Speech."

The DGA Awards is a good indication of who will go on to with the Oscar. Ever since the guild started giving out awards in 1948, only six times did their winner not gone on to win at the Academy Awards. And since "The King's Speech" is nominated for twelve Oscars, there is a good chance that it will clean up at the awards show.

Other DGA winners for directorial achievement are Charles Ferguson for "Inside Job" documentary, Mick Jackson for HBO's "Temple Grandin," and Martin Scorsese for HBO's "Boardwalk Empire."

Directorial Achievement in Feature Film:
* Tom Hooper (The King's Speech)

* Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan)
* David Fincher (The Social Network)
* Christopher Nolan (Inception)
* David O. Russell (The Fighter)

Source: DGA


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 2:05:29 PM

Supposed to be amazing,then why can't i be arsed to see it? Same with that Black Duck....i hate Oscar season.
minkowski writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 2:53:57 PM

Yes, yes, yes, The King's Speech is a great film and it's going to win a a sh*tload of awards. No need to make a news item every time it does, though.

Rambo writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 2:55:03 PM

glad to see the social network losing again.
otis writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 3:34:22 PM

I'm sorry Alex but do you proofread these before you post them?

The DGA Awards is [are] a good indication of who will go on to with [win] the Oscar. Ever since the guild started giving out awards in 1948, only six times did their winner not gone [go] on to win at the Academy Awards.
minkowski writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 3:43:42 PM

I guess Alex doesn't have an edit button either, otis.
Rambo writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 3:54:27 PM

lol
velocityknown writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 4:03:46 PM

@Otis

They don't edit here, and we can expect to see these comments deleted as a result of you pointing out their errors.
velocityknown writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 4:04:43 PM

I just saw Black Swan. Aronofsky got robbed.

No, it wasn't the best film of the year, but Aronofsky far and away had the biggest achievement and step forward in directing this year.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 4:12:39 PM

Does Hollywood have an award for who wipes their rear end the best

Im mean how many awards do they have to swell their heads

Tonight there is another award being given out
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 5:08:37 PM

Every time I see the trailer, hear a promo for it on the radio or a clip of it, I hate the line: "Because I have a voice" more and more and more. Yes, we understand the meaning behind it, everyone has a voice. Sigh.
Kill-the-director writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 7:07:28 PM

if i wanted to see a movie with someone who has a stutter i'd watch the waterboy.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 3:27:59 AM

I have seen most of the movies up for Best Picture and Director..

and I am still sticking to my original choice.

Director- Christopher Nolan

Film- Inception

I know Nolan isn't nominated for Director but I don't care, his film was/is the best.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved