WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Update: Christian Bale is Top Choice for "The Dark Tower"

Posted: January 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Update: Christian Bale is Top Choice for "The Dark Tower"Submit Comment
About a week ago, producer Brian Grazer said that an official casting announcement for the big screen adaptation of Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" will be made in a week.

Obviously that hasn't happened yet, but NY Post learned that Javier Bardem and Viggo Mortensen are no longer the favorites for the leading role of Roland Deschain.

The paper claims that Christian Bale has become director Ron Howard's top choice. This isn't much of a surprising since Bale just won a Golden Globe and is the favorite to win the Oscar. Unfortunately, he is also incredibly busy. Stay tuned.

In related news, NY Post learned that besides Naomi Harris (28 Days Later), "Dexter" star Jennifer Carpenter and Ghita Tazi are being considered for the role of Susannah Dean.

Update: Deadline claims that Howard has already offered the lead male role to Bardem. No word on whether Bardem accepted or whether this 100% accurate.

Source: NY Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:28:01 PM

I'm getting sick of this guy.

Javier Bardem is the better choice.
Man in Black writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:41:46 PM

Howard how does it feel to want ? Bales gonna be to busy and isnt this going to the small screen after 2 movies ? Cant imagine Bale doing tv and give it to Viggo he needs the paycheck and will play it flawless.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:52:43 PM

It's Ron Howard film. He's the only guy to turn boxing into a sleeping aid, so I couldn't give less a f*ck.

Besides, the first DT book is the only really epic story, so I say let them f*ck this up all they want.
SofaKing writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:53:19 PM

Ummmmmm, 2 them bitches is white...
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:59:12 PM

Hey, if we have to suffer a black Annie, the least black folks can do is take a white Susannah.
triggax writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:13:18 PM

"This isnt much of a surprising"?

Who writes this sh*t, Borat?

If Frank Darabont was directing I would be interested. Sadly it's everyones favorite ginger kid.

I bet he casts his ginger daughter in the role of Susannah..

Which would be amazing. We haven't seen an onscreen pair up of such magnitude since Terminator Salvation.....................
......................
............
...

...................

Brian Grazer is a jew.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:17:57 PM

Bale would suit. What this project needs desperately to be successful is the immediate removal of Ron Howard, Akiva Goldsman, Brian Grazer and NBC.

TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:21:51 PM

@mink

"Hey, if we have to suffer a black Annie, the least black folks can do is take a white Susannah."

Yes! f*ck the n*ggers...naggers

And Frank Darabont would turn this property into f*cking gold, why is he out of the picture?
KingAdash writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:28:31 PM

The whole damn story describes a strong black woman. And I have no problems with Bale but he's too busy. Bardem is a better choice anyhow, and Viggo fits it perfectly.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:35:19 PM

THORD:

Frank Darbont rules. I have no idea why he isn;t on board. He should be the official King film director IMO. f*ck Howard. He makes technically good but bland boring films. And Dark Tower shouldn't have to be boring or bland.
Captain Bennett writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:38:34 PM

Bale was great in The Boxer but I don't think this one is for him. Bardem could do it but looks nothing like Roland, not even remotely similar. VIGGO!
Just out of curiosity though, will everyone post a movie or actor or director they DON'T hate on this thread. I'm starting to think you guys hate everything.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:44:10 PM

We all agree Viggo looks like the guy drawn for the books and comics, but that's not why I've suggested Javier Bardem. He has something beyond just the look that would work better. Viggo works but ONLY superficially and to get a casting right you have to more deeply into an actor.

And I don't hate Ron Howard, he's just the WRONG guy to make the Dark Tower right.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:45:38 PM

I also imagined Roland looking differently from the cliched character you find in the comic and book illustrations. I'm not looking for Elseworlds Clint Eastwood for the role.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:52:08 PM

@ minkowski
if it helps....deadline is reporting that javier been officialy offered the role...so now we must wait to see if he accepts
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:59:16 PM

Frank Darabont should be directing this with Guy Pearce as Roland...as for the books quality going downhill after Wizard & Glass, Darabont is a genius with fixing illogical story points
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 10:25:12 PM

Just Viggo in for gods sake!!!
Lowryder writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 11:08:41 PM

Jesus christ how many movies is this guy gonna star in that begin with "The Dark"??

Not even joking, I honestly thought for a quick second this was Batman 4 before I clicked on the article.
SaulSilver writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 11:32:50 PM

Pop quiz,people. Name a famous actress uglier than Jennifer Carpenter...I'll wait while you think....

...and then die of old age.
velocityknown writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 11:46:52 PM

Hitfix is reporting that the role has been offered to Bardem.

http://www.hitfix.com/blogs/motion-captured/posts/javier-bardem-heads-for-the-dark-tower

I like that more than Bale for sure.
SofaKing writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 12:05:27 AM

I always liked Guy Pierce as well... He may be too young though actually. Ben Foster as Eddie, Zoe Saldana as Susannah, Peter Dinklage as Jake and Danny Devito as Oy.
sc_kg writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 12:11:06 AM

If Bale - I just came in my pants.
If Bardem... well... I'm not his biggest supporter in this race.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 1:33:35 AM

@Lowryder

"Not even joking, I honestly thought for a quick second this was Batman 4 before I clicked on the article."

Why would there be any news on Batman 4, when TDKR hasn't even gone before camera's...come on, let's use our brains now.
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 1:45:34 AM

I ate Wendy's tonight and now I have the farts.


Oh, and Wendy is a slut I know (not the hamburger joint), and her beef is greasy too!

WTF?!
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 1:59:34 AM

I'm just joking. I actually ate at Wendy's (the hamburger joint). Their beef is better than Wendy the Slut'!
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 2:13:25 AM

Either way it explains the farts.

Rambo writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 2:17:14 AM

It's not who I am underneath but what I doooooooooooooooooo what defines me.
Rambo writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 2:17:40 AM

edit:that.damm it chloe!
trailertrash writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 2:52:06 AM

It's a Ron Howard movie don't rule out Tom Hanks yet ....
trailertrash writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 2:54:00 AM

Ranger, I know Wendy bits tits, tight little butt, pretty face and leaves a funny after taste when you've eaten her burger ....
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 3:59:38 AM

If she gives you crabs too... yeah, that's her.
trailertrash writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 4:57:46 AM

Must be her she c*m's with a tub of Permethrin cream.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 8:30:53 AM

"Unfortunately, he is also incredibly busy."

LOL, the only thing "unfortunate" about this situation is that Bale is being considered for yet another role he has no business portraying.
Trip Maverick writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 9:22:41 AM

Susannah Is black so I cant see Jennifer Carpenter blacking up for the role
Inception writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 1:09:49 PM

f*ck you Bale, now you're getting on my nerves.

Viggo would have been my choice.
Captain Bennett writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 2:28:40 PM

@herpes-to be fair there was a story the other day on Bale and the fourth Batman.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 5:31:22 PM

So Christian Bale is the viral equivalent of the AIDS in the 80s ... all around and no governmentally approved cure to stop it from spreading.
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 6:05:46 PM

"Pop quiz,people. Name a famous actress uglier than Jennifer Carpenter...I'll wait while you think...."

Easy. Jorja Fox.

"if it helps....deadline is reporting that javier been officialy offered the role...so now we must wait to see if he accepts"

Excellent news Winderbanger! Bawaahahahaha! *rubs grubby hands together in evil celebration of plans coming to fruition...*

..because Javier f*cking deserves it.
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 6:07:46 PM

Guy Pierce would have been good. As he is in everything with him, but he's a tad too...emaciated looking and doesn't have the hair.

I have no real look for Roland, but emaciation hasn't ever worked for a hero IMO.
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 7:29:55 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved