WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

What's Happening With "A Nightmare on Elm Street" and "Friday the 13th" Sequels?

Posted: January 29th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
WhatSubmit Comment
Producer Brad Fuller updated his Twitter account with update about the sequels to "A Nightmare on Elm Street" and "Friday the 13th."

"A Nightmare on Elm Street" hit theaters last year and grossed $115 million at the worldwide box office on a $15 million budget. The studio, however, considers it a failure and is not moving forward with a second installment. "As for Freddy, as far as I know, there isn't even talk of writing another script," said Fuller.

This is very similar to what happened to "Friday the 13th" reboot two years ago. The film $91 million on a $19 million budget, but New Line immediately announced that it won't be pursuing a sequel

But the studio couldn't resist returning to such a well known franchise. And now Fuller says that a script already exists. "[Damian] Shannon and [Mark] Swift wrote a great script," he wrote. "We are ready to go, when New Line is ready. But as of yet, they are not ready."

He added that lately studios have been avoiding R-rated horror films. As a result, Fuller is now focused on a new "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" installment and an "Ouija" movie, which will be more action-adventure than horror.

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 2:53:46 PM

What's Happening With "A Nightmare on Elm Street" and "Friday the 13th" Sequels?

hopefully nothing.
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 3:16:41 PM

What's Happening With "A Nightmare on Elm Street" and "Friday the 13th" Sequels?


Who gives a sh*t
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 3:26:58 PM

^your avatar's tits just made this article interesting.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 3:53:47 PM

How about making horror films that aren't reboots or remakes or any kind quel? Or am I just crazy for suggesting that?
rabid writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 3:59:07 PM

I don't mind them using old concepts if they freshen them up instead of giving us the same old hat. How bout a Freddy film where he wanders Hell on a soul search, like a demonic ronin? or a Friday the 13th extraterrestrial invasion film where Jason is all that stands between the Earth and alien armageddon.

or maybe combine them in some sort of lab accident: "Freddy the 13th".
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 4:00:10 PM

Damn you Rambo & Big_Daddy, I was going to say that.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 4:24:58 PM

i'm a horror film fan, and a Freddy and Jason fan. so i hope these do get made eventually ...
OneTime writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 4:25:10 PM

GAY
happileperkon writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 4:25:22 PM

how about you get an original idea instead you bunch of retarded "writers"
otis writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 4:44:07 PM

Original? What's that? Isn't that like some form of paper bird building?
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 4:44:29 PM

There's always "Nightmare on Friday The 13th". They haven't done that yet.
otis writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:14:49 PM

Don't give them any ideas, mink. Wasn't Freddy vs. Jason enough?
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:22:34 PM

Well, there are variations, otis. Nightmare on Oak Street, Nightmare on Macon Avenue, Massacre on Martin Luther King Boulevard...
rabid writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:24:30 PM

Nightmare on Wall Street?
Shudder writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:34:01 PM

I enjoyed the reboot. Bring on the sequal!
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:36:40 PM

Nightmare on Rodeo Drive: The Life and Times of Jennifer Lopez.

rabid: lol. Too true.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:43:42 PM

f*ck that Nightmare remake, even JEH couldn't save it.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:48:31 PM

Nightmare on Elm Street was like a typical Russian day. There was some blood, a burned guy and some dead kids.
atn5022 writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:50:54 PM

i actually rather enjoyed friday the 13th
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:57:55 PM

Better than NOES for sure.
trailertrash writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 6:15:10 PM

I agree also, NOES was truly a terrible film.

Made me appreciate Freddy Vs Jason a little more thats for sure.
Whitta writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 6:20:37 PM

out of the two, i would much rather a Friday 13th sequel, it just has a more fun campy feel to it. (no pun intended)

Honestly though, and i'm sure alot of people will disagree with me here. But if they're gonna start to remake another horror movie, i really would like to see a much darker and disturbing version of Child's Play.
rabid writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 6:41:31 PM

Agreed. Child's Play without the campy humor would be terrifying.
rabid writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 6:43:09 PM

But the success of the original Child's Play had a lot to do with the My Buddy doll. Chucky was a dead ringer for it, and half of America already had one in their house.
trailertrash writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 6:45:38 PM

Got to Keep Brad Dourif as the voice of Chucky though....
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 6:49:42 PM

The My Buddy doll was creep enough for it's own horror film.
c-prime writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 7:47:25 PM

"Well, there are variations, otis. Nightmare on Oak Street, Nightmare on Macon Avenue, Massacre on Martin Luther King Boulevard..."

That last one is actually pretty true to life, sadly.
Inception writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 9:08:42 PM

"What's Happening With "A Nightmare on Elm Street" and "Friday the 13th" Sequels?"

They got f*cking made in the 80's.
Inception writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 9:19:51 PM

f*ck it, make a "Leprechaun" remake/reboot, and also 3D while at it.
Captain Bennett writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 9:22:38 PM

How the f*ck does a "ouija" movie get greenlit but they won't go for Friday the 13th pt 13 (or pt 2 depending on how you are keeping track). TMNT? Give me a f*cking break! I bet the last installment of that didn't make a 72 million dollar profit. Studios suck!
darkraven28 writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 9:38:39 PM

The ANOES remake was sh*t, so it doesn't even deserve a sequel. Whoever thought giving Freddy the same voice as Bale's Batman was completely full of sh*t.

Friday The 13th 2009, however, was a lot of fun. It's not saying much that it was one of the best in the series. So, they need to come back around to that idea of Jason in a snowy landscape and make that sequel now.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 10:18:42 PM

So no Freddy Vs Jason remake?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 11:54:06 PM

They are drowning in a pool full of their own blood, piss, sperm and feces .... hopefully they will catch a dreaded disease and die a horribly twisted death.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 11:55:42 PM

c-prime writes: on January 29th, 2011 at 7:47:25 PM
"Well, there are variations, otis. Nightmare on Oak Street, Nightmare on Macon Avenue, Massacre on Martin Luther King Boulevard..."

That last one is actually pretty true to life, sadly.

@c-prime

How about " Nightmare on the Michael Bay Set " ?
ksplatt writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 12:38:47 AM

@mink/rabid-->they DID do that, it was a sh*tty little film we try to forget called freddy v. jason (v. destiny's child)
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 3:37:58 AM

I'm still stoked Captain Bennett posts on WP!!!
rabid writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 4:20:02 AM

I'm stoked because I just found out that the Leprechaun went back to the hood!
Zeroguy writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 4:58:25 AM

only good thing about the remakes...
Julianna Guill.
http://img.listal.com/image/703023/600full-julianna-guill.jpg
Whitta writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 6:43:42 AM

@TT, Definitely keep Brad Dourif as Chucky, but for the love of god, do NOT cast it with a teeny bopper cast.

Apparently Jensen Ackles is rumored to be in it, I'm ok with that, but i'd much rather unknowns than what passes for talent in this day.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 8:32:59 AM

@darkraven: I think you hit the nail on the head. Friday the 13th definitely was entertaining. I'd watch a sequel/prequel as long as they brought back the hot blond with the perfect tits. ANOES, on the other hand, can kiss my black ass.
minkowski writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 2:41:55 PM

"That last one is actually pretty true to life, sadly."

More like Nightmare on Lester Street, in my hometown, c-prime.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 8:48:26 PM

@SACdaddy:

Don't you mean they should just cast more hot blonds with perfect tits? Cuz I thought they killed all the blonds with great tits in that movie.
ismokerocks writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 9:06:57 PM

liked friday not so much nightmare
rabid writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 2:07:56 AM

When are they going to reboot Critters??

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved