WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Watch Kevin Smith Auction Off "Red State"

Posted: January 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Watch Kevin Smith Auction Off "Red State"Submit Comment
We recently reported about Kevin Smith announcing to auction off his "Red State" film only to sell it to himself for $20. The entire thing was caught on video and you can now watch it below.

Since then, Smith took it to Twitter to further explain why he decided to self-distribute the film. He wrote: "Just reaching back to an old model from Hollywood's glory days: we're taking our show on the road. 'Gone With the Wind' (which this movie certainly ain't) didn't open on 2600 screens; it opened on one. And played there for awhile. Then packed up and moved to another screen in another city to play there for awhile. We're compressing that process, of course, doing only one screening per night on the tour, but it's their idea, not mine."

The plan is to make money without spending anything on advertising. "No more of this 'The movie cost $4mil to make but needs to earn $50mil at the box office to break even,'" he added. "That ALWAYS bugged me: I'd got out of my way to make flicks for as little as possible, then watch folks spend more to market it. But that's how the business works: EVERYBODY does that. So after doing it the same way for 9 times, you start to think about how you'd do it differently: is it possible to sell a flick WITHOUT spending any of that money?"

Video:


Source: YouTube, Twiter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:27:49 PM

I need to get a ticket to Radio City. He may be destroying his image, but the dude keeps trying to be innovative and I'll be there during the tour. Help the guy out through his last two movies.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:34:59 PM

Video: Watch Kevin Smith Auction Off "Red State"

If I want to watch sh*t on my screen, I'll steal a bootlegged torrent of a copy of Cop Out, videotaped badly at a crummy movie theater with cheesy audio and lots of shaky cam.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:35:43 PM

Kevin, when it comes to the buffet line at craft services, remember the words of Nancy Reagan :

Just Say NO.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:36:50 PM

Be lucky you didn't wind up working as an assistant manager at a Red Robin, Kev .... knowing you, you wouldn't be able to fit through the drive-thru window to hand back change.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:38:19 PM

murphyslaw93 writes:

on January 24th, 2011 at 10:27:49 PM
I need to get a ticket to Radio City. He may be destroying his image, but the dude keeps trying to be innovative and I'll be there during the tour. Help the guy out through his last two movies.

@murphyslaw93

Okay, now I'm curious ... when he's giving out the Q&A .... is he doing the ol' reach around to dislodge your c*ck as he's tossing your salad from behind ?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:43:27 PM

^unnecessary hate.
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:47:06 PM

nice i just got done watching this same video on another website lol I for one am impressed with the way KS is handling Red State. For $20 he just bought his own f*cking movie lol touche.... but I'm with murphyslaw93, I'd love to buy a ticket to the Radio City Music Hall showing too. Have to wait til friday though to see the ticket prices and whatnot http://viewaskew.com/redstate/
arkflash writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:51:17 PM

Check out the balls on the fat masturbating stoner stickin' it to the man. Good Luck KS!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 12:52:15 AM

Video: Watch Kevin Smith Auction Off "Red State"



Er....no thanks.
WV-Films writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 1:32:50 AM

The audience is so obnoxious. Howling and clapping at everything he says. It makes me hate the pretentious festival crowd.
Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 2:24:09 AM

The big studios will tell ALL the major distributors to have their theaters ignore Kevin Smith.

They'll lock him out.

Go show your movies on the side of a barn Kevin. It'll give the cattle something to do other than chew their cud... or yours.
peaceandlove writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 4:13:38 PM

Fat jokes? Really? Sad.
I think what Smith is doing is smart. It makes sense. KS is no slouch as far as getting his voice heard (especially online), so why not take the lead on advertisement for a movie he wrote/directed/edited?
I was lucky enough to see this movie & I wish he wouldn't retire from making films. He has a lot of stories within himself yet to be told I'm guessing...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved