WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Academy Award Nominees Announced!

Posted: January 25th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Academy Award Nominees Announced!Submit Comment
Nominations for the 83rd Academy Awards have been announced with "The King's Speech" leading with 12 noms, followed by "True Grit" with 10 and "Social Network" with 8.

While "Inception" is in the running for Best Picture, Christopher Nolan was not nominated for Best Director. Meanwhile, James Franco is in the top five for Best Actor for his performance in "127 Hours." Many believe the fact that he's co-hosting the Oscars event, this reduces his chances of winning.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2010 will be presented on Sunday, February 27th and televised live on ABC.

Take a look at the full list of nominations and let us know what you think.

BEST PICTURE:
* Black Swan
* The Fighter
* Inception
* The Kids Are All Right
* The King's Speech
* 127 Hours
* The Social Network
* Toy Story 3
* True Grit
* Winter's Bone

DIRECTING:
* Black Swan (Darren Aronofsky)
* The Fighter (David O. Russell)
* The King's Speech (Tom Hooper)
* The Social Network (David Fincher)
* True Grit (Joel Coen and Ethan Coen)

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Javier Bardem (Biutiful)
* Jeff Bridges (True Grit)
* Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network)
* Colin Firth (The King's Speech)
* James Franco (127 Hours)

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Annette Bening (The Kids Are All Right)
* Nicole Kidman (Rabbit Hole)
* Jennifer Lawrence (Winter's Bone)
* Natalie Portman (Black Swan)
* Michelle Williams (Blue Valentine)

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Christian Bale (The Fighter)
* John Hawkes (Winter's Bone)
* Jeremy Renner (The Town)
* Mark Ruffalo (The Kids Are All Right)
* Geoffrey Rush (The King's Speech)

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Amy Adams (The Fighter)
* Helena Bonham Carter (The King's Speech)
* Melissa Leo (The Fighter)
* Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit)
* Jacki Weaver (Animal Kingdom)

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY:
* 127 Hours (Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy)
* The Social Network (Aaron Sorkin)
* Toy Story 3 (Michael Arndt, John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich)
* True Grit (Joel Coen and Ethan Coen)
* Winter's Bone (Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini)

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY:
* Another Year (Mike Leigh)
* The Fighter (Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy, Eric Johnson, Keith Dorrington, Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson)
* Inception (Christopher Nolan)
* The Kids Are All Right (Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg)
* The King's Speech (David Seidler)

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM:
* Biutiful (Mexico)
* Dogtooth (Greece)
* In a Better World (Denmark)
* Incendies (Canada)
* Outside the Law (Hors-la-loi) (Algeria)

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM:
* How to Train Your Dragon
* The Illusionist
* Toy Story 3

ART DIRECTION:
* Alice in Wonderland
* Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1
* Inception
* The King's Speech
* True Grit

CINEMATOGRAPHY:
* Black Swan (Matthew Libatique)
* Inception (Wally Pfister)
* The King's Speech (Danny Cohen)
* The Social Network (Jeff Cronenweth)
* True Grit (Roger Deakins)

COSTUME DESIGN:
* Alice in Wonderland
* I Am Love
* The King's Speech
* The Tempest
* True Grit

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE:
* Exit through the Gift Shop
* Gasland
* Inside Job
* Restrepo
* Waste Land

FILM EDITING:
* Black Swan
* The Fighter
* The King's Speech
* 127 Hours
* The Social Network

MAKEUP:
* Barney's Version
* The Way Back
* The Wolfman

ORIGINAL SCORE:
* How to Train Your Dragon (John Powell)
* Inception (Hans Zimmer)
* The King's Speech (Alexandre Desplat)
* 127 Hours (A.R. Rahman)
* The Social Network (Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross)

ORIGINAL SONG:
* Coming Home (Country Strong)
* I See the Light (Tangled)
* If I Rise (127 Hours)
* We Belong Together (Toy Story 3)

SOUND MIXING:
* Inception
* The King's Speech
* Salt
* The Social Network
* True Grit

SOUND EDITING:
* Inception
* Toy Story 3
* Tron: Legacy
* True Grit
* Unstoppable

VISUAL EFFECTS:
* Alice in Wonderland
* Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1
* Hereafter
* Inception
* Iron Man 2

DOCUMENTARY SHORT SUBJECT:
* Killing in the Name
* Poster Girl
* Strangers No More
* Sun Come Up
* The Warriors of Qiugang

ANIMATED SHORT FILM:
* Day and Night
* The Gruffalo
* Let's Pollute
* The Lost Thing
* Madagascar, carnet de voyage (Madagascar, a Journey Diary)

LIVE ACTION SHORT FILM:
* The Confession
* The Crush
* God of Love
* Na Wewe
* Wish 143

Source: Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 94 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:28:50 AM

Good to see Jackie Weaver get the oscar nod for supporting actress.

Animal Kingdom is a must watch!
Rambo writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:31:00 AM

James Franco and Hans Zimmer deserve awards for 127 hours and inception.don't really care for the rest.
j-man writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:31:15 AM

jeremy renner for supporting actor and hans zimmer for inceptions score
SACdaddy writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:33:05 AM

Actually looks like a good set of nominees this year. Good to see Black Swan, True Grit, and Inception get their well deserved recognition.
otis writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:38:15 AM

Agree with Rambo and j-man.

Also God of Love for live action short would be nice!
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:43:42 AM

Rambo-Agreed
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:43:51 AM

Where's The Tourist?
Devil writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:46:04 AM

@Rambo

A.R. Rahman did the score for 127 Hours. Hans Zimmer should win.
-Chewy- writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:46:52 AM

Oh god people are going to be pissed when they see that TRON is not even nominated for best special effects......but I'm ok with it.

Anyway, the big winners of the night will be the social network and the king's speech.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:48:57 AM

How the f*ck did Tron Legacy not get nominated for visual effects....
coldplayesence writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:58:18 AM

Just give Mr. Fincher, Mr. Bardem and The Coens their awards and GTFO with your stupid ceremonies.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:14:14 AM

If I have to go with that list then I would pick True Grit for best picture
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:27:57 AM

@Skippy
Is Animal Kingdom that good? I've seen it got great reviews but never seen anyone talk about it yet... I saw its at Redbox and been tempted to get it.

So far looks like the The Town got robbed...

Anyways,

Christian Bale deserves Best Supporting Actor... good god he was phenomenal as d*ckie in The Fighter... sad to see Andrew Garfield didn't even get at least a nomination.

I'd love to see Hailee Steinfeld win for Best Supporting Actress... she shined in True Grit

Also, never saw King Speech but I really hope Colin Firth doesn't win for best actor... I really can't stand the guy... love to see Franco win it as the host!


AYT BALL writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:28:24 AM

Inception, True Grit and 127 Hours should clean up but no doubt kings speech and social network will steal some thunder
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:30:03 AM

Side note...

I think its funny how in my above post... when i wrote christian bales characters name, "D-ickie", it got censored lol
coldplayesence writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:31:03 AM

Ted you're damn right, where the hell is Andrew's nom? Goddamit. Also, why would they pick Alice in Wonderland over Scott Pilgrim for visual effects? AIW looks like EVERY single Burton film.
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:32:53 AM

@Rambo & AYT
Sadly, I've yet to see 127 Hours but I seriously have been wanting to see it since the first trailer aired on here. I heard its expanding to 600 theaters starting the 28th, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it'll be in a theater by me so I can finally see it.
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:34:44 AM

@coldplay

EXACTLY what I'm saying... it doesn't HAVE to win but my god, why couldn't Scott Pilgrim at least get a f*cking nom!?
sc_kg writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:37:49 AM

@Ted
Scott Pilgrim deffinetly deserves an Oscar for editing and sound mix.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:41:29 AM

I said it when I leave the theater, AIW "3D" was a joke, while SP wasn't in 3D but it needed to at least try because if you watch it with open mind, all the text, punches and Ramona's trips could easily nail a good 3D experience. On the other hand, SP in 3D would've pissed off us nerds just because of the sh*tstorm of 3D releases at the time.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:45:18 AM

@sc_kg: And Best Original Song, Beck's Ramona is fantastic.
Schwasted writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:01:15 AM

Toy Story 3 for the win!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:03:24 AM

No Nolan for "Inception" that is a f*cking joke!! And no "TRON:LEGACY" f*ck ME!!

"Inception" better win, Picture, Screenplay and a few of the others to amke up for it.
thomas deadison writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:09:06 AM

Glad Winter's Bone snuck in there.
p3rfect writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:19:26 AM

Wow, Inception isn't nom for best director? WOWWWWWWWWWWWW

Scott Pilgrim should get best special effects or best film editing.

Hereafter beat Scott pilgrim for visual effects? LOL WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:21:21 AM

No Daft Punk nomination for Tron Legacy, The music in that movie Kicked Ass ....

Ted -

127 hour, Really good movie well worth tracking it down somwhere to see it.

Little let down by Scott Pilgrim though, only thought that was ok.
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:24:55 AM

Only seen 3 of the best picture nomination's this year, Inception, toy Story 3 and 127 hours

True Grit aside i can take or leave the ones i haven't seen.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:27:57 AM

Oh man you guys should see the NolanFans boards. They're ready to riot. Chris probably should be in for Best Director but hey. The performances and characters were lacking in comparison to the other films and that's his job. Gosling could have at least got a nod, he was great in Blue Valentine. Not even going to get started on Legacy VFX snub.
rockinfreakshow writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:28:13 AM

Well i feel besides Hans Zimmer's score, DAFT PUNK's original score for Tron Legacy is the best I've come across this year!!
darkraven28 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:29:53 AM

So, you give Inception nods for Picture, Screenplay, Art Direction, Cinematography, Score, Sound Mixing, Sound Editing, and ViFX, but NOT FOR f*ckING BEST DIRECTOR? DESPITE THE FACT THAT INCEPTION CAME ENTIRELY FROM THE MIND OF CHRISTOPHER NOLAN AND THAT IT WOULDN'T EVEN HAVE EXISTED HAD NOLAN NOT THOUGHT IT UP? Well, f*ck you, Academy! At this point, I feel that the Academy is like an invalid patient that is incoherent and sh*ts itself all the time. You have no f*cking idea what you're doing. This is even worse than when Gladiator won best picture while Ridley Scott got screwed for director. At least he's been nominated 3 times.
AYT BALL writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:37:20 AM

@ Ted - As Trailer said 127 hours is a great movie, just been talking to a few work mates about it, its surprising how many people had hope for the main character....

POSSIBLE SPOILER....




Despite knowing the real story behind it! to me that just goes to show the talent of Mr Boyle as a director, to create tension and suspense when we already know the outcome.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:37:47 AM

Oddly I find The Social Networks calm and moody score more satisfaying than Inception's, maybe because it sounds like Batman.
thegambit72 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:50:37 AM

f*cking HereAfter beat out Scott Pilgrim for the Oscar nom. WTF!! You know the only reason hereafter is even nominated for anything is cause it has Clint Eastwood's f*cking name on it
Bigcheese writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 12:04:36 PM

Ok, good one Oscars. Putting Alice in Wonderland over Tron Legacy for effects and not having Christopher Nolan nominated for directing.Nice to know they don't recongnise AMAZING directing and Amazing effects.
Bigcheese writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 12:05:36 PM

Also, not Scott Pilgrim for editing and adapted screenplay? WTF?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 12:15:49 PM

Just noticed that myself..

NO SCOTT PILGRIM!!!

f*ck YOU ACADEMY!!!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 12:31:30 PM

As long as Toy Story 3, Natalie Portman, James Franco, & True Grit (for anything) win Ill be happy
Bunny X writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:04:26 PM

I will call it now. Inception will ONLY get the Oscar for best visual effects.
the fact that Nolan's not up for Director and it's a short list annoys me.
I would love to see Javier Bardem and Biutiful win their respective categories. That film was outstanding.
Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:05:51 PM

And no Nolan for Best Director?

Just another reason I won't watch The Oscar's again this year.

Keep your f*cked politics and shove 'em up yer ass!
Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:09:27 PM

RE: James Franco...

'Many believe the fact that he's co-hosting the Oscars event, this reduces his chances of winning.'

Why should it?

f*cking political joke!


TRUEMAN writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:16:14 PM

WTF What is this sh*t no tron music f*ck hollycrap! and the social network is sooo boring f*ck the oscars!
highdefw writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:42:12 PM

wow... Where's Nolan for best director and Tron for VFX???

Zimmer better win best score.
triggax writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:51:58 PM

Haha.. Nice to see the Wolfman of all things get an oscar nomination..

Way to go Jeff Bridges, although I would love to see you win.

Its a competition between Firth and Franco this year.
p3rfect writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 2:08:15 PM

How the F*CK did Hereafter get best special effects nom, but TRON LEGACY DIDN"T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!???

Nolan didn't get best director nom? WTF MOTHER_____
bill the butcher writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 2:23:07 PM

jacki weaver was scary and realistic
hailee steinfeld was smart and lovable
she shines in that film..
john hawkes was a surprise nomination but he was atrue standout in winters bone
bardem gave a fearless performance
if jeff bridges wins best actor he will be only the third actor in oscar history to win 2 years in a row
spencer tracy did it in 1939
and tom hanks did it in 1995

i am very angry to see noomi rapace snubbed
and the best foreign film should have recognised girl dragon tattoo lebanon white material soul kitchen

jon hamm was amazing in the town
his performance was more interesting
than jeremy renner i have to say
bill the butcher writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 2:26:49 PM

dicaprio gave 2 amazing performances
shutter island inception

solitary man
was michael douglas best performance
since wonder boys

tom hardy was my favourite part of inception
i know he was not the kind of performance that wins the oscar but if they nominate downey jr tropic thunder and give marisa tomei the award my cousin vinny they could at least give tom hardy a nomination

not to mention
ben mendelsohn
best supporting actor
animal kingdom


pete postlethwaite the town
happileperkon writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 2:29:02 PM

where the hell is nolan for best director?? cmon people
Damon242 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 2:52:46 PM

Nolan deserved a best director nomination. There's no arguing that.

And I am surprised about Tron failing to get a nomination for 'best visual effects'.
technoreaper writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 3:16:54 PM

The Academy Awards is a joke.

Have any of you seen Animal Kingdom? It's the most overrated film since Hurt Locker. I had heard a woman in the movie was getting raves for her performance, but I couldn't even spot any exceptional acting performances in the movie.

Then there's Black Swan. I know a lot of you hate Armond White, but there were bits and pieces of his review that correctly called that movie out for what it was. It's pretty much what I already concluded about Darren Aronofsky.
MovieQueen87 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 3:36:16 PM

Uh, besides Nolan getting screwed over for directing, anyone notice in Doc*mentary how "Waiting For Superman" isn't nominated? WTF?
Kurskij writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:05:12 PM

@Skippy

I'm paticularly happy for her and John Hawkes.

Weaver was absolutely staggering in "Animal Kingdom" and Hawkes, being an amazing actor, a natural, was always overlooked
Kurskij writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:12:38 PM

@trig

Yeah, it's a two horse race.

But something tells me the Academy may think that Firth is "due" and Franco is "young, talented and meh, his day will come"
Rambo writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:29:07 PM

maybe its a good thing nolan isn't nominated.it will motivate him to make even better movies then what he did so far.good for us :-)
clydefamous writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:41:09 PM

@MovieQueen87

Yeah, its strange "Waiting for Superman" got snubbed. the Doc*mentary category should have been expanded, but oh well. Oscar likes to jerk off to the best pics.

I'm not worried over Nolan getting no Director love.
FBO writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:43:51 PM

My Picks (not that it matters)

Best Picture - Inception
Director - the Coen Brothers
Actor - James Franco
Actress - Michelle Williams
Supporting Actor - Jemerey Renner
Supporting Actress - Hailee Steinfeld
Animated Film - How to Train Your Dragon

*Disclaimer*
I havent seen The King's Speech yet
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:46:26 PM

I've never understood people trying to live vicariously through the successes of strangers.

You humans are very, very odd little creatures.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:16:13 PM

That and you have very, very small genitals.
secondbest writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:41:26 PM

Damn, I keep forgetting they allow 10 noms for best picture. It will probably be The Social Network but Black Swan could always pull an upset. It's always good to see Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross up there. It would be so awesome if they won.
Evil_Disco writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:44:09 PM

I PREDICT:

BEST PICTURE: The Social Network

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE: James Franco (127 Hours) --- (Haven't seen Colin Firth in 'The King's Speech' yet!)

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE: Natalie Portman (Black Swan)

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE: Christian Bale (The Fighter) eller Jeremy Renner (The Town)

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE: Melissa Leo (The Fighter)

DIRECTING: David Fincher (The Social Network)

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY: Christopher Nolan (Inception)

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY: Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)

Bästa originalmusik: Trent Reznor och Atticus Rose (The Social Network)

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM: Toy Story 3

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM: Hämnden (In a Better World) (Denmark)
Evil_Disco writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:46:13 PM

CORRECTION!:

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE: Christian Bale (The Fighter)
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:40:35 PM

TSN for Best Picture, Inception for all the art/sound/ and cinematography awards. The rest can f*ck off, especially all the animated garbage (since when did full-length cartoons get such notoriety?)

See, I do have an opinion on the Academy Awards.
Daigoro writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:40:57 PM

Animal Kingdom was so slow and boring it ain't funny, heard all the reviews Jackie Weaver was getting so i paid close attention to her during the whole film and she does nothing at all the whole movie then ten minutes from the end she livens up a little! and that deserves an award? lol
White Noise writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:50:17 PM

No Shutter Island for acting or cinematography? Very disappointed.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:06:58 PM

The Academy apparently got enough of Lehane with Gone Baby Gone and Msytic River. Either that or they hate Scorsese.

But, instead, IMO Shutter Island was a lackluster film based on a lackluster Dennis Lehane novel. The should stop making his books into films. They're all very, very boring, pretentious and maudlin.

And I think Shutter Island's end was supposed to shock us (oooh, trick ending, it's the Sixth Sense all over again), but I was like "eh, who gives a Che?".
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:24:54 PM

I hate that Ryan Gosling isnt nominated. That sucks tbh. I hope Zimmer wins, and i REALLY hope Bale wins.

And i believe that "Social Network" was the best it could be, but that doenst make it the best movie of the year or even a good movie. The Fighter was better, Blue Valentine was better, Black Swan was better....

and....Inception was better IMHO!
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:26:57 PM

True Grit is sh*t, not b/c anyone involved in the movie did a bad job, I think it was actually produced in quite a high quality...but it just so happens to be based on a sh*t book. Charles Portis can't write for sh*t and the original story of which it's based sucks camel d*ck. If you want to see a good western, 3:10 To Yuma remake...Ben Foster is the sh*t in the film.

Also I found 127 Hours to be extraordinarily average
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:27:11 PM

Not a huge fan of TSN, but it was a brilliantly crafted film.

Inception was a well-made action Matrix-wanna-be movie, but it's construction isn't exceptional or uniquely brilliant.

But then again, the Hollywood love for TSN could be based on their proclivities for class strife, and there was lots of that in TSN.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:28:17 PM

Inception deserves the most wins, but I'd be happy with The Social Network as well...that was master crafted
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:28:19 PM

3:10 to Yuma was good. And Buried sucked balls. Not on the list, just wanted to express that sentiment.
masht7 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:32:28 PM

TRON Legacy not on 'Visual Effects', WTF?!!!!!!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:36:47 PM

^^Tron should be nommed, but no win. Nothing groundbreaking there, no matter how much money Disney threw at it.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:41:37 PM

Where are all the Nicolas Cage nominations? You know, best actor, best effects, best hair? I mean, he had like twenty films out in 2010, so by just sheer numbers he should have at least ONE nomination.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:42:30 PM

They must have shipped HIS ballots over to the Razzies.

In an 18-wheeler.
Inception writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:56:50 PM

They could have gotten at least an average comedian to host, instead of these 2 plastic dumb f*cks.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:01:13 PM

Yeah, they should have got Judd Apatow and Ricky Gervais to host.
Inception writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:02:39 PM

and a pair of boxing gloves.
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:15:22 PM

Hans Zimmer's score was great, but it wasn't very original. Some of it sounded like the work he did in Sherlock Holmes and CoD: Moder Warfare 2. My money's on Trent Reznor's score for The Social Network.
Inception writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:30:24 PM

@Mink:

Another roast by Gervais would have been great. But the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences are not even good at picking hosts anymore.
Lowryder writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:39:56 PM

im VERY happy to not see any movies with "Twilight" in the title on that list. On another note, James Franco should DEFINITELY win the oscar for best actor in a leading role.

Oh and Toy Story 3 should...i mean WILL win best animated feature film.

Nuff Said.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:43:22 PM

Inception:

"and a pair of boxing gloves."

lol. Or just give Gervais a monkey with a gun.

"Another roast by Gervais would have been great. But the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences are not even good at picking hosts anymore"

Yeah, their host picking and my nose picking produce the same thing: lots of snot.

Codeman: If you hadn't noticed, EVERY Zimmer tune sounds a lot like every other Zimmer tune.

In fact, the Broken Arrow soundtrack sounds like twelve or so very close variations on the same f*cking song.

Though I admit he did better on Inception.
masht7 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:45:52 PM

I'm surprised 'Black Swan' isn't nominated for Best Costume Design. I'm glad Jeremy Renner is going for an Oscar again. And also Wally Pfister is getting another Cinematography nom again, he needs one at some point because his work is the best of the best.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:54:50 PM

What made Animal Kingdom so good was that it was loosley based on a crime family. Matriarch and cops killings and all!

c-prime writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:08:16 PM

"The King's Speech" or "True Grit" should grab Best Picture. The actors in those two films are my hopefuls for Best Actor, also, though Bridges doesn't stand as much of a chance since he won last year (kind of makes me wish the Academy had held out just a while longer on giving him the prize - "True Grit" was leagues above "Crazy Heart"). Both Supporting Actor categories rightfully belong to Christian Bale and Melissa Leo for "The Fighter". As for Best Actress, for the love of God, anybody but Natalie Portman - "Black Swan" was utter garbage.

Oh, and Jesse Eisenberg getting a nod is pretty much a travesty. I don't mind his acting - he certainly chooses better films and has just a teensy bit more range than his pasty doppelganger Michael Cera, but that still ain't saying a hell of a lot. His performance in "The Social Network" was not even remotely different from any that he's given in all his preceding work - frankly, I don't believe the movie deserved any nominations for acting. The Academy manages to astound me every year with some of its selections.
technoreaper writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:10:21 PM

@The Skippy Spartan, seriously? A real crime family? You mean a bunch of bogan trash. There wasn't much about the family that indicated to the audience they were serious criminals. They look like your average bloke that you'd meet in Australia. Stop drinking the Kool-Aid.

@Daigoro, completely agree with you. It's overrated because critics think Australians don't know how to make a movie. Heck, they might be surprised that they can form sentences.
technoreaper writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:12:28 PM

@c-prime, I agree about Eisenberg, but seriously, what the heck, you know? I thought he gave a pretty entertaining performance. I don't think he has much of a future in Hollywood, but the few roles he has taken part in were pretty good.
c-prime writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:47:14 PM

@ technoreaper: I agree wholeheartedly. "The Social Network" was a very entertaining movie...but that's really about it. I have no problem with Jesse Eisenberg and found him and the rest of the cast of the film to have played their parts very effectively, but I would never have guessed that his Mark Zuckerberg would actually register to Academy voters as one of the best performances of the year (or any of his roles, for that matter). I'm simply baffled that somebody would consider his performance comparable to Jeff Bridges's take on Rooster Cogburn or Colin Firth's portrayal of King George VI - it's not even in the same league as those, or really even James Franco's. Typically, the roles those actors choose tend to show a greater degree of distinction from the ones they've played before. Eisenberg, however, will be playing the same uptight, acerbic nerd presumably for the rest of his career. That's what really aggravates me - to say that his performance in the Fincher movie is better than the identical performances he gave in, say "The Squid and the Whale", "Adventureland", "Zombieland" (what's with all the "-land" movies?), and etc. doesn't really make a whole lot of sense.


Make no mistake, I did not dislike "The Social Network" - quite the contrary, actually. There was no shortage of trash that came out last year, and that movie was definitely a welcome respite from the excremental monotony. And I will extoll the talents of David Fincher for many years to come. But I feel that the Academy is making up for many years of excluding him from the ceremony, which he has richly deserved acknowledgement from on numerous occasions. I mean, let's be honest: nobody can tell me "The Social Network" was a better movie than "Se7en" or "Fight Club". (I know nobody's suggesting that, but I'm just putting it in perspective.) It's certainly a well crafted piece of work, as Fincher flicks have always been. And again, taking the barrage of horrible flicks released in 2010, I would happily label it as ONE OF THE BEST films of the year, but it is NOT, by any means, THE BEST. The Best Picture nomination is justified, but I don't think it should win - I'll be rooting for "True Grit" or, what would stand an even better chance to win, "The King's Speech".
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:23:59 AM

@minkowski How about that piece of music from The Rock, or as it's now known the Pirates Of The Caribbean main theme? Lol!
BobMcBob writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:31:55 AM

this officially proves that jews run hollywood: david o. russell and the coen borthers over christopher nolan?
BobMcBob writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:31:56 AM

this officially proves that jews run hollywood: david o. russell and the coen borthers over christopher nolan?
Flav writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 1:19:54 AM

Bardem>Gosling?? Biggest snub. Bardem was really good in Biutiful but Gosling was better. And Nolan must be pleased, another day relaxing in cabo for CN.
Flav writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 1:23:51 AM

@FBO I havent seen The King's Speech yet

Big problem: Firth was amazing in this. I'm 100% certain he'll win. Franco was good, but nowhere the level of Firth.

Daigoro writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 4:07:43 AM

@The Skippy Spartan

That's why I found Jackie Weaver's performance so ordinary, because i knew it was just a Judy Moran knock off!
jigsaw23 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:08:32 AM

as always a bunch of sh*t will win or blah. nolan needs best directorm ton legacy needs visual effects, and of course it is the globes all over again nut with another name, and social network will win when there are better things and wait the social network wouldnt even be this big if it wasnt for fincher. other than all this the list is fine.but at least twilight is not on there.
whoever writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 9:28:20 AM

I hope Jacki Weaver wins for Animal Kingdom. Best film of the year!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved