WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Kills Off "Fantastic Four" Team Member

Posted: January 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Kills Off "Fantastic Four" Team MemberSubmit Comment
Some of the biggest characters have been killed off in comic books, but it seems that they never stay dead. Today, Marvel has released issue #587 of "Fantastic Four" which turns the team of four into three.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

The company has been planning to kill off the Human Torch for around two years and has finally accomplished it. "The death of the Human Torch is the first major move in this incredibly exciting evolution of the legendary 'Fantastic Four' franchise and a necessary part of the larger story we will be telling featuring the beloved characters moving forward," said Marvel's SVP of publishing Tom Brevoort.

The plan now is to end the "Fantastic Four" comic franchise with the next issue. There is no word how the characters will continue, but rumors are that the remaining team members will form a new group, "The Fantastic Three."

And Marvel is already hinting at a story that sees Johnny Storm returning. "I would argue that a well-told story of a character's demise is not necessarily undone by them coming back later," said Brevoort.

Images: (click to enlarge)


Source: LA Times, CNN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:16:56 AM

Screw Marvel comics. After they broke up MJ and Peter Parker in the worst possible way they just kill off every character as far as I am concerned.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:25:19 AM

So it looks like Chris Evans is ok to play "Captain America"
GIANT_midget writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:36:18 AM

well the F4 movies sucked donkey balls and the human torch was the only likeable character in the F4 movies so marvel made a stupid moviee there
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:45:56 AM

At least he goes down in flames...
boogiel writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:52:39 AM

Looks very well like an adaptation of a scene from Armageddon.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:59:20 AM

@giant

It's always the way, most popular characters get killed off, don't know why they didn't kill off the sister she's boring as f*ck!!
ceerow writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:59:48 AM

Human Torch will reborn as Captain America ....
jdl107 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:57:17 AM

Hm.

Seems indeed it is better to burn out than fade away.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:03:06 AM

fantastic four FAIL
bandolero999 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:04:06 AM

and somehow later the fans will hate it that they killed human torch and they'll find a way to bring him back to life later
jdl107 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:49:13 AM

Why not... Fantastic fail?

The tune of that just sounds more... accessible. Lol I don't know.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:33:57 AM

My life can no longer continue, now that I know this.
Mister Leary writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:40:45 AM

When it comes to comics the F4 had the sh*ttiest and most boring stories anyway. They also had the worst movies as well. Kill 'em all.
pnkntndr writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:48:06 AM

I don't know about that, Mr. Leary. Electra has my vote for "All time most sh*t-tastic Marvel movie". With Ghost Rider in a distant second
swoooop writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 10:06:28 AM

So, what killed him? A bucket of water? A cold brIs, or batteled down by the firedepartment?
Sinestro writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:19:30 PM

Marvel has, over the past six/seven years, made death entirely meaningless. They are, in fact, now making the death/resurrection device something of an annual thing. It's the new archetype for big event stories. This is sad, because while it's cool for people who just like pondering about who will win which fight against who, people who actually want to read a decent comic every once in a while are going to find it very hard to care about these characters. After all, what tension can there be in a story once the probability of death has been completely removed? And that's not to say that death has been permanent in comics, oh no no no. Or that DC is not guilty of the same crime, although they have handled it with more grace and style (Blackest Night.) I mean, the Cap thing was overly publicized, and there wasn't a single person naive enough to think Steve was going to stay dead. The same way no one thinks Johnny is going to remain dead for long either. Oh well, at least Grant Morrison had the decency to tell us Batman wasn't really dead, but lost in time.
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:51:54 PM

@Sinestro

Nicely put sir... completely agree. Blackest Night is f*cking awesome.
Ranger writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 1:29:56 PM

Like GIANT_midget said... The Human Torch was the only likable character on the team.

Bring him back again or don't...

Whatever Marvel... whatever.

rabid writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 1:32:06 PM

HELLOOO
They didn't kill anybody! I picked up the issue. Nobody even gets injured or fights or anything. It's a really fantastic story that sets up all kinds of bigger plots.
Reed escaped the destruction of a future dimension but had to bring the Maestro back with him (that's a geriatric Hulk gone evil). Susan Storm becomes queen of the original Atlantis. Franklin gets his powers back. Ben Grimm turns to rock again. And Johnny Storm finally grows up and sacrifices his own well being to save everyone.

But no one died.

And isn't that the way it usually goes? Superman was resuscitated. Batman, Captain America, and Flash were lost in time. At least Green Lantern and Green Arrow both had the balls to actually die, get buried, and meet in the afterlife (they both came back).
rabid writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 1:34:45 PM

I think what we saw was the death of the whiny immature Johhny Storm. Next time we see him, he'll be an older, tougher John Storm. Time goes by faster in the Negative Zone, so even if Reed devises a new portal in a week, Johnny could be trapped there for years.
Mister Leary writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 1:38:16 PM

@ pnkntndr

Elektra gets a pass since they had the decency not to make a sequel.
Ghostrider on the other hand will suck again. So I'm with you on that.
Only reason F4 sucks more is due to the fact that they f*cked up bringing one of the coolest characters in comics to the big screen......Dr Doom
Ranger writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 1:47:58 PM

@rabid - thx. for the update.
Mister Leary writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 1:50:32 PM

Did Marvel kill off BitchHunter too?
Sinestro writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 2:17:37 PM

The Cap thing was a cop-out. Look at what is being sold, death. At least it took Barry Allen 20 odds years to come out of the Speed Force, and with Batman it was very clear from the get go he wasn't death. Cap got shot, in the street. Then, out of nowhere, oh no no, it was some kind of time-traveling bullet (Final Crisis) and Cap is lost in time (like Batman), traveling through different eras whenever an overwhelming white light takes him (LOST). It was a very big "yea, we were just f*cking with you." and a pretty bad one at that.

And I'm not saying this is not the case with comics. Rule used to be that in comics only Bucky stays dead. And, well, we all know what happened with that.

People are going to keep dying and coming back with more regularity and this is going to create some problems in a medium where the greatest source for drama comes from a life and death struggle between good and evil.

I know it's about the how more than the what, but let's be honest here, they haven't been very creative in bringing these guys back. I give Johns credit for trying create some kind of cohesive narrative to tie together all the deaths and resurrections with Blackest Night (although Ra's Al Ghul was notably absent!), but even that was a bit of a rocky road.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 3:18:47 PM

the only one in the FF that i actually like is Reed, could care less about Johnny ..
Rambo writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 4:17:47 PM

that was the last straw!!oh wait,I never read this stupid comics...
darthraige writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 4:40:26 PM

"...rumors are that the remaining team members will form a new group, "The Fantastic Three."

The Fantastic Three? That's f*cking gay. Couldn't come up with a better name than that? Awful. Just f*cking awful.
trailertrash writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:10:42 PM

The "Fantastic Threesome" has more of a ring to it.

I would watch it ...
Farradin writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:17:51 PM

Ha, as soon as I saw the the headline I knew it was the human torch. What does that say about how poorly sketched out that character is even after 45 years.
Frank4969 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:24:51 PM

I predicted from the start it would be the loser torch. Really does anyone care. Kill the whole team. And seriously does anyone think he is truly dead. NO. Give it a year and he will miraculously come back. All marvel sees are $$$$$ signs. Money for his death then money for his come back.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:55:17 PM

Marvel Kills Off "Fantastic Four" Team Member

f*ck you and f*ck Jessica Alba.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:20:03 PM

Hey, when even Jason Todd won't f*cking stay dead, what chance do we have to see the last of the Human Torch?

And this lill em off and bring em back is getting way too f*ckign cliche'd. Have the balls to kill a character and then have the bigger balls to move on forever.

I'm getting comic book blue balls just waiting for a character to die forever.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:21:31 PM

"Marvel Kills Off "Fantastic Four" Team Member"

Because killing them all off was too much like Jonestown?
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:25:08 PM

"I would argue that a well-told story of a character's demise is not necessarily undone by them coming back later,"

Translation: Killing a character off makes us money, and we like money, so just buy the goddamned comic book you little friendless fag.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:26:55 PM

With comic book revenue quickly eroding, or so I hear from comic book shpw owners, how does a sh*t stain title like FF stay around?

Then again, gluttonous Batman has like 30 spinoffs these days, so I guess there's room at the table for the Stephen Bladwin of the comic book world.
rabid writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:39:10 PM

It sticks around because they split it into two books. One for the children, and one more adult themed. The mature one is actually a great book and has cycled through some of the best writers/artists in the biz the past few years.
As or character development, it took long enough but there's plenty. Reed is emotionally-distant to the point of neglect of his wife and kids. Susan left him for a while and still might. Their children are total sociopaths, their daughter Valeria being the most interesting character in the book. Ben Grimm can now spend one day a year as human, so he can move on from one of his hang-ups. And now the immature little runt Johnny Storm is going to be left in another dimension for a long time to survive through his own wits and brutality. Johnny knows he's a sh*tstain and addressed all that last issue. The next time we see him, I bet he'll be a battle-hardened soldier.
I think Marvel finally realized they had an interesting but stagnant concept with the 4, and they've done a great job of revamping them.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:07:48 PM

Interesting Rabid. Unfortunately, I've never been able to get into Marvel. Supes and Batman only.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:12:39 PM

"Death is a natural part of life. You're born, you live, and you die."

Thank you, Arnold Schwarzenegger!!
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:22:07 PM

I started to read all the Blackest Night books, but then I saw they were about f*cking zombies, and I thought, really? Zombies? With all the mind-stretching elements you can find within the DC universe, you decided to plumb the shallow deaths of a sub-genre already depleted of originality?

Did I miss something then? Should I read them? And if so, why?
Inception writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:28:08 PM

Funny that the only interesting character in F4 gets killed. Now it's gonna be even worse, who in hell is gonna even read or watch anything related to the F4 without the human torch? I mean, come on Marvel, WTF is that, now is gonna be called the Fantastic 3, lame as hell. Let me guess; the Three Musketeers are gonna make a cameo alongside The 3 Stooges.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:41:30 PM

The Craptacular Three.

(couldn't find an antonym of fantatic that shares the same initial digraph..sorry)
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:07:07 PM

In the latest news, Marvel says that plans to kill off to The Thing and rename the comic to the 'Terrible Two' have been shelved at this time, pending accounting's first quarter profit report.
Sinestro writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:11:39 PM

"Did I miss something then? Should I read them? And if so, why?"

Depends. As a long time fan it was interesting to read, and it wasn't the average Zombie story, where the (usually brainless) undead roam around trying to eat people with no real purpose other than sating their own unending hunger. Some confrontations were good, but it was messy; there was just so much going on, and a lot of points that would have been interesting within that story were not touched upon. As a stand alone story to a casual reader or a non-fan I couldn't recommend it. If you liked the characters and have followed the comics recently, at least it give it a shot. (Download.) And I guess, at the end, unlike most big events, it actually leads to something. Although it may not be something you want to be led to.

Brightest Day sucks balls. It has it's moments, but mostly balls.

Oh and the spin-off thing is just out of control in comics. Batman, Wolverine, the X-Men, Deadpool--it's absurd.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:26:25 PM

Thanks Sinestro for your detailed and interesting comment. I'll give it a pass for now.

As for the spinoffs wih respect to Batman, you can thank Grant Morrison for that sh*t. This was the guy that gave Batman a son, and from there he's run f*cking roughshod over the entire mythos.

Wasn't Morrison the writer that had Darkseid 'killed' Batman with Omega Beams? That was a terrible waste of a potentially momentous change in the Final Crisis storyarc.

Whatever happened to the days when Batman was a DETECTIVE, and parts of the story read like CSI crime novel? Are they gone forever?

Batman is just all f*cked up right now, and with this new Batman Incorporated crap, i.e., global Batmen, it sounds to me like DC is just cashing in on all the hype generated by Nolan and his films.

Not trying to get confrontational, but what do you think? You read Batman, right?
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:27:00 PM

killed=kill
rabid writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:30:10 PM

Blackest Night/ Brightest Day have been pretty average so far. Most of the Blackest Day titles were just throwaways with no real bearing. It was basically an excuse for all of the books to showcase their dead characters. It was interesting, but quite a clusterf*ck, and we still haven't even figured out what's going on. All should be revealed within the next couple months, and then I'll know if I wasted my time reading them.

Deadpool spinoffs are supposed to be absurd. But check out the Deadpool MAX book, it's the most raunchy f*cked up thing Marvel puts out.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:08:43 PM

I thought Blackest Night had already concluded? I say that because there's like ten graphic novels out...
rabid writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:34:38 PM

It did, but it rolls right into Brightest Day. The appearance of the black lantern and white lantern are connected. There's some exiled being in another universe who has been pulling the strings the entire time, and they still haven't revealed him. All of the GL events are fulfilling a book of prophecy that was set up in an Alan Moore story over 20 years ago. It supposedly all culminates in a war between light and dark which destroys the universe.
jdl107 writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 12:31:02 AM

I will for damn sure look to Rabid when I have a question aboout a comic. Holy crap.
rabid writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 11:53:01 AM

My money's on Lex Luthor to become the White Lantern and save the entire universe.
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 7:21:05 PM

"I will for damn sure look to Rabid when I have a question aboout a comic. Holy crap."

No sh*t. The guy's a walking comic book wiki.
warlord writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 1:58:50 PM

marvel is going out of its way killing off my childhood so killing cap' america wasnt enuff and then makeing racist thugs out of the tea-party witch im part of and we arent now killing off tourch WHAT THE HELL MARVEL!!!!! is stan lee ok with this MARVEL SUCKS!!!!! ........GO DC COMICS!!!!!!!
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 7:37:03 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved