WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Columbia Pictures Confirms "Annie" Remake with Will Smith and Jay-Z

Posted: January 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Columbia Pictures Confirms "Annie" Remake with Will Smith and Jay-ZSubmit Comment
Columbia Pictures has confirmed that it is working with Will Smith and Jay-Z to remake "Annie" musical, which will star Will's daughter Willow. The deal is part of a bigger plan to develop and produce major motion pictures.

The partnership began over dinner with Jada, Will, James Lassiter and Jay-Z, where they decided to co-invest in the now successful beauty products line Carol's Daughter. They continued this partnership as co-producers of the successful Broadway production "Fela!" which earned a total of eleven Tony Award nominations in 2010. Additionally, Willow has been signed onto Jay-Z's record label, which produced her first single titled "Whip My Hair."

"The time is right to bring back 'Annie' to the big screen," said Columbia Pictures. "Of course, we're true believers in Willow's talent and believe she will be perfect in this role."

Jay-Z previously sampled the classic "Annie" song "It's the Hard Knock Life" in his single "Hard Knock Life."

Source: Columbia Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:37:03 PM

And people complain about the damage Jews do to film making. Pffffttt.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:40:07 PM

they're just aint satisfied enough that the president is black huh,Will Smith just wants to kill more franchises and musicals and put his children as payback to the whitey
photobuckets4 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:41:01 PM

god, i f*cking hate this n*gger, he needs to go the f*ck away
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:42:21 PM

"The time is right to bring back 'Annie' to the big screen,"

Translation: the time is right to exploit a film no one gives a sh*t about just so I can provide a vehicle for the film-acting career I've shoved down both my talentless daughter's and moviegoer's throats.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:45:21 PM

he wont get away he's putting his two seeds on film so his legacy will continue so they'll be around running hollywood for the next 40 or 50 years.I guess money can buy anything
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:45:45 PM

And with a sh*thead rapper to boot.

"Whip My Hair."

Isn't that what Medusa said right before Perseus killed the bitch and cut off her f*cking head?

I'm not one to wish ill-will of any children, but hey, what happens happens.
Man in Black writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:51:51 PM

How many more years till she goes the route of Montana Fishburne ?
bandolero999 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:53:29 PM

give her about 3 years these child stars like to start real early ask Lohan
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:14:15 PM

Or Kesha.
technoreaper writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:45:30 PM

Will Smith is insane. Every superhero has a vulnerability, I guess. It's this idiot's greedy wife and kids. His career is over after this movie. It must be nice to be powerful and delusional.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:47:15 PM

I loved the guy until he started f*cking around with his family and I'd love to think this is his wife's doing, but I doubt it.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 10:43:43 PM

MInk- I want Kesha and Lady Caca dead.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 10:44:43 PM

O and Will your dead to me now. Jay Z? That f*ckhead need to die as well.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 10:51:47 PM

Jay Z is the worst rapper ever. He is so bad that the fact he is so rich and famous has to be cuz he sold his soul. Either that or the hip hop community is even more brainless than I suspected(my money says it's the 2nd one). The fact that he copied something from Annie shows how untalented he is from stealing from an awful movie. f*ck him.

Annie is well known for being a Ginger. When reboots happen, the same characteristics apply to the character in the remake. When you just make them black, oh course it'll get good reviews otherwise the reviewer,who most likely is white, would appear racist. Whatever, can't wait for a whitey to be cast in a well known blackie

johnny_boy writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 10:52:14 PM

Jay Z is the worst rapper ever. He is so bad that the fact he is so rich and famous has to be cuz he sold his soul. Either that or the hip hop community is even more brainless than I suspected(my money says it's the 2nd one). The fact that he copied something from Annie shows how untalented he is from stealing from an awful movie. f*ck him.

Annie is well known for being a Ginger. When reboots happen, the same characteristics apply to the character in the remake. When you just make them black, oh course it'll get good reviews otherwise the reviewer,who most likely is white, would appear racist. Whatever, can't wait for a whitey to be cast in a well known blackie role and let's see them start a bigger riot since 92 LA.

Frank4969 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 11:01:09 PM

KILL ME!
YoungChris writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 11:01:51 PM

Bunch of racist ...but still I don't like Jay Z as an actor...that mother lover can't act, why him??
johnny_boy writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 11:08:05 PM

^we aren't racist. Not one person said the N word.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 11:10:13 PM

Whoops. Let me retract. Photobuckets said it. But yeah, the rest of us have an issue with some actor stuffing untalented people down Americas throat.
SaulSilver writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 11:35:12 PM

I can just see it now...a Hip Hop version of that Tomorrow song.
What's next? Jaden Smith as Oliver Twist?
nicholas56 writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 12:00:53 AM

waste of f*cking time please someone end will smiths career
jdl107 writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 12:27:58 AM

Well Johnny Boy, I did hang around a bunch of kids who said "Lil Wayne rolls hard", that statement is just preposterous in two ways, and yes, I did walk away.

So... I'd have to go with your second.

The way this guy raps... I can't stand it. Nicki Minaj and Jay-Z are both running for the "I rap like a boring, dumb f*ckin' monkey" award.
Rambo writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 2:36:25 AM

Dear Will Smith

Please make bad boys 3.

Regarding the rest of your projects.go f*ck yourself.

nice will smith impression:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EqZGGqO6Eu0
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 3:59:02 AM

what is wrong with the world, havent white people suffered enough. can they just leave us alone.
trailertrash writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 3:59:10 AM

Just reissue the original if the time is right for annie to be back on the big screen.

Last years success of the Karate Kid has a lot to answer for.
c-prime writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 4:22:54 AM

@ minkowski: I get the impression his wife is likely responsible.

Rumor has it that when the Smith family appeared on "Oprah", Jada Pinkett solely credited herself with pushing their kids to achieve stardom. Will concurred. (Meanwhile, I hear she completely neglected to say anything positive about Will's elder son from his first marriage. Bitch.)

I can't personally say that that's what transpired because I don't watch that stupid-ass show. But several people I know who do attest to it happening, so I may as well take their word for it.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 8:48:20 AM

Grab your white hoods and some rope, they're talking about a black actor on WP again!
SACdaddy writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 9:00:18 AM

Jada is just your typical child star mom with some not so typical access to the industry. She's isn't doing anything different than what Billy Ray Cyrus has done with his daughter. I'm sure sooner or later she'll be doing provocative (somewhat uncomfortable) photoshoots with her children too :-)
Stuntastic writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 11:44:12 AM

@SAC: LOL!!! Agreed the sh*t gets ridiculous at times on here
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 6:42:09 PM

"MInk- I want Kesha and Lady Caca dead."

Me too Bro, but I wanna do them first.
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 6:50:55 PM

@C-Prime: Well, that's good news, because I'd hate to have to start hating on Smith just because of this stupid sh*t. But his wife DOES look very much like a stuck up c*nt.

She's still quite hot though...

"Grab your white hoods and some rope, they're talking about a black actor on WP again!"

AFAIK, the ony racist on here is YOU.

And for the f*cking record moron, the only actor ramming his kids down our f*cking throats is Smith. Wp didn't f*cking exist when that harlot Hannah Montana was getting thrown at us, or I would have said far, far worse.

You're just another politically correct black guy with a huge racist chip on your shoulder, so just save that sh*t for the riots.

And for your stupid motherf*cking information, some of my favorite actors are f*cking black (Denzel, Freeman), so I am so f*cking sick of hearing your bullsh*t when someone makes an off-color remark. Go f*cking kill yourself.

And like I have to defend my motherf*cking self to YOU.
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 7:09:33 PM

^^Too harsh?
c-prime writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 11:20:02 PM

No. Needed to be said.

And you are right about Jada. Quite hot, indeed. But not very kind. Plus, her music sucks more than an anteater...

...Then again, so do her movies (save for "Collateral").
SACdaddy writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 8:12:28 AM

@Mink: Lol, your helplessness amazes me. "AHHHHHH!!!! The big black mega star is holding me down and forcing me to pay money to see his son's movies and listen to his daughter's music. Somebody save me!!!!"

"SacDaddy called us racist for.......hating on a guy (and his family) because of his race. Heeee's the racist!"

Somebody get this poor jabroni a box of tissues for his tears and some tampons for his huge bleeding vagina. "Off color remarks".....so that's what we're calling this now:

"And people complain about the damage Jews do to film making."

"they're just aint satisfied enough that the president is black huh, Will Smith just wants to kill more franchises and musicals and put his children as payback to the whitey."

"god, i f*cking hate this n*gger, he needs to go the f*ck away"

"Whatever, can't wait for a whitey to be cast in a well known blackie"

"And for your stupid motherf*cking information, some of my favorite actors are f*cking black (Denzel, Freeman), so I am so f*cking sick of hearing your bullsh*t" (LOL my personal fav, the "I love Michael Jordan so I'm not a racist" defense always works :-)

Like I've said before, you can keep running to the defense of ignorance like this, and I'll keep reminding viewers you don't speak for everyone on this site.


jdl107 writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 9:16:02 AM

SacDaddy, thats one motherf*cking standing ovation.
warlord writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 1:45:36 PM

annie's get'in niggy wit it

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved