WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robin Williams is Hugo Strange in "The Dark Knight Rises"?

Posted: January 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robin Williams is Hugo Strange in "The Dark Knight Rises"?Submit Comment
Robin Williams played the bad guy in Christopher Nolan's "Insomnia," which is why many expect him to play a villain in "The Dark Knight Rises."

The actor is on record stating that he would love to join Nolan's Batman franchise. "I would do Batman in a second, playing anyone," he said, adding: "The Batman films have screwed me twice before: years ago they offered me The Joker and then gave it to Jack Nicholson, then they offered me The Riddler and gave it to Jim Carrey."

Now comes word from BatmanOnFilm website that Williams is in talks to play Hugo Strange. It was assumed that Tom Hardy would be playing Strange, but it was later confirmed that he will be playing Bane instead.

Question: Is Williams a good fit to play Hugo Strange?

Source: BatmanOnFilm, Batman-News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 8:40:46 PM

Not the worst choice in the world however I think there certainly is another actor more suited for the role.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 8:50:46 PM

Didnt know Nolan did Insomnia

Anyway it wouldnt bother me if Williams got the role

Wished Scarlett Johanson could play catwoman though
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 8:59:21 PM

Would love to see Williams in a villain role. I could never think of what villain would fit him best, but Strange seems like the right role.
G Lantern writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 9:00:18 PM

I think he would play it perfectly. Seeing his performance in insomnia and one hour photo. I think he can pull it off rather well
Gates writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 9:02:48 PM

How reliable is Batmanonfilm?
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 9:10:29 PM

If nolan wants him as strange then yes he can pull it off
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 9:11:13 PM

He plays a good villain hopefully, with nolans history of using actors he previously worked with this rumor will become fact
Trip Maverick writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 9:21:16 PM

Batmanonfilm is often wrong. But then again even a broken clock is right twice a day. He spreads enough rumours that hes bound to be right one day. I just think with catwoman and bane they have enough new characters for Batman to deal with.
telur writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 9:21:20 PM

One week from now, WP will post NEWS HEADLINES

Al Pacino is Hugo Strange in "The Dark Knight Rises"?

He's in Insomnia too!!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 9:27:57 PM

Williams has already proven he can play a nasty bad guy, i say give it to him
sc_kg writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 9:50:27 PM

Yes.
lostwarrior writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 10:19:23 PM

I say yes, he could pull this off, But they have catwoman, bane, strange and I do believe i read they are casting for sofia as well and if that is the case that would make it 4 villians. I just hope they dont have too much going on in this film. I hope they stick to a good story and not just action like in iron man.
boogiel writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 10:24:53 PM

Hell yeah! Dark Knight vs Ms. Doubtfire.
rabid writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 11:41:14 PM

A younger Robin Williams would have been a good fit. He's got the right demeanor and tone of voice for Hugo, but not the body. The only reason hugo traps Batman to begin with is so he can replace him in the suit. He should be an older man, but in physically trim shape.
But that's the comics. Nolan isn't interested in doing straight takes from the source material, but I trust his ideas. He could make Williams work for the role.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 11:59:56 PM

@lostwarrior-iron man 2 was pretty much all story. Most of it not good or just crammed in there. Definitely not a lot of action in IM2. Also in response to all the villains you mentioned, the dark knight had many villains, the Joker and Two Face being the prominent ones. A lot of the mafia characters are actually from the comics as well.
rabid writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 12:11:38 AM

Nolan always packs in at least 4 or 5 villains from the comics. It's worked so far.
The_Zizzler writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 12:45:37 AM

Contrary to what some of the faggots have said above, BOF is pretty accurate.

The site despises those that make up rumours and is quite often fed information by WB or the Nolan crew.

In fact the BOF admin learned about TH's character a long while back but was sworn to keep his mouth shut until WB officially/publicly announced it.
mjbodnarek@gmail.com writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 2:19:29 AM

YES!
Willy_Idle writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 2:21:37 AM

i think he'd be a better mad hatter
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 2:45:02 AM

That would be f*ckin awesome actually!
-Chewy- writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 3:19:14 AM

He would be really good !

The only concern is; can the movie work with 3 villains ?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 3:21:45 AM

So this is why he is leaving Take That again.
trailertrash writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 3:43:02 AM

dave- ((((sound of a cymbal)))) lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 3:47:36 AM

thank you I'll be here all week..be sure to tip your waitress.
trailertrash writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 4:12:05 AM

lol
Zeroguy writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 4:18:34 AM

i'll believe it until it Nolan says it's happening.
i just hope this doesn't turn into a spiderman 3 (too many villains muckin up the plot).
and crazyhorse, the suggestion of scarjo playing catwoman is a bad idea. sure, she would be smokin hot in the leather but her cardboard personality/acting would tarnish the role. hathaway is goin to the nail it perfectly.
Bunny X writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 6:54:09 AM

Although Williams has pulled off the villain role before and quite succesfully too. He was awesome in an episode of Law and Order SVU. I would rather see Kelsey Grammer as Strange.
Monash writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 7:40:33 AM

Called that casting when he first said he wanted a role in Batman 3
http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=18128

But like always it means f*ck all until Nolan says
Rush_66 writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 7:57:11 AM

Looks are good. Actor is great. And Nolan can turn everything into a incredible piece of entertainment so even if it's not a good choice, it will still be good.
Pepeman writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 8:55:29 AM

Nolan has said that William's performance in Insomnia was perfect. So yeah, i bet he has been looking foward on casting him again in something. The man loves to work with the same actors..
Adsamalam123 writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 10:02:33 AM

if he tunes into his Insomnia/One Hour Photo roles he could be a perfect choice
rocketman writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 2:42:40 PM

Always be Mork from Ork to me,that and a coke head.
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 2:50:14 PM

Nolan took a big gamble with ann hathaway,he will need to compensate with good casting in other roles.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 4:22:01 PM

DEAR WORST PREVIEWS:

how did you get the idea Hugo Strange is even going to be IN the f*cking movie? Williams said nothing about actually being in talks for it, some web site did.

you know how this whole Hugo Strange crap got started? someone saw Tom Hardy with a shaved head and ASSUMED Hugo Strange.

until i get confirmation from someone actually doing the movie, I'm not going to believe any of this crap.

...all that being said, i think it would be cool to have Hugo Strange; and if you guys say Williams has pulled off being a villain before, then give him the role.
KingAdash writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:22:35 PM

I like it! But just as long as he doesn't do manic, coked out Robin Williams, and sticks to Insomnia/One-Hour Photo Robin Williams I think it's a good fit.
KingAdash writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:22:53 PM

Hardy was too young to play Strange anyhow.
rabid writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:23:43 PM

I think the Hugo Strange rumor grew legs when he was announced as the villain for the new Batman game. People just made the assumption that since Arkham Asylum featured the movie villain, that the sequel game probably would do the same.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:54:08 PM

Rumor, rumor on the wall, which is the lamest of them all?
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 5:55:17 PM

"Contrary to what some of the faggots have said above, BOF is pretty accurate."

Who over at BOF is sucking your d*ck, Zizzler?
darkraven28 writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 9:33:59 PM

Three villains? Well, the comics version of Bane released all the inmates of Arkham or something, didn't he? So that fits for the movie. But then, Batman Begins already had a ton of villains released from Arkham Asylum, didn't it? So, therefore, three villains could work if handled right.
JohnZee writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 2:25:29 AM

At this point it is nothing but the flimsiest of rumors. And really I don't see anything there that would suggest the Hugo Strange would even be in the movie, much less Robin Williams playing the character. But if it is true than I might be motivated to watch this next one. Because truthfully the moment I heard that Bane was going to be in it, it pretty much killed any desire I had whatsoever to see the third Nolan installment.

Even if they put Hathaway is a latex outfit that was so tight that you would know every inch of her erect nipples, coupled with Bane it seemed that the best that Nolan could do would be the cinematic equivalent of a five day old turd sandwich.

rabid writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 4:28:22 AM

Nolan has been squeezing in as many extra Gothamites as he can, and its worked so far. Batman Begins had Ra's al Ghul, Scarecrow, Mr. Zsasz, Falcone, Joe Chill, and Henry Ducard... Dark Knight had Joker, Falcone, Two-face, Calculator, and Scarecrow.
I see no reason the 3rd film should hesitate adding villains to the roster.
jdl107 writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 5:10:47 AM

Where the hell Zzasz? I don't remember him in there.
jdl107 writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 5:11:09 AM

WAS Zzasz. Sry bout tht.
JohnZee writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 5:51:46 AM

You know I don't really know for sure as I have never scanned the credits of Dark Knight or studied the IMDB or Wikipedia page for that movie, but calling a Japanese business man that says that he's good at calculations the Calculator seems a pretty damned broad assumption. By that standard any character that has ever been in any DC themed movie that was an accountant or good with numbers could theoretically be the Calculator. And most of the others were pointed out as being the particular DC Universe characters that they were.

Just seems like an assumption that some would make.
jdl107 writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 10:59:21 AM

I know it's just a rumor, but still, I like it.
rabid writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 9:53:47 PM

I'd think a DC fan would see it as fairly obvious, but yes it was subtley done... much the way Henri Ducard and Ra's al ghul were meshed into the same character. Nolan spins his stories realistically, so it'd be a bit much to have a man wearing a calculator suit with plus and minus buttons on his gut.

Victor Zsasz was in Batman Begins as a Falcone hitman. He was played by the lead singer for the band James. When Scarecrow releases the inmates from Arkham, Zsasz is the inmate they mainly focus on.
rabid writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 9:59:18 PM

and i doubt Calculator would ever show up in other DC films, since he's always been strictly a Gotham villain.
When he stole Oracle's computers a few years ago, he finally had the tools to branch out and farm robbery jobs for all the supervillains, but he's still strictly a Batman rogue.
sdpepper writes:
on January 31st, 2011 at 3:22:02 PM

Robin Williams is a great actor. He is a comedic genoius but he can play the bad guy just as well.

I would love to see Robin Williams in a Batman movie...............
blackanese writes:
on February 9th, 2011 at 7:19:32 PM

Calling a character whose name is Lau a Japanese businessman is also making a pretty broad assumption. Especially when he was retrieved from Hong Kong.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved