WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Sundance Makes Fun of Hollywood Remakes

Posted: January 30th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Sundance Makes Fun of Hollywood RemakesSubmit Comment
If you've ever been to a major film festival, you would have seen short festival promos run before most film screenings. TIFF usually has the funniest ones, but Sundance is a close second.

While these usually don't make it online, Sundance has unveiled a few promos that were never actually used. While most are nothing special, one of them focuses on how Hollywood remakes foreign films.

Sundance's slogan is "Be Here" and each promo video looks for creative ways to remove the "T" from "Be There." See how the remake promo does it below.

Sundance Promo:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Source: Sundance, /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 3:51:41 PM

Since no one's offering opinions, I have to say that this little video is spot on. Hollywood takes a rather quiet foreign film and turns it into a sequence of high-velocity set pieces.

I mean, Vanilla Sky...what the hell was that about?
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 4:22:14 PM

I liked that and it was about right. As of right now the only foreign film remake that I can think of which wasn't bastardized from the original was Let Me In.
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 5:01:21 PM

I Can't think off the top of my head but have any European film makers ever remade a Hollywood movie ?
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 5:07:17 PM

I can't stand constant remake, after remake, after remake. I applaud Christopher Nolan for being original with Inception.

@Trailer Trash, I could be wrong, but the only foreign producer remaking an American classic - to the best of my knowledge - is some Bollywood production team remaking Casablanca.
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 5:40:07 PM

Belmondo Bogart -

Thanks, I couldn't think of anything off hand, And i bet that movie is pretty terrible, as it would be even if Hollywood tried to remake it again.

Amanda_Young writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 7:41:55 PM

I HATE remakes! and i hate how they are remaking The girl with the Dragon Tattoo... there is no need what so eva. Hollywood really needs to get some orignal ideas. Don't they see all the hate for remakes on the net. Well they probabily don't care because people are still viewing them!!! why!!! 90% of them are pure crap! with no soul or atomsphere.

Funny video btw :)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 2:58:58 AM

I hate Hollywood doing what it is doing with all the films recently but Sundance Film Festival needs to get it's head out of it's arse and stop being so sanctamonius.
rabid writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 12:51:46 PM

I don't see much wrong with remakes. There have been some great remakes. Wizard of Oz with Judy Garland was a remake. Sleepless in Seattle, Love Affair, and An Affair to Remember were all remakes of the same film. 12 Monkeys. Moulin Rouge. John Carpenter's The Thing. The Departed. Cape Fear. Scarface. Insomnia. Thomas Crown Affair. Ocean's 11. Little Shop of Horrors. The Fly. True lies. Dawn of the Dead. The Matrix was a remake of a tv show and novel. Half of Clint Eastwood's westerns were remakes of samurai epics. Where would we be without any of those great films?
And many films that aren't remakes of movies are usually remakes of books or plays. The film industry only spends top dollar on sure bets, and it's easy to judge that when the film comes with a following.
The R1DDL3R writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 4:59:10 PM

The Departed was a remake? I'm confused.
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 5:56:17 PM

Most of those films, Rabid arern't remakes. true Lies was very, very loosely based on a French film, for example. The Matrix was a synthesis of fifty other ideas. The Thing was based on a short story, as was the older film, but Carpenter's film was straight from the literary work. Same goes for most of those other examples.

Nevermind that while all these 'remakes' were playing, plenty of original films were out and about, but can the same be said now?
rabid writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 10:17:01 AM

hmmm, well out of 15 movies at my nearest theater, only one is a remake: True Grit. Green Hornet is a remake of a tv show, but if Matrix doesn't count then neither does GH.

All of the films I listed are remakes of older films, except Matrix was tv show based on a short story. It doesn't matter how loose the reinterpretation, it's still a remake of something older. I think you're just trying to associate the word "reboot" with poor quality films, when there have been plenty of excellent reboots... (like True Grit).


rabid writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 10:18:52 AM

@ R1ddler
The Departed was a remake of a Hong Kong film called "Internal Affairs".
rabid writes:
on February 1st, 2011 at 11:49:13 AM

okay, i just watched La Totale online, and I gotta say that minus some fx and explosions, it's very much the same film as True Lies.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved