WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Weinstein Company Wants to Re-Edit "The King's Speech"

Posted: January 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Weinstein Company Wants to Re-Edit "The KingSubmit Comment
Now that "The King's Speech" has earned over $100 million at the box office on a $15 million budget, expanding to a record 2,500 theaters this weekend, has a 95% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, and just earned a whopping twelve Oscar nominations, The Weinstein Company feels it's time to edit the R-rated film to make it PG-13 or even PG.

The company is working with director Tom Hooper to cut several scenes from the movie, but still keep Hooper's original vision. The next step would be to launch a new marketing strategy targeted at a broader audience.

This likely won't happen until after the Academy Awards presentation, but the hope is that the awards show will give "The King's Speech" a boost. Combined with a PG rating, the Weinstein Company believes that more money can be squeezed out of the film.

Click here to read our "The King's Speech" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:27:44 AM

sh*tGODAMNITMAN!!!
Lederhosen writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:32:45 AM

This is a wonderful film as it stands. To re-edit it would be a travesty. There is only minimum use of the f-word in certain scenes. Most adolescents use the f-word as part of their every day vocabulary. Don't change a thing.
masht7 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:40:10 AM

Teenager's don't care about movies set in the 1940's unless they have explosions and sex. This is one of the most stupidest things a distributor has ever thought of doing.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:47:22 AM

Yes, tweens will flock to a period piece with no sex. Good move, Weinstein.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:52:24 AM

I know it has their name on the company, but do they actually run it? Or do they have advisers because who it is should be FIRED!
boogiel writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:10:34 AM

"Now that "The King's Speech" has earned over $100 million at the box office on a $15 million budget, expanding to a record 2,500 theaters this weekend, has a 95% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, and just earned a whopping twelve Oscar nominations, The Weinstein Company feels it's time to edit the R-rated film to make it PG-13 or even PG."

If it ain't broke don't fix it. Period
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:45:02 AM

I know right! What could possibly be drawing kids to this even as an adult i'd rather watch this on dvd no matter how good it is.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:11:40 AM

what greedy people booo booo boo boo boo!!
Lederhosen writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 10:01:12 AM

Exacatly. Teens aren't interested in this period film. They want more Twilight. This whole idea is a joke. I loved this film, but I'm much older. DON'T CHANGE A THING *ssholeS!!!
swoooop writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 10:11:13 AM

Re-edit? Is that the new reboot?
jdl107 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 10:38:33 AM

Yay.

So what ever happened to the change avatar option? Does the new WP require us to stick to the one we have? If so... you're a nazi man. A freakin' nazi.
jdl107 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 10:50:56 AM

I'll probably give this a try someday, but right now the sarcastic little bastard inside of me is aching to come out.

A movie, about a guy with speech impedement, broke the 100 million mark. Well now... Riddle me that.
beepboop writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 10:56:43 AM

Here's something interesting: How old do you have to be to watch this movie in different countries?
USA: 17+
England: 12
Ireland: 12
Swiss: 7
Japan: no age restrictions.

Instead of re-editing a movie, america could just grow up. Curse words aren't the worst thing in the world, especially when you bombard your children with violence and fear already.
triggax writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 11:48:36 AM

What a stupid idea?

Short of the King repeating f*ck a few times, there is absolutely no reason this should be rated any higher than a PG.

Im surprised this is an R rated film to be honest.

The fact that this R rated film has made over 100 million already says to me that very few americans have interest in seeing this anyways, considering it hasn't even really opened wide in the US yet.

I dont think the americans are really that f*cking closed off do you really need to cut out some swear words. If anything just f*ckin beep them and put it in the theater ... I dont understand why a film like this would need a PG rating or any rating for that matter. Its just a great story Id let my kids watch the R rated version, absolutely.
billofill writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:23:02 PM

Again f*ck YOU WEINSTEIN's.
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:30:16 PM

Greedy fat c*nts,thats the problem with Hollywood,it can't seem to understand the difference between art and the bottom line or as i suspect doesn't care.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:33:24 PM

AMERICANS ARE c*ntS THEY LIKE TO KEEP THINGS AS SIMPLE AS POSSIBLE, "WHATS THAT? THINKING? I HAVE TO THINK WHILE I WATCH A FILM?? YOU MEAN WITH MY BRAIN AND STUFF?
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:48:30 PM

I still don't really have any aspirations to see this movie... dare I say its not my cup of tea?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:52:57 PM

do it ted i know every1 in here is thinking the same thing that because its an oscar nomination and it probably as good as it can be no one wants to watch an english monarchy drama. Id rather watch shaun of the dead or trainspotting for a slice of english gold
Zeroguy writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 1:39:34 PM

In Canada the film is rated PG. Canada usually rates movies what they should be. Black Swan was rated 14A, giving fourteen year old teens some good spanking fodder to see Portman diddle herself and make out with Kunis.
eddie499 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 2:40:04 PM

Ludicrous. This is worse than when Ted Turner wanted to colorize all those classic films in the 80s. Just flat out wrong. I'm glad he doesn't have the rights to Casablanca. Weinstein would probably want to to a post-production 3-D conversion.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 3:39:53 PM

I wish I had an easy bake oven big enough to roast those hebs
mjbodnarek@gmail.com writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 3:53:31 PM

Screw them.
Rambo writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 4:16:09 PM

why don't you make it 3D and add some gay vampires while you're at it?
trailertrash writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 4:35:55 PM

The Weinstein's next bright idea will be,

The Kings Speech 2: George's Encore
Rambo writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 4:37:37 PM

2 king 2 furious
Rambo writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 4:43:27 PM

omg!look at the size of this thing!

http://www.hiphoprx.com/content/uploads/2009/03/melyssa-ford-king-magazine-april-may-2009-04.jpg
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 4:43:30 PM

...this time he get talktive
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 4:44:28 PM

droolz
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 4:45:32 PM

thats no moon...
trailertrash writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 4:50:17 PM

Rambo- lol

Rocket - Wonder what Andy Gray and Richard Keys would make of that girl in the picture !! LOL
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:03:41 PM

who give a f*ck if she knows the offside rule with a rump like that,kick her back doors right the f*ck in.
trailertrash writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:06:24 PM

lol

To Quote the wise one,

I would smash that and hang out the back of her for sure......
Rambo writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:08:10 PM

lets have another look from a different angel,offside or not?


http://dyallo.files.wordpress.com/2009/02/king_atlnightspotscom_ford_outtakes.jpg
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:12:53 PM

This movie was good...but when I bought my ticket, I understood it to be about Hitler (you're probably asking yourselves which speech of his, he has so many great ones and yes if you're wondering I was similarly deceived when I went to see "The King & I") and yes I know, we were deceived by a certain religious group that controls all the finances in Hollywood...but that didn't stop me from enjoying what I did see instead and I think that the vision of the film makers should remain as is.
Arlo11 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:15:18 PM

Dont fix what aint broken!!
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:32:16 PM

Besides, the second you start bringing in a younger crowd you get problems like Paul Reuben masterbating
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:38:42 PM

I prefer my women less black...more like white
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:46:01 PM

Unless I've missed something, a re-edit wouldn't destroy the original cut. Right? So why are you people screaming about a re-edit?

Were you involved in writing the story, the screenplay or directing the film? No? When why the f*ck does this news matter one bit to you?

You act like the r-rated verson will disappear from history altogether. Get a grip.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:51:19 PM

"I prefer my women less black...more like white"

White or latina. Not a fan of black women or Asian women, really, or Indian women for that matter.

Of course, I'd choose a smoking latina over a smoking white woman any day.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:54:47 PM

Weinstein Company Wants to Re-Edit "The King's Speech"

f*ck you and f*ck Kevin Smith
Rambo writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:05:32 PM

@mink

something more like that?

http://timdir.com/aria_giovanni_white_panties/aria_giovanni_013.jpg
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:34:02 PM

Nice, rambo, but I was thinking something along these lines:

http://www.latinoreview.com/images/user/Mayrin_Villanueva_revista_H_12.jpg

I bet she tastes like chicken fajita mix.
trailertrash writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:42:35 PM

VERY NICE !!

I love chicken fajita
trailertrash writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 6:52:34 PM

http://womenpics.org/d/15461-1/Beautiful+brunette+woman+in+black+bikini+and+fishnet+top.jpg

:)
technoreaper writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:05:53 PM

Almost every kid I know has already been exposed to every curse word in the book. They've seen a lot of graphic violence in the videogames they play. Private Ryan is shown, unedited, on TV all the time, and that's perfectly ok. Who are the ratings boards trying to protect from the language of this film? Children from the state of Utah? The MPAA should visit a middle school some time and get back in touch with reality.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:10:58 PM

Further proof of why no one really wants to work with Harvey 'Scissorhands' Weinstein. The fact that the damn thing has already been a huge success for an R-rated movie isn't enough, you tub of sh*t?
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:11:10 PM

Trailer: HOT! me wanna some of that!
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:16:33 PM

"the Weinstein Company believes that more money can be squeezed out of the film."

A Jewish company trying to squeeze more money from their product? What, is this the Twilight Zone?
Inception writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:18:05 PM

I just finish watching it and right now I find out that this was an R-rated film, lol. OK, so what's the big deal with this news; being greedy? Yes. Make an issue about it? No. Whether you want to see it R or PG is up to you; remember you can choose and most importantly the original will not be taken out of market, so chill. But honestly, this is a film that mustn't be re-edited.

Anyways, this film was amazing from beginning to end, I even dare to say that it's superior in every category to TSN, except in the editing category, that's the only award TSN deserves, seriously. Even the score in "The King's Speech" was great. Amazing chemistry between Geoffrey Rush and Colin Firth. They both deserve to win best leading and supporting actor in a role. This film clearly has the potential to win almost every nomination it has, but now with this news, I think it might hurt it's chances.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:26:11 PM

I want to see it, but it sounds so damned boring. A king struggling with a speech impediment just isn't high on my list of plot lines that'll make me have a mental orgasm.
Inception writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:31:08 PM

@ Mink:

lol, give it a shot, it's worth it, it did surprised me a lot, never got bored. I also thought the exact same thing about it, until I saw it for free. How I love the internet.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:32:33 PM

Alright. Sounds good. I ahd some reservations about The Town as well, being an Affleck flick, but it was damned good, so perhaps I'll enjoy this as well.
trailertrash writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:33:49 PM

Thats pretty much how i felt about the movie as well Mink, But my wife watched it last night and she said was very good and didn't think she would have liked it at all.

So i may see it at the weekend ........

Oh wait The Mechanic is out, maybe the week after then lol

Thanks for your opinion on Kings Speech Inception, It's massive here at the minute.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:46:36 PM

Aww, f*ck, the Machanic, and with Statham.

Do I go watch a Statham action film, or do I watch a stellar film with enormous rave, appeal and reviews?

Easy. Statham wins every time.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:47:47 PM

mEchanic....goddamnit.
Inception writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:50:48 PM

@ Mink:

I underestimated "The Town", simply because of Affleck, the guy has been a clown in the past, plus his works have been all garbage, except Dogma (f*ck you Kevin Smith) <--- had to let that one out. But honestly "The Town" gave me a slap right in the face. It was freaking damn good. Now I'm interested in seeing "Gone Baby Gone", hope is good as well. Affleck has some skills behind the camera, did a great job in "The Town". I highly recommend it, plus the ending was icing in the cake.


@TT:

Your welcome buddy.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:04:58 PM

Gone Baby Gone is, IMO, inferior but still decent.

The Town had me actually pausing the damned film because I knew what was coming but I wasn't sure I wanted to see it (the ending shootout).

Even though I knew what would happen, and I knew who would die first (what was with the that one guy, the fourth crew member who NEVER spoke?? lol, I thought he was a mute)the film was still chock full of f*cking ball-tightening tension and suspense.

Yeah, it was very reminiscent of Heat, but so was Takers (inferior to both IMO) and it had lots of great acting, action and a story that reminded me a little of the Departed.

Over all I was very pleased and surprised.

(btw, folks that claim The Town's story is preposterous aren't very bright IMO)
Damon242 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:11:13 PM

This film is R-rated? Really?

Maybe it's just my country that has it under 'M'...
jigsaw23 writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 3:18:40 AM

what f*cking 18 year olds want to see this sh*t
numnut writes:
on January 27th, 2011 at 4:01:25 AM

WTF? In which country(or countries) is this rated R? It's brilliant just the way it is don't f**k it around
thetheeyecreature writes:
on January 28th, 2011 at 9:58:02 PM

Does anybody believe American children don't hear the word "f*ck" on a regular basis? This is a good movie for any age.
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 7:37:01 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved