WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Captain America" Title Changed in Foreign Countries

Posted: January 25th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Captain America" Title Changed in Foreign CountriesSubmit Comment
While there are no issues with naming a movie "Captain America: The First Avenger" in the US, leaving the title the way it is in foreign markets may hurt box office results.

Marvel has learned that audiences in South Korea, Russia and Ukraine will never go for a movie with the words "Captain America" in the title, so the studio has been forced to change the name to simply "First Avenger."

Surprisingly, many other country is so familiar with the "Captain America" comic books that there's no need to change anything. Instead, Marvel will rely on the brand to make the film a hit around the world.

Director Joe Johnston previously revealed that selling the film to foreign markets has always been an issue, which is why he made the movie an international story. "[Captain America] wants to serve his country, but hes not this American flag-waver," he said. "The idea is not about America so much as it is about the spirit of doing the right thing. It's about what makes America great and what makes the rest of the world great too."

Click here to read more about "Captain America: The First Avenger."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jigsaw23 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:53:18 AM

well at least im in america either way i dont give a f*ck, wait i do because joe johnson is the director oh sh*t.
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:09:51 AM

Kurskij-

Will you be seeing this now My friend ??? lol
johnny_boy writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:11:21 AM

Makes sense. They hate America. But if disaster were to happen, America would be willing to send relief over to those dam countries. Oh yeah once North Korea goes to war with South Korea, I'm sure they'll be calling US for support. Yeah they don't want America in the title cuz we are bad people.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:13:12 AM

Kudos to the other countries who don't care about "America" in the title. Shows some class and brains.
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:14:31 AM

So taking the "Captain America" out of the title will make the Russians and South Koreans go rushing to the cinema will it !!

Will they be dubbing his name out of the whole movie as well while they are at ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:38:28 AM

Well f*cking GAY!!!


I say f*ck those countries, release it with the name anyway, word of mouth will either kill the movie or make it a box office winner.
boogiel writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:15:10 AM

I wonder what the title will be when this movie is played in Iran.
biniwoo writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:32:09 AM

This is news? That's been official since forever!

I'm from Spain and here it will be called The First Avenger. So lame...
technoreaper writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:24:48 AM

HAHAHAHA.
Rambo writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:45:46 AM

in my country it's called:'Joe Johnston can't direct for sh*t'
markoz writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:00:51 AM

Idiots
Devil writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:23:14 AM

Just taking his name out of the title won't make them go see it. They will also have to blur his costume and beep his name. Another dumb move by Marvel.
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:53:52 AM

Like we didn't see this coming... After what Team America did to Kim Jong-Il hahaha
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:55:50 AM

Also I agree, its pretty bogus to drop the character name in the title that'd be like changing X-Men: First Class to:

First Class?

sounds like a lame ass elementary school movie?
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:16:46 AM

Thank god they changed the name. now instead of making 300 mil

it will make 300 mil US
2,000,000,000,000,000 Hryvnia
Rambo writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:19:00 AM

outrages news:Academy ignores Christopher Nolan and leaves him out of 'best director' nominee.
Rambo writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:22:52 AM

full list of nominees:

http://www.imdb.com/features/oscars/2011/nominations
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:47:31 AM

f*ck it, it'll bomb anyways.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:53:03 AM

Hey Joe Johnston

I gave him a name months ago

CAPTAIN COMMUNIST
coldplayesence writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:53:27 AM

Was Captain Failure already taken? What about Captain Bomb? No. Well just leave it in Piece of Crap then.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 9:54:39 AM

Im not seeing this

I hope Captain Communist bombs at the box office

An American idea yet we have to change it

Do you think other countries would do this?

No
warlord writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:40:57 AM

f*ck RUSSIA KOREA UKRAINE ITS ""CAPTAIN AMERICA"" GET OVER IT.... HOLLYWOOD STOP BEING A p*ssy!!! YOU BUNCH OF LEFT WING CANDY ASS HOLES ITS TIME TO TELL THE WORLD THE USA AINT TAKEINF ANY MORE sh*t
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:54:45 AM

warlord

Im with you
lebowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:33:02 AM

i am not an american neither i have a problem with americans but first of all let me say that ithink that most people on this place knew that the titled would be changed,same thing happened the fourth die hard here its called die hard 4.0 and tell you the truth i like it better than the american title.same thing about captain america ,i d ruther call the movie first avenger sounds better to me ,like the dark knight and i am not saying that it will be as good,far from it.anyway people who are going to watch this movie are going to watch this movie they are not going to be tricked if you change the title.still first avenger sounds way cooler than captain america to me .just an opinion no disrespect for the americans here.
SaulSilver writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:36:49 AM

We've all known they were going to do this for a while now. The real surprising thing here is that it's only in Three countries. I would have thought it'd be many more.

Will it make sense for those countries when they never even come close to using the phrase "First Avenger" in the entire movie? Are they going to dub over everytime someone says "Captain America" and make it say "First avenger"? If so, I'd like to get that version just for the comedy value of that.
rocketman writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 11:55:59 AM

So no chance of a Captain Britain movie then?

How does it feel America to be the New British Empire? To be regarded as evil around the world?
Word of advice....f*ck EM!
Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:03:36 PM

So, no Captain Canuck eventually?

Just: 'Big Guy in Red & White Suit!'

http://joeshusterawards.files.wordpress.com/2009/02/captain-canuck.jpg
Koagel writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:33:45 PM

In Germany the Title is changed to "Red Skull vs.Enemy of the State"
rocketman writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:53:03 PM

Captain France i guess would work better as Captain Surrender Monkey.I'd pay to see that reverse gear mother f*cker.
JRprime writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 2:48:43 PM

this article really needs to be proofread
Phil writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 3:57:59 PM

Captain Yankee
Kurskij writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:33:22 PM

@tt

First Avenger... If that's true (which I doubt considering how our distributors tend to rape original names of movies) - then it will be called (read it aloud, boys and girls!)

*Perviy Mstitel'*

Makes no f@cking sense if you ask me - I'm not really into comic books - but I'm familiar with Cap since childhood and I kinda doubt it will push people away.

I for one will definitely check it out - even if only for laughs.

Even if they'll call it "Captain USSR" *not to scare away potential viewers" lol.

minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:36:49 PM

"but hes not this American flag-waver,"

Uh. Huh. Because he isn't dressed from head to to toe in a gigantic American flag.

And I can understand Russia no wanting to have th US rubbed all over its big ugly facist face, but the Ukraine? Didn't we help them out by standing up to the Nazi's that trashed the place, by helping push over the USSR, you know, the big ugly nation that starved millions of Ukrainians to death?

And South Korea, really, what did we do to you but save your rice paddy pile of sh*t nation from the Communists, with our own blood I might add, just so you could enjoy a very high quality of life?
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:37:48 PM

I hear they plan to rename the film 'The Great Satan'.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:50:25 PM

this is such bull sh*t ...
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:17:28 PM

mink

agree with both your posts
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:33:38 PM

Thanks Crazyhorse.

Since when did America become the force for evil in the world? I admit, we have many, many problems here, and we often do things that aren't perhaps the best for our image, but would these people have preferred the USSR to have 'won' the Cold War?

Would they prefer to have Saddam Hussein still throwing people into plastic shredders? Would the South Korean prefer to live like their northern brothers?

And what the hell did we do to the Ukrainians? What, did we not do enough during the Orange Revolution? I'm confused.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:42:37 PM

In Russia, they re-titled the film 'Crappin' on America'. f*ckin' commies.
elrei writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:43:17 PM

well to be sincere.. America is the WHOLE continent, from Canada to Argentina... So it's should be Captain North America or Captain USA or whatever.
rabid writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:51:27 PM

this news is over a year old. We've known this for a long time.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:12:21 PM

"well to be sincere.. America is the WHOLE continent, from Canada to Argentina... So it's should be Captain North America or Captain USA or whatever."

You mean to say you're speaking truthfully, not with sincerity.

But 'America' is a very well known synonym for the United States, and I think the originators or Captain American were using that synonym (sounds good, right? Better than Captain United States?), not offering up a geography lesson.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:14:50 PM

"this news is over a year old. We've known this for a long time."

We've known they would change the title, but not to what they would change the title.

But you are correct. Kind of. This precise news was widely reported more than two days ago.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:22:13 PM

This is like James Bond being changed to CIA agent James Bond

If they did that I wouldnt watch

Why would I watch some crap that has been altered
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:24:17 PM

How about linking the article Alex?

http://dailycaller.com/2011/01/23/hollywood-worries-captain-america-title-will-offend-foreign-audiences/

Joe Johnston had this to say:

Its an international cast and an international story, the director continued."

f*ck YOU *sshole! What makes America great is AMERICA, you c*cksucking one-man United Nations cornholer. f*ck you and this f*cking sh*t film.

"Its about what makes America great and what make the rest of the world great too.

Because the rest of the world looks like America. Right, dumb sh*t?

The only places worth a f*ck are places the Brits colonized, the rest is a festering open wound that needs the sanitizing bleach of a nuclear bombardment.

(with the exception of Europe. You guys still rock. Except you, France.)

So it's ok to be a flaming homosexual, f*cking men and potentially spreading AIDS, but patriotism is just wrong?

Brokenback Mounting is ok, but Captain America is verboten?

f*ck this world.
Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:49:26 PM

@rocket - 'Captain France i guess would work better as Captain Surrender Monkey.I'd pay to see that reverse gear mother f*cker.'

I almost fell outta my chair!!!
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 7:53:59 PM

That WAS f*cking funny as hell. Especially the reverse gear motherf*cker part.
Inception writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:01:22 PM

nothing new, that was something expected to happen.
Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:03:17 PM

@Mink - I'm still laughing over his post!
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:27:18 PM

Yeah, still laughing my ass off too.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:08:17 AM

@boogiel In the Middle East it will probably be called Captain Infidel and cinema goers will be given a bag of shoes each so they can throw a shoe at the screen every time "Captain Infidel" appears.
rocketman writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 1:40:17 AM

HAHA cheers lads
And as for the US being 'EVIL' blame the CIA,the pull a lot of sh*t in other countrys,give you guys a bad name.Brits do it too but on a smaller scale. Israel doesn't help either,causes too much bother for a tiny country and they get away with it because the US backs them up.Everyone allways hates the guy on top,f*ck em like i say ;)
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 7:54:00 AM

Captain Underpants
Goober3000 writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 8:46:17 AM

should it just be called "Captain Politicaly Correct"?
rabid writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 1:39:27 PM

No, it was reported on other comicnews sites before Comicon last year. People even brought it up in the Marvel Q and A.
Salvador writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 5:10:09 PM

In Mexico there is no problem with the title, "Captain America" is how we know this hero.

Anyway is just a movie about a supercomic hero. No faith in Johnston though. This film will bomb.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved