WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith Buys His Own "Red State" for $20, Quits Directing

Posted: January 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith Buys His Own "Red State" for $20, Quits DirectingSubmit Comment
Kevin Smith is easily the most entertaining person in Hollywood. First he considered letting fans donate money to make "Red State." Then he promised to never do any press, make a trailer or screen the film for critics. After Sundance agreed to premiere "Red State," Smith said that he won't simply sell the rights to a distributor. He will instead auction the rights off.

"Red State" has now screened for the first time and the reviews are coming in. Unfortunately, they are not very positive. You can read some of the critic comments below. But first...

After the movie screened, Smith then moved forward with the auction. Several buyers gathered in a room where producer John Gordon took the stage announcing the beginning of the auction. Smith immediately raised his hand and bid $20. Gordon then quickly yelled out "Sold!"

Buyers were shocked, but then Smith explained the insane events that just took place. His plan is to distribute "Red State" himself. "Selling my film would be like having a baby and then selling it to somebody else to raise," he said.

Plus he is tired of the huge marketing campaigns that could cost as much as five times the cost of the film. So, instead he'll self-release "Red State" by taking it around the country to many major cities. "The Red State USA Tour" will begin on March 5th at Radio City Music Hall in NY and will end on October 19th. By that time Smith believes that almost half of the film's $4 million price tag would be earned back. At that point, he'll release the film in a limited amount of theaters. There won't be any advertising, but he'll provide theater owners more favorable terms than the big studios.

Smith ended the event by stating that he plans to direct "Hit Somebody" with mostly the same cast as "Red State" and then quit directing forever. He'll instead focus on producing and distribution.

Early "Red State" reviews (in random order):

CinemaBlend: "Action and bloodshed as generic as it comes."

IFC: "Literally and figuratively preachy."

IndieWire 1: "'Red State' is a well-intentioned mess."

IndieWire 2: "What works is the usual Smithean chatter, not the gunfire and brimstone."

FilmStage: "While fun, is also Very silly and not as smart as it thinks it is."

SlashFilm: "A well made film, but not without it's problems."

Collider: "Michael Parks' performance is Oscar worthy."

MSN: "It's nice to contemplate how Kevin Smith wants to make films that aren't comedies. Too bad he tried to make all of them at once."

Moviefone: "Red State: Bloody, violent, random, preachy. I dug it, but didn't love it."

Hitfix: "A failure on almost every level."

CinemaBlend: "Never can pick an ambition and run with it."

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 4:45:22 AM

Really WP you should have gone with the headline

Kevin Smith:

"Will Quit Directing Forever to start selling babies"

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 4:45:32 AM

He is a douche, but will check out the movie.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 5:11:30 AM

He should just stick to directing jay and silent bob. Jason mewes is funny. Smith just lost it I guess, assuming he ever had it. On the bright side of his departure from directing, least he'll have time to work out and loose weight so that he won't bitch about buying an extra seat on a plane
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 5:27:59 AM

I will also see this, but it's sad that Smith has lost all his connections to the real world. He was once great, or at least very good. Dogma is, and will ever be, awesome.
trailertrash writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 5:36:08 AM

Agreed Dogma is a good movie.
Taco writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 5:45:01 AM

Kevin Smith should make a bio pic about himself and call it "Karma"
snoop writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 6:41:58 AM

This guy just gets cooler every time. But what does this mean for the view askewniverse?
nope.com writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 7:03:29 AM

welcome to M Night Shamalamadingdongville

home of the talent drop directors
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 7:24:30 AM

FilmStage: "While fun, is also Very silly and not as smart as it thinks it is."


Well that sums up Kevin smith
AYT BALL writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 7:25:57 AM

Time to just shut up and move on Kev, i was a fan but youve pissed me off beyond the point of return now.
CandyRunt writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 8:40:31 AM

f*cking hell they we're slating him! at the end of the day Smith fails by his own pride
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 9:11:42 AM

Now if only McG, Ratner and Bay would follow.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 9:20:01 AM

^don't forget M. Night North Tower and Tyler Perry
velocityknown writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:06:36 AM

You guys should really read the write-up they did over at Hitfix. Great commentary on (what i'm sure is a sh*tty film) and Kevin Smith as a filmmaker.

http://www.hitfix.com/blogs/motion-captured/posts/sundance-review-kevin-smiths-red-state-fails-onscreen-and-off-at-its-world-premiere#
velocityknown writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:18:06 AM

And I think this should be the photo for the article:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/ac/KevinSmith08TIFF.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:26:50 AM

Is that smith in the picture, i can't tell my screen isn't big enough to show the whole person...

trailertrash writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:29:01 AM

And nice hitfix link, he sounds like a really big fan of Kevin also, lol
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:48:24 AM

Oh f*ck him, he'll be back that fat tub of sh*t...he should run for politics with the amount of bull sh*t spewing from his mouth
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:53:22 AM

@Big Daddy

Fantastic avatar man, beats out everyone else's...and there wrists
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:54:31 AM

@Big Daddy

Fantastic avatar man, beats out everyone else's...and there wrists
Man in Black writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 11:45:49 AM

Off topic Alex WTF is up with the site it is having a case of the mondays or does your IBM 5150 need a firmware update circa 1986. Please fix it and while your changing the oil toss in an edit button - your awesome, Man in Black
HideousSecretion writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 1:07:30 PM

What an absolute hack. His career sis dying and instead of doing something about it he lashes out at everyone including these distributors. Lay off the drugs and self-pity you heinous douche. I'll be glad when you've quit but we all know this is just your pathetic attempt to stir up publicity for your sh*tty film. You are the worst sort of amateur. You think you're talented you disgusting fatbody? What a joke. Anyone with a tripod could manage your level of "talent" you turd. Go away Kevin Smith. Just go away. No one wants to see your sh*tty film. You took your awful movie formula and added a political/religious message to it. People want to be entertained not lectured. Especially by a stoned out loser with humongous floppy man tits. Beyond ridiculous.

(submit comment didn't work so if this is a double post I apologize)
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 1:44:03 PM

This dude is just a annoying c*ck now. Shame as he had so much potential but his ego went to the damn moon.

Here is another recent article of him bashing Bruce Willis:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1349860/Kevin-Smith-Bruce-Willis-soul-crushing-work-with.html
Ranger writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 2:10:45 PM

I read the article... but none of your posts (yet).

Kevin... what makes you think you can slide into a theater's release schedule and put your movie independently into any theater you want because you give them favorable terms? LOL!

Sure... maybe an independent theater (here and there). The one's loyal to their chain of theaters are TOLD what to put up on their screen. They have NO choice. You should know this!

I guess he's on the Lohan Plan now... even bad publicity is still publicity. I call it laughing at him... trying to be an independent like George Lucas... LOL. George made movies that made BILLIONS you douche!

Go eat some Ding Dongs and blame your waistline on Willis... dipsh*t.
minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 3:48:51 PM

Looks like Uwe Boll will finally have someone to talk to on the long bus ride from east LA to Hollywood.
trailertrash writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 4:25:10 PM

Uwe won't like sharing those bus windows with Smith one bit
rabid writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 4:51:40 PM

I watched the video and I think it's genius. It's not like you need distribution help to publish a book or cd anymore. The same will soon be true for movies. Kevin just showed the tribes of critics and distributers that they're an outmoded and superfluous part of the film industry.
rabid writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 4:57:39 PM

Theaters are quick becoming just a showcase to determine the profit points on the distribution. The real money is made selling it to home theaters. Amazon even offers some theatrical films to be viewed on their site. He'll have no problem hawking his film wherever he chooses, other than a few southern theater chains that don't allow criticism of religion.
minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 5:13:31 PM

"It's not like you need distribution help to publish a book or cd anymore."

You do if you want to maximize market penetration...


Even I could set up a torrent site with a per-pay access to distribute some sh*tty film (or a website to toss out PDFs) but if I want to make some serious cash on a film that cost major money, I'll need the very deep pockets of wealthy studios.

I mean, RS cost 4mil, not 400 mil, so yeah, he can scrape back the cost of his cheap film with his low-to-the-earth profiteering.

"other than a few southern theater chains that don't allow criticism of religion."

It's not a criticism of religion per se, it's a serious parody of Fred Phelpds and his extremist sect of Christianity. Did you see the film or not?

"Kevin just showed the tribes of critics and distributers that they're an outmoded and superfluous part of the film industry."

What Kevin just showed was that he will throw a temper tantrum when he isn't well recieved. He tried to make a serious film and failed and now he's having to live with the consequences of that failure.

"

It's like when Jordon tried another sport and didn't do well. He moved on gracefully. Smith should do the same or go back to his strong suit.

Noone like a whining, fat hairy middle aged man-child throwing a tantrum because he can't get what he wants because he's a failure.

"Theaters are quick becoming just a showcase to determine the profit points on the distribution."

By quick, you mean over the last 60 years, right?

"The real money is made selling it to home theaters."

No, the real profit is selling to theaters where people can see blockbuster films on monstrous screens with true sourround sound. Beats watching the sh*t at home any day.

"Amazon even offers some theatrical films to be viewed on their site."

Sure. The loser garbage no one will pay to see in a theater. So you might eventually have strong a divergent profit model, but big budget films and cheaper films expected to do well with audiences, will stay in theaters for a long while yet.

"He'll have no problem hawking his film wherever he chooses"

Unless it's crap that no one wishes to watch...hence this thread.
Rambo writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 5:45:25 PM

-Burger king,how may I help you?
-I would like 50 burgers with fries and extra fat.
-would that be all,sir?
-yes.and please hurry.
-we'll do out best fat ass.
minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 6:09:07 PM

So, who's the more annoying fatass: Michael Moore, Kevin Smith or Kevin James?
JohnZee writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 6:37:18 PM

Wow it says a lot for the world we live in when there are still people on this thread that can sit there and read this article, and still rave about how Kevin Smith is so brilliant and ahead of his time.

Sheesh! Helen Keller could figure that he's a desperate man scrambling for whatever scraps of dignity that he could possibly keep a hold of. And to try to paint some ridiculous picture that it is a prime example of how innovative the man is just goes to show that some people can be completely delusional when defending something or someone that they are fanatical about.

...But I guess if David Frost decides to do an in depth interview with Kevin about the downward spiral his career had plummeted into that Smith will need somebody to be his Diane Sawyer...loyal to the point of ludicrous stupidity.
IHateR writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 6:58:51 PM

All you who are talking sh*t know you will be infront of me in the line to see it so shut up!
minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 7:13:14 PM

"All you who are talking sh*t know you will be infront of me in the line to see it so shut up!"

Shut the Che up. The last Kevin Smith movie I saw was Cop Out. And I didn't pay to see it. I shoplifted the damn thing from Blockbuster, and only because I already had all the other new release movies.

Standing in line to watch a Kevin Smith movie? I'd rather stand in line to take a shower at Auschwitz.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 7:22:36 PM

He bought it for $ 20.00 ?

So basically, he broke even on the production.

Kevin, if you took a gun and bit down on the barrel and blew your brains out, then I would think about watching your movie.

Otherwise, f*ck you.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 7:24:41 PM

IHateR writes: on January 24th, 2011 at 6:58:51 PM

All you who are talking sh*t know you will be infront of me in the line to see it so shut up!

@IGayTer

Hey GayTer, after you finish watching the movie, don't forget to give blowjobs to all the ushers and the theater manager, so you can make gas money to get home.

f*ckhole.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 7:30:56 PM

After the movie screened, Smith then moved forward with the auction. Several buyers gathered in a room where producer John Gordon took the stage announcing the beginning of the auction. Smith immediately raised his hand and bid $20. Gordon then quickly yelled out "Sold!"

Buyers were shocked, but then Smith explained the insane events that just took place. His plan is to distribute "Red State" himself. "Selling my film would be like having a baby and then selling it to somebody else to raise," he said.

.... Yeah, but if only your father pulled out in time or they went to pay for the backalley abortion, you could've saved us the trouble, Kev.


" I never would want to be part of a club, that would make me a member. "
~ George Marx
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 7:37:05 PM

minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 6:09:07 PM
So, who's the more annoying fatass: Michael Moore, Kevin Smith or Kevin James?

@minkowski
Can't we just hire a retired assassin to take care of them all, to save us the trouble ?
I'll throw in a nickle.
minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 7:49:51 PM

@Maus:

I'll throw in the semtex we'll need to move their fatasses away from the fridge and in front of the sniper's bullet.
minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 8:05:59 PM

I hear Hasbro is making a Kevin Smith stuffed doll. It has a string coming out of the stomach and when you pull it, the doll utters cute phrases like "Nobody loves me" and "Im the guy that made Clerks" and "Are you gonna eat that?".

It also cries a lot.
Ranger writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 8:39:20 PM

It sh*ts a lot too.
Derp88 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 8:53:20 PM

Kevin Smith has a soggy vagina
photobuckets4 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 8:55:08 PM

what a f*cking fat sack of crap, his films sucks and so does he
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 9:10:41 PM

minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 8:05:59 PM
I hear Hasbro is making a Kevin Smith stuffed doll. It has a string coming out of the stomach and when you pull it, the doll utters cute phrases like "Nobody loves me" and "Im the guy that made Clerks" and "Are you gonna eat that?".

It also cries a lot.

Ranger writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 8:39:20 PM
It sh*ts a lot too.

@mink & ranger
It also crossdresses and looks for bears in Red Hook to slap on the ass and take to the "browntown express".
minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 9:18:09 PM

lol.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 9:31:08 PM

minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 9:18:09 PM
lol.

@minkowski
Browntown Express ? Sounds like the 'unofficial' alternative name for either Cop Out or The Green Hornet.
minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 9:49:36 PM

Or 'Skidmarks', referring to any of the actors, or the films' BO performances.

But IMO we should save Browntown Express as the PERFECT title for Che's gay porn debut.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 9:54:31 PM

This is really sad. Kevin Smith remains one of my favorite writers, his pre-Cop Out and not Jersey Girl films are some of my favorite comedies of all time. He really had an original comedic take with his early films and he's still hilarious I've seen all his An Evening with Kevin Smiths and I once saw one live. He has potential, he just cant take any responsibility for mishaps. He's been steadily destroying his image after Zack and Miri (somehow) bombed. Hope he sticks to writing at least because throwing his name on something as a producer is not going to attract any viewers/buyers. At least I can pop in all his View Askewniverse movies still and remember how great he was.
Ranger writes:
on January 24th, 2011 at 10:34:37 PM

@Nihilistic - lol.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 25th, 2011 at 12:50:25 AM

kevin smith is a male on male blow job
ismokerocks writes:
on January 30th, 2011 at 8:53:52 PM

all of smith's movies suck

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved