WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Johnny Depp in Talks for "Wizard of Oz" Prequel

Posted: January 20th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Johnny Depp in Talks for "Wizard of Oz" PrequelSubmit Comment
It was recently reported that Robert Downey Jr (Iron Man) dropped out of "Gravity" sci-fi film, despite being the first one on board. Now comes word that he has also dropped out of "Oz: The Great and Powerful," which is Disney's "The Wizard of Oz" prequel that Sam Raimi (Spider-Man) chose to direct instead of "World of Warcraft."

But just like George Clooney stepped in to replace Downey in "Gravity," Johnny Depp is already in negotiations to replace the actor in "Oz," which will focus on the wizard as a young man.

In the movie, Oz is an illusionist with a grandiose attitude who is forced to flee a traveling circus. His hot air balloon is then swept up by a tornado to the land of Oz, which is run by two magical wicked witches.

The only problem is Depp's schedule. He is set to begin filming "Dark Shadows" this spring and then Disney's "The Lone Ranger" soon after. It will be up to the studio to decide whether to push forward with "Oz" or "The Lone Ranger" first.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 7:01:58 AM

Good call for downey jr. He's iron man and definitely doesn't want to be downgraded to gay tin-man.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 7:12:54 AM

@boogiel-good and true post

Johnny Depp in a role that'll involve him as a whacky character in a whacky outfit. Why am I not shocked?
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 8:35:51 AM

Badchads childhood is gone
batdump writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 9:02:03 AM

hmmmm... as long as it's better than Alice, which isn't a hard task, i'm ok with it. i was looking forward to another downy performance though
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 9:48:16 AM

I could see him doing this
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 9:48:17 AM

I could see him doing this
SACdaddy writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 10:01:51 AM

I've almost lost all faith in Depp. He's turned into the new Eddie Murphy (AKA "Disney's Bitch").
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 11:02:51 AM

The only problem is Depp's schedule. He is set to begin filming "Dark Shadows" this spring and then Disney's "The Lone Ranger" soon after. It will be up to the studio to decide whether to push forward with "Oz" or "The Lone Ranger" first.


Disney may care, but do we?
Odd writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 11:30:53 AM

@SAC - hmmm I dont think he is, as he does those movies of movies because one- he is good at them, and two he does them for his kids. Hes got plenty of good roles and more to come im sure. just my two cents of course :)
lebowski writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 11:34:13 AM

after alice and the tourist i started loosing faith in depp.i want to see him in a comedy a todd philips kind of comedy you know where he will look like a normal dude and not a pirate or a clown.
Milhouse writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 4:37:15 PM

Am I the only one confused by the line "which will focus on the wizard as a young man.". Then of course they proceed to pick two actors in their 40's. I dunno Hollywood, perhaps think out of the box and get an actual actor thats actually young?
encoreyourface writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 5:14:47 PM

Wizard of oz and alice in wonderland? that might be a little weird ...
ikswoknim writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 5:27:06 PM

Just get Tim Burton to direct and all will be right with the world.
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 6:28:45 PM

^^STFU.

Sick of seeing you above my every post. Enough already.

Anyway, not that anyone gives a sh*t about what I have to say, I do think I am weary and tired of Depp. He's one actor that should, for the sake of the audiences' sanity, disappear.

I mean, this look like another Burton film, or another Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

Note to Depp: you are BORING us with your incessant portrayal of eccentric characters. Go back to being human.
Snootch writes:
on January 20th, 2011 at 9:18:24 PM

I could go for another Hunter S. Thompson role above all else when it comes to Mr. Depp.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved