WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Judd Apatow Trashes Ricky Gervais at PGA Awards

Posted: January 25th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Judd Apatow Trashes Ricky Gervais at PGA AwardsSubmit Comment
We recently reported that Jennifer Lopez threatened Ricky Gervais during Golden Globes out of fear that he would make fun of her. Now during the PGA Awards, director Judd Apatow (Knocked Up, 40 Year Old Virgin) revealed that Gervais was incredibly inappropriate, despite the fact that most celebrities enjoyed the jokes he made about them.

"I didn't like him. I thought he was mean," said Apatow. "He had that joke about the guy on 'Lost.' He said he ate everybody else. Let's be honest - Ricky Gervais just lost weight. Even now he's four pounds away from not being allowed to do a joke like that. Did he lose weight just to make fat jokes?"

Apatow also didn't like the jokes about "The Tourist," stating: "[Gervais] says the characters were two-dimensional. Then he says he hasn't seen 'The Tourist.' So as a comedian, that's not fair, is it? To make jokes about a movie you havenít seen. I can't do a joke about [Gervais' movie] 'The Invention of Lying' because I haven't seen it. You haven't seen it. None of us have seen it. So the joke would not work."

He also defended Cher, Hugh Hefner, Tom Cruise, Robert Downey Jr and Tim Allen. "[Gervais] made a joke about Tim Allen who was standing next to Tom Hanks," said Apatow. "Tim Allen did 200 episodes of 'Home Improvement.' He was in three of the highest grossing movies of all time (Toy Story). And his latest just crossed the one billion mark. Whereas 'The Invention Of Lying' made $18 million dollars worldwide. Leave Tim Allen alone."

Source: Yahoo!


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:07:44 PM

Apatow, I love ya, but chill out. I laughed more during the Golden Globes than I did during Funny People, bite your tongue before you end up like Kevin Smith
jgrantt18 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:08:58 PM

Is the comedy writer (at least he claims to be even though his movies aren't funny) really mad at the comedian for making jokes?
Aaron writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:10:21 PM

People can stick up for themselves, but props to Apatow for being well spoken about it.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:29:03 PM

Judd Apatow Trashes Ricky Gervais at PGA Awards ... just because your a lousy former standup...
No.

Won't go there.

Hey Judd,

why don't you worry less about Ricky, which can make me laugh and
writing AND directing a good comedy, since you CAN'T make me laugh, you Hiemie motherf*cker.
Ranger writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:37:53 PM

Thx. for saving my having to post that.
Ranger writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:39:20 PM

"I didn't like him. I thought he was mean," said Apatow.

So?

Your mother is a whore.
trucvylucky852 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:43:20 PM

wow lost loooooooooots of respect for JEWD
johnny_boy writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:45:03 PM

Yeah he's criticizing him. That's rich. Least Gervais can get his own work on his own merits, unlike Apatows wife, who he puts in all his movies cuz no one else will hire her. If it wasn't for Knocked Up and 40 year old virgin, which he seemed to luck out on, nobody would watch all his dumb ass upcoming films. IE get him to the Greek and funny people.
Ranger writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 11:04:54 PM

I can't see Judd's problem here.

At least Gervais didn't come out with a joke like:

'Jews... they plump when you cook 'em!'
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 11:12:25 PM

who gives a f*ck?

The man was pretty much roasting people? This is turning into high school bullsh*t drama about "he said... she said..." Ricky Gervais made me laugh but does it actually make me think what he say is 100% truthful? NO. He's a f*cking comedian. He can pretty much say anything he wants about anyone!

Also a side note, I'm pretty sure he has the one of the funniest laughs ever lol
bandolero999 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 11:12:50 PM

so two of the biggest douchebags on hollywood (JHO and Jewd Appatow)cant take simple jokes why is that cause he is telling them the truth and they cant seem to handle it?
bandolero999 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 11:20:23 PM

I've never heard of this dude but since he likes to make fun of people I hate im gonna look up his comedy
jdl107 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 11:59:57 PM

Thank you Ted Mosby, I respect a person who has reason.

But I guess I'm denying that above statement, maybe. By saying that this motherf*cker acts like he's the Francis Ford Coppola of comedy, or something. He's made three movies, one wasn't even funny and... it was boring.

Not to mention, you're first movie was f*ckin' munched up by Wedding Crashers. You're second, eh, it held records right? Until the Hangover came by and sh*t out your movie. Then your third made what, 50 million domestically? Think before you wanna talk like you're some kind of box office mogul. Funny People's performance was laughable, you pretentious bastard.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 12:28:17 AM

Apatow is less funny than Gervais so I can't understand why anyone would care
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 12:33:27 AM

You would think being that Funny People has "funny" in the title it would at least be a little humorous, yet no...this Jew needs to be strip searched for valuables along with Winona Rider and slow cooked in a nice authentic German oven
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 12:34:34 AM

Oops, was that anti-semetic?
Sinestro writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 12:56:28 AM

Ok, please don't kill me.

I'm not siding with Apatow here, not fully, but I see his point, to some extent. I mean, I love Ricky, I think he's incredibly funny in his stand-ups, never really holds back, and the Office and Extras are fantastic. But, on the other hand, he was a sloppy fat bastard, so maybe he should chill on the fat jokes a bit. I can see how someone may find that hypocritical. The same may go for making of a movie, if you haven't seen it. I mean, as a comedian, why would he want to base his jokes on what people are saying as opposed to his own opinion, especially someone as fearlessly opinionated as Ricky. And the Tim Allen thing, I honestly don't know what the deal is, I don't watch these shows, but if he called him a has been or a never was, then that's somewhat fair, but not so much considering he is Buzz Lightyear and that is an incredibly successful and iconic character and he had a pretty successful TV show. And yea, Ricky's movie didn't really hit it out of the park either. I'm not saying Ricky should hold back and conform to Hollywood's pussified attitude, but that he can be cruel and awful in more creative ways.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:26:25 AM

@ted- nice one mate.

Judd Apatow needs a comedy check, his movie "Funny People" wasn't funny at all.

rocketman writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:32:17 AM

Bo ho hooo they are picking on my Hollywood bumboys..f*cking sycophant.
Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 2:20:24 AM

@Ted & The Herpes... nice.

Just saw on TMZ that Gervais made fun of gay Scientologists... they caught up with Travolta and it didn't even phase him. He just said it was like a roast. So if Travolta can take it on the chin (ie: man spooch), maybe J-Ho and unfunny Judd can each take it in the ass.
Kurskij writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 2:34:58 AM

"Did he lose weight just to make fat jokes?"

Judd, were you born jewish just to make jew jokes?

f*cking Kevin Smith-syndrome...



trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 3:05:46 AM

Ricky's a Genius, that would have been a much better ending for LOST... Bravo Sir
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 3:10:14 AM

Judd is just pissed Ricky thought he was Yusuf Islam backstage thats all...
pH0u57 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:23:50 AM

what a whiny bitch..
nope.com writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:59:23 AM

His fug ass wife must wake up every morning and resist the urge to puke looking at him with that super brown nose of his
shayhiri writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:12:01 AM

And this Apatow is a comedy writer?! Ahahhah, bitch's got no sense of humor whatsoever, judging by his incredibly stupid remarks here.

ONE rule of thumb: if you're not smarter than your opponent, just shut the f*ck up, cause you'll only make a fool of yourself. Just like here. Ricky won't say a word about Apatow and still the stupid Jew made himself appear so much dumber than him.
SondrMan writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:17:16 AM

Leave Tim Allen alone.. LEAVE HIM ALONE!!

Jeez.. what a crybaby!
shayhiri writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:18:26 AM

Aahahhahah, just googled an image of Judy. OMG, he looks HORRENDOUS! I've seen other Jews, but this is just ridiculous. And to think people say Seth is ugly!! Mr. Rogen is a male model compared to his pal!
shayhiri writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:57:19 AM

Now that I think of it, while still looking at his photos in amazed distrust, Apatow's NOSE oughta have a bigger ego than Apatow himself!! I mean, by the looks of it...

I dunno, maybe Apatow should start giving his NOSE some minor roles in all his future movies. Then - MAJOR roles, appropriate for its stature.

Otherwise his nose might become a bit too jealous of Apatow's wife and one good morning suffocate him (or BOTH) to death!

P.S.: See, I can be as smart as Apatow - and I'm about a million times better looking. :) So I'm allowed to make fun of him.
AYT BALL writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:03:37 AM

Apatow wants some big stars in his movies it would seem, hence the hollywood as kissing, grow up and take a f*cking joke! and as for giving Gervais sh*t for not seeing the tourist....which lead to his joke about no one seeing it.....didnt you just throw the same joke back at Gervais Mr Aptow?
leezy84 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:03:41 AM

well if they were insulted by ricky gervais who i think is hilarious, then i wish FRANKIE BOYLE would host the golden globes then they would be in for a treat.
AYT BALL writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:05:02 AM

Aw Judd....

http://backseatcuddler.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/apatow_new.jpg
Devil writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 8:28:33 AM

Gervais was awesome. He should do this award once again and rape Jennifer Lopez in front of her "fighter" husband. The only thing that I agree with Judd is that he shouldn't have dissed Buzz Lightyear. Leave Tim Allen alone.
AYT BALL writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 10:30:53 AM

@ leezy84 - Frankie would have been shot dead by secret service! lol
acreshakers writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 12:34:05 PM

f*ck off Apatow!! It's called comedy, he was hired for one reason and one reason alone! Ratings! Everyone has their own style, you either get it or you don't Fag! Let the Globes hire a non-comedian next year, and see what happens to their ratings!
beepboop writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:05:13 PM

There's nothing Judd Apatow said that wasn't retarded. Such a whiny baby.
AbsoluteMuppet writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:44:17 PM

Ricky has always made jokes about fat people even when he was fat himself so now that he has lost a bit of weight does that mean he can no longer joke about it! People seriously need to start getting a sense of humour because its becoming embarrasing some of the reactions to Rickys jokes. Had he presented the English equivalent of the Oscars the exact same way you would have heard nothing more of it as they arent as sensitive as the brittle American egos.

I can also gaurantee if someone made the same joke about not seeing one of Rickys films, Ricky would be the first to laugh and agree with it. In comedy there is nothing that can not be joked about.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:48:15 PM

I still dont get why people keep bitching about Ricky, hes a f*ckin comedian and hilarious one at that! If an old school comedian like Don Rickles came out and told the same jokes people would be like "man he was on fire after all these years, hes back!" Now, I just think everyone just wants a piece of the whole "Ricky was mean, Im defending the celebrities who were roasted, love me" sh*t
TeemSelami writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 3:39:48 PM

neither of these fags are funny
jikae writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:27:14 PM

Judd Apatow is only saying that because he's now part of the big boys, he has to defend them. 2 years ago, he's probably laughing with the rest of us.
jikae writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:33:07 PM

Besides Home Improvement, and being lucky with Toy Story; he hasn't done ANYTHING. He's the male equivalent of Jennifer Anniston; without the baggage and...a hit movie.
Chewbacca writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 4:44:34 PM

Yeah this coming from a guy who writes raunchy mean spirited jokes towards people in his screenplays. Give me a f*cking break. What's next, suddenly every celebrity who was made fun of on South Park is going to make public statements about how mean Matt and Trey are? Give me a f*cking break.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:33:41 PM

hahahaha he's too mean, grow the f*ck up
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 5:42:08 PM

Yuu guys are such Ches.

More than a year ago I said some nasty but true things about Apatow and you ran to the wall to defend him, telling me just how funny, talented and great he was. It was like fifty of you little fags playing pileup.

And now, he speaks out against your latest obsession (Gervais) and suddenly Apaptow's an epic loser.

When will you start hating on Gervais? Tomorrow? Next week? When the mood strikes you?

So many of you guys are such fickle d*cksuckers. No damned brains at all.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:13:56 PM

^^It had to be said.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 6:47:31 PM

The Invention Of Lying had it's flaws, but even at it's worse it was still funnier and better than Funny People. After his film, Gervais picked himself up and made the brilliant Cemetery Junction while you've managed to make a f*cking Harry Potter short film after Funny People.

Don't blame Gervais for succeeding past you and actually being a celebrated stand-up.
Jedimax writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 12:59:56 AM

UHm just because Tim Allen makes money and Gervais doesn't make money doesn't mean your not allowed to make fun of him.

Jeez how elitism does that sound.
AYT BALL writes:
on January 26th, 2011 at 2:48:47 AM

@ Mink - youd say black was white just to stir sh*t

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved