WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Black Panther" Film in the Works

Posted: January 20th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Black Panther" Film in the WorksSubmit Comment
Marvel Studios is moving forward with a "Black Panther" movie by hiring Mark Bailey (HBO's "Ghost of Abu Ghraib") to write a new take on the character, the king of a resource-rich fictional African country who becomes a superhero.

The Black Panther first appeared in the pages of the "Fantastic Four" comic in 1966 and is considered the first black hero in mainstream comics. A movie version was in development at Columbia in the early 1990s with Wesley Snipes on board to star in an "Indiana Jones"-style adventure.

Snipes remained attached to "Panther" even when the property transferred to Artisan Entertainment. Marvel reacquired the rights in 2005 when it absorbed a host of character licenses from Lionsgate, which bought Artisan in 2003.

After Snipes, such actors as Djimon Hounsou (Blood Diamond), Chiwetel Ejiofor (Children of Men), and Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (GI Joe) have all been considered to play the title character.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 8:39:20 PM

""Black Panther" Film in the Works"

Hopefully played by a white guy.
boogiel writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 8:47:46 PM

@mink

Agreed
johnny_boy writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 8:48:42 PM

^Lol. This role has Ryan Reynolds written all over it.
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 8:48:59 PM

lol.
markoz writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 8:49:16 PM

@mink

Are you tryin to tell me that Black Panther is not...white?
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 8:49:34 PM

Ryan Reynolds as "The WHITE Panther".
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 8:50:39 PM

"Are you tryin to tell me that Black Panther is not...white?"

Yeah, because I thought he was Asian. Or Mexican.
markoz writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 8:52:17 PM

Great.Next thing you'll tell me is that Uwe Boll is not a great director
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 9:12:06 PM

Ryan Reynolds? No! Channing Tatum is sucking massive c*ck to be in this.
JRprime writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 9:16:40 PM

It's time for a white black panther. I think America is ready for that, right?
Detrimental writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 9:24:49 PM

I hope it's an Asian.
Snootch writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 9:25:29 PM

Word to the mutha!

Maybe they should get Steve Martin to f up a totally different "Panther" of color.
Gomez writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 9:36:02 PM

So does this mean we'll be seeing a Klan movie soon?

*crossing fingers"
avaela writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 9:41:28 PM

the klan movie can be White Tiger then they can make a Black Panther vs. White Tiger movie and obviously White Tiger would win.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 10:03:35 PM

i want seth rogen in this or brad pitt
masht7 writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 10:13:09 PM

Chris Evans is available for sure.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 10:58:17 PM

"After Snipes, such actors as Djimon Hounsou (Blood Diamond), Chiwetel Ejiofor (Children of Men), and Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (GI Joe) have all been considered to play the title character."

How about an actor whose name we can actually pronounce?
DirtyMartini writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 11:02:52 PM

Too bad we cant get Sammy Davis Jr. We could have the black jew panther.
DirtyMartini writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 11:03:26 PM

perhaps lenny kravitz wants to make his hollywood debut
OneTime writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 11:34:00 PM

this would make a nice comeback for snipes.....or right..hes in jail
rocketman writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 1:35:55 AM

Brad Pitt for Panther or Shaty/murdoch....
rocketman writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 1:38:56 AM

imagine the uproar if a superhero was called ''White ______''. Wait a min,the White god in Thor was changed so as not to offend.Double standards? oh my. Then again only white people are racist right?
Wrong! we jusr have better insults ,f*cking Honkey,what the f*ck is that,pathetic! must try harder .f*ck this PC world up its arse.
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 1:44:23 AM

Well said.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 2:34:38 AM

Oh where is Gary Coleman when you need him.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 4:44:50 AM

^he's standing 6 feet under
Aingx writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 7:58:12 AM

Now the African-American comic fans can stop bitching about there not being any Black comic-book hero movies...

Now give me a damn Irishman comic hero!
minkowski writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 4:05:44 PM

They should do a Klan biopic, not because I care about a bunch of murdering rednecks, but just to see the outrage and social chaos.

Just remind me to bring some popcorn and marshmallows when the rioting breaks out.
Frank4969 writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 5:13:37 PM

You all said it. Let's find the most pathetic WHITE guy to play the role. I got it MICHAEL CERA!
Frank4969 writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 5:15:28 PM

And I read somewhere Mel Gibson for the new Malcolm X film!
Frank4969 writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 5:19:56 PM

@minkowski. You brink the marshmallows. I'll bring the beer. Cause as you know blacks love nothing more than a good riot where they can burn stuff and destroy their own environments. Ever see spike lees. Do the right thing. Dumbest film EVER. All it showed me was retarded black people starting a riot over nothing and f*cking up their own neighborhood. Anyway let's watch all the fun from afar in our nice clean households!
Stuntastic writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 6:55:17 PM

My vote goes to Terry Tate office linebacker
encoreyourface writes:
on January 21st, 2011 at 8:27:14 PM

i like the idea but who is he going to fight
rabid writes:
on January 22nd, 2011 at 12:58:41 AM

well there's Man-Ape and the White Gorilla clan who challenge him to a battle for the throne.
and there's Klaw who wants to mine Wakanda's vibranium. He gets turned into a being made of pure sound. Vibranium is the the metal of an alien meteor that struck Wakanda in ancient times, and what Wolverines skeleton and Captain America's shield are coated with.
Matiax writes:
on January 22nd, 2011 at 6:58:00 PM

@rabid No, Wolverine's bones have ADAMANTIUM, another metal.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved