WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Fassbender Joins "Alien" Prequel

Posted: January 27th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Fassbender Joins "Alien" PrequelSubmit Comment
Back in December, we reported that Michael Fassbender (Inglourious Basterds) was offered a role in Ridley Scott's upcoming "Alien" prequel, which is now being called "Prometheus."

Now comes word that he has officially won the role that was described as an early version of Bishop 341-B android that Lance Henriksen played in "Aliens." Since Scott has received permission to make an original sci-fi film, rather the "Alien" prequel, there is no telling how the role has changed. However, the one request that 20th Century Fox made was for the film to have "'Alien' DNA."

There are a total of five major roles in the movie. Noomi Rapace (The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo) has already been signed to star as scientist Elizabeth Shaw. Meanwhile, Angelina Jolie and Charlize Theron are in talks for the other big female role of Vickers.

The other news about the movie is that it just shifted its release date from March 9th, 2012 to June 8th, 2012.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 5:00:46 AM

Good cast so far but i just dont think the movie needs it, the original and Aliens didnt need huge stars, makes you wonder if the movie would be strong enough with out them....hope its a return to form for Scott
nope.com writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 5:03:00 AM

Nobody wants Jolie and her stapled up stomach anymore, just cast Theron and get it over with Ridley Scott
johnny_boy writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 5:14:40 AM

How is this gonna be a prequel. May as well be a sequel unless the aliens were some how artificial, created by man therefore this film is showing how they came to be.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 5:15:34 AM

@nope.com

I was just about to say that.
trailertrash writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 5:17:03 AM

AYT-

I hope that this could be a return to form for Scott as well, His last few films have been pretty average at best.

Alien is a great scfi movie, But Jim Cameron did make a superior sequel in Aliens, I just dont think it can be done again as a prequel.

And I like Michael Fassbender could be a future James Bond ...
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 6:16:07 AM

This film is sounding better and better everytime!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 6:31:50 AM

I'm liking this too. Neither Rapace or Fassbender is big stars yet, so that won't be a distraction. I do not approve of the mention of Angelina, she does not belong here. Neither does Theron but at least she's better than Angelina.
redbluedevil writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 8:28:34 AM

I'm in favor of Lt. Archie Hicox joining anything. Can't wait to see his turn as Magneto!
sc_kg writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 8:34:28 AM

This guy is like everywhere... but I don't mind.
Rambo writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 8:50:05 AM

Game over,man,Game over!
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 9:09:58 AM

@TT

Alien is a great scfi movie, But Jim Cameron did make a superior sequel in Aliens,


your dead to me lol!
Dre-EL writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 9:14:26 AM

An original scifi film, this could be a good thing, hope Scott doesnt f*ck it up.
trailertrash writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 9:40:16 AM

Big- LOL, Sorry Dude.

They are both great films, Just think Aliens edges it (just) with it's perfect mix of action and scfi at a break neck pace over the more slow burner, horror/thriller of Alien.
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 9:53:51 AM

^I agree I was just kidding. I do like most of his early work, just not the douchefest movies he is churning out now.
trailertrash writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 10:06:10 AM

Agreed.

How can you make Terminator, Aliens, T2 and True Lies and then you make Avatar, Which is fine in it's self i guess, It made money (a lot) you proved all the doubts wrong blah blah 3D this and Blah Blah that.

Surely you would want to go back to those types of films again, Over signing on for another 2 Avatar movies and committing yourself for another 4 years or so and making those.
jdl107 writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 10:24:35 AM

I don't know man. He's gonna have to pick up a concept he hasn't done since '79, I wouldn't be suprised if this "Alien DNA" has faded from his mind. We'll see I guess though.

I finally watched Girl With the Dragon Tatoo like two days ago, that movie was really good. So I'm glad to hear she got this part.
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 11:32:34 AM

I think he lost it after Titanic or was it

return to titanic
titanic 3-d
titanic like you have never seen
titanic risen
titanic revisited
titanic:from the depths
titanic:the lost years
titanic vs. GODZILLA
Titanic: beyond the dome
Inception writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 12:42:41 PM

Let's hope Ridley can make out of all of this something decent; with all this ridiculous casting hype news that appear every week, or so, my expectations are not that high. I just think R. Scott lost it when he directed "Kingdom of Heaven" and "Robin Hood", which where more painful to watch rather than reading a "review" of Putman. And that says a lot. Right now his filming style is becoming more, and more like the one his younger brother is using currently, the infamous green lighting, which sucks. Only in "The Matrix" was acceptable that green lightning color tone.

So the guy that looks dumb in the Magneto helmet joins the cast? The guy is becoming famous, very fast, reminds me of Worthington; but Fassbender in "Inglorious Basterds" did a great job in that role, that's unquestionable, something Worthington hasn't even done yet in any role he has been, and will ever do.

Just in case, if you think I'm a hater, then suck your father's c*ck, and if he's dead, well, then dig up his grave and try to look for what it's left of him and shove it up your ass.
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 2:25:48 PM

X Men:First Class and now this.
And he's just average at best.At least people will call him the next Worthington(Isn't something to be proud of)
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 5:29:05 PM

I doubt this film will be nearly as groundbreaking as the first Alien film. And I have to say Ridley Scott has lost a lot of what he had back when he was hungry. He's just not the same man. Perhaps doing a sci-fi flick will bring that part of him back to surface, but I have my doubts.

And I also have to say: we've had plenty of alien films, and they all lead, in some way, from the modern Alien film I don't see Prometheus leading, I see it following. And that's always a bad sign when you hope for the absolute best.

And I would have preffered, like most people, another great Alien film, not something from perhaps within the same universe, because it seems to me what we are getting is a spin-off or something a lot like a reboot with a different title.

I also don't like how FOX has had their hands in the mix. They're pox and poison to any originality and good ideas, so I wonder how much influence they had on the decision to kill the prequel.

Betwen FOX's poor studio abilities, Ridley's decline and the lack of undiluted power of the Alien frnachise, I see perhaps not a total failure, but a triangulation of diappointment for people hoping to get, after so many years, another stellar sci-fi classic.

Sadly, the old Ridley is dead, IMO and Cameron is out on a permanent vacation.

But one thing is for sure: Prometheus cannot possibly sink to AVP and AVPR depths of putridity.
warlord writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 1:50:50 PM

its not a alien movie but it has the alien dna in it ????????????????
supaflywill writes:
on January 29th, 2011 at 2:46:22 AM

THI MOVIE NEEDS NO BIG ACTORS MANNNNNNN- ITS A ALIEN FILM

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved